International Criminal Law

Introduction

International Criminal Law - Research Guide International Law

International criminal law is the part of public international law that deals with the criminal responsibility of individuals for international crimes. There is no generally accepted definition of international crimes. A distinction can be made between international crimes which are based on international customary law and therefore apply universally and crimes resulting from specific treaties which criminalize certain conduct and require the contracting states to implement legislation for the criminal prosecution of this conduct in their domestic legal system. The international core crimes, i.e., crimes over which international tribunals have been given jurisdiction under international law, are: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression. International criminal law finds its origin in both international law and criminal law and closely relates to other areas of international law. The most important areas are human rights law and international humanitarian law as well as the law on state responsibility. The sources of international criminal law are the same as those of general international law mentioned in article 38(1) of the Statute of the International Court of Justice: treaties, international customary law, general principles of law, judicial decisions and writings of eminent legal scholars. The Nuremberg and Tokyo trials signaled the birth of present-day international criminal law, i.e., the prosecution of individuals for international crimes before international tribunals. In the early nineties of the previous century international criminal law received a major stimulus with the establishment of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda by the United Nations Security Council. Also the creation of various internationalized or mixed criminal courts and the proposals of the International Law Commission, which resulted in the creation of the International Criminal Court in 2002, contributed to the rapid development of international criminal law during the last two decades.

This Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of International Criminal Law. It provides a selection of the legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Manuals, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Bibliography section. There are also links to the PPL Catalogue inserted. The Library’s systematic index code for International Criminal Law, i.e., 250b and the subject heading (keyword) International Criminal Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, the Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles

The Peace Palace Library has a collection of over a million publications. Each week, about six hundred new titles are added to our collection: books, articles, documents, online publications, etc. On this page, access is provided to this week’s new titles on International criminal law and criminal procedure. It covers a wide variety of topics which include, international crimes: genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and aggression; international criminal tribunals: Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Iraqi Special Tribunal, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, Special Court for Sierra Leone, Special Tribunal for Lebanon. Other subjects in this section include, among others: child soldiers; women and sex crimes; individual criminal responsibility; Residual mechanism; Rome Statute; superior orders; victims; and universal jurisdiction.


1. Iraq and the crimes of aggressive war
Iraq and the crimes of aggressive war : the legal cynicism of criminal militarism / John Hagan, Joshua Kaiser and Anna Hanson. - First edition. - New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2015. - IX, 305 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm. - (Cambridge studies in law and society) Bibliography: page 235-245. - Notes: page 229-233. - With index. - 2015
Keywords: Iraq, United States of America, Iraq War (2003), War crimes, Aggression, Armed forces, International criminal law,

2. The law and practice of the International Criminal Court
The law and practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2015. - C, 1326 pages. : illustrations. ; 26 cm Includes index. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal law, International criminal procedure,

3. The Rights of the Victims of Past Atrocities in Spain: Reparation without Truth and Justice?
The Rights of the Victims of Past Atrocities in Spain: Reparation without Truth and Justice? / Juan J. García Blesa and Víctor L. Gutiérrez Castillo In: Connecticut Journal of International Law = ISSN 0897-1218: vol. 29, issue 2, page 227-254. - 2014
Keywords: Spain, Forced disappearance, Civil wars, War reparations, Victims, International crimes,

4. From Prosecutorial to Reparatory
From Prosecutorial to Reparatory : a Valuable Post-Conflict Change of Focus / Nancy Amoury Combs In: Michigan Journal of International Law = ISSN 1052-2867: vol. 36, issue 2, page 219-276. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Prosecution, Internationalized criminal tribunals, International criminal tribunals, Victims, Individuals, International criminal justice, Restorative justice,

5. Inciting Genocide with Words
Inciting Genocide with Words / Richard Ashby Wilson In: Michigan Journal of International Law = ISSN 1052-2867: vol. 36, issue 2, page 277-320. - 2015
Keywords: Rwanda, Genocide, Hate speech, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International criminal justice, International criminal law,

6. More than a Court, Less than a Court, Several Courts in One?
More than a Court, Less than a Court, Several Courts in One? : The International Criminal Court in Perspective / Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page LXXXIII-C In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page LXXXIII-C. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal law, International criminal procedure,

7. The International Criminal Court (ICC) and Double Standards of International Justice
The International Criminal Court (ICC) and Double Standards of International Justice / Richard Dicker. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 3-12 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 3-12. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, International politics,

8. The ICC and the Politics of Peace and Justice
The ICC and the Politics of Peace and Justice / Leslie Vinjamuri. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 13-29 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 13-29. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International criminal justice, Peacebuilding, Legal theory,

9. The Relationship between the ICC and the United Nations Security Council
The Relationship between the ICC and the United Nations Security Council / Deborah Ruiz Verduzco. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 30-64 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 30-64. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, International politics,

10. The ICC and the AU
The ICC and the AU / Ottilia Anna Maunganidze and Anton du Plessis. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 65-83 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 65-83. - 2015
Keywords: Africa, African Union, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Criminal justice,

11. How Much Money Does the ICC Need?
How Much Money Does the ICC Need? / Stuart Ford. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 84-104 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 84-104. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Budgets,

12. The ICC and the ASP
The ICC and the ASP / Jonathan O'Donohue. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 105-138 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 105-138. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Assembly, States, International criminal law,

13. Jurisdiction
Jurisdiction / Rod Rastan. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 141-178 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 141-178. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal jurisdiction, International criminal procedure,

14. Ad Hoc Declarations of Acceptance of Jurisdiction
Ad Hoc Declarations of Acceptance of Jurisdiction : the Palestinian Situation under Scrutiny / Mohamed M. El Zeidy. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 179-209 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 179-209. - 2015
Keywords: Israel, Palestine, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal jurisdiction, Recognition of states, Legal status, Case-law,

15. Self-Referrals as an Indication of the Inability of States to Cope with Non-State Actors
Self-Referrals as an Indication of the Inability of States to Cope with Non-State Actors / Harmen van der Wilt. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 210-227 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 210-227. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Transfer of proceedings, Admissibility, Non-State actors, International crimes, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

16. Co-Perpetration
Co-Perpetration : German Dogmatik or German Invasion? / Jens David Ohlin. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 517-537 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 517-537. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Concept, Legal theory, International criminal law, Case-law,

17. Indirect Perpetration
Indirect Perpetration / Thomas Weigend. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 538-556 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 538-556. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, International criminal law, Case-law,

18. Forms of Accessorial Liability under Article 25(3)(b) and (c)
Forms of Accessorial Liability under Article 25(3)(b) and (c) / Héctor Olásolo and Enrique Carnero Rojo. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 557-591 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 557-591. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, International criminal law,

19. The ICC and Common Purpose - What Contribution is Required under Article 25(3)(d)?
The ICC and Common Purpose - What Contribution is Required under Article 25(3)(d)? / Kai Ambos. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 592-607 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 592-607. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Joint criminal enterprise, International criminal law, Case-law,

20. Command Responsibility under Article 28 of the Rome Statute
Command Responsibility under Article 28 of the Rome Statute / Alejandro Kiss. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 608-648 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 608-648. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Military command, International criminal law, Case-law,

21. Rethinking the Mental Elements in the Jurisprudence of the ICC
Rethinking the Mental Elements in the Jurisprudence of the ICC / Mohamed Elewa Badar and Sara Porro. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 649-668 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 649-668. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Mens rea, International criminal law, Case-law,

22. The ICC's First Encounter with the Crime of Genocide
The ICC's First Encounter with the Crime of Genocide : the Case against Al Bashir / Claus Kreβ. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 669-704 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 669-704. - 2015
Keywords: Sudan, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Genocide, International crimes, International criminal law, Cases,

23. Crimes against Humanity
Crimes against Humanity : a Better Policy on 'Policy' / Darryl Robinson. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 705-731 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 705-731. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Crimes against humanity, Interpretation, International criminal law, Case-law,

24. Charging War Crimes
Charging War Crimes : Policy and Prognosis from a Military Perspective / Michael A. Newton. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 732-761 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 732-761. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), War crimes, International crimes, Armed conflicts, International humanitarian law, International criminal law,

25. The Characterization of Armed Conflict in the Jurisprudence of the ICC
The Characterization of Armed Conflict in the Jurisprudence of the ICC / Anthony Cullen. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 762-777 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 762-777. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Armed conflicts, War crimes, International crimes, International criminal law,

26. The Crime of Aggression
The Crime of Aggression / Roger S. Clark. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 778-800 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 778-800. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Aggression, International crimes, Amendments, International criminal law,

27. La Lutte Continue
La Lutte Continue : Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Violence at the ICC / Niamh Hayes. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 801-839 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 801-839. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sex crimes, International crimes, Prosecution, International criminal law,

28. Cumulative Charges and Cumulative Convictions
Cumulative Charges and Cumulative Convictions / Carl-Friedrich Stuckenberg. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 840-858 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 840-858. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, International crimes, International criminal law, Customary international law, Case-law,

29. The International Criminal Standard of Proof at the ICC - Beyond Reasonable Doubt or Beyond Reason?
The International Criminal Standard of Proof at the ICC - Beyond Reasonable Doubt or Beyond Reason? / Simon De Smet. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 861-890 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 861-890. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Evidence, International crimes, Comparative law, International criminal procedure,

30. Confirmation of Charges
Confirmation of Charges / Ignaz Stegmiller. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 891-908 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 891-908. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Criminal investigation, Prosecution, Evidence, International criminal procedure,

31. Trial Procedures - With a Particular Focus on the Relationship between the Proceedings of the Pre-Trial and Trial Chambers
Trial Procedures - With a Particular Focus on the Relationship between the Proceedings of the Pre-Trial and Trial Chambers / Håkan Friman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 909-931 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 909-931. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Evidence, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

32. Proportionate Sentencing at the ICC
Proportionate Sentencing at the ICC / Margaret M. deGuzman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 932-962 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 932-962. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Infliction of punishment, Penalty, International criminal law,

33. The Role of the Appeals Chamber
The Role of the Appeals Chamber / Volker Nerlich. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 963-980 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 963-980. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Appellate court, Jurisdiction, International criminal procedure,

34. 'A Stick to Hit the Accused With'
'A Stick to Hit the Accused With' : the Legal Recharacterization of Facts under Regulation 55 / Kevin Jon Heller. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 981-1006 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 981-1006. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Prosecution, Fair administration of justice, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

35. Disclosure Challenges at the ICC
Disclosure Challenges at the ICC / Alex Whiting. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1007-1028 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1007-1028. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Evidence, Disclosure, International criminal procedure,

36. Sitting on Evidence?
Sitting on Evidence? : Systemic Failings in the ICC Disclosure Regime - Time for Reform / Karim A.A. Khan and Caroline Buisman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1029-1062 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1029-1062. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Evidence, Disclosure, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

37. The Roads to Freedom - Interim Release in the Practice of the ICC
The Roads to Freedom - Interim Release in the Practice of the ICC / Aiste Dumbryte. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1063-1083 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1063-1083. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Bail, Prosecution, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

38. Testifying behind Bars - Detained ICC Witnesses and Human Rights Protection
Testifying behind Bars - Detained ICC Witnesses and Human Rights Protection / Joris van Wijk and Marjolein Cupido. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1084-1104 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1084-1104. - 2015
Keywords: Congo (Kinshasa), The Netherlands, International Criminal Court, Testimony, Asylum, Detention, Human rights, Cases,

39. External Support and Internal Coordination - The ICC and the Protection of Witnesses
External Support and Internal Coordination - The ICC and the Protection of Witnesses / Markus Eikel. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1105-1132 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1105-1132. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Testimony, Protection, Evidence, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

40. Victim Participation Revisited - What the ICC is Learning about Itself
Victim Participation Revisited - What the ICC is Learning about Itself / Sergey Vasiliev. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1133-1202 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1133-1202. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Victims, Participation, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

41. The Rome Statute's Regime of Victim Redress
The Rome Statute's Regime of Victim Redress : Challenges and Prospects / Conor McCarthy. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1203-1221 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1203-1221. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Victims, Reparation for damage, International criminal procedure,

42. The Deterrent Effect of the ICC on the Commission of International Crimes by Government Leaders
The Deterrent Effect of the ICC on the Commission of International Crimes by Government Leaders / Nick Grono and Anna de Courcy Wheeler. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1225-1244 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1225-1244. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Heads of State and Heads of government, Deterrence, Prosecution,

43. The ICC and Capacity Building at the National Level
The ICC and Capacity Building at the National Level / Olympia Bekou. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1245-1258 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1245-1258. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Criminal justice, Judicial cooperation,

44. Completion, Legacy, and Complementarity at the ICC
Completion, Legacy, and Complementarity at the ICC / Elizabeth Evenson and Alison Smith. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1259-1276 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1259-1276. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International criminal tribunals, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Termination, Judicial cooperation, Complementary jurisdiction,

45. A Look towards the Future - The ICC and 'Lessons Learnt'
A Look towards the Future - The ICC and 'Lessons Learnt' / Philipp Ambach. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1277-1295 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1277-1295. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, Member states,

46. Bringing a Dictator to Justice
Bringing a Dictator to Justice : The Case of Hissène Habré / Reed Brody In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 209-217. - 2015
Keywords: Chad, Senegal, Heads of State and Heads of government, International crimes, Prosecution, Cases,

47. Doing Justice for the Liberian Victims of Mass Atrocity
Doing Justice for the Liberian Victims of Mass Atrocity : NGOs in Aid of Universal Jurisdiction / Olympia Bekou In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 219-227. - 2015
Keywords: Belgium, Liberia, Non-governmental organizations, International crimes, Prosecution, Universal jurisdiction, International criminal justice,

48. "Sadder but Wiser"?
"Sadder but Wiser"? : NGOs and Universal Jurisdiction for International Crimes / Harmen van der Wilt In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 237-243. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Universal jurisdiction, Prosecution, Non-governmental organizations, International criminal justice,

49. Universal Jurisdiction is Not Disappearing
Universal Jurisdiction is Not Disappearing : The Shift from "Global Enforcer" to "No Safe Haven" Universal Jurisdiction / Máximo Langer In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 245-256. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Universal jurisdiction, Prosecution, International criminal justice,

50. A Critical Assessment of US Intelligence's Investigation of Nazi Art Looting
A Critical Assessment of US Intelligence's Investigation of Nazi Art Looting / Michael Salter In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 257-280. - 2015
Keywords: Germany, United States of America, National socialism, Art, Looting, Investigation, Prosecution, International criminal law,

51. Elaborating Justice for Victims at the International Criminal Court
Elaborating Justice for Victims at the International Criminal Court : Beyond Rhetoric and The Hague / Luke Moffett In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 281-311. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International crimes, Victims, Complementary jurisdiction, International criminal justice,

52. Corporate Criminal Liability under International Law
Corporate Criminal Liability under International Law : The New TV S.A.L. and Akhbar Beirut S.A.L. Cases at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon / Nadia Bernaz In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 313-330. - 2015
Keywords: Special Tribunal for Lebanon, Companies, Criminal liability, Contempt of court, Criminal jurisdiction, International criminal law, Cases,

53. An Incomplete Narrative: Prosecuting Sexual Violence Crimes at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia
An Incomplete Narrative: Prosecuting Sexual Violence Crimes at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia / Rachel Killean In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 331-352. - 2015
Keywords: Cambodia, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, Sex crimes, International crimes, Prosecution, International criminal law, Case-law,

54. Current Developments at the Ad Hoc International Criminal Tribunals
Current Developments at the Ad Hoc International Criminal Tribunals / Katerina I. Kappos, Patrick W. Hayden In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 373-407. - 2015
Keywords: International criminal tribunals, International crimes, International criminal law, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

55. Admissibility Challenges before the ICC
Admissibility Challenges before the ICC : from Quasi-Primacy to Qualified Deference? / Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 228-259 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 228-259. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Admissibility, Interpretation, Case-law,

56. The ICC and its Relationship to Non-States Parties
The ICC and its Relationship to Non-States Parties / Robert Cryer. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 260-280 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 260-280. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Third states,

57. The Frog that wanted to be an Ox
The Frog that wanted to be an Ox : the ICC's Approach to Immunities and Cooperation / Dov Jacobs. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 281-302 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 281-302. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Immunities, Judicial cooperation, Third states,

58. Putting Complementarity in its Place
Putting Complementarity in its Place / Paul Seils. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 305-327 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 305-327. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Prosecution, Criminal justice, Judicial cooperation,

59. Investigative Management, Strategies, and Techniques of the ICC's OTP
Investigative Management, Strategies, and Techniques of the ICC's OTP / Susana SáCouto and Katherine Cleary Thompson. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 328-349 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 328-349. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Criminal investigation, Evidence, International criminal procedure,

60. The Selection of Situations and Cases by the OTP of the ICC
The Selection of Situations and Cases by the OTP of the ICC / Fabricio Guariglia and Emeric Rogier. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 350-364 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 350-364. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Discretionary powers, International criminal procedure,

61. Selecting Situations and Cases
Selecting Situations and Cases / William A. Schabas. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 365-381 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 365-381. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Discretionary powers, International criminal procedure,

62. Accountability of International Prosecutors
Accountability of International Prosecutors / Jenia Iontcheva Turner. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 382-407 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 382-407. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecutors, Discretionary powers, Accountability, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

63. Article 21 and the Hierarchy of Sources of Law before the ICC
Article 21 and the Hierarchy of Sources of Law before the ICC / Gilbert Bitti. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 411-443 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 411-443. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sources of law, International criminal procedure,

64. The Rome Statute and the Attempted Corseting of the Interpretive Judicial Function
The Rome Statute and the Attempted Corseting of the Interpretive Judicial Function : Reflections on Sources of Law and Interprative Technique / Joseph Powderly. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 444-498 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 444-498. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sources of law, Interpretation, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

65. Perpetration and Participation in Article 25(3)
Perpetration and Participation in Article 25(3) / Elies van Sliedregt. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 499-516 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 499-516. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Joint criminal enterprise, Legal theory, International criminal law, Case-law,

Most-read titles in the last 30 days

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Articles

Documents

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Bibliographies

 

Add comments -for instance if you think we missed something, or just to express your thoughts- about the bibliography in this research guide:


New titles

Updated every Friday morning.

The Peace Palace Library has a collection of over a million publications. Each week, about six hundred new titles are added to our collection: books, articles, documents, online publications, etc. On this page, access is provided to this week’s new titles on International criminal law and criminal procedure. It covers a wide variety of topics which include, international crimes: genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and aggression; international criminal tribunals: Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Iraqi Special Tribunal, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, Special Court for Sierra Leone, Special Tribunal for Lebanon. Other subjects in this section include, among others: child soldiers; women and sex crimes; individual criminal responsibility; Residual mechanism; Rome Statute; superior orders; victims; and universal jurisdiction.


1. Iraq and the crimes of aggressive war
Iraq and the crimes of aggressive war : the legal cynicism of criminal militarism / John Hagan, Joshua Kaiser and Anna Hanson. - First edition. - New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2015. - IX, 305 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm. - (Cambridge studies in law and society) Bibliography: page 235-245. - Notes: page 229-233. - With index. - 2015
Keywords: Iraq, United States of America, Iraq War (2003), War crimes, Aggression, Armed forces, International criminal law,

2. The law and practice of the International Criminal Court
The law and practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2015. - C, 1326 pages. : illustrations. ; 26 cm Includes index. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal law, International criminal procedure,

3. The Rights of the Victims of Past Atrocities in Spain: Reparation without Truth and Justice?
The Rights of the Victims of Past Atrocities in Spain: Reparation without Truth and Justice? / Juan J. García Blesa and Víctor L. Gutiérrez Castillo In: Connecticut Journal of International Law = ISSN 0897-1218: vol. 29, issue 2, page 227-254. - 2014
Keywords: Spain, Forced disappearance, Civil wars, War reparations, Victims, International crimes,

4. From Prosecutorial to Reparatory
From Prosecutorial to Reparatory : a Valuable Post-Conflict Change of Focus / Nancy Amoury Combs In: Michigan Journal of International Law = ISSN 1052-2867: vol. 36, issue 2, page 219-276. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Prosecution, Internationalized criminal tribunals, International criminal tribunals, Victims, Individuals, International criminal justice, Restorative justice,

5. Inciting Genocide with Words
Inciting Genocide with Words / Richard Ashby Wilson In: Michigan Journal of International Law = ISSN 1052-2867: vol. 36, issue 2, page 277-320. - 2015
Keywords: Rwanda, Genocide, Hate speech, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International criminal justice, International criminal law,

6. More than a Court, Less than a Court, Several Courts in One?
More than a Court, Less than a Court, Several Courts in One? : The International Criminal Court in Perspective / Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page LXXXIII-C In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page LXXXIII-C. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal law, International criminal procedure,

7. The International Criminal Court (ICC) and Double Standards of International Justice
The International Criminal Court (ICC) and Double Standards of International Justice / Richard Dicker. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 3-12 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 3-12. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, International politics,

8. The ICC and the Politics of Peace and Justice
The ICC and the Politics of Peace and Justice / Leslie Vinjamuri. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 13-29 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 13-29. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International criminal justice, Peacebuilding, Legal theory,

9. The Relationship between the ICC and the United Nations Security Council
The Relationship between the ICC and the United Nations Security Council / Deborah Ruiz Verduzco. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 30-64 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 30-64. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, International politics,

10. The ICC and the AU
The ICC and the AU / Ottilia Anna Maunganidze and Anton du Plessis. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 65-83 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 65-83. - 2015
Keywords: Africa, African Union, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Criminal justice,

11. How Much Money Does the ICC Need?
How Much Money Does the ICC Need? / Stuart Ford. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 84-104 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 84-104. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Budgets,

12. The ICC and the ASP
The ICC and the ASP / Jonathan O'Donohue. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 105-138 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 105-138. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Assembly, States, International criminal law,

13. Jurisdiction
Jurisdiction / Rod Rastan. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 141-178 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 141-178. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal jurisdiction, International criminal procedure,

14. Ad Hoc Declarations of Acceptance of Jurisdiction
Ad Hoc Declarations of Acceptance of Jurisdiction : the Palestinian Situation under Scrutiny / Mohamed M. El Zeidy. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 179-209 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 179-209. - 2015
Keywords: Israel, Palestine, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal jurisdiction, Recognition of states, Legal status, Case-law,

15. Self-Referrals as an Indication of the Inability of States to Cope with Non-State Actors
Self-Referrals as an Indication of the Inability of States to Cope with Non-State Actors / Harmen van der Wilt. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 210-227 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 210-227. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Transfer of proceedings, Admissibility, Non-State actors, International crimes, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

16. Co-Perpetration
Co-Perpetration : German Dogmatik or German Invasion? / Jens David Ohlin. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 517-537 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 517-537. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Concept, Legal theory, International criminal law, Case-law,

17. Indirect Perpetration
Indirect Perpetration / Thomas Weigend. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 538-556 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 538-556. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, International criminal law, Case-law,

18. Forms of Accessorial Liability under Article 25(3)(b) and (c)
Forms of Accessorial Liability under Article 25(3)(b) and (c) / Héctor Olásolo and Enrique Carnero Rojo. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 557-591 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 557-591. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, International criminal law,

19. The ICC and Common Purpose - What Contribution is Required under Article 25(3)(d)?
The ICC and Common Purpose - What Contribution is Required under Article 25(3)(d)? / Kai Ambos. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 592-607 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 592-607. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Joint criminal enterprise, International criminal law, Case-law,

20. Command Responsibility under Article 28 of the Rome Statute
Command Responsibility under Article 28 of the Rome Statute / Alejandro Kiss. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 608-648 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 608-648. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Complicity, Military command, International criminal law, Case-law,

21. Rethinking the Mental Elements in the Jurisprudence of the ICC
Rethinking the Mental Elements in the Jurisprudence of the ICC / Mohamed Elewa Badar and Sara Porro. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 649-668 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 649-668. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Mens rea, International criminal law, Case-law,

22. The ICC's First Encounter with the Crime of Genocide
The ICC's First Encounter with the Crime of Genocide : the Case against Al Bashir / Claus Kreβ. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 669-704 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 669-704. - 2015
Keywords: Sudan, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Genocide, International crimes, International criminal law, Cases,

23. Crimes against Humanity
Crimes against Humanity : a Better Policy on 'Policy' / Darryl Robinson. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 705-731 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 705-731. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Crimes against humanity, Interpretation, International criminal law, Case-law,

24. Charging War Crimes
Charging War Crimes : Policy and Prognosis from a Military Perspective / Michael A. Newton. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 732-761 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 732-761. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), War crimes, International crimes, Armed conflicts, International humanitarian law, International criminal law,

25. The Characterization of Armed Conflict in the Jurisprudence of the ICC
The Characterization of Armed Conflict in the Jurisprudence of the ICC / Anthony Cullen. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 762-777 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 762-777. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Armed conflicts, War crimes, International crimes, International criminal law,

26. The Crime of Aggression
The Crime of Aggression / Roger S. Clark. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 778-800 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 778-800. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Aggression, International crimes, Amendments, International criminal law,

27. La Lutte Continue
La Lutte Continue : Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Violence at the ICC / Niamh Hayes. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 801-839 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 801-839. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sex crimes, International crimes, Prosecution, International criminal law,

28. Cumulative Charges and Cumulative Convictions
Cumulative Charges and Cumulative Convictions / Carl-Friedrich Stuckenberg. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 840-858 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 840-858. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, International crimes, International criminal law, Customary international law, Case-law,

29. The International Criminal Standard of Proof at the ICC - Beyond Reasonable Doubt or Beyond Reason?
The International Criminal Standard of Proof at the ICC - Beyond Reasonable Doubt or Beyond Reason? / Simon De Smet. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 861-890 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 861-890. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Evidence, International crimes, Comparative law, International criminal procedure,

30. Confirmation of Charges
Confirmation of Charges / Ignaz Stegmiller. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 891-908 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 891-908. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Criminal investigation, Prosecution, Evidence, International criminal procedure,

31. Trial Procedures - With a Particular Focus on the Relationship between the Proceedings of the Pre-Trial and Trial Chambers
Trial Procedures - With a Particular Focus on the Relationship between the Proceedings of the Pre-Trial and Trial Chambers / Håkan Friman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 909-931 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 909-931. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Evidence, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

32. Proportionate Sentencing at the ICC
Proportionate Sentencing at the ICC / Margaret M. deGuzman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 932-962 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 932-962. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Infliction of punishment, Penalty, International criminal law,

33. The Role of the Appeals Chamber
The Role of the Appeals Chamber / Volker Nerlich. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 963-980 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 963-980. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Appellate court, Jurisdiction, International criminal procedure,

34. 'A Stick to Hit the Accused With'
'A Stick to Hit the Accused With' : the Legal Recharacterization of Facts under Regulation 55 / Kevin Jon Heller. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 981-1006 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 981-1006. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Prosecution, Fair administration of justice, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

35. Disclosure Challenges at the ICC
Disclosure Challenges at the ICC / Alex Whiting. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1007-1028 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1007-1028. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Evidence, Disclosure, International criminal procedure,

36. Sitting on Evidence?
Sitting on Evidence? : Systemic Failings in the ICC Disclosure Regime - Time for Reform / Karim A.A. Khan and Caroline Buisman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1029-1062 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1029-1062. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Evidence, Disclosure, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

37. The Roads to Freedom - Interim Release in the Practice of the ICC
The Roads to Freedom - Interim Release in the Practice of the ICC / Aiste Dumbryte. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1063-1083 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1063-1083. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Bail, Prosecution, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

38. Testifying behind Bars - Detained ICC Witnesses and Human Rights Protection
Testifying behind Bars - Detained ICC Witnesses and Human Rights Protection / Joris van Wijk and Marjolein Cupido. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1084-1104 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1084-1104. - 2015
Keywords: Congo (Kinshasa), The Netherlands, International Criminal Court, Testimony, Asylum, Detention, Human rights, Cases,

39. External Support and Internal Coordination - The ICC and the Protection of Witnesses
External Support and Internal Coordination - The ICC and the Protection of Witnesses / Markus Eikel. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1105-1132 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1105-1132. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Testimony, Protection, Evidence, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

40. Victim Participation Revisited - What the ICC is Learning about Itself
Victim Participation Revisited - What the ICC is Learning about Itself / Sergey Vasiliev. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1133-1202 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1133-1202. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Victims, Participation, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

41. The Rome Statute's Regime of Victim Redress
The Rome Statute's Regime of Victim Redress : Challenges and Prospects / Conor McCarthy. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1203-1221 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1203-1221. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Victims, Reparation for damage, International criminal procedure,

42. The Deterrent Effect of the ICC on the Commission of International Crimes by Government Leaders
The Deterrent Effect of the ICC on the Commission of International Crimes by Government Leaders / Nick Grono and Anna de Courcy Wheeler. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1225-1244 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1225-1244. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International crimes, Heads of State and Heads of government, Deterrence, Prosecution,

43. The ICC and Capacity Building at the National Level
The ICC and Capacity Building at the National Level / Olympia Bekou. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1245-1258 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1245-1258. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Criminal justice, Judicial cooperation,

44. Completion, Legacy, and Complementarity at the ICC
Completion, Legacy, and Complementarity at the ICC / Elizabeth Evenson and Alison Smith. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1259-1276 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1259-1276. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International criminal tribunals, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Termination, Judicial cooperation, Complementary jurisdiction,

45. A Look towards the Future - The ICC and 'Lessons Learnt'
A Look towards the Future - The ICC and 'Lessons Learnt' / Philipp Ambach. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 1277-1295 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 1277-1295. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), International criminal procedure, Member states,

46. Bringing a Dictator to Justice
Bringing a Dictator to Justice : The Case of Hissène Habré / Reed Brody In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 209-217. - 2015
Keywords: Chad, Senegal, Heads of State and Heads of government, International crimes, Prosecution, Cases,

47. Doing Justice for the Liberian Victims of Mass Atrocity
Doing Justice for the Liberian Victims of Mass Atrocity : NGOs in Aid of Universal Jurisdiction / Olympia Bekou In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 219-227. - 2015
Keywords: Belgium, Liberia, Non-governmental organizations, International crimes, Prosecution, Universal jurisdiction, International criminal justice,

48. "Sadder but Wiser"?
"Sadder but Wiser"? : NGOs and Universal Jurisdiction for International Crimes / Harmen van der Wilt In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 237-243. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Universal jurisdiction, Prosecution, Non-governmental organizations, International criminal justice,

49. Universal Jurisdiction is Not Disappearing
Universal Jurisdiction is Not Disappearing : The Shift from "Global Enforcer" to "No Safe Haven" Universal Jurisdiction / Máximo Langer In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 245-256. - 2015
Keywords: International crimes, Universal jurisdiction, Prosecution, International criminal justice,

50. A Critical Assessment of US Intelligence's Investigation of Nazi Art Looting
A Critical Assessment of US Intelligence's Investigation of Nazi Art Looting / Michael Salter In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 257-280. - 2015
Keywords: Germany, United States of America, National socialism, Art, Looting, Investigation, Prosecution, International criminal law,

51. Elaborating Justice for Victims at the International Criminal Court
Elaborating Justice for Victims at the International Criminal Court : Beyond Rhetoric and The Hague / Luke Moffett In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 281-311. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, International crimes, Victims, Complementary jurisdiction, International criminal justice,

52. Corporate Criminal Liability under International Law
Corporate Criminal Liability under International Law : The New TV S.A.L. and Akhbar Beirut S.A.L. Cases at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon / Nadia Bernaz In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 313-330. - 2015
Keywords: Special Tribunal for Lebanon, Companies, Criminal liability, Contempt of court, Criminal jurisdiction, International criminal law, Cases,

53. An Incomplete Narrative: Prosecuting Sexual Violence Crimes at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia
An Incomplete Narrative: Prosecuting Sexual Violence Crimes at the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia / Rachel Killean In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 331-352. - 2015
Keywords: Cambodia, Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, Sex crimes, International crimes, Prosecution, International criminal law, Case-law,

54. Current Developments at the Ad Hoc International Criminal Tribunals
Current Developments at the Ad Hoc International Criminal Tribunals / Katerina I. Kappos, Patrick W. Hayden In: Journal of International Criminal Justice = ISSN 1478-1387: vol. 13, issue 2, page 373-407. - 2015
Keywords: International criminal tribunals, International crimes, International criminal law, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

55. Admissibility Challenges before the ICC
Admissibility Challenges before the ICC : from Quasi-Primacy to Qualified Deference? / Carsten Stahn. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 228-259 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 228-259. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Admissibility, Interpretation, Case-law,

56. The ICC and its Relationship to Non-States Parties
The ICC and its Relationship to Non-States Parties / Robert Cryer. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 260-280 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 260-280. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Third states,

57. The Frog that wanted to be an Ox
The Frog that wanted to be an Ox : the ICC's Approach to Immunities and Cooperation / Dov Jacobs. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 281-302 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 281-302. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Immunities, Judicial cooperation, Third states,

58. Putting Complementarity in its Place
Putting Complementarity in its Place / Paul Seils. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 305-327 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 305-327. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Complementary jurisdiction, Prosecution, Criminal justice, Judicial cooperation,

59. Investigative Management, Strategies, and Techniques of the ICC's OTP
Investigative Management, Strategies, and Techniques of the ICC's OTP / Susana SáCouto and Katherine Cleary Thompson. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 328-349 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 328-349. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Criminal investigation, Evidence, International criminal procedure,

60. The Selection of Situations and Cases by the OTP of the ICC
The Selection of Situations and Cases by the OTP of the ICC / Fabricio Guariglia and Emeric Rogier. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 350-364 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 350-364. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Discretionary powers, International criminal procedure,

61. Selecting Situations and Cases
Selecting Situations and Cases / William A. Schabas. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 365-381 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 365-381. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecution, Discretionary powers, International criminal procedure,

62. Accountability of International Prosecutors
Accountability of International Prosecutors / Jenia Iontcheva Turner. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 382-407 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 382-407. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Prosecutors, Discretionary powers, Accountability, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

63. Article 21 and the Hierarchy of Sources of Law before the ICC
Article 21 and the Hierarchy of Sources of Law before the ICC / Gilbert Bitti. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 411-443 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 411-443. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sources of law, International criminal procedure,

64. The Rome Statute and the Attempted Corseting of the Interpretive Judicial Function
The Rome Statute and the Attempted Corseting of the Interpretive Judicial Function : Reflections on Sources of Law and Interprative Technique / Joseph Powderly. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 444-498 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 444-498. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Sources of law, Interpretation, International criminal procedure, Case-law,

65. Perpetration and Participation in Article 25(3)
Perpetration and Participation in Article 25(3) / Elies van Sliedregt. - Oxford : Oxford University Press. - Page 499-516 In: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court / edited by Carsten Stahn, ISBN 9780198705161: (2015), Page 499-516. - 2015
Keywords: International Criminal Court, Rome Statute (Rome, 17 July 1998), Criminal liability, Joint criminal enterprise, Legal theory, International criminal law, Case-law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Mariniello, T. (ed.), The International Criminal Court in Search of Its Purpose and Identity, Abingdon, Routledge, 2015.

    Mariniello, T. (ed.), The International Criminal Court in Search of Its Purpose and Identity, Abingdon, Routledge, 2015.

    The International Criminal Court (ICC) is the first permanent international criminal tribunal, which has jurisdiction over the most serious crimes of concern to the international community as a whole: genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes, and crime of aggression. This book critically analyses the law and practice of the ICC and its contribution to the development of international criminal law and policy. The book focuses on the key procedural and substantive challenges faced by the ICC since its establishment. The critical analysis of the normative framework aims to elaborate ways in which the Court may resolve difficulties, which prevent it from reaching its declared objectives in particularly complex situations. Contributors to the book include leading experts in international criminal justice, and cover a range of topics including, inter alia, terrorism, modes of liability, ne bis in idem, victims reparations, the evidentiary threshold for the confirmation of charges, and sentencing. The book also considers the relationship between the ICC and States, and explores the impact that the new regime of international criminal justice has had on countries where the most serious crimes have been committed. In drawing together these discussions, the book provides a significant contribution in assessing how the ICC’s practice could be refined or improved in future cases.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Pedretti, R., Immunity of Heads of State and State Officials for International Crimes, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2015.

    Pedretti, R., Immunity of Heads of State and State Officials for International Crimes, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2015.

    The author offers, for the first time, a comprehensive assessment of the rules of customary international law relating to immunity of Heads of State and other State officials in the context of crimes pursuant to international law and their relationship with core principles of international law. The book gives the reader a full picture of this topical issue which is located at the heart of today’s development of international law. It contains an in-depth evaluation of a vast amount of relevant material, ranging from domestic laws to judicial decisions of domestic and international courts. The fact that the International Law Commission is deliberating the issue with a view to drafting an international treaty underscores the book’s importance and timeliness.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Bantekas, I., and E. Mylonaki (eds.), Criminological Approaches to International Criminal Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Bantekas, I., and E. Mylonaki (eds.), Criminal Approaches to International Criminal Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    This volume is one of the few books to explain in-depth the international crimes behind the scenes of substantive or procedural law. The contributors place a particular focus on what motivates participation in international crime, how perpetrators, witnesses and victims see their predicament and how international crimes should be investigated at local and international level, with an emphasis on context. The book engages these questions with a broad interdisciplinary approach that is accessible to both lawyers and non-lawyers alike. It discusses international crime through the lens of anthropology, neuroscience, psychology, state crime theory and information systems theory and draws upon relevant investigative experience from experts in international and domestic law prosecutions.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Sliedregt, E. van, and S. Vasiliev (eds.), “Pluralism in International Criminal Law”, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Sliedregt, E. van, and S. Vasiliev (eds.), “Pluralism in International Criminal Law”, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Despite the growth in international criminal courts and tribunals, the majority of cases concerning international criminal law are prosecuted at the domestic level. This means that both international and domestic courts have to contend with a plethora of relevant, but often contradictory, judgments by international institutions and by other domestic courts. This book provides a detailed investigation into the impact this pluralism has had on international criminal law and procedure, and examines the key problems which arise from it. The work identifies the various interpretations of the concept of pluralism and discusses how it manifests in a broad range of aspects of international criminal law and practice. These include substantive jurisdiction, the definition of crimes, modes of individual criminal responsibility for international crimes, sentencing, fair trial rights, law of evidence, truth-finding, and challenges faced by both international and domestic courts in gathering, testing and evaluating evidence. Authored by leading practitioners and academics in the field, the book employs pluralism as a methodological tool to advance the debate beyond the classic view of ‘legal pluralism’ leading to a problematic fragmentation of the international legal order. It argues instead that pluralism is a fundamental and indispensable feature of international criminal law which permeates it on several levels: through multiple legal regimes and enforcement fora, diversified sources and interpretations of concepts, and numerous identities underpinning the law and practice. The book addresses the virtues and dangers of pluralism, reflecting on the need for, and prospects of, harmonization of international criminal law around a common grammar. It ultimately brings together the theories of legal pluralism, the comparative law discourse on legal transplants, harmonization, and convergence, and the international legal debate on fragmentation to show where pluralism and divergence will need to be accepted as regular, and even beneficial, features of international criminal justice.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Jain, N., Perpetrators and Accessories in International Criminal Law: Individual Modes of Responsibility for Collective Crimes, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2014.

    Jain, N., Perpetrators and Accessories in International Criminal Law: Individual Modes of Responsibility for Collective Crimes, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2014.

    International criminal law lacks a coherent account of individual responsibility. This failure is due to the inability of international tribunals to capture the distinctive nature of individual responsibility for crimes that are collective by their very nature. Specifically, they have misunderstood the nature of the collective action or framework that makes these crimes possible, and for which liability may be attributed to intellectual authors, policy makers and leaders. In this book, the author draws on insights from comparative law and methodology to propose doctrines of perpetration and secondary responsibility that reflect the role and function of high-level participants in mass atrocity, while simultaneously situating them within the political and social climate which renders these crimes possible. This new doctrine is developed through a novel approach which combines and restructures divergent theoretical perspectives on attribution of responsibility in English and German domestic criminal law, as major representatives of the common law and civil law systems. At the same time, it analyses existing theories of responsibility in international criminal law and assesses whether there is any justification for their retention by international criminal tribunals.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Alamuddin, A., N.N. Jurdi and D. Tolbert (eds.), The Special Tribunal for Lebanon: Law and Practice, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Alamuddin, A., N.N. Jurdi and D. Tolbert (eds.), The Special Tribunal for Lebanon: Law and Practice, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    This book provides a full analytical overview of the establishment and functioning of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon, the newest and most controversial of the UN-sponsored international criminal courts. In 2005, Lebanese Prime Minister Rafic Hariri was assassinated in a huge blast that reverberated across Lebanon and the region. The Tribunal was established with a mandate to try the perpetrators of the Hariri killing, as well as those responsible for other killings that are ‘connected’ to this core crime. Individuals associated with the Hezbollah group have been indicted to be tried in the court in The Hague-but in their absence as their locations are unknown. The Tribunal is the UN’s first attempt at addressing terrorism in an international criminal court, and the first attempt to set up international trials following crimes committed in the Middle East region. The court’s narrow mandate and unique procedures have led many to question what kind of precedent it will set in a volatile region. This book looks at how the court was established, its foundational principles based on the Statute of the International Criminal Court and Lebanese domestic law, and the possible further development of its case law. It provides an authoritative guide to the procedure of the Tribunal,the status of the Registry, the rights of suspects and accused, trials in absentia, and the regulation of the conduct of counsel, drawing on comparisons to other international courts. The authors include those involved in setting up the court, prosecutors, defence counsel for the suspects, as well as judges and academic commentators who are experts on the issues covered in the book.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • McBride, J., The War Crime of Child Soldier Recruitment, The Hague, Asser Press, 2014.

    McBride, J., The War Crime of Child Soldier Recruitment, The Hague, Asser Press, 2014.

    The practice of using children to participate in conflict has become a defining characteristic of 21st century warfare and is the most recent addition to the canon of international war crimes. This book follows the development of this crime of recruiting, conscripting or using children for participation in armed conflict, from human rights principle to fully fledged war crime, prosecuted at the International Criminal Court. The background and reasons for the growing use of children in armed conflict are analysed, before discussing the origins of the crime in international humanitarian law and human rights law treaties, including the Convention on the Rights of the Child and its Optional Protocol. Specific focus is paid to the jurisprudence of the Special Court for Sierra Leone and the International Criminal Court in developing and expanding the elements of the crime, the modes of ascribing liability to perpetrators and the defences of mistake and negligence. The question of how the courts addressed issues of cultural sensitivity, notably in terms of the liability of children, is also addressed.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Zidar, A. and O. Bekou (eds.), Contemporary Challenges for the International Criminal Court, London, British Institute of International and Comparative Law, 2014.

    A. Zidar and O. Bekou (eds.), Contemporary Challenges for the International Criminal Court, London , British Institute of International and Comparative Law, 2014.

    The International Criminal Court (ICC) celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2012. The initial decade was marked, not only by the ICC issuing its first judgment, in the Lubanga case, but also by numerous challenges which it has had to resolve. This book brings together a number of perceptive insights into the functioning of the ICC at the intersection between international criminal law theory and the practice developed by the ICC. Subjects covered in the book include the definition of crimes under the Rome Statute, the issue of complementarity between the ICC and domestic courts, the trigger mechanisms of the ICC, the role and rights of victims, and prospects for the future work of the ICC. The book’s contributors are leading specialists in the field of international criminal justice, and include scholars, legal practitioners, NGO experts, and ICC officials. It will be an important asset for all readers interested in contemporary developments under the legal regime of the Rome Statute.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Jalloh, C.C. (ed.), The Sierra Leone Special Court and Its Legacy: The Impact for Africa and International Criminal Law, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Jalloh, C.C. (ed.), The Sierra Leone Special Court and Its Legacy: The Impact for Africa and International Criminal Law, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    The Special Court for Sierra Leone (SCSL) is the third modern international criminal tribunal supported by the United Nations and the first to be situated where the crimes were committed. This timely, important and comprehensive book is the first to critically assess the impact and legacy of the SCSL for Africa and international criminal law. Contributors include leading scholars and respected practitioners with inside knowledge of the tribunal, who analyze cutting-edge and controversial issues with significant implications for international criminal law and transitional justice. These include joint criminal enterprise; forced marriage; enlisting and using child soldiers; attacks against United Nations peacekeepers; the tension between truth commissions and criminal trials in the first country to simultaneously have the two; and the questions of whether it is permissible under international law for states to unilaterally confer blanket amnesties to local perpetrators of universally condemned international crimes.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Marchuk, I, The Fundamental Concept of a Crime in International Criminal Law: A Comparative Law Analysis, Berlin, Springer, 2014.

    Marchuk, I, The Fundamental Concept of a Crime in International Criminal Law: A Comparative Law Analysis, Berlin, Springer, 2014.

    This book examines the rapid development of the fundamental concept of a crime in international criminal law from a comparative law perspective. In this context, particular thought has been given to the catalyzing impact of the criminal law theory that has developed in major world legal systems upon the crystallization of the substantive part of international criminal law. The study offers a critical overview of international and domestic jurisprudence with regard to the construal of the concept of a crime (actus reus, mens rea, defences, modes of liability) and exposes roots of confusion in international criminal law through a comprehensive comparative analysis of substantive criminal laws in selected legal jurisdictions.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • AAIL-AFIL Distinguished Lecture Series

    The African Association of International Law and the African Foundation for International Law are organizing the second lecture in the AAIL-AFIL Lecture Series in association with the Hague Academy of International Law. The lecture will take place on 19 June 2015 at 6.00 p. m. in the Historical Reading Room at the Peace Palace. The lecture will be followed by a reception. Earlier this month, on June 3, Justice Hassan B. Jallow addressed the United Nations Security Council and presented a progress report on the work of the Office of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

    Read more
  • International Corporate Criminal Liability at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon: Prosecutor v. Karma Al Khayat and Al Jadeed

    On Thursday the 16th of April, the trial against journalist Karma Al Khayat and television network Al Jadeed started at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL) in Leidschendam, the Netherlands. Both Ms. Karma Al Khayat and Al Jadeed are charged with contempt of court and obstruction of justice. Because the alleged crimes are media-related and the accused have argued that the trial threatens the freedom of press, the case has already attracted much attention. However, what is more striking is the fact that this is the first time a legal person is prosecuted by an international or internationalized criminal court.

    Read more
  • A Supreme Offence against International Morality and the Sanctity of Treaties: William II of Hohenzollern and the Treaty of Versailles

    Early during World War I, jurists and statesmen in both France and Great-Britain, such as Larnaude and Lapradelle, had advocated the German Emperor William II to be arrested and brought to trial. The principle that military officers should be held personally responsible for orders in violation of the laws and customs of war, if pushed to its logical limits, would render commanders-in-chief, that is heads of State, liable for illegal acts for which they are responsible, directly or indirectly. And in Germany, there was one commander-in-chief: the Emperor William II.

    Read more
  • Achievements of the ICTY

    Twenty years ago the United Nations Security Council unanimously adapted Resolution 827. With this resolution the international community envisaged to put to trial those individuals that were alleged to be responsible for grave crimes against humanity, infractions of international humanitarian law and the law of war which have been committed during the Yugoslav wars (1991-1999). The United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY), was the first ad hoc criminal tribunal that came into existence since the erection of the Nuremberg and Tokyo Tribunals after World War II.

    Read more
  • Homeland, Zero Dark Thirty and Jack Bauer: Rendition, Torture and the Demise of American Values

    The latest in a series of Hollywood productions which reopened a debate about torture and extraordinary rendition is Zero Dark Thirty. Real life variations of Hollywood-scenarios have been unfolding as the US government has engaged in a program of extraordinary rendition since the Clinton Administration and which became widespread under the Bush Administration following the September 11 terrorist attacks.This blog examines Obama’s policy towards torture and (extraordinary) rendition.

    Read more
  • Crimes against Cultural Property in Mali

    In an earlier Peace Palace Library blog (Cultucide in Timbuktu: Shari’a and war crimes) Ingrid Kost wrote that the Islamist Group Ansar (Ed)dine (“Defenders of the Faith”) destroyed some of the age-old mausolea of Sufi Saints in Timbuktu, Mali. One of the major causes of destruction of cultural property (the illicit trading, stealing and looting of cultural property is not covered in this blog) over the ages has been armed conflict. Crimes against cultural property should therefore be addressed properly.

    Read more
  • The International Criminal Prosecution Of Gender Crimes

    When we first think about wars and armed conflicts, we very often think about battlefields, burned villages, wounded soldiers, air-bombs and tanks. We tend to forget that civilians, women and children in particular, are at the centre of warfare and frequently fall victim to sexual violence in staggering numbers. The international community and the UN Security Council have established that gender crimes are part of the most serious of international crimes and should therefore be of great concern to the international community as a whole. In spite of this, international crimes involving sexual violence continue to be one of the most difficult crimes to prosecute.

    This blog will briefly discuss the international criminal prosecution of gender crimes by various international legal institutions.

    Read more
  • The ICC's 10th Anniversary

    Ten years ago, on 1 July 2002 the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC) entered into force. At the moment there are 121 States Parties to the Rome Statute. The ICC is the first permanent international court for the prosecution of war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide.

    What has been achieved by the Court since 2002?

    Read more
  • Cultucide in Timbuktu: Shari’a and War Crimes

    Last weekend the Islamist Group Ansar Eddine (“Defenders of the Faith”) destroyed some of the age-old mausolea of Sufi Saints in Timbuktu. Despite the fact that recently on June 28 2012, these mausolea were placed on the UNESCO List of World Heritage in Danger.

    Read more
  • The African Union and the International Criminal Court

    The handling of the ICC arrest warrant against the Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir continues to create major problems for the African Union. The planned attendance by Al-Bashir of the 19th AU Summit in Malawi coming July and the threat of the Malawi government to arrest him if he did attend has forced the African Union to move the summit to its headquarters in the Ethiopian capital of Addis Ababa.

    Read more
  • Judgment in the Trial of Former Liberian President Charles Taylor

    On Thursday 26 April, Trial Chamber II of the Special Court for Sierra Leone (SCSL) delivered its verdict in the case against Charles Taylor, former president of Liberia. Taylor was found criminally responsible of aiding and abetting rebel forces in the commission of 11 counts of war crimes, crimes against humanity and other serious violations of international humanitarian law in neighboring Sierra Leone during its civil war.

    Read more
  • The International Criminal Court Delivers Judgment on Child Soldiers

    On Wednesday 14 March, Trial Chamber I of the International Criminal Court (ICC) delivered it’s first verdict. In a unanimous decision three judges convicted Thomas Lubanga Dyilo of the war crimes of conscripting, enlisting, and using children under the age of 15 to participate actively in hostilities. With this judgment the ICC firmly establishes the use of children in armed conflict as an international crime and also focuses renewed attention on the many thousands of children still used in various other conflicts in the world.

    Read more
  • Eichmann Trial 50 years

    Lecture in the Peace Palace Library on the Eichmann trial, that took place 50 yeras ago.

    Read more
  • Ratko Mladić's arrest and the ICTY

    It was all over the news that Ratko Mladić, one of two remaining the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY) fugitives, was arrested on Thursday 26th of May in the village of Lazarevo, northern Serbia. After 16 years on the run, the arrest of this Colonel General, former Commander of the Main Staff [...]

    Read more
  • Libya and the International Criminal Court (ICC)

    On February 16th 2011- following a wave of uprisings throughout the Middle-East- Libya experienced a so-called Day of Rage which led to protests breaking out to challenge Colonel Muammar Qadhafi’s 41 year old iron rule- the region’s longest. This blog will briefly discuss the actions taken by the United Nations Security Council and the ICC in response to the unfolding humanitarian crisis in Libya.

    Read more
  • Dresden 1945 : an Allied War Crime?

    Since 1945, the bombing of Dresden is considered by many as a violation of international law and as a crime against humanity, even though positive rules of international humanitarian law were absent at the time. The Hague Conventions of 1899 and 1907, were among the first formal statements of the laws of war and war crimes in the nascent body of international law. However these conventions, adressing the codes of wartime conduct on land and at sea, were adopted before the rise of air power. Despite repeated diplomatic attempts (→ The Hague Rules of Air Warefare 1922/1923) to update international humanitarian law to include aerial warfare, it was not done before the outbreak of World War II. The absence of positive international humanitarian law does not mean that the laws of war did not cover aerial warfare, but there was no general agreement of how to interpret those laws.
    The aerial bombardment of Dresden does not only raise the question as to whether or not it was an Allied war crime, but it also makes a moral appeal to prevent total war against civilian populations. It’s memory is kept alive.

    Read more
  • Arabian leaders try to tackle tension in Lebanon

    King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia and Syrian President Bashar Assad visited Beirut on Friday 30th July in a show of unity before the Special Tribunal for Lebanon’s indictments in the 2005 assassination of former Lebanese Prime Minister Rafik Hariri. Lebanon’s president, prime minister and parliamentary speaker stood side by side to receive the heads of state as they descended from a Saudi jet onto a red carpet at Rafik Hariri International Airport. The visit appeared to be an attempt to quell anxiety in Lebanon that followed a speech last week by Sheik Hassan Nasrallah, the leader of the militant group Hezbollah, in which he denied links between his party and Hariri’s death.

    Read more
  • The First Review Conference of the ICC Statute & the Crime of Aggression Part II

    After two weeks of intense debates and years of preparatory work by the Special Working Group on the Crime of Aggression, the Review Conference of the Rome Statute adopted by consensus amendments to the Rome Statute which includes a definition of the Crime of Aggression and determined how the Court will exercise its jurisdiction over the crime.

    Read more
  • Suspension of Spain’s Investigating Judge Garzón

    On Friday, 14 May 2010, Spain’s General Council of the Judiciary in an emergency session decided to suspend National Court investigating judge Baltasar Garzón pending his trial for knowingly exceeding his jurisdiction by initiating an investigation into the crimes committed during the country’s civil war and the Franco regime, despite an existing amnesty law.

    Read more
  • The First Review of the ICC Statute and the Crime of Aggression

    From May 31st until June 11th 2010, state parties to the International Criminal Court (ICC) will meet in Kampala, Uganda for the first Review Conference of the Rome Statute. One of the most important issues on the agenda is the legal definition of the crime of aggression. This blog will discuss some of the legal complexities in finding an international consensus on the definition of this crime.

    Read more
  • New Institute for Counter-terrorism in the Hague

    Three Hague-based organizations, T.M.C. Asser Institute, the Centre for Terrorism and Counterterrorism of the University of Leiden/Campus Den Haag and the Dutch Institute for International Relations ‘Clingendael’, announced to join forces to set up an independent institute that will contribute to the study and policy-making in the field of counter-terrorism. The institute is financed by [...]

    Read more
  • ICTY Judgement in Florence Hartmann Case

    On Monday, 14 September, the Specially Appointed Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted French journalist Florence Hartmann for contempt of the Tribunal (Case No. IT-02-54-R77.5, full Judgement [PDF], Judgement Summary [PDF]).

    Read more
  • ICC Issues Arrest Warrant for al-Bashir

    On Wednesday, 4 March, the Pre-Trial Chamber of the International Criminal Court (ICC) announced its decision to issue a warrant for the arrest of the Sudanese President, Omar Hassan al-Bashir, for crimes against humanity and war crimes (Read here Decision [PDF], Summary of the Decision [PDF], Arrest Warrant [PDF], and Press Release).

    Read more
  • Al-Bashir Arrest Warrant!

    On Thursday, 12 February, the International Criminal Court (ICC) informed the media that no decision had yet been taken by the Pre-Trial Chamber on last year’s application of Prosecutor Luis Moreno-Ocampo for an arrest warrant against the Sudanese President, Omar Hassan al-Bashir. The statement came in reaction to an article in the New York Times on Wednesday that the ICC had actually decided to issue the arrest warrant for al –Bashir.

    Read more
  • Impressions of the 60 years Genocide Convention

    Impressions of the 60 years Genocide Convention On Sunday 7 and Monday 8 December, The Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies in Amsterdam, the Amsterdam Center for International Law and the Peace Palace Library organized a conference in The Hague to mark the 60th anniversary of the Genocide Convention. At the conference several legal [...]

    Read more
  • Genocide Convention at Sixty!

    The Genocide Convention at Sixty!
    In 1948 the UN General Assembly unanimously adopted the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide .
    To commemorate this fact: 1) A special issue of Case Western Reserve Journal of International law (Vol. 40, 2008, No. 1-2) and 2) two-day conference in The Hague in the Peace Palace

    Read more
  • Remembrance Slave Trade and its Abolition

    Saturday 23 August marks the UN nineth annual International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition.

    Read more
  • Rwandan Genocide Report.

    A report published by President Paul Kagame’s government accuses France of complicity in Rwanda’s 1994 genocide, by supporting and training Hutu leaders and their militia carrying out the massacres that killed 800.000 people.

    Read more
  • Peace and Justice!

    On Thursday, 31 July, the United Nations Security Council adopted resolution 1828 (2008) renewing the mandate of UNAMID, the UN-African Union peacekeeping mission in Darfur, for another year (resolution [PDF] and meeting record S/PV.5947 [PDF]).

    Read more
  • Judgement of ICTY Trial Chamber in Contempt of Court Case

    On Thursday, 24 June, the Trial Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted Kosovar journalist Baton Haxhiu for contempt of the Tribunal (Case No. IT-04-84-R77.5, judgement [PDF]).

    Read more
  • Karadžić located and arrested

    During the night of the 21st of July Radovan Karadžić was located and arrested by Serbian security officers.

    Radovan Karadžić is charged with genocide for the murder of close to 8,000 Bosnian Muslim men and boys in Srebrenica in 1995. The indictment alleges that Radovan Karadžić also committed genocide, persecutions and other crimes when forces under his command killed non-Serbs during and after attacks on towns throughout Bosnia and Herzegovina.

    The arrest of Radovan Karadžić was welcomed as a “milestone” by war crimes prosecutors of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia [ICTY]in The Hague.

    Read more
  • Judgement of the ICTY Appeals Chamber in the 'Dubrovnik' Case

    On Thursday, 17 July, the Appeals Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) rendered its judgement [PDF document] on the appeals of both the Prosecution and the Defense against the conviction and sentence of the former Yugoslav People’s Army (JNA) General Pavle Strugar (Case No. IT-01-42-A).

    Read more
  • ICC Prosecutor Presents Second Case on Crimes in Darfur

    On Monday, 14 July, Prosecutor Luis Moreno-Ocampo of the International Criminal Court (ICC) filed an application for an arrest warrant and submitted to the Judges of the ICC Pre-Trial Chamber evidence of crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes committed in Darfur by the Sudanese President, Omar Hassan al-Bashir (Read here the Application for warrant of arrest [PDF]).

    Read more
  • Tenth Anniversary Celebration of the Statute of Rome

    On 3 July 2008, the 10th anniversary of the Rome Statute [PDF]of the International Criminal Court was celebrated here, at Peace Palace in The Hague, in the presence of Her Royal Highness Princess Máxima of the Netherlands.
    The event started with speeches of Mr. Maxime Verhagen, Minister of Foreign Affairs of The Netherlands, [...]

    Read more

 

 

 

 

Delicious links


More relevant links in Delicious

See also

More Research guides on International Criminal Law

PPL keywords

Other suggestions

Map with locations of use of this guide

Comments are closed.