Migration

Introduction

Migration - Research Guide International Law

The past few decades the movement of people across borders has increased significantly. According to the International Organization for Migration (IOM), more and more people are on the move today than at any other point in human history. According to the UN Convention on the Rights of Migrants, a migrant worker can be described as a ‘person who is to be engaged, is engaged or has been engaged in a remunerated activity in a State of which he or she is not a national’. In article 1.1 of this Convention only those people who freely take the decision to migrate are considered migrants: the notion ‘migrant’ “should be understood as covering all cases where the decision to migrate is taken freely by the individual concerned, for reasons of ‘personal convenience’ and without intervention of an external compelling factor. Thus, the definition of migrant does not refer to individuals who have been forced or compelled to leave their home or country, such as refugees and internally displaced persons and refugees. Various aspects of migration include: labour migration, family reunification, migration and security, combating irregular migration, migration and trade, migrant rights, health and migration, integration, migration and development.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Migration. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 99. The State and the Aliens. General Works, 100. Emigration and Immigration. General Works, 101. Emigration and Immigration in the Various States and subject heading (keyword) Migration are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. European asylum law and the rights of the child
European asylum law and the rights of the child / Ciara Smyth. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014. - X, 250 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Routledge research in asylum, migration and refugee law) Includes bibliographical references and an index. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Asylum, Children's rights, Children, Refugees, Immigration,

2. Refugee protection and the role of law
Refugee protection and the role of law : conflicting identities / edited by Susan Kneebone, Dallal Stevens, Loretta Baldassar. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014. - XIV, 323 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Routledge research in asylum, migration and refugee law) Bibliography: page 286-309. - With notes and index. - 2014
Keywords: Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), Refugees, Asylum, Identity, Immigration,

3. Dialectic of Transnationalism: Unauthorized Migration and Human Rights, 1993-2013
Dialectic of Transnationalism: Unauthorized Migration and Human Rights, 1993-2013 / Itamar Mann In: Harvard International Law Journal = ISSN 0017-8063: vol. 54, issue 2, page 315-391. - 2013
Keywords: United States of America, Illegal immigrants, Migration, Transnational law, Human rights, Immigration law,

4. The Rights of Mongolia's Internal Migrants under International Law
The Rights of Mongolia's Internal Migrants under International Law : Climatic, Domestic and Commercial Responsibilities / Benoit Mayer In: Journal of East Asia and International Law = ISSN 1976-9229: vol. 7, issue 1, page 197-219. - 2014
Keywords: Mongolia, Internally displaced persons, Environmental refugees, Human rights,

5. Filling the Gaps?
Filling the Gaps? : Subsidiary Protection and Non-EU Harmonized Protection Status(es) in the Nordic Countries / Liv Feijen In: International Journal of Refugee Law = ISSN 0953-8186: vol. 26, issue 2, page 173-197. - 2014
Keywords: Nordic countries, European Union, Refugees, Asylum, Protection, Immigration, Community law and municipal law,

6. Testing Repatriation Contracts for Unconscionability
Testing Repatriation Contracts for Unconscionability : the Case of Refugees in Israel / Mollie Gerver In: International Journal of Refugee Law = ISSN 0953-8186: vol. 26, issue 2, page 198-222. - 2014
Keywords: Israel, Repatriation, Refugees, Consent, Immigration,

7. Another Brick in the Wall
Another Brick in the Wall : Carrier Sanctions and the Privatization of Immigration Control / Tilman Rodenhäuser In: International Journal of Refugee Law = ISSN 0953-8186: vol. 26, issue 2, page 223-247. - 2014
Keywords: Carriage of passengers and their luggage, Sanctions, Illegal immigrants, Refugees, Asylum, Non-refoulement, Obligations of the state,

8. Caught in Limbo
Caught in Limbo : how Alleged Perpetrators of International Crimes who applied for Asylum in the Netherlands are affected by a Fundamental System Error in International Law / Joke Reijven, Joris van Wijk In: International Journal of Refugee Law = ISSN 0953-8186: vol. 26, issue 2, page 248-271. - 2014
Keywords: The Netherlands, Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), International crimes, Asylum, Refugees, Non-refoulement, Immigration,

9. What constitutes Persecution?
What constitutes Persecution? : towards a Working Definition / Hugo Storey In: International Journal of Refugee Law = ISSN 0953-8186: vol. 26, issue 2, page 272-285. - 2014
Keywords: Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), Persecution, Legal hermeneutics and legal interpretation, Asylum, Refugees, Immigration,

10. Conflicting Identities, Protection and the Role of Law
Conflicting Identities, Protection and the Role of Law / Susan Kneebone, Loretta Baldassar and Dallal Stevens. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group. - Page 3-21 In: Refugee Protection and the Role of Law : Conflicting Identities / edited by Susan Kneebone, Dallal Stevens and Loretta Baldassar, ISBN 9780415835657: (2014), Page 3-21. - 2014
Keywords: Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), Refugees, Asylum, Identity, Immigration,

11. Creating Identities, Diminishing Protection and the Securitisation of Asylum in Europe
Creating Identities, Diminishing Protection and the Securitisation of Asylum in Europe / Roger Zetter. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group. - Page 22-35 In: Refugee Protection and the Role of Law : Conflicting Identities / edited by Susan Kneebone, Dallal Stevens and Loretta Baldassar, ISBN 9780415835657: (2014), Page 22-35. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), Refugees, Asylum, Identity, Immigration, National security, Member states,

12. Rights and the Re-Identified Refugee: an Analysis of Recent Shifts in Canadian Law
Rights and the Re-Identified Refugee: an Analysis of Recent Shifts in Canadian Law / Donald Galloway. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group. - Page 36-55 In: Refugee Protection and the Role of Law : Conflicting Identities / edited by Susan Kneebone, Dallal Stevens and Loretta Baldassar, ISBN 9780415835657: (2014), Page 36-55. - 2014
Keywords: Canada, Refugees, Asylum, Amendments, Immigration law, Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951),

13. The Refugee Convention at 60: still Fit for Purpose?
The Refugee Convention at 60: still Fit for Purpose? : Protection Tools for Protection Needs / Erika Feller. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group. - Page 56-69 In: Refugee Protection and the Role of Law : Conflicting Identities / edited by Susan Kneebone, Dallal Stevens and Loretta Baldassar, ISBN 9780415835657: (2014), Page 56-69. - 2014
Keywords: Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (Geneva, 28 July 1951), Refugees, Asylum, Protection, Immigration,

14. Democratization of Media in Post-Conflict Situations: Reporting on ICTY War Crimes Trials in Serbia
Democratization of Media in Post-Conflict Situations: Reporting on ICTY War Crimes Trials in Serbia / Nidžara Ahmetašević and Tanja Matić. - New York : Social Science Research Council. - Page 210-245 In: Transitional Justice, Culture, and Society: beyond Outreach / edited by Clara Ramirez-Barat, ISBN 9780911400021: (2014), Page 210-245. - 2014
Keywords: Serbia, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, War crimes, Media, Journalism, Communications, Transitional justice,

15. The Right to say "I don't": Forced Marriage as Persecution in the United Kingdom, Spain and France
The Right to say "I don't": Forced Marriage as Persecution in the United Kingdom, Spain and France / Alicia Lobeiras In: Columbia Journal of Transnational Law = ISSN 0010-1931: vol. 52, issue 3, page 896-932. - 2014
Keywords: Great Britain, Spain, France, Forced marriage, Victims, Asylum, Human rights, Immigration law,

16. La migration et le droit
La migration et le droit / Nicole Guimezanes In: Revue internationale de droit comparé = ISSN 0035-3337: vol. 66, issue 2, page 199-247. - 2014
Keywords: France, Immigration law, Right of residence, Refugees, Asylum,

17. Il diritto di traversare il Mediterraneo... o quantomeno di provarci
Il diritto di traversare il Mediterraneo... o quantomeno di provarci / Francesca De Vittor In: Diritti umani e diritto internazionale = ISSN 1971-7105: vol. 8, issue 1, page 63-81. - 2014
Keywords: Italy, Mediterranean Sea, European Union, Refugees, Illegal immigrants, Borders, Immigration law,

18. Human Rights, Social Security and Migrant Workers
Human Rights, Social Security and Migrant Workers / Lucie Lamarche. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 9-30 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 9-30. - 2014
Keywords: Human rights, Foreign workers, Social security, Migration,

19. Social Security Protection for Migrants: a Need for Legal Intervention
Social Security Protection for Migrants: a Need for Legal Intervention / Pablo Arellano Ortiz. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 31-45 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 31-45. - 2014
Keywords: Human rights, Foreign workers, Social security, Migration, International Labour Organization,

20. Social Security Developments in the SADC Region and Future Prospects for Coordination
Social Security Developments in the SADC Region and Future Prospects for Coordination / Marius Olivier. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 81-115 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 81-115. - 2014
Keywords: Southern African Development Community, Social security, Migration, Multilateralism, Bilateralism, Foreign workers,

21. International Migration in Costa Rica: Challenges from the Present Context
International Migration in Costa Rica: Challenges from the Present Context / Gustavo Gatica López & José Francisco Pacheco-Jiménez. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 135-152 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 135-152. - 2014
Keywords: Costa Rica, Migration, Foreign workers, Labor rights, Social security,

22. Social Security for Migrants in a Segmented Economy: the Case of India
Social Security for Migrants in a Segmented Economy: the Case of India / Sony Pellissery, Sattwick Dey Biswas & Monimala Sengupta. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 153-166 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 153-166. - 2014
Keywords: India, Migration, Foreign workers, Social security,

23. The three Phases of Immigration Policy and the Family in the Post-War Period
The three Phases of Immigration Policy and the Family in the Post-War Period : what has been driving Change? / Don Flynn In: Journal of immigration, asylum and nationality law = ISSN 1746-7632: vol. 28, issue 1, page 11-26. - 2014
Keywords: Great Britain, Immigration law, Family life, Family reunion, Government policy,

24. How Children become "Failed Asylum-Seekers": Reflections on the Experiences of Young Unaccompanied Asylum-Seekers in Kent from 2006 to 2013, and how "Corrective Remedies" have failed them
How Children become "Failed Asylum-Seekers": Reflections on the Experiences of Young Unaccompanied Asylum-Seekers in Kent from 2006 to 2013, and how "Corrective Remedies" have failed them / Richard Warren and Sheona York In: Journal of Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Law: vol. 28, issue 2, page 123-145. - 2014
Keywords: Great Britain, Asylum, Children, Refugees, Immigration law,

25. At the Borders of Sovereignty: Nationality and Immigration Policy in an Independent Scotland
At the Borders of Sovereignty: Nationality and Immigration Policy in an Independent Scotland / Bernard Ryan In: Journal of Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Law: vol. 28, issue 2, page 146-164. - 2014
Keywords: Scotland, Great Britain, Nationality, Citizenship, Immigration law, European Union, Independence,

26. Bangladeshi "Undocumented Migrants" (Refugees) in India: a Humanitarian Problem Requiring a Humanitarian Solution
Bangladeshi "Undocumented Migrants" (Refugees) in India: a Humanitarian Problem Requiring a Humanitarian Solution / Shuvro Prosun Sarker In: Journal of Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Law: vol. 28, issue 2, page 165-175. - 2014
Keywords: India, Bangladesh, Illegal immigrants, Refugees, Asylum, Minorities, Immigration,

27. Social Security for Migrant Workers and their Families in Australia
Social Security for Migrant Workers and their Families in Australia / Anna Boucher & Terry Carney. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 187-214 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 187-214. - 2014
Keywords: Australia, Migration, Foreign workers, Social security, Families, Immigration, Welfare standards,

28. Bilateral Treaties in the Netherlands
Bilateral Treaties in the Netherlands / Marjolein van Everdingen, Paul Fehling & Trudy Werner-de Buck. - Alphen aan den Rijn : Kluwer Law International. - Page 215-237 In: Social Security and Migrant Workers : Selected Studies of Cross-Border Social Security Mechanisms / editor: Roger Blanpain, ISBN 9789041147707: (2014), Page 215-237. - 2014
Keywords: The Netherlands, Migration, Immigration, Bilateralism, Human rights, Equality, Welfare standards, Social security,

29. The Case of Christmas Island: How International Law Affects the Australian-Malaysian Refugee Deal
The Case of Christmas Island: How International Law Affects the Australian-Malaysian Refugee Deal / Ria Pereira In: Penn State Journal of Law and International Affairs = ISSN 2168-7951: vol. 2, issue 2, page 380-408. - 2013
Keywords: Australia, Malaysia, Immigration, Refugees, Asylum, Legality, International law and domestic law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Westin, C., and S. Hassanen, People on the Move : Experiences of Forced Migration. With Examples from Various Parts of the World, Trenton, The Red Sea Press, 2014.

    This volume deals with various issues of forced migration from developing countries, in some cases to neighbouring countries, in others to countries in the developed world. The forty-year period covered is from the late 1960s. In some cases the migration processes the contributors concentrate on resulted in settlement on a permanent basis in a receiving country, in their examples with strong links to diasporic communities elsewhere; in other cases the outcome is that individual families making up the diasporic cultural community go transnational themselves, living here at times, living there for periods, commuting and transcending national, cultural, political and linguistic boundaries. Chapters presenting empirical examples are guided theoretically, bringing observations in to theoretical interpretations. These chapters are interspersed with theoretical expositions of concepts such as durable solutions, nation state, citizenship and transnationalism.

    This volume deals with various issues of forced migration from developing countries, in some cases to neighbouring countries, in others to countries in the developed world. The forty-year period covered is from the late 1960s. In some cases the migration processes the contributors concentrate on resulted in settlement on a permanent basis in a receiving country, in their examples with strong links to diasporic communities elsewhere; in other cases the outcome is that individual families making up the diasporic cultural community go transnational themselves, living here at times, living there for periods, commuting and transcending national, cultural, political and linguistic boundaries. Chapters presenting empirical examples are guided theoretically, bringing observations in to theoretical interpretations. These chapters are interspersed with theoretical expositions of concepts such as durable solutions, nation state, citizenship and transnationalism.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Chetail, V. and C. Bauloz (eds.), Research Handbook on International Law and Migration, Cheltenham, Edward, Elgar, 2014.

    Migration is a complex and multifaceted issue, and the current legal framework suffers from considerable ambiguity and lack of cohesive focus. This Handbook offers a comprehensive take on the intersection of law and migration studies and provides strategies for better understanding the potential of international legal norms in regulating migration. Authoritative analyses by the most renowned and knowledgeable experts in the field focus on important migration issues and challenge the current normative framework with new ways of thinking about the topic.

    Migration is a complex and multifaceted issue, and the current legal framework suffers from considerable ambiguity and lack of cohesive focus. This Handbook offers a comprehensive take on the intersection of law and migration studies and provides strategies for better understanding the potential of international legal norms in regulating migration. Authoritative analyses by the most renowned and knowledgeable experts in the field focus on important migration issues and challenge the current normative framework with new ways of thinking about the topic.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Rubio-Marín, R. (ed.), Human Rights and Immigration, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Rubio-Marín, R. (ed.), Human Rights and Immigration, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Economic interaction has enlarged the international trade in goods and services, but the safe and humane flow of persons across international borders remains a challenge in a State-based model of territorial jurisdictions. Once an immigrant enters a new host country the guarantee of respect for their human rights comes into question. Indeed, the legal and political constructions of inclusion or exclusion of migrants from the political community touch at the very heart of the cosmopolitan spirit of universal human rights.

    This book brings together leading experts in the fields of migration and human rights law to examine central problems in the protection of the human rights of migrants. They explain the theoretical background of present issues in the area including, immigrant integration policies in Europe, the social and labour rights of migrants, the conditions and legal frameworks affecting migrant women, asylum seekers and refugees worldwide among many others. It explains in a clear and critical manner the legal and political implications of migration today in the context of an evolving globalized world.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Chetail, V. and C. Bauloz (eds.), Research Handbook on International Law and Migration, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2014.

    cheail, v. and c. bauloz (eds.), research handbook on international law and migration, cheltenham, elgar, 2014

    Migration is a complex and multifaceted issue, and the current legal framework suffers from considerable ambiguity and lack of cohesive focus. This Handbook offers a comprehensive take on the intersection of law and migration studies and provides strategies for better understanding the potential of international legal norms in regulating migration. Authoritative analyses by the most renowned and knowledgeable experts in the field focus on important migration issues and challenge the current normative framework with new ways of thinking about the topic.

    The book examines the many facets of migration from an international law perspective. Topics discussed include the relationship between migration and state sovereignty, the human rights of migrants, human trafficking, migrant workers, refugees and internal displacement. The expert contributors hail from a number of diverse international law backgrounds (including refugee law, human rights law, humanitarian law, labour law, WTO law and others), allowing them to synthesize many different perspectives and present a comprehensive, cohesive and timely study of a complicated and fractured topic.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Juss, S.S. (ed.), The Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Law, Theory and Policy, Farnham, Ashgate, 2013.

    Juss, S.S. (ed.), The Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Law, Theory and Policy, Farnham, Ashgate, 2013.
    The Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Law, Theory and Policy complements the already successful Ashgate series Law & Migration, established in 2006 which now has a number of well-regarded monographs to its credit. The purpose of this Companion is to augment that Series, by taking stock of the current state of literature on migration law, theory and policy, and to sketch out the contours of its future long-term development, in what is now a vastly expanded research agenda. The Companion provides readers with a definitive and dependable state-of-art review of current research in each of the chosen areas that is all-embracing and all-inclusive of its subject-matter. The chapters focus on the regional and the sub-regional, as well as the national and the global. In so doing, they aim to give a snap-shot that is contextual, coherent, and comprehensive. The contributors are both world-renowned scholars and newer voices and include scholars, practitioners, former judges and researchers and policy-makers who are currently working for international organisations.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Opeskin, B. (et al.) (eds.), Foundations of International Migration Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    Opeskin, B. (et al.) (eds.), Foundations of International Migration Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    International migration law is an important field of international law, which has attracted exceptional interest in recent years. This book has been written from a wide variety of perspectives for those wanting to understand the legal framework that regulates migration. It is intended for students new to this field of study who seek an overview of its many components. It will also appeal to those who have focussed on a particular branch of international migration law but require an understanding of how their specialisation fits with other branches of the discipline. Written by migration law specialists and led by respected international experts, this volume draws upon the combined knowledge of international migration law and policy from academia; international, intergovernmental, regional and non-governmental organisations; and national governments. Additional features include case studies, maps, break-out boxes and references to resources which allow for a full understanding of the law in context.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Rosenblum, M.R. and D.J. Tichenor (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of International Migration, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    Rosenblum, M.R. and D.J. Tichenor (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of International Migration, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State is the authoritative and definitive guide to the contemporary welfare state. In nearly fifty newly-written articles, scholars offer an account of everything one needs to know about the modern welfare state. The text is divided into eight sections. It opens with three articles that evaluate the philosophical case for (and against) the welfare state. Surveys of the welfare state’s history and of the approaches taken to its study are followed by four extended sections, which offer an in-depth survey of current state of knowledge across the whole range of issues that the welfare state embraces. The first of these sections looks at inputs and actors (including the roles of parties, unions, and employers), the impact of gender and religion, patterns of migration and a changing public opinion, the role of international organisations and the impact of globalisation. The next two sections cover policy inputs (in areas such as pensions, health care, disability, care of the elderly, unemployment, and labour market activation) and their outcomes (in terms of inequality and poverty, macroeconomic performance, and retrenchment). The seventh section surveys welfare state experience around the globe (and not just within the OECD). Two final articles consider questions about the global future of the welfare state.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Talani, L.S. (ed.), Globalisation, Migration, and the Future of Europe: Insiders and Outsiders, London, Routledge, 2012.

    Talani, L.S. (ed.), Globalisation, Migration, and the Future of Europe: Insiders and Outsiders, London, Routledge, 2012.

    Showcasing an original, interdisciplinary approach, this text examines the effect of migration on the domestic politics of individual states and how they are eroding the distinctions between the domestic and foreign policy, the ‘inside’ and ‘outside’ components of politics and law. During the twentieth century the context in which migrants negotiate their integration within legal, social, cultural, economic and political spaces changed significantly. Drawing upon varied perspectives from the US, UK, France, Germany, Switzerland, Russia and Italy among others, this work develops a comprehensive understanding of the impact migratory networks are having on European societies. It investigates the strategies of integration or discrimination which are developed in Europe by state institutions, legal codes, political movements and even immigrant communities themselves, when confronted with the growing influence of migratory networks. The result is a highly topical exploration of the political and legal dimensions of migration in the EU, that develops new approaches to the issue of social integration and the exclusion of migrants and migrant communities. Globalization, Migration, and the Future of Europe will be of interest to students and scholars of migration, European studies, globalization and International Law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Triandafyllidou, A. and T. Maroukis, Migrant Smuggling: Irregular Migration From Asia and Africa to Europe, Palgrave, Macmillan, 2012.

    Triandafyllidou, A. and T. Maroukis, Migrant Smuggling: Irregular Migration From Asia and Africa to Europe, Palgrave, Macmillan, 2012.

    This book explores one important aspect of international irregular migration, notably the smuggling of migrants from Asia and Africa into southern European countries. During the last two decades, international migration has intensified both across the East to West and South to North axis,with Europe receiving increasing numbers of migrants from developing countries in Africa and Asia (and also Latin America), and this work examinesthis international movement of people that oftentakes place illegally and involves either unlawful border crossings or overstaying (with or without a visa). The book also discusses how migration control policies in southern European countries may inadvertently shape the migrant smuggling phenomenon and the smuggling ‘business’.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Ho, C.G.T. and J. Loucky, Humane Migration: Establishing Legitimacy and Rights for Displaced People, Sterling, VA, Kumarian Press, 2012.

    Ho, C.G.T. and J. Loucky, Humane Migration: Establishing Legitimacy and Rights for Displaced People, Sterling, VA, Kumarian Press, 2012.

    The popular discourse on immigration in North America and Western Europe is usually framed in terms of violations to national law, fueled by fear and propped up by the myths of nationhood. The rhetoric maintains that immigrants as individuals threaten jobs, the local economy and the cultural identity of a country. But these views fail to consider the ironic reality: that the developed world, which tries so emphatically to keep poor people out, itself produces the systemic economic conditions that foster migration. “Dispossessed People” provides a fresh look at the debate on international migration in general and immigration to the United States, Europe and Canada in particular. It explains clearly why groups migrate and the militarized anxiety that threatens their livelihood. Arguing that migration is a human right, the authors call for better policies that recognize these rights and the many benefits that migrants provide to their new communities. This book is an essential text for policy makers, students and activists who seek justice for the world’s vulnerable populations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • “People must be able to look one another in the eye”. Plans of the Dutch Government to ban face-covering clothing.

    The Dutch Government chose to ignore the advice of the Council of State concerning the ban on face-covering clothing. The Council of State, the advisory organ of the Government, heavily criticised the legislative proposal. First, the Council of State does not consider the complete ban as necessary and useful. Second, the Council of State is of the opinion that a ban on face covering clothing is an infringement of the freedom of religion.

    Read more
  • Cultural Diversity

    On Monday the 17th of August 2009 the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law started. The Centre takes place annually at the Academy and Library building of the Peace Palace. The purpose of the Centre is to bring together advanced young scholars of [...]

    Read more
  • European Pact on Immigration and Asylum

    European Pact on Immigration and Asylum : At a meeting in Cannes on Monday, 7 July, EU ministers approved French proposals for a tougher common policy to stem the influx of illegal immigrants, despite some differences and concerns about accusations of xenophobia from outside the European Union.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Individuals and Groups

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.