International Organizations

Introduction

International Organizations - Research Guide International Law

An international organization can be defined, following the International Law Commission, as an ‘organization established by a treaty or other instrument governed by international law and possessing its own international legal personality’. International organizations generally have States as members, but often other entities can also apply for membership. They both make international law and are governed by it. Yet, the decision-making process of international organizations is often ‘less a question of law than one of political judgement’.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Organizations. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 130a. International Organizations and subject heading (keyword) International Organizations are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. International organizations
International organizations / Clive Archer, Lee Marsden. - Fourth edition. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2015. - XIII, 185 pages. : illustrations. ; 26 cm First edition: London : Allen & Unwin, 1983. - Bibliography: page 161-177. - With index. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations,

2. International organizations as orchestrators
International organizations as orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2015. - XVII, 430 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm References: page 380-419. - With notes, index and abstracts in English. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Decision-making, International co-operation,

3. The Status of Non-State Actors under the International Rule of Law: A Search for Global Justice
The Status of Non-State Actors under the International Rule of Law: A Search for Global Justice / Mohammad H. Zarei and Azar Safari. - Farnham : Ashgate. - Page 233-252 In: Rethinking International Law and Justice / edited by Charles Sampford, Spencer Zifcak, Derya Aydin Okur, ISBN 9781472426680: (2015), Page 233-252. - 2015
Keywords: Non-State actors, Legal concept, Legal personality, Rule of law, Public international law,

4. L'imputation de l'activité des organisations internationales dans la pensée de Dionizio Anzilotti et de Gaetano Morelli
L'imputation de l'activité des organisations internationales dans la pensée de Dionizio Anzilotti et de Gaetano Morelli / Lola Maze. - Paris : Editions A. Pedone. - Page 121-174 In: Les sujets / Institut des Hautes Etudes Internationales, ISBN 9782233007384: (2015), Page 121-174. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, International legal personality, Subjects of international law, Philosophy of law,

5. Nature et état de la construction du projet francophone en 1989
Nature et état de la construction du projet francophone en 1989 / Jean-Louis Roy. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 15-22 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 15-22. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

6. Orchestration: Global Governance through Intermediaries
Orchestration: Global Governance through Intermediaries / Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, and Bernhard Zangl. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 3-16 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 3-16. - 2015
Keywords: Global governance, International organizations, Decision-making, Intermediary,

7. De l'autre côté du miroir esquisse d'une diplomatie de la Francophonie
De l'autre côté du miroir esquisse d'une diplomatie de la Francophonie / Xavier Michel. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 57-67 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 57-67. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

8. Mon combat à l'international en faveur de l'usage de la langue française
Mon combat à l'international en faveur de l'usage de la langue française : question de conviction et de droit / Fatoumata Siré Diakité. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 69-72 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 69-72. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

9. De Dakar à Dakar, le projet francophone
De Dakar à Dakar, le projet francophone : enjeux et défis, 25 ans après / Christian Valantin. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 73-78 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 73-78. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

10. La Roumanie et la Francophonie institutionnelle
La Roumanie et la Francophonie institutionnelle / Ion Iliescu. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 79-81 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 79-81. - 2015
Keywords: Romania, Francophonie,

11. Orchestration on a Tight Leash: State Oversight of the WTO
Orchestration on a Tight Leash: State Oversight of the WTO / Manfred Elsig. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 65-87 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 65-87. - 2015
Keywords: World Trade Organization, International organizations, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade,

12. Orchestrating Monitoring: the Optimal Adaptation of International Organizations
Orchestrating Monitoring: the Optimal Adaptation of International Organizations / Xinyuan Dai. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 139-165 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 139-165. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Monitoring, Compliance,

13. Orchestrating Enforcement: International Organizations Mobilizing Compliance Constituencies
Orchestrating Enforcement: International Organizations Mobilizing Compliance Constituencies / Jonas Tallberg. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 166-188 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 166-188. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Monitoring, Compliance, Enforcement,

14. WHO Orchestrates?
WHO Orchestrates? : Coping with Competitors in Global Health / Tine Hanrieder. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 191-213 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 191-213. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, World Health Organization, Health, Diseases,

15. Orchestration for the "Social Partners" Only: Internal Constraints on the ILO
Orchestration for the "Social Partners" Only: Internal Constraints on the ILO / Lucio Baccaro. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 262-285 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 262-285. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, International Labour Organization, Non-governmental organizations,

16. Współczesny dyskurs na temat kompleksowego charakteru podmiotowośći prawnomiędzynarodowej organizacji międzynarodowych
Współczesny dyskurs na temat kompleksowego charakteru podmiotowośći prawnomiędzynarodowej organizacji międzynarodowych / Marcin Lech. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 183-202 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 183-202. - 2013
Keywords: International organizations, Legal status, Subjects of international law, Public international law,

17. Ius contrahendi a instytucjonalizacja wspołpracy między organizacjami międzynarodowymi
Ius contrahendi a instytucjonalizacja wspołpracy między organizacjami międzynarodowymi : studium przypadku / Marcin Menkes. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 203-224 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 203-224. - 2013
Keywords: United Nations, European Union, Co-operation, International institutional law, Public international law,

18. Podmiotowość pozarządowej organizacji międzynarodowej
Podmiotowość pozarządowej organizacji międzynarodowej / Jerzy Menkes. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 243-284 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 243-284. - 2013
Keywords: International organizations, Non-governmental organizations, Legal status, Subjects of international law, Public international law,

19. Status organizacji pozarządowych w postępowaniach skargowych przed traktatowymi organami ochrony praw człowieka
Status organizacji pozarządowych w postępowaniach skargowych przed traktatowymi organami ochrony praw człowieka / Katarzyna S̨ekowska-Kozłowska. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 285-306 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 285-306. - 2013
Keywords: United Nations, Treaty bodies, Non-governmental organizations, Legal status, Complaints, Human rights, Public international law,

Bibliography

Reference works

Recent books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. International organizations
International organizations / Clive Archer, Lee Marsden. - Fourth edition. - London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2015. - XIII, 185 pages. : illustrations. ; 26 cm First edition: London : Allen & Unwin, 1983. - Bibliography: page 161-177. - With index. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations,

2. International organizations as orchestrators
International organizations as orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2015. - XVII, 430 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm References: page 380-419. - With notes, index and abstracts in English. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Decision-making, International co-operation,

3. The Status of Non-State Actors under the International Rule of Law: A Search for Global Justice
The Status of Non-State Actors under the International Rule of Law: A Search for Global Justice / Mohammad H. Zarei and Azar Safari. - Farnham : Ashgate. - Page 233-252 In: Rethinking International Law and Justice / edited by Charles Sampford, Spencer Zifcak, Derya Aydin Okur, ISBN 9781472426680: (2015), Page 233-252. - 2015
Keywords: Non-State actors, Legal concept, Legal personality, Rule of law, Public international law,

4. L'imputation de l'activité des organisations internationales dans la pensée de Dionizio Anzilotti et de Gaetano Morelli
L'imputation de l'activité des organisations internationales dans la pensée de Dionizio Anzilotti et de Gaetano Morelli / Lola Maze. - Paris : Editions A. Pedone. - Page 121-174 In: Les sujets / Institut des Hautes Etudes Internationales, ISBN 9782233007384: (2015), Page 121-174. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, International legal personality, Subjects of international law, Philosophy of law,

5. Nature et état de la construction du projet francophone en 1989
Nature et état de la construction du projet francophone en 1989 / Jean-Louis Roy. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 15-22 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 15-22. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

6. Orchestration: Global Governance through Intermediaries
Orchestration: Global Governance through Intermediaries / Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, and Bernhard Zangl. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 3-16 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 3-16. - 2015
Keywords: Global governance, International organizations, Decision-making, Intermediary,

7. De l'autre côté du miroir esquisse d'une diplomatie de la Francophonie
De l'autre côté du miroir esquisse d'une diplomatie de la Francophonie / Xavier Michel. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 57-67 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 57-67. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

8. Mon combat à l'international en faveur de l'usage de la langue française
Mon combat à l'international en faveur de l'usage de la langue française : question de conviction et de droit / Fatoumata Siré Diakité. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 69-72 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 69-72. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

9. De Dakar à Dakar, le projet francophone
De Dakar à Dakar, le projet francophone : enjeux et défis, 25 ans après / Christian Valantin. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 73-78 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 73-78. - 2015
Keywords: Francophonie,

10. La Roumanie et la Francophonie institutionnelle
La Roumanie et la Francophonie institutionnelle / Ion Iliescu. - Bruxelles : Bruylant. - Page 79-81 In: De Dakar à Dakar : 25 ans d'engagement de la Francophonie au service des droits de l'Homme, de la démocratie et de la Paix ; repères / préface du Secrétaire Général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf ; comité editorial Christine Desouches, directrice, Jean du Bois de Gaudusson, Jacques Frémont, Joseph Maïla, ISBN 9782802748786: (2015), Page 79-81. - 2015
Keywords: Romania, Francophonie,

11. Orchestration on a Tight Leash: State Oversight of the WTO
Orchestration on a Tight Leash: State Oversight of the WTO / Manfred Elsig. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 65-87 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 65-87. - 2015
Keywords: World Trade Organization, International organizations, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade,

12. Orchestrating Monitoring: the Optimal Adaptation of International Organizations
Orchestrating Monitoring: the Optimal Adaptation of International Organizations / Xinyuan Dai. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 139-165 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 139-165. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Monitoring, Compliance,

13. Orchestrating Enforcement: International Organizations Mobilizing Compliance Constituencies
Orchestrating Enforcement: International Organizations Mobilizing Compliance Constituencies / Jonas Tallberg. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 166-188 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 166-188. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, Monitoring, Compliance, Enforcement,

14. WHO Orchestrates?
WHO Orchestrates? : Coping with Competitors in Global Health / Tine Hanrieder. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 191-213 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 191-213. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, World Health Organization, Health, Diseases,

15. Orchestration for the "Social Partners" Only: Internal Constraints on the ILO
Orchestration for the "Social Partners" Only: Internal Constraints on the ILO / Lucio Baccaro. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press. - Page 262-285 In: International Organizations as Orchestrators / [edited by] Kenneth W. Abbott, Philipp Genschel, Duncan Snidal, Bernhard Zangl, ISBN 9781107082206: (2015), Page 262-285. - 2015
Keywords: International organizations, International Labour Organization, Non-governmental organizations,

16. Współczesny dyskurs na temat kompleksowego charakteru podmiotowośći prawnomiędzynarodowej organizacji międzynarodowych
Współczesny dyskurs na temat kompleksowego charakteru podmiotowośći prawnomiędzynarodowej organizacji międzynarodowych / Marcin Lech. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 183-202 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 183-202. - 2013
Keywords: International organizations, Legal status, Subjects of international law, Public international law,

17. Ius contrahendi a instytucjonalizacja wspołpracy między organizacjami międzynarodowymi
Ius contrahendi a instytucjonalizacja wspołpracy między organizacjami międzynarodowymi : studium przypadku / Marcin Menkes. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 203-224 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 203-224. - 2013
Keywords: United Nations, European Union, Co-operation, International institutional law, Public international law,

18. Podmiotowość pozarządowej organizacji międzynarodowej
Podmiotowość pozarządowej organizacji międzynarodowej / Jerzy Menkes. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 243-284 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 243-284. - 2013
Keywords: International organizations, Non-governmental organizations, Legal status, Subjects of international law, Public international law,

19. Status organizacji pozarządowych w postępowaniach skargowych przed traktatowymi organami ochrony praw człowieka
Status organizacji pozarządowych w postępowaniach skargowych przed traktatowymi organami ochrony praw człowieka / Katarzyna S̨ekowska-Kozłowska. - Wrocław : Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Wrocławskiego. - Page 285-306 In: @Podmiotowość w prawie międzynarodowym / Pod redakcją Barbary Mielnik, Agaty Wnukiewicz-Kozłowskiej, ISBN 9788322933589: (2013), Page 285-306. - 2013
Keywords: United Nations, Treaty bodies, Non-governmental organizations, Legal status, Complaints, Human rights, Public international law,

Librarian's choice

  • Abbott, K.W. et. al. (eds.), International Organizations as Orchestrators, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2015. Showcase item

    Abbott, K.W.  et. al. (eds.), International organizations as orchestrators, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2015

    International Organizations as Orchestrators reveals how IOs leverage their limited authority and resources to increase their effectiveness, power, and autonomy from states. By ‘orchestrating’ intermediaries – including NGOs – IOs can shape and steer global governance without engaging in hard, direct regulation. This volume is organized around a theoretical model that emphasizes voluntary collaboration and support. An outstanding group of scholars investigate the significance of orchestration across key issue areas, including trade, finance, environment and labor, and in leading organizations, including the GEF, G20, WTO, EU, Kimberley Process, UNEP and ILO. The empirical studies find that orchestration is pervasive. They broadly confirm the theoretical hypotheses while providing important new insights, especially that states often welcome IO orchestration as achieving governance without creating strong institutions. This volume changes our understanding of the relationships among IOs, nonstate actors and states in global governance, using a theoretical framework applicable to domestic governance.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Allison, L., The EU, ASEAN and Interregionalism: Regionalism Support and Norm Diffusion between the EU and ASEAN, Houndmills, Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. Showcase item

    Allison, L., The EU, ASEAN and interregionalism : regionalism support and norm diffusion between the EU and ASEAN, Houndmills, Palgrave Macmillan, 2015

    “Challenging the conventional processes of conceptualising the European Union as an actor, this study provides a timely and in-depth analysis of EU-ASEAN relations which contests the use of power as the basis of such conceptualisations. It assesses the EU’s actorness by analysing its attempts to promote its regionalism experience to ASEAN. Three aspects of regionalism – economic integration, institutionalisation and political norms – are analysed using data collected from officials and researchers connected to these regions. In doing so, this compelling volume shows that the effectiveness of the EU’s aim to diffuse these norms is predominantly determined both by ASEAN’s perception of the EU as an actor and its consideration of the EU’s regionalism experience as relevant to ASEAN”.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Archer, C., International Organizations, London, Routledge, 2015. Showcase item

    Archer, C., International Organizations, London, Routledge, 2015

    “What is the role of international organizations in the international political system? The fourth edition of the Clive Archer widely used textbook continues to provide students with an introduction to international organizations, exploring their rise and development, and accounts for their significance in the modern international political system. International Organizations fourth edition has been fully updated to take into account the considerable developments in the field since the last edition was published in 2001. It continues to offer an unique concise yet comprehensive approach offering students an accessible and manageable introduction to this core part of international relations. An authoritative guide to the literature about international organizations, it also provides advice on further reading”

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Virzo, R. and I. Ingravallo (eds.), Evolutions in the Law of International Organizations, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2015. Showcase item

    Virzo, R. and  I. Ingravallo (eds.), Evolutions in the law of international organizations, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2015

    Because of their increasing prevalence and diversity, International Organizations (IOs) are one of the most striking legal phenomena in contemporary international law. Evolutions in the Law of International Organizations, is a collection of essays discussing the ever-changing nature of IOs. It covers all the many considerable practical evolutions in the law of, offers a discussion of theoretical issues and proposes solutions to many crucial problems related to these institutional developments. The book explores controversial institutional issues arising from recent developments in the complex international practice of IOs and includes contributions about the definition of IOs, the role of “soft” IOs and regional IOs, the reformation of international financial institutions, and the liability of IOs for their actions, among others.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Dent, D.W. and L.C. Wilson, Historical Dictionary of Inter-American Organizations, Lanham; Toronto; Plymouth, UK, Scarecrow Press, 2014.

    Dent, D.W. and L.C. Wilson, Historical Dictionary of Inter-American Organizations, Lanham; Toronto; Plymouth, UK, Scarecrow Press, 2014.

    This updated second edition of Historical Dictionary of Inter-American Organizations covers the history of through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 hundred cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Inter-American Organizations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Hurd, I., International Organizations: Politics, Law, Practice, Cambridge; New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Hurd, I., International Organizations: Politics, Law, Practice, Cambridge; New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    International organizations are at the heart of many global issues today. This new textbook looks at the leading international organizations and explains how they both shape and are shaped by international politics. The book examines three themes: the legal obligations that give international organizations their powers; the mechanisms that elicit compliance by their member states; and the practices of enforcement in the organization. Each chapter shows how international organizations work in practice and the interactions between them and their member states. This fresh text provides a comprehensive understanding of what international organizations do, how and why they do it, and the challenges they face.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

See also

More Research guides on International Organizations and Relations

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.