World Trade Organization

Introduction

World Trade Organization - Research Guide International Law

The birth of the World Trade Organization (WTO) marked the end of an era in which international trade was governed by the 1947 General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT 1947). With the refusal of the United States Congress to ratify the Charter of the International Trade Organization (Havana Charter) GATT 1947 was the only means left for the regulation of international trade relations. It was originally conceived as a provisional multilateral agreement for tariff reduction without any reference to a specific institutional umbrella. In spite of its many shortcomings, GATT 1947 gradually evolved into a de facto international organization which helped establish a strong and prosperous multilateral trading system through many rounds of trade negotiations. Although GATT 1947 is now reduced to its original status as a multilateral agreement, its history of decisions, procedures and customary practices still form an important element for the interpretation and understanding of the WTO and its provisions. The World Trade Organization is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on the World Trade Organization. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 140a. GATT/WTO and subject heading (keyword) World Trade Organization are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

 

Bibliographies

New titles

Explanation icons:

Book.
Chapter.
Article.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.


1. Domestic judicial review of trade remedies
Domestic judicial review of trade remedies : experiences of the most active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press, 2013. - XV, 445 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - (Cambridge international trade and economic law ; [10]) Met lit. opg. en index. - 2013
Keywords: World Trade Organization, International trade, Municipal courts, Judicial review, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards,

2. Repercussions of China's High-Tech Rise
Repercussions of China's High-Tech Rise : Protection and Enforcement of Intellectual Property Rights in China / Emily Gische In: Hastings Law Journal = ISSN 0017-8322: vol. 63, issue 5, page 1393-1415. - 2012
Keywords: China, United States of America, World Trade Organization, Intellectual property, Judicial settlement of international disputes,

3. Postnationale Demokratie
Postnationale Demokratie : eine Einführung am Beispiel von EU, WTO und UNO / Klaus Dingwerth, Michael Blauberger, Christian Schneider. - Wiesbaden : VS Verlag, 2011. - 236 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - (Grundwissen Politik ; Bd. 47) op omslag: Lehrbuch. - Bibliogr.: p. 220-236. - Met lit. opg. - 2011
Keywords: United Nations, World Trade Organization, European Union, International organizations, Globalization, Democracy,

4. China's banking law and the national treatment of foreign-funded banks
China's banking law and the national treatment of foreign-funded banks / Wei Wang. - Farnham [etc.] : Ashgate, cop. 2013. - XIV, 305 p. : tab. ; 24 cm Bibliogr.: p. 261-301. - Met lit. opg. en index. - 2013
Keywords: China, World Trade Organization, GATS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Banks, Foreign direct investment,

5. Privatization of the Settlement of International Disputes
Privatization of the Settlement of International Disputes : Presentation / by Francisco Orrego Vicuña. - Heidelberg [etc.] : Springer In: International Dispute Settlement: Room for Innovations? / Rüdiger Wolfrum, Ina Gätzschmann (eds.), ISBN 9783642349669: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, World Trade Organization, International arbitration, Foreign direct investment, Judicial settlement of international disputes, Privatization, Individuals,

6. National Environmental Policies and Multilateral Trade Rules
National Environmental Policies and Multilateral Trade Rules / Marion Jansen and Alexander Keck. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy : National Government Interventions in a Global Arena / ed. by Frank Wijen ... [et al.], ISBN 9781849803120: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: Environmental protection, Government, Government policy, Environmental law, Environmental policy, World Trade Organization, Multilateral trade negotiations, International trade,

7. WTO and Trade in Natural Resources
WTO and Trade in Natural Resources / Valerie Hughes and Gabrielle Marceau. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: International Law and Freshwater : the Multiple Challenges / ed. by Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, Christina Leb, Mara Tignino, ISBN 9781781005088: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: World Trade Organization, Natural resources, Commodities, International trade, Judicial settlement of international disputes,

8. Colombia: a Complex Court System with the Possibility of Three Instances
Colombia: a Complex Court System with the Possibility of Three Instances / María Clara Lozano. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Colombia, World Trade Organization, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review, Municipal courts,

9. Brazil: the Need for Enhanced Effectiveness
Brazil: the Need for Enhanced Effectiveness / Rabih A. Nasser and Luciana B. Costa. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Brazil, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

10. Argentina: a Well-Structured but Unsuccessful Judicial Review System
Argentina: a Well-Structured but Unsuccessful Judicial Review System / Mercedes de Artaza. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Argentina, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

11. Peru: a Sophisticated but Underused Judicial Review System
Peru: a Sophisticated but Underused Judicial Review System / Luis Alberto León and Luis Alberto León. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Peru, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

12. The European Union: an Imperfect and Time-Consuming System
The European Union: an Imperfect and Time-Consuming System / Edwin Vermulst and Juhi Sud. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review, Community law,

13. Turkey: a Judicial Review System in Need of Change
Turkey: a Judicial Review System in Need of Change / Müslüm Yilmaz. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Turkey, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

14. Israel: a Comparative Study of Two Models
Israel: a Comparative Study of Two Models / Arie Reich and Gill Nadel. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Israel, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

15. South Africa: a Complicated, Unpredictable, Long and Costly Judicial Review System
South Africa: a Complicated, Unpredictable, Long and Costly Judicial Review System / Gustav Brink. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: South Africa, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

16. Pakistan: an Evolving Judicial Review System
Pakistan: an Evolving Judicial Review System / Faizullah Khilji and Mazhar Bangash. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Pakistan, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

17. India: a Three-Tier Judicial Review System
India: a Three-Tier Judicial Review System / Madhurendra Nath Jha. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: India, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

18. China: an Untested Theoretical Possibility?
China: an Untested Theoretical Possibility? / Henry Gao. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: China, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

19. Korea: Increasing Attention and New Challenges
Korea: Increasing Attention and New Challenges / Jaemin Lee. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: South Korea, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

20. Indonesia: a Judicial Review System in Dire Need of Restructuring
Indonesia: a Judicial Review System in Dire Need of Restructuring / Erry Bundjamin. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Indonesia, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

21. Japan: a System Yet to Be Tested
Japan: a System Yet to Be Tested / Osamu Umejima. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Japan, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

22. New Zealand: Managing to Avoid Judicial Review
New Zealand: Managing to Avoid Judicial Review / Hugh McPhail. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: New Zealand, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

23. Thailand: a Long Road Ahead
Thailand: a Long Road Ahead / Apisith John Sutham, Pattanan Kalawantavanich and Sakkapol Vachatimanont. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Domestic Judicial Review of Trade Remedies : Experiences of the Most Active WTO members / ed. by Müslüm Yilmaz, ISBN 9781107022232: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Thailand, World Trade Organization, International trade, Anti-dumping, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Safeguards, Judicial review,

24. The Effects of Section 201 Safeguards on U.S. Industries
The Effects of Section 201 Safeguards on U.S. Industries / David Ryan In: Georgetown Journal of International Law = ISSN 1550-5200: vol. 44, issue 1, page 249-310. - 2012
Keywords: United States of America, Trade barriers, Safeguards, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, World Trade Organization, International trade,

25. The Doha Development Agenda
The Doha Development Agenda / Amrita Narlikar. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: World Trade Organization, Doha, Development, Multilateral trade negotiations, Developing countries, International trade, Diplomacy,

26. The WTO and Developing Countries in the Rounds of Trade Negotiations: whither are we?
The WTO and Developing Countries in the Rounds of Trade Negotiations: whither are we? / Gbadebo A. Olagunju, Rufus O. Olaoluwa In: Journal of African and International Law = ISSN 1821-620X: vol. 5, issue 3, page 575-602. - 2012
Keywords: World Trade Organization, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, Developing countries, International trade, Multilateral trade negotiations,

27. Is the EU Seal Product Rregulation a Sealed Deal?
Is the EU Seal Product Rregulation a Sealed Deal? : EU and WTO Challenges / Tamara Peris̆in In: International and Comparative Law Quarterly = ISSN 0020-5893: vol. 62, issue 2, page 373-405. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Seals, Animal protection, Common market, International trade, World Trade Organization,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Watson, J.K.R, The WTO and the Environment: Development of Competence beyond Trade, London, Routledge, 2013. Showcase item

    Watson, J.K.R, The WTO and the Environment: Development of Competence beyond Trade, London, Routledge, 2013.

    This book is a review of the development of the WTO dispute resolution procedure and the power and influence it has gained over the practises of the member countries as well as in other international treaties. The book addresses the development of environmental competency in the WTO and examines the arguments of those who oppose WTO rule making with impacts on the environment. The WTO’s interactions with multilateral environmental agreements are considered and recent WTO cases including the 2011 US/Mexico tuna dispute and the US sea turtles decision are analysed in detail. In examining how an international organisation which was established with a specific purpose in mind has come to interact in fields beyond its original remit, James Watson demonstrates how the dispute resolution system at the WTO has come to work in a judicialised manner, operating with an informal system of precedent. This has led to the contracting parties placing more reliance on the decisions of the dispute panels and appeal body when considering policy options, with WTO rulings increasingly influencing the behaviour of national legislatures in regard to the environment. The book goes on to make concrete recommendations, based on existing practise in the WTO dispute resolution procedure, which could enhance decision making in environmental cases heard by the WTO. The book argues that this could be achieved with straightforward amendments to the WTO, based on existing practices endorsed under the WTO for other policy considerations. The WTO and the Environment will be of particular interest to academics and students of International and Environmental law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wilkinson, R. and J. Scott (eds.), Trade, Poverty, Development: Getting beyond the WTO's Doha Deadlock, London, Routledge, 2013.

    Wilkinson, R. and J. Scott (eds.), Trade, Poverty, Development: Getting beyond the WTO's Doha Deadlock, London, Routledge, 2013.

    This work seeks to look beyond the seemingly endless deadlock in the WTO’s Doha round of trade negotiations that began in November 2001 and were first scheduled to conclude by January 1, 2005. As well as offering an incisive analysis of the ills of the round, with particular attention directed at the poorest and least developed countries, the book expands on how the round could be moved forward elaborating on the Statement on the Doha Development Agenda that was negotiated in Johannesburg. The work as a whole provides the reader with a critical analysis of the implications of the negotiations for development and poverty reduction as well as proposals for moving beyond the current impasse. The volume brings together contributions from serving and former ambassadors to the WTO, key practitioners, and civil society representatives along with those of leading scholars. Each chapter explores an area of critical importance to the round; and together they stand as an important contribution to debates not only about the Doha round but also about the role of trade in the amelioration of poverty in the poorest countries.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Foltea, M., International Organizations in WTO Dispute Settlement: How Much Institutional Sensitivity?, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    Foltea, M., International Organizations in WTO Dispute Settlement: How Much Institutional Sensitivity?, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    This book analyses the role of international organizations in WTO dispute settlement as arising from a number of WTO disputes. In particular, the roles of the IMF, WIPO, the WCO and WHO are addressed. The use of the Vienna Convention rules of interpretation framework allows an evaluation of the weight attributed to this material by the WTO adjudicator. This allows specific conclusions to be drawn regarding the level of institutional sensitivity of the WTO adjudicator to each of the organizations. As well as being a valuable source of research, the analysis will appeal to international law scholars, civil servants and law practitioners interested in the WTO and dispute settlement.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Hodu, Y.N., Theories and Practices of Compliance with WTO Law, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.

    Hodu, Y.N., Theories and Practices of Compliance with WTO Law, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.
    This book applies social science theories to the question as to why nation-states comply or do not comply with international trade law obligations. The author examines various theories of compliance in the context of world trade law, and discusses ways in which a much more robust compliance with global trade rules may be ensured. In the course of the analysis numerous germane issues arise, including the following: ; the stalemate in the WTO judicial and political process; third party rights and WTO Law compliance; the role of arbitrators in determining reasonable period of time; contract theory; reputation costs; good faith obligations required by pacta sunt servanda; imposing remedies collectively; multilateral enforcement of DSB findings; and early determination of injuries once nullification and impairment have been established. The author’s approach leads not only to a new understanding of the function of the WTO as a legal system, but also to well-grounded recommendations concerning remedies that address the issue of continuous breach of legal duties in the WTO. This is a timely and accessible analysis of an increasingly important aspect of the interface of international trade law and economics. It will undoubtedly lead to a deeper debate and accelerate the inevitability of effective practical action.
     
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Becroft, R., The Standard of Review in WTO Dispute Settlement: Critique and Development, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    Becroft, R., The Standard of Review in WTO Dispute Settlement: Critique and Development, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    This detailed book critiques how the World Trade Organization scrutinizes domestic measures to determine compliance with the WTO Agreements. This scrutiny, known as the standard of review, is particularly relevant when WTO panels are examining measures involving controversial domestic policy issues. The author argues that the current WTO standard of review is inadequate and a flexible standard based on the responsibilities that WTO members have retained for themselves under the WTO Agreements is preferable. This new standard of review would better reflect the autonomy contemplated for members under the WTO rules and reduce scope for the contention that the WTO overreaching its mandate. This work provides a foundation for mediating relations between states and the WTO, and similar international organizations. It will be of great interest to scholars and practitioners in the fields of law and international relations with an interest in international economic law, the WTO or international organizations in general.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Taubman, A.S., H. Wager and J. Watal (eds.), A Handbook on the WTO TRIPS Agreement, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    Taubman, A.S., H. Wager and J. Watal (eds.), A Handbook on the WTO TRIPS Agreement, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    This handbook describes the historical and legal background to the TRIPS Agreement, its role in the WTO and its institutional framework and reviews the following areas: general provisions and basic principles; copyright and related rights; trademarks; geographical indications; patents; industrial designs, layout-designs, undisclosed information and anti-competitive practices; enforcement of intellectual property rights; dispute settlement in the context of the TRIPS Agreement; TRIPS and public health; and current TRIPS issues. It contains a guide to TRIPS notifications by WTO members and describes how to access and make use of the official documentation relating to the TRIPS Agreement and related issues. Furthermore, it includes the legal texts of the TRIPS Agreement and the relevant provisions of the WIPO conventions referred to in it, as well as subsequent relevant WTO instruments.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Hoekman, B.M., The WTO and Trade in Services, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    Hoekman, B.M., The WTO and Trade in Services, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    The past few decades have witnessed a growth in the importance of services in the economy, yet until the 1980s, scholarly literature on the expanding role of trade in services in the world economy remained scarce. This two-volume collection, edited by a leading analyst in the field, brings together seminal works on the WTO and trade in services published in the last twenty-five years. Areas covered in this set include the determinants and patterns of trade in services, services in regional integration agreements and the GATS.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Åhman, J., Trade, Health, and the Burden of Proof in WTO Law, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.

    Åhman, J., Trade, Health, and the Burden of Proof in WTO Law, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.
    Most of us do not immediately think of health protection measures as trade barriers. Yet to the trade liberalization interest they are often exactly that “hidden protectionism” some would say. When the conflict between trade and health hardens into a confrontation, allocation of the burden of proof becomes the critical factor in determining the outcome. And the outcome of such a WTO dispute may affect a very large number of people. This book examines the WTO provisions applicable to health protection measures from a burden of proof perspective, with an up-to-date and thorough analysis of all relevant case law.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • McMahon, J.A. and M.G. Desta (eds.), Research Handbook on the WTO Agriculture Agreement, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    McMahon, J.A. and M.G. Desta (eds.), Research Handbook on the WTO Agriculture Agreement, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.
    Agriculture has been the unruly horse of the GATT/WTO system for a long time and efforts to halter it are still ongoing. This Research Handbook focuses on aspects of agricultural production and trade policy that are recognized for their importance but are often kept out of the limelight, such as the implication of national and international agricultural production and trade policies on national food security, global climate change, and biotechnology. It provides a summary of the state of the WTO agriculture negotiations as well as the relevant jurisprudence, but also, and uniquely, it focuses on the new and emerging issues of agricultural trade law and policy that are rarely addressed in the existing literature.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • 400th Trade Dispute for World Trade Organization (WTO)

    On 1 January 2010 the World Trade Organization (WTO) will celebrate its 15th birthday. Shortly before the anniversary the 7th Session of the WTO Ministerial Conference will take place for the second time in Geneva, Switzerland, from 30 November to 2 December 2009. Trade ministers will be discussing the general theme “The WTO, the Multilateral Trading System and the Current Global Economic Environment”.

    Read more
  • WTO launches new database on regional trade agreements

    On 14 january 2009 the database was launched and can be accessed in English, French and Spanish. The database can be searched by country, region, legal provision, date of notification or entry into force of the RTA. Summary tables of all RTAs currently in force, containing various types of information, can be easily exported by users of the database.

    Read more

Delicious links

See also

More Research guides on Economic and Financial Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.