International Arbitration

Introduction

International-arbitration

The subject-matter of this Reference Guide is the settlement by arbitration of inter-State disputes, or disputes between nationals (individuals or enterprises) of one State against another State (States, State enterprises, or State entities). International arbitration can either be institutional or ad hoc.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Arbitration. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 185. Arbitration and Courts in General and subject heading (keyword) International Arbitration are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue.
Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

 

Bibliographies

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Books

Articles

Documents

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Compensation and Restitution in Investor-State Arbitration: Principles and Practice

    Only available as Fulltext e-book inside Peace Palace Library

    This book presents a detailed study on compensation and restitution in investor state arbitration pursuant to investment treaties. The study begins by examining the historical roots of the principles of reparation, restitution, and compensation in international law as reflected in the landmark Chorzów Factory case. The roots of these principles are traced to Roman law and private law concepts that entered into the European continent’s legal systems.

    SABAHI, B., 2011
    View this title in our OPAC
  • International financial institutions and international law / Daniel D. Bradlow and David B. Hunter (eds.)

    The fundamental recognition in this book is that the issue of what international legal principles are applicable to the operations of the IFIs is an important topic that would benefit from more rigorous study. Twelve deeply committed contributors – whose work spans the academic, policy, and activist spectrum – suggest that a better understanding of these legal issues could help both the organizations and their Member States structure their transactions in ways that are more compatible with their developmental objectives and their international responsibilities.
    Bradlow, D.D., D.B.Hunter (eds.), 2010
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Behind the scenes in international arbitration / Ugo Draetta

    Behind the Scenes in International Arbitration reveals what really happens behind the scenes of the large stage of the international arbitration — a world of its own. Though arbitration has become a big business, its proceedings are not open to the large public, because of their confidential — and sometimes opaque — nature. Thus, Ugo Draetta offers his perspective as an insider, outlining some behaviours of the various players in the arbitration stage, which are sometimes irrational, emotional, bizarre or counterproductive.

    Draetta, U., 2011
    View this title in our OPAC
  • The art of advocacy in international arbitration / Raymond Doak Bishop

    Written by today’s leading arbitrators and counsel, this remarkably candid guide provides insight into the practitioner’s approach, conduct, style, and techniques that have proven most effective.  While the facts and the law are fundamental, a successful outcome is the product of painstaking document review, witness interviews, legal research, strategizing and focusing the case, and developing compelling written and oral presentations. How to properly perform these tasks is the subject of this book. And where the first edition focused mainly on the cultural differences in advocacy performed in various regions of the world, this new edition expands on this theme by addressing each functional aspect of an international arbitration and the techniques that have been developed for good written and oral advocacy.  Intended to assist both the novice in learning the techniques of advocacy, and the experienced advocate in improving his skills, this is an essential reference.

    Bishop, R.D., 2010
    View this title in our OPAC
  • International Arbitral Jurisdiction / Chittharanjan F. Amerasinghe

    International Arbitral Jurisdiction analyzes the jurisdictional powers of international arbitral tribunals in areas of fundamental importance and clarifies how tribunals have approached problems in consensual arrangements for submission to tribunals, and describes the general principles that have emerged.

    It is intended to be a companion text to two preceding volumes on international jurisdiction by the same author, namely Jurisdiction of International Tribunals (2003) and Jurisdiction of Specific International Tribunals (2009)

     

     

    View this title in our OPAC

Database

Library Blogs

  • Abyei Arbitration

    From Saturday 18 until Thursday 23 April oral pleadings are being held at the Peace Palace in The Hague in the arbitration case between the Government of Sudan and the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) concerning the delimitation of the Abyei Area. The arbitration is based on an Arbitration Agreement between the Parties that was deposited with the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) on 11 July 2008.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Economic and Financial Law

PPL keywords

Other suggestions

International Commercial Arbitration Permanent Court of Arbitration

Comments are closed.

Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides