Diplomacy

Introduction

Diplomacy - Research Guide International Law

Diplomacy can be regarded as an application of intelligence and tact to the conduct of official relations between the governments of independent States. Whereas the terms diplomacy and foreign policy are often used interchangeably, diplomacy is an instrument of foreign policy. Foreign policy is orientated towards settling goals, occasionally with mention to the strategies and tactics to be used. Diplomacy is used to its accomplishment. The purpose of diplomacy is to strengthen the State and to serve in its relations with others. One of the functions of diplomacy is to minimize frictions and conflicts with other states through negotiations.

Three kinds of diplomacy can be discerned: bilateral diplomacy or diplomacy between two states (i.e. diplomatic representation of the sending state in a receiving state), multilateral diplomacy which involves diplomacy regarding regional or global issues and is used with a plurality of States through an international organization or at international conferences, and ad hoc diplomacy which involves other forms of diplomacy than the two aforementioned types of diplomacy. For example one can think of special missions to which States resort in order to entrust a diplomatic officer with the task to carry out one or many diplomatic assignments in a foreign State even though this officer does not belong to a permanent mission accredited to a country. In Academia, diplomatic studies is regarded as a new discipline, a sub-area of international relations.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Diplomacy. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 455. Diplomacy and Diplomatic History of the Various States and subject heading (keyword) Diplomacy are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue.
Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles

Explanation icons:

Book.
Chapter.
Article.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.



1. The Oxford handbook of modern diplomacy
The Oxford handbook of modern diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, cop. 2013. - XXXV, 953 p. : ill. ; 26 cm. - (Oxford handbooks) Met lit.opg. en index. - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations, Manuals,

2. The Challenges of 21st-Century Diplomacy
The Challenges of 21st-Century Diplomacy / Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine and Ramesh Thakur. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations,

3. The Changing Nature of Diplomacy
The Changing Nature of Diplomacy / Andrew F. Cooper. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations,

4. From Club to Network Diplomacy
From Club to Network Diplomacy / Jorge Heine. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations,

5. A Balance of Interests
A Balance of Interests / Ramesh Thakur. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations,

6. The Political Actors: President, Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs
The Political Actors: President, Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs / Lloyd Axworthy. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: United States of America, Canada, Diplomacy, International relations, Heads of State and Heads of government, Ministry of Foreign Affairs,

7. The Bureaucracy: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Service and other Government Departments
The Bureaucracy: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Service and other Government Departments / Jeremy Greenstock. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations, Heads of State and Heads of government, Ministry of Foreign Affairs,

8. The Modern Diplomatic Mission
The Modern Diplomatic Mission / David M. Malone. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations,

9. Financial Officials as Diplomats: Evolving Issues, Actors and Techniques since the 1920s
Financial Officials as Diplomats: Evolving Issues, Actors and Techniques since the 1920s / Eric Helleiner. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomates, International relations, Financial relations, Economic history, Diplomatic history, Bretton Woods system, Globalization,

10. Civil Society
Civil Society / Kathryn Hochstetler. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, International relations, Civil society,

11. The Diplomacy of Global and Transnational Firms
The Diplomacy of Global and Transnational Firms / Geoffrey Allen Pigman. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Multinational enterprises, Public diplomacy, Diplomacy,

12. Bilateral Diplomacy
Bilateral Diplomacy / Andrés Rozenta and Alicia Buenrostro. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Bilateralism, International relations,

13. Multilateral Diplomacy
Multilateral Diplomacy / Kishore Mahbubani. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Multilateralism, International relations,

14. Conference Diplomacy
Conference Diplomacy / A.J.R. Groom. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Diplomatic conferences, International relations,

15. Commission Diplomacy
Commission Diplomacy / Gareth Evans. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Commissions, International relations,

16. Institutionalized Summitry
Institutionalized Summitry / Richard Feinberg. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Summits, International relations,

17. Negotiation
Negotiation / Fen Osler Hampson, Chester A. Crocker and Pamela Aall. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, International negotiations, International relations,

18. Mediation
Mediation / Martti Ahtisaari ; with $3001. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, International mediation, Pacific settlement of disputes, International relations,

19. Humanitarian Diplomacy
Humanitarian Diplomacy / Jan Egeland. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Humanitarianism, International relations,

20. Defense Diplomacy
Defense Diplomacy / Juan Emilio Cheyre. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, National defence, Defence policy, International relations,

21. Economic Diplomacy
Economic Diplomacy / Stephen Woolcock and Nicholas Bayne. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, International economic relations, Economic relations,

22. Trade and Investment Promotion
Trade and Investment Promotion / Greg Mills. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, International trade, Foreign direct investment, International economic relations,

23. Cultural Diplomacy
Cultural Diplomacy / Patricia M. Goff. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Diplomacy, Cultural relations,

24. Public Diplomacy
Public Diplomacy / Jan Melissen. - Oxford : Oxford University Press In: The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy / ed. by Andrew F. Cooper, Jorge Heine, and Ramesh Thakur, ISBN 0199588864: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Public diplomacy, Diplomacy,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Cooper, A.F., J. Heine and R. Thakur (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2013. Showcase item

    Cooper, A.F., J. Heine and R. Thakur (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2013.

    At a time when diplomatic practices and the demands imposed on diplomats are changing quite radically, and many foreign ministries feel they are being left behind, there is a need to understand the various forces that are affecting the profession. Diplomacy remains a salient activity in today’s world in which the basic authoritative actor is still the state. At the same time, in some respects the practice of diplomacy is undergoing significant, even radical, changes to the context, tools, actors and domain of the trade. These changes spring from the changing nature of the state, the changing nature of the world order, and the interplay between them. One way of describing this is to say that we are seeing increased interaction between two forms of diplomacy, “club diplomacy” and “network diplomacy”. The former is based on a small number of players, a highly hierarchical structure, based largely on written communication and on low transparency; the latter is based on a much larger number of players (particularly of civil society), a flatter structure, a more significant oral component, and greater transparency. The Oxford Handbook of Modern Diplomacy is an authoritative reference tool for those studying and practicing modern diplomacy. It provides an up-to-date compendium of the latest developments in the field. Written by practitioners and scholars, the Handbook describes the elements of constancy and continuity and the changes that are affecting diplomacy. The Handbook goes further and gives insight to where the profession is headed in the future. Co-edited by three distinguished academics and former practitioners, the Handbook provides comprehensive analysis and description of the state of diplomacy in the 21st Century and is an essential resource for diplomats, practitioners and academics.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Badie, B., Diplomacy of Connivance, New York, NY, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    Badie, B., Diplomacy of Connivance, New York, NY, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    The Fall of the Berlin Wall left an international system without a name. Behind these imprecisions is a profound continuity: the oligarchic stubborness of the states community, started in 1815 by a diplomatic entente that has never disappeared despite highs and lows. It is embodied today in the G8 and the G20, presented by the media as the new directors of the world, though they often find themselves powerless and at an impasse. What results is what Bertrand Badie terms connivance diplomacy: limited in its performances, defensive of its privileges, intermediary between competition and cooperation, it is mostly precluding in its practices. By raising various forms of protest it confuses the international game instead of ordering it. This approach to international relations is examined here through its history, its functions, and its failures, calling into question the sometimes obscure notion of an international system.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Power, M., G. Mohan and M. Tan-Mullins, China's Resource Diplomacy in Africa: Powering Development?, Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    Power, M., G. Mohan and M. Tan-Mullins, China's Resource Diplomacy in Africa: Powering Development?, Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    China’s enhanced role within the global economy has profound political implications across the world, but takes a particular form in Africa. Over the past few years China has given much aid and technical support to Africa and for the first time since the end of the Cold War African leaders have genuine choices about which aid donors and investors to work with. But does this translate into development for African countries? How do other donors react? What do ‘ordinary’ Africans make of it? And how does it impact on wider geopolitics? These pressing questions are addressed through a systematic theorization of the ‘China-Africa’ relationship. Using detailed case study material collected in Africa the authors paint a picture of gains for some states, but losses for others. Looking beyond the state they see an even more complex picture of evolving social relations between Chinese and Africans and a troubling ecological footprint.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wetzel, D., A Duel of Nations: Germany, France, and the Diplomacy of the War of 1870-1871, Madison, WI, University of Wisconsin Press, 2012.

    Wetzel, D., A Duel of Nations: Germany, France, and the Diplomacy of the War of 1870-1871, Madison, WI, University of Wisconsin Press, 2012.

    On July 19, 1870, Emperor Napoleon III of France declared war against the Prussia of King William I and Prime Minister Otto von Bismarck. A Duel of Nations dramatically depicts the world in which that war took place. In this, the first book in English to study in totality the diplomatic history of the Franco-Prussian War, David Wetzel draws extensively on private and official records, journalistic accounts, cabinet minutes, and public statements by key players to produce a book that is unmatched in the range and clarity of its analysis, its forceful characterizations, and its vivid language.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Tassani, G., Diplomatico tra due guerre: vita di Giacomo Paulucci di Calboli Barone, Firenze, Le Lettere, 2012.

    Tassani, G., Diplomatico tra due guerre: vita di Giacomo Paulucci di Calboli Barone, Firenze, Le Lettere, 2012.

    Giacomo Barone Russo, diverrà Paulucci di Calboli nel 1924, assumendo titoli e nome della famiglia nobiliare forlivese della moglie. Entrato in diplomazia nel 1915 a Berna, parteciperà alla Conferenza della Pace di Parigi per inserirsi poi al Ministero degli Esteri, come segretario dei ministri Della Torretta e Schanzer. Mussolini, nuovo ministro degli Esteri, lo nominerà suo capo di gabinetto nel novembre ’22. Con la fascistizzazione del ministero verrà inviato come sottosegretario generale a Ginevra, alla Società delle Nazioni, ove rimarrà dal ’27 al ’32. Al ritorno Mussolini lo impegnerà nel rilancio dell’Istituto Luce, allora in crisi, facendolo inoltre presidente dell’Ente nazionale industrie cinematografiche. Ambasciatore in Belgio nel ’40, nella primavera ’43 Mussolini l’invierà ambasciatore in Spagna presso Franco, anche al fine di trovare contatti con gli anglo-americani. Questa biografia si avvale di una ricca e inedita documentazione, salvata dallo stesso Giacomo Paulucci a futura memoria.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Berridge, G.R. and L. Lloyd, The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Diplomacy, Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    Berridge, G.R. and L. Lloyd, The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Diplomacy, Basingstoke, Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.

    Like all professions, diplomacy has spawned its own specialized terminology and it is this lexicon which provides the thematic spine of this dictionary. The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Diplomacy also includes entries on legal terms and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene or have written influentially about it over the last half millennium, as well as some on international organizations of special significance. This third edition has been updated with new entries, for example on e-diplomacy, Ottawa process, R2P, stovepiping, and transformational diplomacy. The result is an even tighter focus on the language of diplomacy, while making coverage of it even more comprehensive than before. Students of international politics and related subjects as well as junior members of diplomatic services can turn to this book for assistance in understanding the technicalities of diplomatic and associated language.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Kleiner, J., Diplomatic Practice: Between Tradition and Innovation, Singapore, World Scientific, 2010.

    Kleiner, J., Diplomatic Practice: Between Tradition and Innovation, Singapore, World Scientific, 2010.

    This book presents a comprehensive overview of the current international practice of diplomacy. Armed with over 30 years of experience in the German Foreign Service, the author explains the workings of the different actors on the diplomatic stage. The book provides a detailed coverage of various diplomatic agencies as well as the functions of diplomats and consuls, explaining the methods and protocols of the art of diplomacy. It will serve as a good reference source for students and scholars of diplomacy, diplomats in foreign ministries and diplomatic and consular missions.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • Building a ‘Temple for Peace’: the 1899 Hague Peace Conference

    This year, the Peace Palace, will celebrate its 100-year Anniversary. As official celebrations will commence in August, the Peace Palace Library starts with a series of library blogs in retrospect. The foundation of the Peace Palace in 1913 marked a pivotal point between two centuries. At the end of the 19th century, the idea of world peace was blooming as never before. At the dawn of the 20th century however, expectations had toned down considerably.

    Read more
  • The Peace of Christmas Eve

    Peace is an elusive thing. For many, the attraction of the Christmas season is the momentary fulfillment of that dream, the wonderful moment of ‘Peace on Earth’. For one night, it seems possible. As Christmas approaches, we experience a sense of ‘Peace on Earth’. A few times in history, this sense of peace at Christmas had real impact on human affairs. A little known example is the the signing of the Treaty of Ghent on Christmas Eve, December 24, 1814, ending a war, the War of 1812, between the United States and the British Empire and their allies.

    Read more
  • Texas Executes Mexican National in Defiance of ICJ Rulings

    Late Tuesday night, 5 August, the State of Texas executed José Ernesto Medellín, despite a call from the UN Secretary-General urging the United States (US) not to go ahead with the execution and to respect the judgements of the International Court of Justice (ICJ).

    Read more
  • Tsvangirai seeks diplomatic protection

    Morgan Tsvangirai, Zimbabwe’s opposition leader, fearing for his safety, has taken refuge in the Dutch embassy in the capital Harare. Zimbabwean authorities said to respect the Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations of 1961 [PDF]
    The embassy has diplomatic immunity and cannot be entered without permission of the ambassador.
    Famous cases involving embassies are ; the Iran-US Hostage crisis in 1979, the Hungarian Cardinal József Mindszenty lived for 15 years in the American embassy in Budapest.
    Keywords for more literature on diplomatic protection : Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations, Hostages, Iran, Diplomatic and consular protection

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on International Organizations and Relations

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.