Minorities

Introduction

Minorities - Research Guide International Law

A systematic approach of international protection of minority rights began after the First World War by the League of Nations. The minority protection system was meant to protect group rights of homogenous populations within States, to further the idea of self-determination. After the Second World War the United Nations the focus was on universal rights of individuals, rather than on minorities. The end of the Cold War, and the many conflicts with ethnic dimensions marked the revival of the protection of minority rights. The result was the adoption of the Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious and Linguistic Minorities by the UN General Assembly in 1992. The 21st Century faces the challenge to achieve a peaceful coexistence within the multicultural nations of the world.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for legal research on Minorities. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section.
Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 106. Minorities and subject heading (keyword) Minorities are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert
Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.). - 1. Auflage. - Baden-Baden : Nomos ; Wien : facultas.wuv, 2013. - 393 pages. : illustrations, tables. ; 23 cm. - (Andrássy Studien zur Europaforschung ; Band 8) International conference proceedings, held at the Andrássy University Budapest on 21-22 February 2013. - 12 German, 7 English contributions. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2013
Keywords: Eastern Europe, Hungary, Gypsies, Minorities, Ethnicity, History,

2. Ethnic groups in Iraq
Ethnic groups in Iraq. - Memphis : Books LLC®, 2013. - 49 pages. : illustrations. ; 25 cm. - (Wiki Series) ISBN 978-1-156-46312-3 paperback - 2013
Keywords: Iraq, Ethnicity,

3. Internationalisierung des Minderheitenrechts
Internationalisierung des Minderheitenrechts / Christoph Schnellbach. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 13-28 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 13-28. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Council of Europe, Minorities, Human rights, Protection,

4. Die europäische Dimension von Minderheitenrechten
Die europäische Dimension von Minderheitenrechten / Günther Rautz. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 29-44 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 29-44. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Council of Europe, Minorities, Human rights, Protection,

5. Grenzüberschreitender Minderheitenschutz 1919-1941: Patronagestaat Deutschland, Heimatstaat Ungarn und der Völkerbund
Grenzüberschreitender Minderheitenschutz 1919-1941: Patronagestaat Deutschland, Heimatstaat Ungarn und der Völkerbund / Gerhard Seewann. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 123-145 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 123-145. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, Hungary, League of Nations, Minorities, Interbellum, History,

6. Interethnische Beziehungen zwischen Minderheit und Mehrheit
Interethnische Beziehungen zwischen Minderheit und Mehrheit : Ein (Macht-) Verhältnis auf gleicher Augenhöhe? / Vladimir Wakounig. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 239-257 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 239-257. - 2013
Keywords: Slovenia, Austria, Carinthia, Minorities, Ethnicity,

7. Encounter of the Extremes
Encounter of the Extremes : Archduke Joseph and the Roma / Erzsébet Magyar. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 261-278 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 261-278. - 2013
Keywords: Austria-Hungary, Gypsies, History,

8. Rechtsradikale Mobilisierung und interethnische Konflikte
Rechtsradikale Mobilisierung und interethnische Konflikte : Fallanalyse Gyöngyöspata 2011 / Margit Feischmidt und Kristóf Szombati. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 293-303 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 293-303. - 2013
Keywords: Hungary, Gypsies, Political extremism, Political parties,

9. The Romanian Roma: the Dilemma of Integration
The Romanian Roma: the Dilemma of Integration / István Horváth. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 305-323 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 305-323. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Gypsies, Integration, Multicultural society,

10. Romanian Minority Politics and Policies in a European Context
Romanian Minority Politics and Policies in a European Context / Sergiu Constantin. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 341-361 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 341-361. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Hungary, Minorities, European integration, Politics, International relations,

11. The 2011 Census in Romania: Results and Impacts on the Hungarian Community in Transylvania
The 2011 Census in Romania: Results and Impacts on the Hungarian Community in Transylvania / Tamás Kiss. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 363-383 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 363-383. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Hungary, Transylvania, Gypsies, Ethnic minorities,

12. Making an Offer They Can't Refuse: Corporate Investment in Africa and the Divestment of Indigenous Land Rights
Making an Offer They Can't Refuse: Corporate Investment in Africa and the Divestment of Indigenous Land Rights / Nicholas Dorf In: Boston College International and Comparative Law Review = ISSN 0277-5778: vol. 38, issue 1, page 65-89. - 2015
Keywords: Africa, Foreign direct investment, Indigenous peoples, Indigenous land rights, Human rights,

13. United Nations Standard-Setting Regarding Rights of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples
United Nations Standard-Setting Regarding Rights of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples / Asbjørn Eide In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 51-61. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Minorities, Indigenous peoples, Declarations, Human rights, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (New York, 13 September 2007),

14. The Responsibility to Protect Minorities: the Question of Protection by Kin-States
The Responsibility to Protect Minorities: the Question of Protection by Kin-States / Dan Kuwali and Gudmundur Alfredsson In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 62-68. - 2014
Keywords: Responsibility to protect, Minorities, Human rights,

15. Indigenous Rights at the United Nations: Their Impact on International Human Rights Standards
Indigenous Rights at the United Nations: Their Impact on International Human Rights Standards / Alexandra Xanthaki In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 69-77. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (New York, 13 September 2007), Indigenous peoples, Indigenous land rights, Human rights, Right of self-determination,

16. Minderheitenschutz und Gleichheitsgebot im Wahlrecht
Minderheitenschutz und Gleichheitsgebot im Wahlrecht / Ulrike Haider-Quercia In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 78-87. - 2014
Keywords: Europe, Minorities, Electoral law, Political representation, Parliaments,

17. Minority Rights in the European Union after Lisbon
Tagged with: ,

Bibliography

Reference works

Recent articles, working papers, and reports

Documents relevant to minority protection

 

UN

 

Council of Europe

 

EU

 

OSCE

 

General

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert
Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.). - 1. Auflage. - Baden-Baden : Nomos ; Wien : facultas.wuv, 2013. - 393 pages. : illustrations, tables. ; 23 cm. - (Andrássy Studien zur Europaforschung ; Band 8) International conference proceedings, held at the Andrássy University Budapest on 21-22 February 2013. - 12 German, 7 English contributions. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2013
Keywords: Eastern Europe, Hungary, Gypsies, Minorities, Ethnicity, History,

2. Ethnic groups in Iraq
Ethnic groups in Iraq. - Memphis : Books LLC®, 2013. - 49 pages. : illustrations. ; 25 cm. - (Wiki Series) ISBN 978-1-156-46312-3 paperback - 2013
Keywords: Iraq, Ethnicity,

3. Internationalisierung des Minderheitenrechts
Internationalisierung des Minderheitenrechts / Christoph Schnellbach. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 13-28 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 13-28. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Council of Europe, Minorities, Human rights, Protection,

4. Die europäische Dimension von Minderheitenrechten
Die europäische Dimension von Minderheitenrechten / Günther Rautz. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 29-44 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 29-44. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Council of Europe, Minorities, Human rights, Protection,

5. Grenzüberschreitender Minderheitenschutz 1919-1941: Patronagestaat Deutschland, Heimatstaat Ungarn und der Völkerbund
Grenzüberschreitender Minderheitenschutz 1919-1941: Patronagestaat Deutschland, Heimatstaat Ungarn und der Völkerbund / Gerhard Seewann. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 123-145 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 123-145. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, Hungary, League of Nations, Minorities, Interbellum, History,

6. Interethnische Beziehungen zwischen Minderheit und Mehrheit
Interethnische Beziehungen zwischen Minderheit und Mehrheit : Ein (Macht-) Verhältnis auf gleicher Augenhöhe? / Vladimir Wakounig. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 239-257 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 239-257. - 2013
Keywords: Slovenia, Austria, Carinthia, Minorities, Ethnicity,

7. Encounter of the Extremes
Encounter of the Extremes : Archduke Joseph and the Roma / Erzsébet Magyar. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 261-278 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 261-278. - 2013
Keywords: Austria-Hungary, Gypsies, History,

8. Rechtsradikale Mobilisierung und interethnische Konflikte
Rechtsradikale Mobilisierung und interethnische Konflikte : Fallanalyse Gyöngyöspata 2011 / Margit Feischmidt und Kristóf Szombati. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 293-303 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 293-303. - 2013
Keywords: Hungary, Gypsies, Political extremism, Political parties,

9. The Romanian Roma: the Dilemma of Integration
The Romanian Roma: the Dilemma of Integration / István Horváth. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 305-323 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 305-323. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Gypsies, Integration, Multicultural society,

10. Romanian Minority Politics and Policies in a European Context
Romanian Minority Politics and Policies in a European Context / Sergiu Constantin. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 341-361 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 341-361. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Hungary, Minorities, European integration, Politics, International relations,

11. The 2011 Census in Romania: Results and Impacts on the Hungarian Community in Transylvania
The 2011 Census in Romania: Results and Impacts on the Hungarian Community in Transylvania / Tamás Kiss. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Page 363-383 In: Minderheitenfragen in Ungarn und in den Nachbarländern im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert / Enikő Dácz (Hrsg.), ISBN 9783848707799: (2013), Page 363-383. - 2013
Keywords: Romania, Hungary, Transylvania, Gypsies, Ethnic minorities,

12. Making an Offer They Can't Refuse: Corporate Investment in Africa and the Divestment of Indigenous Land Rights
Making an Offer They Can't Refuse: Corporate Investment in Africa and the Divestment of Indigenous Land Rights / Nicholas Dorf In: Boston College International and Comparative Law Review = ISSN 0277-5778: vol. 38, issue 1, page 65-89. - 2015
Keywords: Africa, Foreign direct investment, Indigenous peoples, Indigenous land rights, Human rights,

13. United Nations Standard-Setting Regarding Rights of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples
United Nations Standard-Setting Regarding Rights of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples / Asbjørn Eide In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 51-61. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Minorities, Indigenous peoples, Declarations, Human rights, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (New York, 13 September 2007),

14. The Responsibility to Protect Minorities: the Question of Protection by Kin-States
The Responsibility to Protect Minorities: the Question of Protection by Kin-States / Dan Kuwali and Gudmundur Alfredsson In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 62-68. - 2014
Keywords: Responsibility to protect, Minorities, Human rights,

15. Indigenous Rights at the United Nations: Their Impact on International Human Rights Standards
Indigenous Rights at the United Nations: Their Impact on International Human Rights Standards / Alexandra Xanthaki In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 69-77. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (New York, 13 September 2007), Indigenous peoples, Indigenous land rights, Human rights, Right of self-determination,

16. Minderheitenschutz und Gleichheitsgebot im Wahlrecht
Minderheitenschutz und Gleichheitsgebot im Wahlrecht / Ulrike Haider-Quercia In: Europa ethnica = ISSN 0014-2492: vol. 71, issue 3-4, page 78-87. - 2014
Keywords: Europe, Minorities, Electoral law, Political representation, Parliaments,

17. Minority Rights in the European Union after Lisbon

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • U. Caruso and R. Hofmann, The United Nations Declaration on Minorities: An Academic Account on the Occasion of its 20th Anniversary (1992-2012), Brill/Nijhoff, 2015.

    U. Caruso and R. Hofmann, The United Nations Declaration on Minorities An Academic Account on the Occasion of its 20th Anniversary (1992-2012), Brill Nijhoff, 2015

    Created in order to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Persons Belonging to National or Ethnic, Religious and Linguistic Minorities (1992-2012), this publication aims to offer readers a comprehensive review, written by a variety of scholars in the field, of the value and impact of the standards formulated in the Declaration. In so doing, it hopes to stimulate attention for and debate around the Declaration and its principles. The regional perspectives and case studies included further enable the identification of positive initiatives and good practices as well as persistent gaps in the implementation of the standards enshrined in the Declaration.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • G.N. Toggenburg, Die Europäische Union und das Rahmenübereinkommen zum Schutz nationaler Minderheiten: ignorieren, parallell “umsetzen“ oder gar beitreten?, European Diversity and Autonomy Papers, 2014.

    Die Europäische Union und das Rahmenübereinkommen zum Schutz nationaler Minderheiten

    This paper looks at the Council of Europe Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities (FCNM) through the lense of European Union law. It does so by posing four major questions: does the fact that 24 of 28 Member States of the EU ratified the FCNM have any legal implications for the European Union itself? Secondly, turning to the national level, does it make a difference for the implementation of the FCNM whether or not a state that has ratified the FCNM is also a member to the European Union? Thirdly, returning to the European Union itself, can and should the EU accede to the FCNM? Or are there, finally, any means beside ratification that would allow the European Union to implement the objectives and obligations as enshrined in the FCNM? These four questions are analysed in detail before the paper concludes on the potential role of the European Union in managing diversity and protecting (persons belonging to) minorities.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • T.H. Malloy and J. Marko, Minority Governance In and Beyond Europe: Celebrating 10 Years of the European Yearbook of Minority Issues, Leiden/Boston, Brill, 2014.

    Minority Governance In and Beyond Europe. Celebrating 10 Years of the European Yearbook of Minority Issues

    Minority Governance in and beyond Europe offers a review of contemporary developments in minority relations. The publication addresses normative and institutional developments in a pan-European context. It tackles the theoretical and practical implications of power-sharing; the dichotomy of ‘old’ and ‘new’ minorities; human rights violations; public institutions for minority protection and abating discrimination; theoretical reflections on minority activism; political participation of minorities; justifications of minority protection; the evolution of language rights, and minorities in relation to EU law. It offers a lens that provides the reader with a clearer understanding about academic thinking and indicates where political will is needed to advance the minority rights protection regime in the future. Compiled to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the European Yearbook of Minority Issues, and offering a selection of the most important articles published in the Yearbook, this collection will be of great interest to scholars, students and policymakers engaging in minority-related activities and interested in multiethnicity and cultural pluralism in Europe.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • L. Salat (eds.) (et al), Autonomy Arrangements Around the World, ISPMN Publishing, Cluj-Napoca, 2014

    untitled

    The volume compiles the articles presented at the conference on Autonomy Arrangements organized in Flensburg in September 2012. The initiative aimed to invite scholars, researchers and practitioners to engage in identifying, researching and analyzing as many operational autonomy arrangements as possible in a standard format, with special focus on the lesser-known cases. The contributions include:

    • Continuity and Change in South Tyrol’s Ethnic Governance, by Elisabeth Alber and Carolin Zwilling
    • Territorial (Sub-State) Autonomy in India, by Thomas Benedikter
    • Weaving Miskito and Mestizo Imaginations: the Atlantic Coast Autonomy of Nicaragua, by José-María Arraiza
    • Jammu and Kashmir: A Case of Eroded Autonomy, by Sergiu Constantin and Karl Koessler
    • The Special Status of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas of Pakistan, by Zahid Shahab Ahmed
    • From Soviet National Policy to Contemporary Russian Federalism: the Past and Future of the Jewish Autonomous Oblast, by Marharyta Fabrykant
    • Continuity and Change in South Tyrol’s Ethnic Governance, by Elisabeth Alber and Carolin Zwilling
    • The Autonomous Structures of Native American Reservations, by Sherrill Stroschein
    • The Roots, Development and Challenges of Autonomy Claims in Tanzania, by Alexander B. Makulilo and Sergiu Gheghina
    • Power Sharing and Informal Autonomy in the Republic of Macedonia, by Aneta Cekik
    • Fragile Autonomy Arrangements in the Republic of Serbia: The Territorial Autonomy of Vojvodina and the National Minority Councils, by Katinka Beretka
    • Between Importing and Exporting Minority Rights: the Minority Self-Governments in Hungary, by Balázs Dobos
    • National-Cultural Autonomy in Contemporary Estonia, by David J. Smith
    • National-Cultural Autonomy in the Russian Federation: the Case of the Tomsk Oblast, by Sara Barbieri
    • Autonomy Through Sub-State Institutions and Administrative Duality: the Case of Acadians in Canada, by Daniel Bourgeois
    • The Irish Gaeltacht: the Limitations of Regional Development and Linguistic Autonomy, by Éamonn Ó Neachtain
    • The (Dys-) Functional Autonomy of the Muslim Turkish Minority in Western Thrace, by Sebahattin Abdurrahman and Ali Huseynoglu
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Barten, U., Minorities, Minority Rights and Internal Self-Determination, Cham, Springer, 2014.

    barten, u., minorities rights and internal self-determination

    The book questions the classic idea of self-determination – the right to self-determination is a right of peoples, not of minorities – by examining the content of the right to self-determination and the content of minority rights. Self-determination has four dimensions: the political, the economic, the social and the cultural dimensions. Minorities have minority rights that touch on most aspects of life as a member of a minority. If there is an overlap between minority rights and the different dimensions of self-determination, the concept that the right to self-determination is only applicable to peoples loses credibility. No global and general conclusion is envisaged; there are restrictions in place. The work is limited to the European framework and is further restricted to classic minorities. The argument is based on a legitimacy and justice approach. The analysis in this book shows that some minority rights overlap with the different dimensions of internal self-determination. In short, classic minorities in Europe have a right to internal self-determination.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, Handbook on observing and promoting the participation of national minorities in electoral processes, Warsaw, ODIHR, 2014..

    Handbook on observing and promoting the participation of national minorities in electoral processes
    The present publication buildson the 2001 Guidelines to Assist National Minority Participation in the Electoral Process by including new material on the development of internationalstandards and good practice in the field of promoting the participation of national
    minorities in electoral processes.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • “People must be able to look one another in the eye”. Plans of the Dutch Government to ban face-covering clothing.

    The Dutch Government chose to ignore the advice of the Council of State concerning the ban on face-covering clothing. The Council of State, the advisory organ of the Government, heavily criticised the legislative proposal. First, the Council of State does not consider the complete ban as necessary and useful. Second, the Council of State is of the opinion that a ban on face covering clothing is an infringement of the freedom of religion.

    Read more
  • Roma Rights in the European Union.

    In July 2010, The French government decided to begin to expel Roma’s, mainly from Romania and Bulgaria, as many of them were living in France illegally. This decision caused much controversy within the Institutions of the EU. This blog will briefly discuss in what way EU institutions have responded to recent Roma issues and what can be done to improve the position of this marginalized community in Europe.

    Read more
  • The Islamic veil, secularism and freedom of religion

    “The burqa is a massive attack on the rights of women. It is a mobile prison”, Silvana Koch-Merin stated. Silvana, a German representative of the European Parliament, called for a ban on face-covering veils throughout Europe [1].There are many kinds of islamic veils, such as the niqab, burqa, chador, and khimar (see picture below). The [...]

    Read more
  • Cultural Diversity

    On Monday the 17th of August 2009 the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law started. The Centre takes place annually at the Academy and Library building of the Peace Palace. The purpose of the Centre is to bring together advanced young scholars of [...]

    Read more
  • Australian Key Ruling on Indigenous Fishing Rights

    On Wednesday, 30 July, the Australian High Court in Canberra in a key ruling (Northern Territory of Australia v Arnhem Land Aboriginal Land Trust [2008] HCA 29, judgement here) upheld a decision by the Federal Court earlier this year granting Aboriginal people rights of ownership over a large part of the Northern Territory’s (NT) coastline.

    Read more

Delicious links

See also

More Research guides on Individuals and Groups

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.