European Union

Introduction

115493_net_ue_logo

Twenty-seven European nations have established among themselves a European Union (EU), on which they have conferred competences to attain certain common objectives. These objectives include the promotion of peace, the well-being of its peoples, and the promotion of certain common values: respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities. The EU also aims to offer European citizens an area of freedom, security and justice without internal frontiers, and an economically healthy and sustainable internal market. The Union set up an economic and monetary union whose currency is the euro. The Union also developed a common foreign and security policy. In its relations with the wider world, the Union proclaims to uphold and promote its values and interests and contribute to the protection of its citizens. The Union has an institutional framework at its disposal, which has the task to promote the EU ‘s values, advance the EU’s objectives, and serve the interests of the EU citizens and Member States, both within and outside Europe. The EU’s legislative organs are the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union. The executive organ is the European Council. The European Commission oversees the application of Union law by Member States, and the Court of Justice of the European Union, being the EU’s judicial organ, ensures that Member States correctly apply EU law. The European Central Bank maintains the euro’s purchasing power and oversees price stability in the euro zone.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on the European Union. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code European Union in General and subject heading (keyword) European Union are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

 Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

 

Add comments -for instance if you think we missed something, or just to express your thoughts- about the bibliography in this research guide:

New titles

Explanation icons:

Book.
Chapter.
Article.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.



1. Europees recht
Europees recht : algemeen deel / onder red. van W.T. Eijsbouts ... [et al.] ; overige auteurs: T.W.B. Beukers ... [et al.]. - 4e dr. - Groningen : Europa Law Publishing, 2012. - XVII, 442 p. ; 24 cm 1e dr.: 2004. - Met lit. opg., reg. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Constitutional law, Common market, Trade, Unification of law, Community law,

2. De NMa en de Nza in de curatieve zorg
De NMa en de Nza in de curatieve zorg : een toetsing aan het Europees mededingingsrecht / Marc Ph.M. Wiggers. - Deventer : Kluwer, 2013. - XIV, 439 p. ; 25 cm. - (Europa in beeld ; 9) Ook verschenen als proefschrift Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen. - Met lit. opg., reg. - 2013
Keywords: Netherlands, European Union, Medical services, Competition, Community law and municipal law, Cartels and monopolies,

3. Between autonomy and dependence
Between autonomy and dependence : the EU legal order under the influence of international organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed. - The Hague : Asser Press ; Berlin [etc.] : Springer [distr.], cop. 2013. - VIII, 340 p. ; 25 cm Met index, lit. opg. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Institutional law, International organizations, Governance, International relations, Politics,

4. European consumer protection
European consumer protection : theory and practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press, 2012. - XII, 462 p. : ill. ; 24 cm Met lit. opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Community law,

5. EU energy law
EU energy law / Angus Johnston, Guy Block. - Oxford [etc.] : Oxford University Press, 2012. - XXXIX, 425 p. : ill. ; 26 cm Met lit. opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Energy, Energy policy, Energy security, Competition, Common market, International co-operation, Cases,

6. European agencies
European agencies : law and practices of accountability / E. Madalina Busuioc. - Oxford [etc.] : Oxford University Press, 2013. - XV, 307 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - (Oxford studies in European law) Bibliogr.: p. 287-304. - Met lit. opg. en index. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Institutions and organs, Specialized agencies, Competence, Accountability, Governance, Politics,

7. Derecho privado de internet
Derecho privado de internet / Pedro A. de Miguel Asensio. - 4a ed. - Madrid : Civitas Thomson Reuters, 2011. - 1068 p. ; 25 cm 1e dr.: 2000. - Bibliogr.: p. 1015-1068. - Met lit.opg. - 2011
Keywords: Spain, European Union, Internet, E-commerce, Information law, Intellectual property, Data protection, Cases,

8. La Unión Europea, los países de América latina y el Caribe
La Unión Europea, los países de América latina y el Caribe : una relación con pasado, presente y futuro / Eduardo Jara Roncati. - Zaragoza : Fundación Manuel Giménez Abad, 2011. - 422 p. ; 24 cm. - (Colección monografias ; 5) Bibliogr.: p. 405-422. - Met lit.opg. - 2011
Keywords: Latin America, Caribbean, European Union, International relations, Regionalism, International co-operation,

9. La gouvernance économique de l'Union européenne
La gouvernance économique de l'Union européenne : recherches sur l'intégration par la différenciation / Olivier Clerc ; préf. de Loïc Grard. - Bruxelles : Bruylant, 2012. - XX, 773 p. ; 24 cm. - (Collection droit de l'Union européenne. Thèses, ISSN 1782-7841 ; 27) Oorspr. thèse Bordeaux, 2009. - Bibliogr. p. 699-753. - Met lit.opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, European Economic and Monetary Union, Economic integration, Euro, Governance,

10. Europarecht
Europarecht / von Stephan Hobe ; unter Mitarb. von Michael Lysander Fremuth. - 7., neu bearb. Aufl. - München : Vahlen, 2012. - XXVII, 389 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - (Academia iuris) Oorspr. uitg.: Köln [etc] : Heymann, 2002. - Met lit. opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community (Lisbon, 13 December 2007), Institutional law, Constitutional law, Common market, Trade, Community law,

11. Das EU-Kartellrecht im Kraftfeld der Unionsziele
Das EU-Kartellrecht im Kraftfeld der Unionsziele : die finale Programmierung der Unionstätigkeit durch die Querschnittsklauseln am Beispiel des Art. 101 AEUV / Ludger Breuer. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2013. - 904 p. : ill. ; 23 cm. - (Europäisches Wirtschaftsrecht ; Bd. 56) Oorspr. proefschrift Bonn, 2012. - Bibliogr.: p. 843-904. - Met lit. opg. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Competition, Cartels and monopolies, Clauses,

12. Der Einfluss des Europarechts auf die mitgliedstaatliche Glücksspielregulierung
Der Einfluss des Europarechts auf die mitgliedstaatliche Glücksspielregulierung : Frankreich und Deutschland im Vergleich / Frank Heseler. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2013. - 470 p. ; 23 cm. - (Schriften des Europa-Instituts der Universität des Saarlandes - Rechtswissenschaft ; Bd. 90) Oorspr. proefschrift Saarbrücken, 2012. - Bibliogr.: p. 451-463. - Met lit. opg. - 2013
Keywords: France, Germany, European Union, Gambling, Community law and municipal law,

13. Le rẻglement "insolvabilité"
Le rẻglement "insolvabilité" : apport à la construction de l'ordre juridique de l'Union européenne / Eugénie Fabried-Lecea ; préf. de Corinne Saint-Alary-Houin. - Bruxelles : Bruylant, 2012. - 612 p. ; 24 cm. - (Collection Droit de l'Union européenne. Thèses, ISSN 1782-7841 ; 32) Oorspr. thèse Toulouse, 2010 o.d.t.: L'apport du règlement "Insolvabilité" à la construction de l'ordre juridique de l'Union européenne. - Bibliogr.: p. 537-596. - Met lit.opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Council regulation (EC) No 1346/2000 of 29 May 2000 on insolvency proceedings, Insolvency law, Insolvency, Conflict of laws, Lex fori,

14. La loi du pays d'origine en droit de l'Union européenne
La loi du pays d'origine en droit de l'Union européenne : analyse sous l'ange du droit international privé / Marion Ho-Dac ; préf. de Sandrine Sana-Chaillé de Néré. - Bruxelles : Bruylant, 2012. - XVI, 639 p. ; 24 cm. - (Collection droit de l'Union européenne. Thèses, ISSN 1782-7841 ; 30) Oorspr. thèse Bordeaux, 2010. - Bibliogr.: p. 571-608. - Met lit.opg. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Member states, Free movement, Conflict of laws, Private international law, Community law,

15. Le recours en carence en droit de l'Union européenne/ Safia Cazet
Le recours en carence en droit de l'Union européenne/ Safia Cazet ; préf. de Denys Simon. - Bruxelles : Bruylant, 2012. - XXIII, 675 p. ; 24 cm. - (Collection droit de l'Union européenne. Thèses, ISSN 1782-7841 ; 26) Oorspr. thèse Reunión, 2008. - Bibliogr.: p. 599-635. - Met lit.opg. en index. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Member states, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Legal remedies, Constitutional law, Administrative law, Community law,

16. Equo processo e diritti della difesa nel procedimento Antitrust avanti alla Commissione: necessità di una riforma?
Equo processo e diritti della difesa nel procedimento Antitrust avanti alla Commissione: necessità di una riforma? / Bruno Nascimbene In: Rivista di diritto internazionale privato e processuale = ISSN 0035-6174: vol. 48, issue 4, page 827-840. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Abuse of a dominant position, Unfair competition, European Commission, Fair administration of justice, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Community law,

17. Zur Durchführung der Rom III-Verordnung in Deutschland
Zur Durchführung der Rom III-Verordnung in Deutschland / Wolfgang Hau In: Zeitschrift fur das gesamte Familienrecht = ISSN 0044-2410: vol. 60, issue 4, page 249-255. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, Divorce and judicial separation, Choice of law, Regulation (EC) No 1259/2010 of the Council of 20 December 2010 implementing enhanced cooperation in the area of the law applicable to divorce and legal separation (Rome III),

18. Unabhängige EU-Agenturen - eine Gefahr für die Demokratie?/ Thomas Groß
Unabhängige EU-Agenturen - eine Gefahr für die Demokratie?/ Thomas Groß In: Juristenzeitung = ISSN 0022-6882: vol. 67, issue 2, page 1087-1093. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Agencies, Democracy, Frontex, Community law,

19. Between Autonomy and Dependence: the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations - an Introduction
Between Autonomy and Dependence: the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations - an Introduction / Ramses A. Wessel and Steven Blockmans. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Institutional law, Autonomy, Governance, International organizations, International relations, Politics,

20. The Autonomy of EU Law: More is Less?
The Autonomy of EU Law: More is Less? / Jan Willem van Rossem. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European integration, Autonomy, International agreements, International relations, Community law and international law, Cases,

21. Norms Emanating from International Bodies and Their Role in the Legal Order of the European Union
Norms Emanating from International Bodies and Their Role in the Legal Order of the European Union / Jan Wouters and Jed Odermatt. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International organizations, United Nations, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, World Health Organization, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, Community law and international law, International co-operation,

22. The Influence of International Organisations on the European Union: a Political Science Perspective
The Influence of International Organisations on the European Union: a Political Science Perspective / Oriol Costa and Knud Erik Jørgensen. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International organizations, Member states, International relations, Community law and international law, Political science,

23. The European Court of Justice and (Quasi-) Judicial Bodies of International Organisations
The European Court of Justice and (Quasi-) Judicial Bodies of International Organisations / Christina Eckes. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, International organizations, International courts, European Court of Human Rights, WTO Appellate Body, Community law and international law, Cases,

24. The Impact of Council of Europe Standards on the European Union
The Impact of Council of Europe Standards on the European Union / Elise Cornu. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Council of Europe, Member states, Institutional law, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Accession, Community law,

25. WTO Influence on EU Law: Too Close for Comfort?
WTO Influence on EU Law: Too Close for Comfort? / Pieter Jan Kuijper and Frank Hoffmeister. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International organizations, World Trade Organization, WTO Appellate Body, Anti-dumping, International trade, Trade policy, Community law and international law,

26. The Relationship between International Monetary Fund Law and European Union Law: Influence, Impact, Effect, and Interaction
The Relationship between International Monetary Fund Law and European Union Law: Influence, Impact, Effect, and Interaction / Wolfgang Bergthaler. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Member states, International Monetary Fund, International organizations, Monetary policy, Binding force, Community law and international law,

27. The Influence of the World Intellectual Property Organization on the European Union
The Influence of the World Intellectual Property Organization on the European Union / Edward Kwakwa and Autumn Talbott. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International institutions, World Intellectual Property Organization, Intellectual property, Autonomy, Participating interest, Community law and international law,

28. The Influence of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) on the EU Legal Order
The Influence of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) on the EU Legal Order / Françoise D. Schild. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International institutions, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Participating interest, International co-operation, Accession, Community law and international law,

29. The Influence of NATO on the Development of the EU's Common Security and Defence Policy
The Influence of NATO on the Development of the EU's Common Security and Defence Policy / Steven Blockmans. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International institutions, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Common security and defence policy, International co-operation, Community law and international law,

30. The Influence of International Organisations on the EU's Area of Freedom, Security and Justice: a First Inquiry
The Influence of International Organisations on the EU's Area of Freedom, Security and Justice: a First Inquiry / Claudio Matera. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International institutions, Justice and home affairs, European criminal law, Autonomy, European Court of Human Rights, Community law and international law,

31. The Influence of International Organisations on the EU and its Legal Order: between Autonomy and Dependence
The Influence of International Organisations on the EU and its Legal Order: between Autonomy and Dependence / Steven Blockmans and Ramses A. Wessel. - The Hague : Asser Press In: Between Autonomy and Dependence : the EU Legal Order under the Influence of International Organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed., ISBN 9789067049023: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International institutions, Constitutional law, Autonomy, Accession, Community law and international law,

32. Euro-Mediterranean Association Agreements and their Multilateralization
Euro-Mediterranean Association Agreements and their Multilateralization / Rossana Palladino. - Napoli : Satura Editrice In: International institutions and co-operation: terrorism, migrations, asylum : 2nd Napoli Colloquium, 9-11 December 2010 / ed. by Giancarlo Guarino and Ilaria D'Anna, ISBN 8876070850: vol. 2. - 2011
Keywords: Mediterranean countries, European Union, Multilateralism, Association agreements, International relations, European neighbourhood policy,

33. The Migration Flows: a Challenge for the European Union
The Migration Flows: a Challenge for the European Union / Lina Panella. - Napoli : Satura Editrice In: International institutions and co-operation: terrorism, migrations, asylum : 2nd Napoli Colloquium, 9-11 December 2010 / ed. by Giancarlo Guarino and Ilaria D'Anna, ISBN 8876070850: vol. 2. - 2011
Keywords: Italy, European Union, Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community (Lisbon, 13 December 2007), Immigration, Illegal immigrants, Right of residence, Community law and municipal law,

34. European Asylum Policy: from an Area of Common Interest to an Integrated European System
European Asylum Policy: from an Area of Common Interest to an Integrated European System / Rosanna La Rosa. - Napoli : Satura Editrice In: International institutions and co-operation: terrorism, migrations, asylum : 2nd Napoli Colloquium, 9-11 December 2010 / ed. by Giancarlo Guarino and Ilaria D'Anna, ISBN 8876070850: vol. 2. - 2011
Keywords: European Union, Convention Determining the State Responsible for Examining Applications for Asylum Lodged in one of the Member States of the European Communities (Dublin, 15 June 1990), Right of asylum, Refugees, Immigration, Unification of law,

35. The Influence of Counter-Terrorism on the EU Migration Policies
The Influence of Counter-Terrorism on the EU Migration Policies / Francesco Battaglia. - Napoli : Satura Editrice In: International institutions and co-operation: terrorism, migrations, asylum : 2nd Napoli Colloquium, 9-11 December 2010 / ed. by Giancarlo Guarino and Ilaria D'Anna, ISBN 8876070850: vol. 2. - 2011
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Illegal immigrants, Terrorism, Asylum, National security, Refugees, Immigration, Case-law,

36. Die Verjährung im EU-Kaufrecht
Die Verjährung im EU-Kaufrecht / Michael Müller In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 1, page 11-20. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Sale, Prescription, Contractual obligations, European contract law, European private law,

37. Der Kommissionsentwurf zur Reform der Brüssel I-VO

38. Notare und die vorsorgende Rechtspflege im Lichte der Grundfreiheiten
Notare und die vorsorgende Rechtspflege im Lichte der Grundfreiheiten / Robert Schumacher In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 2, page 54-64. - 2012
Keywords: Germany, European Union, Free movement, Legal services, Public notaries, Nationality, Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community (Lisbon, 13 December 2007),

39. Materiellrechtliche Einwendungen bei der grenzüberschreitenden Vollstreckung und die Konsequenzen von "Prism Investment" - Teil I
Materiellrechtliche Einwendungen bei der grenzüberschreitenden Vollstreckung und die Konsequenzen von "Prism Investment" - Teil I / Caroline Meller-Hannich In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 2, page 90-94. - 2012
Keywords: Germany, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgements, Council Regulation (EC) No 44/2001 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters [Brussels, 22 December 2000], Law of civil procedure, Law of european civil procedure, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Judgments,

40. Zur entwicklung des Internationalen Zivilverfahrensrechts in der Europäischen Union seit 2010
Zur entwicklung des Internationalen Zivilverfahrensrechts in der Europäischen Union seit 2010 / Wolfgang Hau und Florian Eichel In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 2, page 94-102. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Law of european civil procedure, Law of international civil procedure,

41. Der Kommissionsentwurf eines Gemeinsamen Europäischen Kaufrechts
Der Kommissionsentwurf eines Gemeinsamen Europäischen Kaufrechts : Überblick über die kaufvertraglichen Verpfichtungen und Rechtsbehelfe der Parteien / von Thomas Grädler In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 3, page 106-119. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Sale, Contractual obligations, Breach of contract, European contract law, Fulfilment of obligation, European Commission, European private law,

42. Binnenmarkt und europäisches Gesellschaftsrecht in der aktuellen Rechtsprechung des EuGH
Binnenmarkt und europäisches Gesellschaftsrecht in der aktuellen Rechtsprechung des EuGH / Brigitte Haar In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 3, page 137-144. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Free movement, Capital, Common market, European company, Establishment, Council regulation (EC) No 1346/2000 of 29 May 2000 on insolvency proceedings, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Case-law,

43. Materiellrechtliche Einwendungen bei der grenzüberschreitenden Vollstreckung und die Konsequenzen von "Prism Investment" - Teil II
Materiellrechtliche Einwendungen bei der grenzüberschreitenden Vollstreckung und die Konsequenzen von "Prism Investment" - Teil II / Caroline Meller-Hannich In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 3, page 153-160. - 2012
Keywords: Germany, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgements, Council Regulation (EC) No 44/2001 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters [Brussels, 22 December 2000], Law of civil procedure, Law of european civil procedure, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Judgments,

44. Die Verbraucherrechte-Richtlinie im Widerspruch zur Kompetenzordnung des europäischen Primärrechts
Die Verbraucherrechte-Richtlinie im Widerspruch zur Kompetenzordnung des europäischen Primärrechts / Verena Lerm In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 4, page 166-172. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Contractual obligations, European private law, Directives,

45. Die "Abhilfen" des Käufers im Kommissionsvorschlag für ein Gemeinsames Europäisches Kaufrecht: Neujustierung des Nacherfüllungsanspruchs im Rechtsvergleich
Die "Abhilfen" des Käufers im Kommissionsvorschlag für ein Gemeinsames Europäisches Kaufrecht: Neujustierung des Nacherfüllungsanspruchs im Rechtsvergleich / Matthias Weller In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 4, page 173-181. - 2012
Keywords: Germany, Great Britain, Sale, Breach of contract, European contract law, Fulfilment of obligation, European Commission, European private law,

46. Ein optimales Vertragsrecht für Europa
Ein optimales Vertragsrecht für Europa : Motor oder Hemmnis für den Binnenmarkt? / Kathrin Kroll-Ludwigs In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 4, page 181-188. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Sale, Unification of law, Consumers, European contract law, Common market, Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community (Lisbon, 13 December 2007),

47. Passagierrechte bei Flugverspätungen
Passagierrechte bei Flugverspätungen / Thomas Richter, Maria Fernanda Monteiro In: GPR : Zeitschrift für Gemeinschafsprivatrecht = ISSN 1612-9229: vol. 9, issue 4, page 199-205. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Civil aviation, Carriage of passengers and their luggage, Delay, Compensation for damage, Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules for International Carriage by Air (Montreal, 28 may 1999), Community law,

48. Territory in the Rome I and Rome II Regulations

49. Mehr Europa - eine rechtswissenschaftliche Perspektive
Mehr Europa - eine rechtswissenschaftliche Perspektive / Matthias Ruffert In: Zeitschrift fur Gesetzgebung = ISSN 0179-4051: vol. 28, issue 1, page 1-20. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Economic crisis, Government debts, European stability mechanism, Budgets, Economic policy, European Economic and Monetary Union,

50. Verfassungsgebung ohne die verfassungsgebende Gewalt des Volkes?
Verfassungsgebung ohne die verfassungsgebende Gewalt des Volkes? : eine juristische Stellungnahme zu dem Essay "Zur Verfassung Europas" von Jürgen Habermas"/ Albert Janssen In: Zeitschrift fur Gesetzgebung = ISSN 0179-4051: vol. 28, issue 1, page 21-43. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Member states, Democracy, Right of self-determination, European constitutional law, Jürgen Habermas (1929- ), European integration,

51. Intellectual Property and Competition Law in the Information Society
Intellectual Property and Competition Law in the Information Society / Tuomas Mylly. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing European Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Information, Intellectual property, Licensing, Competition, Information and communication technology, Community law,

52. Evaluation of the Functioning of the EU Trademark System: the Trademark Study
Evaluation of the Functioning of the EU Trademark System: the Trademark Study / Annette Kur. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing European Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Trademarks, Intellectual property, Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market - Trade Marks and Designs, Competition, Community law,

53. Adapting EU Trademark Law to New Technologies: Back to Basics?
Adapting EU Trademark Law to New Technologies: Back to Basics? / Martin Senftleben. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Trademarks, Licensing, Intellectual property, Community law, Cases,

54. The Simplification and Codification of European Legislation for the Protection of Geographical Indications
The Simplification and Codification of European Legislation for the Protection of Geographical Indications / Gail Elizabeth Evans. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Geographical indications, Designations of origin, Agricultural products, Trademarks, Community law, Intellectual property,

55. Constructing an Efficient and balanced European Patent System: "Muddling through"
Constructing an Efficient and balanced European Patent System: "Muddling through" / Jens Schovsbo. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Patents, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Innovation, Intellectual property, Community law,

56. Smart Innovation and Inclusive Patents for Sustainable Food and Health Care: Redefining the Europe 2020 Objectives
Smart Innovation and Inclusive Patents for Sustainable Food and Health Care: Redefining the Europe 2020 Objectives / Geertrui Van Overwalle. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Patents, Health, Food, Biotechnology, Cases,

57. The Dynamics of Harmonization of Copyright at the European Level
The Dynamics of Harmonization of Copyright at the European Level / P. Bernt Hugenholtz. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Copyright law, Copyright infringement, Territoriality, Licensing, Competition, Community law,

58. The Wittem Project of a European Copyright Code
The Wittem Project of a European Copyright Code / Thomas Dreier. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Copyright law, Unification of law, Common market, Intellectual property,

59. Consume and Share: Making Copyright Fit for the Digital Agenda
Consume and Share: Making Copyright Fit for the Digital Agenda / Marco Ricolfi. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Copyright law, Copyright infringement, Internet, Software, Information and communication technology, Intellectual property,

60. Unfair Competition: Complementary or Alternative to Intellectual Property in the EU?
Unfair Competition: Complementary or Alternative to Intellectual Property in the EU? / Anselm Kamperman Sanders. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Competition, Unfair competition, Unification of law, Intellectual property, Cases,

61. Database Rights: Success or Failure?
Database Rights: Success or Failure? : the Chequered yet Exciting Journey of Database Protection in Europe / Estelle Derclaye. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Databases, Copyright law, Intellectual property, Community law, Cases,

62. Function, Art and Fashion: do We need the EU Design Law?
Function, Art and Fashion: do We need the EU Design Law? / Uma Suthersanen. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Designs, Products, Unification of law, Intellectual property, Community law,

63. IP Enforcement in Europe: Acquis and Future Plans
IP Enforcement in Europe: Acquis and Future Plans / Jacques Raynard. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Copyright infringement, Counterfeit, Intellectual property, Enforcement, Customs law, Community law,

64. The Impact of the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement on the Legal Framework for IP Enforcement in the European Union
The Impact of the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement on the Legal Framework for IP Enforcement in the European Union / Roberto D'Erme ... [et al.]. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Counterfeit, Copyright infringement, Intellectual property, Enforcement, International trade, Community law,

65. Checks and Balances in the Intellectual Property Enforcement Field: Reconstructing EU Trade Agreements
Checks and Balances in the Intellectual Property Enforcement Field: Reconstructing EU Trade Agreements / Xavier Seuba. - Cheltenham [etc.] : Elgar In: Constructing Euopean Intellectual Property : Achievements and New Perspectives / ed. by Christophe Geiger, ISBN 9781781001639: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Counterfeit, Copyright infringement, Enforcement, Intellectual property, International trade, Community law,

66. EU Visa and Border Control Policies: what Roles for Security and Reciprocity?
EU Visa and Border Control Policies: what Roles for Security and Reciprocity? / Annalisa Meloni. - Farnham [etc.] : Ashgate In: Foreigners, Refugees or Minorities? : Rethinking People in the Context of Border Controls and Visas / ed. by Didier Bigo, Elspeth Guild, Sergio Carrera, ISBN 9781409452539: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Canada, Czech Republic, European Union, Visa, Borders, Justice and home affairs, National security, Immigration,

67. Reframing the EU Visa Cooperation with third Countries: Policy Convergence in the Visa Liberalization Process in Eastern Europe
Reframing the EU Visa Cooperation with third Countries: Policy Convergence in the Visa Liberalization Process in Eastern Europe / Raül Hernández i Sagrera. - Farnham [etc.] : Ashgate In: Foreigners, Refugees or Minorities? : Rethinking People in the Context of Border Controls and Visas / ed. by Didier Bigo, Elspeth Guild, Sergio Carrera, ISBN 9781409452539: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Eastern Europe, European Union, Visa, Third states, Immigration,

68. Fundamental Rights and the Extra-territorialization of EU Border Policy: a Contradiction in Terms?
Fundamental Rights and the Extra-territorialization of EU Border Policy: a Contradiction in Terms? / Leonhard den Hertog. - Farnham [etc.] : Ashgate In: Foreigners, Refugees or Minorities? : Rethinking People in the Context of Border Controls and Visas / ed. by Didier Bigo, Elspeth Guild, Sergio Carrera, ISBN 9781409452539: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Frontex, Borders, Human rights, Third states, Extraterritorial jurisdiction, Non-refoulement, Asylum, Refugees, Immigration,

69. Data Protection under European Community Law
Data Protection under European Community Law / Keith Wotherspoon and Stuart Goldberg. - Oxford [etc.] : Oxford University Press In: Corporate Internal Investigations : an International Guide / ed. by Paul Lomas, Daniel J. Kramer, ISBN 9780199645329: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Public companies, Governance, Investigation, Audit, Data protection, Legal regime,

70. The Perspective of a Small Member State to the Democratic Deficiency of the ESM
The Perspective of a Small Member State to the Democratic Deficiency of the ESM / Carri Ginter In: Review of Central and East European Law = ISSN 0925-9880: vol. 38, issue 1, page 54-76. - 2013
Keywords: Estonia, European Union, European stability mechanism, Constitutional law, Democracy, Community law,

71. From Minimal to Full to "Half" Harmonisation
From Minimal to Full to "Half" Harmonisation / Norbert Reich. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Unification of law,

72. Comment: the Future of EU Consumer Law - the End of Harmonisation?
Comment: the Future of EU Consumer Law - the End of Harmonisation? / Christian Twigg-Flesner. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Unification of law,

73. Two Levels, One Standard?
Two Levels, One Standard? : the Multi-Level Regulation of Consumer Protection in Europe / Vanessa Mak. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Unification of law, Free movement, Financial services,

74. A Modernisation for European Consumer Law?
A Modernisation for European Consumer Law? / Cristina Poncibò. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Self-regulation, Standard-setting, Private enforcement,

75. Effective Enforcement of Consumer Law: the Comeback of Public Law and Criminal Law
Effective Enforcement of Consumer Law: the Comeback of Public Law and Criminal Law / Peter Rott. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: Germany, European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Enforcement,

76. E-Consumers and Effective Protection: the Online Dispute Resolution System
E-Consumers and Effective Protection: the Online Dispute Resolution System / Immaculada Barral-Viñals. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, E-commerce, Online dispute resolution,

77. Unfair Terms and the Draft Common Frame of Reference: the Role of Non-Legislative Harmonisation and Administrative Cooperation
Unfair Terms and the Draft Common Frame of Reference: the Role of Non-Legislative Harmonisation and Administrative Cooperation / James Devenney and Mel Kenny. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Contracts, European private law,

78. The Definition of Consumers in EU Consumer Law
The Definition of Consumers in EU Consumer Law / Bastian Schüller. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal concept, Legal protection, Legal regime,

79. Recognising the Limits of Transparency in EU Consumer Law
Recognising the Limits of Transparency in EU Consumer Law / Chris Willett and Martin Morgan-Taylor. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Transparency,

80. The Best Interests of the Child and EU Consumer Law and Policy: a Major Gap between Theory and Practice?
The Best Interests of the Child and EU Consumer Law and Policy: a Major Gap between Theory and Practice? / Amandine Garde. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Children, Consumers, Legal protection, Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union,

81. Protecting Consumers of Gambling Services: Some Preliminary Thoughts on the Relationship with European Consumer Protection Law
Protecting Consumers of Gambling Services: Some Preliminary Thoughts on the Relationship with European Consumer Protection Law / Alan Littler. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Gambling, Consumers, Legal protection,

82. Consumer Protection and Overriding Mandatory Rules in the Rome I Regulation
Consumer Protection and Overriding Mandatory Rules in the Rome I Regulation / Christopher Bisping. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Regulation (EC) No 593/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 17 June 2008 on the law applicable to contractual obligations (Rome I), Mandatory rules, Consumers, Legal protection,

83. The Tailor-made EU Defence and Security Procurement Directive: Limitation, Flexibility, Descriptiveness and Substitution
The Tailor-made EU Defence and Security Procurement Directive: Limitation, Flexibility, Descriptiveness and Substitution / Martin Trybus In: European Law Review = ISSN 0307-5400: vol. 38, issue 1, page 3-29. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Defence policy, Armament, Government procurement,

84. Determining the Applicable Law for Breach of Competition Claims in the Rome II Regulation and the Need for Effective Consumer Collective Redress
Determining the Applicable Law for Breach of Competition Claims in the Rome II Regulation and the Need for Effective Consumer Collective Redress / Lorna Gillies. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Regulation (EC) No 864/2007 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 July 2007 on the law applicable to non-contractual obligations (Rome II), Competition, Consumers, Choice of law, Class actions, Torts,

85. Are Consumer Rights Human Rights?
Are Consumer Rights Human Rights? / Monika Jagielska and Mariusz Jagielski. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Member states, Constitutional law, Consumers, Human rights,

86. The Treaty of Lisbon and beyond: the Evolution of EU Minority Protection?
The Treaty of Lisbon and beyond: the Evolution of EU Minority Protection? / Tawhida Ahmed In: European Law Review = ISSN 0307-5400: vol. 38, issue 1, page 30-51. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community (Lisbon, 13 December 2007), Minorities, Government procurement, Protection,

87. Consumer Protection in a Normative Context: the Building Blocks of a Consumer Citizenship Practice
Consumer Protection in a Normative Context: the Building Blocks of a Consumer Citizenship Practice / Jim Davies. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Norms,

88. The European Ombudsman's Remedial Powers: an Empirical Analysis in Context
The European Ombudsman's Remedial Powers: an Empirical Analysis in Context / Alexandros Tsadiras In: European Law Review = ISSN 0307-5400: vol. 38, issue 1, page 52-64. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European Ombudsman, Legal regime,

89. Recommended Changes to the Definitions of "Auction" and "Public Auction" in the Proposal for a Directive on Consumer Rights
Recommended Changes to the Definitions of "Auction" and "Public Auction" in the Proposal for a Directive on Consumer Rights / Christine Riefa. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Auctions, Terminology,

90. Consumer Law Regulation in the Czech Republic in the Context of EU Law: Theory and Practice
Consumer Law Regulation in the Czech Republic in the Context of EU Law: Theory and Practice / Blanka Tomančáková. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: Czech Republic, European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Community law and municipal law,

91. Constitutionalising or Harmonising?
Constitutionalising or Harmonising? : the Court of Justice, the Right to Property and European Copyright Law / Jonathan Griffiths In: European Law Review = ISSN 0307-5400: vol. 38, issue 1, page 65-78. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Copyright law, Human rights, Unification of law, Case-law,

92. Resistance towards the Unfair Terms Directive in Poland: the Interaction between the Consumer "acquis" and a Post-Socialist Legal Culture
Resistance towards the Unfair Terms Directive in Poland: the Interaction between the Consumer "acquis" and a Post-Socialist Legal Culture / Rafał Mańko. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: Poland, European Union, Consumers, Legal protection, Community law and municipal law,

93. From Mutual Trust to the Full Effectiveness of EU Law: 10 Years of the European Arrest Warrant
From Mutual Trust to the Full Effectiveness of EU Law: 10 Years of the European Arrest Warrant / Ester Herlin-Karnell In: European Law Review = ISSN 0307-5400: vol. 38, issue 1, page 79-91. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European arrest warrant, Court of Justice of the European Communities, European criminal law, Justice and home affairs, Case-law,

94. European Consumer Protection: Theory and Practice
European Consumer Protection: Theory and Practice / Mel Kenny and James Devenney. - Cambridge [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: European Consumer Protection : Theory and Practice / ed. by James Devenney and Mel Kenny, ISBN 9781107013018: (2012) - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Legal protection,

95. Cartel Fine Severity and the European Commission
Cartel Fine Severity and the European Commission : 2007-2011 / John M. Connor In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 2, page 58-77. - 2013
Keywords: United States of America, European Union, European Commission, Cartels and monopolies, Fines, Competition,

96. How should Undertakings approach Commitment Proposal in Antitrust Proceedings?
How should Undertakings approach Commitment Proposal in Antitrust Proceedings? / Pierre Moulet In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 2, page 86-100. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European Commission, Cartels and monopolies, Competition,

97. European Competition Law and Multilateral Interchange Fees in the Market for Payment Cards
European Competition Law and Multilateral Interchange Fees in the Market for Payment Cards : a Critical Outlook / Joseph Dale Mathis In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 3, page 139-159. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Payment cards, Electronic money, Competition, Fee, Community law,

98. UK calls for Ban of Parallel Trade of Prescription Medicines
UK calls for Ban of Parallel Trade of Prescription Medicines : what are the EU Competition Law Implications? / Francesco Liberatore In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 4, page 189-196. - 2013
Keywords: Great Britain, European Union, Parallel imports, Pharmaceuticals, Competition, Community law and municipal law,

99. Does the Pfleiderer Judgment make the Fight against International Cartels More Difficult?
Does the Pfleiderer Judgment make the Fight against International Cartels More Difficult? / Piet Jan Slot In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 4, page 197-206. - 2013
Keywords: United States of America, Germany, European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Cartels and monopolies, Competition, European Competition Network, Bilateral investment treaties, Cases,

100. The European Commission's Decision-making on State Aid for Financial Institutions
The European Commission's Decision-making on State Aid for Financial Institutions : Good Regulation in the Absence of Good Governance? / Mara Hellstern In: European Competition Law Review = ISSN 0144-3054: vol. 34, issue 4, page 207-213. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Economic crisis, Financial services, Government debts, Subsidies and countervailing measures, Community law,

101. The Post-September 11 U.S. and European Airline Industries
The Post-September 11 U.S. and European Airline Industries : navigating through the Bailouts, Bankruptcies, Liquidations and Mergers / Eric Jedriychowski In: Connecticut Journal of International Law = ISSN 0897-1218: vol. 28, issue 1, page 177-196. - 2012
Keywords: United States of America, European Union, Airlines, Air transport, Subsidies and countervailing measures,

102. Harmonisation of European Contract Law
Harmonisation of European Contract Law : Default and Mandatory Rules / Qi Zhou. - New York, NY [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Commercial Contract Law : Transatlantic Perspectives / ed. by Larry A. DiMatteo ... [et al.], ISBN 9781107028081: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European contract law, Unification of law, Contracts,

103. Europeanisation of Contract Law and the Proposed Common European Sales Law
Europeanisation of Contract Law and the Proposed Common European Sales Law / Hector L. MacQueen. - New York, NY [etc.] : Cambridge University Press In: Commercial Contract Law : Transatlantic Perspectives / ed. by Larry A. DiMatteo ... [et al.], ISBN 9781107028081: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European contract law, Sale, Scotland, Great Britain,

104. La directive 2011/83/UE du 25 octobre 2011 relative aux droits des consommateurs
La directive 2011/83/UE du 25 octobre 2011 relative aux droits des consommateurs / E. Cruysmans ... [et al.] In: Tijdschrift voor Belgisch burgerlijk recht = ISSN 0775-2814: vol. 27, issue 4, page 174-207. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Consumers, Directives, Information precontractuelle, Contractual obligations, Sale, European contract law,

105. Die deutsche Rechtsprechung zur SE
Die deutsche Rechtsprechung zur SE / Hartwin Bungert, Heiko Gotsche In: Zeitschrift fur Wirtschaftsrecht = ISSN 0723-9416: vol. 34, issue 14, page 649-655. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, European Union, European company, Information and consultation of employees, Public companies, Capital, Corporate governance,

106. A Communicative Turnaround
A Communicative Turnaround : shifting the Burden of Proof in European Fisheries Governance / Sebastian Linke In: Marine Policy = ISSN 0308-597X: vol. 38 (mar), page 337-345. - 2013
Keywords: Baltic Sea, Fisheries, European Union, Common Fisheries Policy, Monitoring,

107. Between autonomy and dependence
Between autonomy and dependence : the EU legal order under the influence of international organisations / Ramses A. Wessel, Steven Blockmans ed. - The Hague : Asser Press, 2013. - VIII, 340 p Met index, lit. opg. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Institutional law, International organizations, Governance, International relations, Politics, E-books,

108. Principio favor laesi y parte más débil en la competencia judicial internacional
Principio favor laesi y parte más débil en la competencia judicial internacional / Pía M. Moscoso Restovic In: Boletín mexicano de derecho comparado / Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Derecho Comparado de México = ISSN 0041-8633: vol. 64, issue 134. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Private international law, Judicial competence, Forum shopping, Environmental damage, Torts, Case-law,

109. Inmigración y extranjería
Inmigración y extranjería : en camino hacia el Tratado de Ámsterdam / Gabriele Vestri In: Boletín mexicano de derecho comparado / Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Derecho Comparado de México = ISSN 0041-8633: vol. 64, issue 134. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Treaty of Amsterdam amending the Treaty on European Union, the Treaties establishing the European Communities and certain related acts [Amsterdam, 2 October 1997], Treaty on European Union (Maastricht, 7 February 1992), Immigration, Refugees, Asylum,

110. El régimen juridico de la mediación civil y mercantil en conflictos transfronterizas en España tras La Ley 5/2012 de 6 de julio
El régimen juridico de la mediación civil y mercantil en conflictos transfronterizas en España tras La Ley 5/2012 de 6 de julio / Carlos Esplugues Mota In: Boletín mexicano de derecho comparado / Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Derecho Comparado de México = ISSN 0041-8633: vol. 64, issue 136. - 2013
Keywords: Spain, European Union, Alternative dispute resolution, Community law and municipal law, Unification of law,

111. La importancia de la autonomía conflictual para el futuro del derecho de los contratos internacionales
La importancia de la autonomía conflictual para el futuro del derecho de los contratos internacionales / Stefan Leible In: Cuadernos de derecho transnacional = ISSN 1989-4570: vol. 3, issue 1, page 214-233. - 2011
Keywords: European Union, Regulation (EC) No 593/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 17 June 2008 on the law applicable to contractual obligations (Rome I), International contracts, Choice of law, Party autonomy, Mandatory rules, Law of police,

112. La concreción del lugar donde se ha producido el hecho dañoso en el art. 5.3 del Reglamento 44/2001: nota a la STJCE de 16 de julio de 2009
La concreción del lugar donde se ha producido el hecho dañoso en el art. 5.3 del Reglamento 44/2001: nota a la STJCE de 16 de julio de 2009 / Natividad Goñi Urriza In: Cuadernos de derecho transnacional = ISSN 1989-4570: vol. 3, issue 1, page 290-295. - 2011
Keywords: European Union, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Council Regulation (EC) No 44/2001 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters [Brussels, 22 December 2000], Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgements, Judicial competence, Torts, European private law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • K. Jørgense and Katie Laatikainen, Routledge handbook on the European Union and international institutions : performance, policy, power, London, Routledge, 2013.

    K. Jørgense and Katie Laatikainen, Routledge handbook on the European Union and international institutions : performance, policy, power, London, Routledge, 2013.

    This book addresses the increasingly contested issue of profound political importance: Europe’s presence in multilateral institutions. It assesses both the evolving role of Europe in international institutions, and the transformations in international institutions themselves. The book is divided into six parts. Part I examines the EU’s diplomatic and legal personality in international relations that constitutes the internal foundation for the EU’s engagement with international institutions. Part II assesses how EU multilateralism intersects with other international institutions and provides a means to assess the performance of international institutions as well as the EU itself in multilateral processes. Part III focuses on the EU’s participation with key institutions within the general UN system, such as the UN Security Council and the Human Rights Council as well as specific policy domains such as human rights across UN institutions. Part IV focuses on EU relations with wide range of international organizations in a variety of fields, from organizations in economic and security realms to environmental institutions and specialized agencies. Part V focuses on the EU’s engagement in a broad spectrum of issue-specific international agreements and international regimes, addressing issues such as non-proliferation of WMDs, climate change, information technology, and the emerging Gx-system (G7, G8, G20 etc). Part VI examines broader contextual factors that influence the relationship between the EU and international institutions, including the evolution of multilateralism, the trans-Atlantic relationship, global norms and the emergence of multipolarity. this book will be of great interest to students and scholars of European politics, the EU’s external relations, international relations, international organizations and international political economy.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Martinico, G., The tangled complexity of the EU constitutional process : the frustrating knot of Europe, London, Routledge, 2013.

    Martinico, G., The tangled complexity of the EU constitutional process : the frustrating knot of Europe, London, Routledge, 2013.

    This book builds on the discourse in European Union constitutionalism in order to offer a novel analysis of the EU’s constitutional developments.Giuseppe Martinico sets out a unique account of EU constitutionalism which argues that the EU legal order is a complex entity which shares some features with natural systems. The book is soundly anchored in the theory and methodology of legal science and based on a deep knowledge of judicial practices. The author contends that Europe is still suffering from the failure of the Constitutional Treaty and is practicing the new institutional equilibrium afforded by the coming into force of the Reform Treaty. The book goes on to explore the methodological implications of such constitutional complexity for the study of EU law. The Tangled Complexity of the EU Constitutional Process will be of particular interest to academics and students in the disciplines of Law, International Relations and Political Science.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Eggermont, F., The Changing Role of the European Council in the Institutional Framework of the European Union: Consequences for the European Integration Process, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2012.

    Eggermont, F., The Changing Role of the European Council in the Institutional Framework of the European Union: Consequences for the European Integration Process, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2012.

    In this book – intended for everyone interested in EU decision making – two main research questions will be answered. Firstly, what is the relationship between the European Council and the other EU institutions? Secondly, what are the various roles of the European Council in the EU decision-making process? The results of this research will show that European Council conclusions have been used extensively in this decision-making process, and this has increased considerably over time. Based on the analysis of European Council conclusions and legal texts a typology is created to provide an orderly picture of the European Council’s various roles, such as the European Council as a political initiator, as an interpreter of the Treaties and as an appeals council.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Trybus, M. and L. Rubini (eds.), The Treaty of Lisbon and the Future of European Law and Policy, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    Trybus, M. and L. Rubini (eds.), The Treaty of Lisbon and the Future of European Law and Policy, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    This comprehensive and insightful book discusses in detail the many innovations and shortcomings of the historic Lisbon version of the Treaty on European Union and what is now called the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. Divided into six parts, the 23 chapters provide ‘after Lisbon’ perspectives on law and governance of the EU, its powers and nature, the Charter on Fundamental Rights, EU external action and policy, justice and criminal policy, and economic governance. The authors, drawn from eleven EU Member States, offer a uniquely diverse and extensive coverage of the new EU law and policy after Lisbon. While the book argues that the Treaty of Lisbon has to be considered a milestone in the history of European integration, its shortcomings and open questions will make a future major treaty inevitable. The Lisbon Treaty and the Future of European Law and Policy will appeal to postgraduate students and academics in European law and policy, EU institutions, diplomatic missions, lobbying, NGOs, specialised lawyers and governments.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • A guide to European Union law : as amended by the Treaty of Lisbon

    A guide to European Union law : as amended by the Treaty of Lisbon

    Mathijsen presents an overview of the EU’s institutions, their functions and the substantive law. Covering the whole gambit of EU law, this text is uncluttered by technical references. References to source material accompany the text.

    Mathijsen, 2010
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wyatt and Dashwood's European Union law

    Wyatt and Dashwood's European Union law

    Wyatt & Dashwood presents detailed commentary and analysis of the European Union and its substantive law.

    • Covers the constitutional structure of the EU, examining the functioning of the institutions, the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice, and the nature of the European legal order
    • Provides detailed coverage of the free movement of goods, persons and services, competition law, and state aids
    • Includes boxed summaries at the start of each chapter summarising the key points
    • Provides a list of further reading at the end of each chapter
    • Includes new chapters on the Constitutional Treaty, Corporate Establishment, Cross Border Investment and Company Law Harmonisation, Citizenship, Fundamental Rights, and the Charter of Fundamental Rights
    • Covers key case law from The European Courts.
    Derrick Wyatt, Alan Dashwood & Anthony Arnull, 2006
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • European Union Law : Cases and Materials

    European Union Law : Cases and Materials

    This eagerly awaited new edition has been significantly revised after extensive user feedback to meet current teaching requirements. The first major textbook to be published since the rejuvenation of the Lisbon Treaty, it retains the best elements of the first edition – the engaging, easily understandable writing style, extracts from a variety of sources showing the creation, interpretation and application of the law and comprehensive coverage. In addition it has separate chapters on EU law in national courts, governance and external relations reflecting the new directions in which the field is moving. The examination of the free movement of goods and competition law has been restructured.… more » Chapter introductions clearly set out what will be covered in each section allowing students to approach complex material with confidence and detailed further reading sections encourage further study. Put simply, it is required reading for all serious students of EU law.

    Damian Chalmers, 2010
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Droit UE online contains all documents published by the European Communities since 1951. It includes treaties, international agreements, legislation published in the Journal of the European Union L series, the national implementing measures, travaux préparatoires, opinions, recommendations, resolutions, jurisprudence, the Journal of the European Union C series, communications and information, parliamentary questions, etc. The English version is OJ OnlinePlus.

EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. The collection  include  treaties, international agreements, legislation in force, preparatory acts, case-law and parliamentary questions.

European Judicial Network in Civil and Commercial Matters (EJN) is a website managed by the European Commission and contains a large quantity of information about the Member States, on several aspects of civil and commercial law and community law.

OJ Online is the leading database in the field of EU law, based on EUR-Lex, the official database of the European Union. OJ Online also contains documents published by the issuing institutions, even if they are not published in the official publications. The database is fully cross-referenced EU legal materials and contains documents from 1951 to present day: Treaties and International Agreements, Official Journal L & C records fully indexed, cross-referenced and updated daily, National measures implementing EU directives from all member states, Case law (all cases before the ECJ and CFI updated on a daily basis), Consolidated legislation, Preparatory documents, Commission proposals, legislative resolutions, opinions, Council common positions, Commission decisions (from prior notification to published decision collected daily from the website of the Competition Commission), EFTA documents, judgments, agreements from the EFTA institutions, Press releases, public register documents, agendas, minutes and other publications from the principle EU bodies, EU Web directory (a unique and growing collection of nearly 2000 searchable EU websites). The French version is Droit UE Online.

Blogs

  • The European Union as a Common Democracy

    As a young democracy the EU urgently needs to strengthen its legitimacy and accountability. The transition from a traditional union of nation states to a polity of citizens and member states requires a fundamental adjustment of governance structures. The primordial challenge for the coming decades is therefore to address the democratic deficit and to turn the EU into a living democracy.

    Read more
  • A Union of States and Citizens: The Emergence of a New Term in International Law

    On June 28th 2011 Peter Kooijmans participated in a conference about the place of the EU in international law, which was held in the Academy Hall of the Peace Palace under the auspices of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut and the Carnegie Foundation. According to a blog on this website, one of the participants started the debate on the presumption that ‘the EU is a thing for which lawyers have no name’.

    Read more
  • Cameron and the Intricacies of the Westphalian System of International Relations

    In his long-awaited speech on Europe British Prime Minister David Cameron criticised the EU for its lack of democracy. PM Cameron is right insofar as the citizens of the EU can’t elect their own European government and miss the power to vote their leaders out of office. However, Cameron’s criticism would only be justified if the EU were to be considered as a sovereign state like the UK, France or Germany.

    Read more
  • The EU and the Nobel Peace Prize: Who will say thank you?

    European Council President Herman Van Rompuy or Jose-Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission or Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament? Together they will fly to Oslo on December 10 to represent the main institutions of the EU at the acceptance ceremony for the Nobel Peace Prize 2012.

    Read more
  • The Novelty of the EU

    For decades, the debate about the future of the European Union has been dominated by the dilemma whether the EU was to become a federal state or should establish itself as a union of states. After the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty, however, it may be suggested that the deadlock in the debate about the finalité politique has been broken. The gist of this blog is to argue that the Lisbon Treaty construes the EU as a democracy without turning the Union into a state. This conclusion can be underpinned as follows.

    Read more
  • Internet governance 2012: Who should control the Internet?

    In the last twenty years, the Internet has had a tremendous impact on society and the term “Internet governance” was introduced. At first it was mainly used to describe the technical management of the Internet such as domain names and internet protocols. Nowadays governance refers to questions like “Do we all accept our responsibilities to safeguard the continued development of the Internet as a global, open and safe virtual environment? and Who sets the rules? In this blog I will give a few highlights of the current developments of internet governance on an International and (as well as on) an European level.

    Read more
  • The EU as a democratic polity in international law

    On June 28, 2011 a conference was held about The European Union (hereafter EU) as a Polity in International Law at the Academy Hall of the Peace Palace, The Hague, The Netherlands. The conference was held at the initiative of Mr. Jaap Hoeksma, Director of Euroknow. This initiative was supported by Dr P. H. Kooijmans, Prof Dr L-J Brinkhorst, Dr W.F. van Eekelen, Dr W.van Gerven and Dr Th. van Boven.

    The theme of the conference was the legal status of the European Union and its relationship with international law.From its inception, the main goal of the European Union and its integration in the legal as well as political systems of the Member states has been faced with conceptual problems regarding the final goal of the establishment of the European Union. The purpose of the conference was to discuss whether the Lisbon Treaty has overcome the problems by constructing the EU as a democratic polity without turning the Union into a state. If so, what are the consequences for the place of the EU as a polity in international law and for its role in international relations?

    Read more
  • European nuclear safety after the Japanese Fukushima disaster

    On Friday 11 March 2011, Japan was struck by a devastating earthquake and tsunami, also known as the Tōhoku earthquake. Japan’s nuclear crisis that was caused by the earthquake and tsunami has so far evoked many questions and worries about the safety of nuclear energy just like the Chernobyl disaster evoked responses in the 1980s. It raises questions about the possible impact of nuclear energy industry on safety and health. Several European countries have discussed the use of nuclear energy and safety measures or have temporarily shut down nuclear reactors since the Japanese earthquake of 11 March 2011.

    Read more
  • International and European criminal measures on intellectual property rights

    On October 2, 2010, the 11th and final round of the negotiations for the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) was concluded successfully in Tokyo, Japan. The Government of Japan hosted the negotiations. Participants in the negotiations included Australia, Canada, the European Union (EU) – represented by the European Commission and the EU Presidency (Belgium) and the [...]

    Read more
  • Roma Rights in the European Union.

    In July 2010, The French government decided to begin to expel Roma’s, mainly from Romania and Bulgaria, as many of them were living in France illegally. This decision caused much controversy within the Institutions of the EU. This blog will briefly discuss in what way EU institutions have responded to recent Roma issues and what can be done to improve the position of this marginalized community in Europe.

    Read more
  • EU Enlargement Strategy and Progress Reports 2009

    On 14 October 2009 the European Commission adopted its annual strategy document explaining its policy on EU enlargement. The document includes also a summary of the progress made over the last twelve months by each candidate and potential candidate: Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, as well as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, [...]

    Read more
  • The European Union’s ‘ContraFake’ policy

    Counterfeiting, which represents 5 to 7% of world trade, has implications on the competitiveness of EU companies, on jobs and on the health and security of EU citizens. László Kovác, European Commissioner in charge of Taxation and Customs Union, states his vision on the fight against counterfeiting as follows. ‘Customs have a vital role [...]

    Read more

Delicious links


More relevant links in Delicious

See also

More Research guides on International Organizations and Relations

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.