International Relations

Introduction

International Relations - Research Guide International Law

International relations can be defined as political activities and other kinds and aspects of interactions among two or more states. The academic field of international relations is a branch of political science that is concerned with the study of relations between states, the foreign policy of nation-states, and the mechanisms and institutions (such as international organisations, inter-governemental organisations, international and national non-governmental organisations and multinational corporations) through which states interact. The study of international relations involves many subjects such as international and regional peace and security, international organizations, nuclear proliferation, globalization, human rights, economic development, intervention, international financial relations, and international trade relations.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Relations. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 445. International Relations: General Works and subject heading (keyword) International Relations are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. International summitry and global governance
International summitry and global governance : the rise of the G7 and the European Council, 1974-1991 / edited by Emmanuel Mourlon-Druol and Federico Romero. - London ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014. - XVI, 256 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Cold War history series) Bibliography: page 234-246. - With notes and index. - 2014
Keywords: Summits, Global governance, International politics, International relations, European Council,

2. Diskursforschung in den Internationalen Beziehungen
Diskursforschung in den Internationalen Beziehungen / Eva Herschinger, Eva Herschinger [Hrsg.]. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2014. - 400 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Innovative Forschung ; 1) Includes bibliographical references and notes. - 2014
Keywords: International relations, International politics,

3. Globalization
Globalization : interdependencies & coordination / By Jan-Erik Lane (University of Freiburg). - New Brunswick (U.S.A.) ; London (U.K.) : Transaction Publishers, 2014. - VIII, 374 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm Bibliography: page 347-366. - With index. - 2014
Keywords: Globalization, International relations, Market economy, Environmental policy, Conflicts, Governance,

4. L'été 14
L'été 14 : d'un monde à l'autre (1914-2014) / équipe de rédaction: Serge Sur. - Paris : La Documentation Française, 2014. - 127 pages. : illustrations. ; 25 cm. - (Questions internationales, ISSN 1761-7146 ; no. 68 (juillet-aoút 2014)) Covertitle. - With notes. - 2014
Keywords: International politics, International relations, International peace and security, Heads of State and Heads of government, History,

5. Il problema della sovranità nell'età della globalizzazione
Il problema della sovranità nell'età della globalizzazione : da Kelsen allo Stato-mercato / Agostino Carrino. - Soveria Mannelli : Rubbettino, 2014. - 215 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Saggi ; 330) (Biblioteca di politica) Includes bibliographical references. - 2014
Keywords: Sovereignty, States, Globalization, International relations, Political philosophy, Hans Kelsen (1881-1973),

6. Contextual Disconnect: the Failure of the "International Community" in Somalia
Contextual Disconnect: the Failure of the "International Community" in Somalia / Karl Sandstrom. - New York : Bloomsbury Academic. - Page 49-69 In: Globalizing Somalia / edited by Emma Leonard and Gilbert Ramsay, ISBN 9781780935690: (2013), Page 49-69. - 2013
Keywords: Somalia, Failed states, International politics,

7. Japan's Efforts in United Nations Peacekeeping Operations: from the Perspectives of International Law and Foreign Policy-Making
Japan's Efforts in United Nations Peacekeeping Operations: from the Perspectives of International Law and Foreign Policy-Making / Osamu Yoshida. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers. - Page 113-130 In: Northeast Asian Perspectives on International Law : Contemporary Issues and Challenges / edited by Seokwoo Lee and Hee Eun Lee, ISBN 9789004257085: (2013), Page 113-130. - 2013
Keywords: Japan, United Nations, Peacekeeping, Foreign policy,

8. The Cheonan Incident: a Perspective from International Law and Politics
The Cheonan Incident: a Perspective from International Law and Politics / Seokwoo Lee and Hee Eun Lee. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers. - Page 131-140 In: Northeast Asian Perspectives on International Law : Contemporary Issues and Challenges / edited by Seokwoo Lee and Hee Eun Lee, ISBN 9789004257085: (2013), Page 131-140. - 2013
Keywords: South Korea, North Korea, Yellow Sea, Maritime boundaries, Incidents, Accountability, International relations,

9. Towards a Post-Hegemonic World: the Multipolar Threat to the Multilateral Order
Towards a Post-Hegemonic World: the Multipolar Threat to the Multilateral Order / Zaki Laïdi In: International Politics = ISSN 1384-5748: vol. 51, issue 3, page 350-365. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Multilateralism, Hegemony, Bilateralism, Common foreign and security policy, World Trade Organization, Environmental protection, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (New York, 9 May 1992), Member states,

10. Rethinking Transatlantic Relations in a Multipolar Era
Rethinking Transatlantic Relations in a Multipolar Era / Nathalie Tocci, Riccardo Alcaro In: International Politics = ISSN 1384-5748: vol. 51, issue 3, page 366-389. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, United States of America, Asia, International relations, Common foreign and security policy, Foreign policy, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, International relations theory, Free trade,

11. Toward a Transatlantic Strategy of Peace
Toward a Transatlantic Strategy of Peace / Christopher Holshek In: S+F : Vierteljahreszeitschrift für Sicherheit und Frieden = ISSN 0175-274X: vol. 32, issue 3, page 153-158. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, United States of America, Asia, Geopolitics, International relations, International peace and security, Common foreign and security policy, Foreign policy,

12. Chinas Aufstieg und geopolitische Herausforderungen für die transatlantische Gemeinschaft
Chinas Aufstieg und geopolitische Herausforderungen für die transatlantische Gemeinschaft / Katharina Götsch In: S+F : Vierteljahreszeitschrift für Sicherheit und Frieden = ISSN 0175-274X: vol. 32, issue 3, page 164-170. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, China, United States of America, Common foreign and security policy, Foreign policy, International relations, Geopolitics, Economic development,

13. UN Security Council Resolutions as Factors of International Socialization
UN Security Council Resolutions as Factors of International Socialization : the Case of Hezbollah / Filippo Dionigi In: International Peacekeeping = ISSN 1353-3312: vol. 21, issue 3, page 287-306. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, Lebanon, Hezbollah, Accountability, Legitimacy, International relations,

14. Globalisation: Trends, Limits, and Controversies
Globalisation: Trends, Limits, and Controversies / Min-Hyung Kim and James Caporaso. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 15-31 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 15-31. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, Common foreign and security policy, International relations, Globalization, European integration,

15. The Three Historical Epochs of Multilateralism
The Three Historical Epochs of Multilateralism / Mario Telò. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 33-74 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 33-74. - 2013
Keywords: Multilateralism, International relations, Globalization, History,

16. Which Multipolarity?
Which Multipolarity? : Power and World Order / Chen Zhimin and Pan Zhongqi. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 75-89 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 75-89. - 2013
Keywords: China, Multilateralism, International relations, Globalization, Global governance, Foreign policy,

17. Normative Approaches to Global Justice
Normative Approaches to Global Justice / Sebastiano Maffettone. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 125-157 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 125-157. - 2013
Keywords: Norms, Justice, Globalization, Cosmopolitanism, Regionalism, Human rights,

18. Legal Studies and Global Governance
Legal Studies and Global Governance / Nicolas Levrat. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 159-172 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 159-172. - 2013
Keywords: Legal science, Global governance, Globalization, Legal systems, International relations,

19. Comparative Regionalist Studies
Comparative Regionalist Studies / Luk Van langenhove and Léonie Maes. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 173-188 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 173-188. - 2013
Keywords: Legal science, Global governance, Globalization, Legal systems, International relations,

20. New Multilateralisms for Regional Development: Africa Post-2015
New Multilateralisms for Regional Development: Africa Post-2015 / Timothy M. Shaw and Hany Besada. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 269-285 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 269-285. - 2013
Keywords: Africa, Multilateralism, Regionalism, Development, Governance,

21. Cultural Conflicts, Global Governance, and International Institutions
Cultural Conflicts, Global Governance, and International Institutions / Thomas Meyer. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 287-299 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 287-299. - 2013
Keywords: Culture, Conflicts, Global governance, Globalization, Identity, Cultural diversity, International institutions,

22. Civil Society, Global Governance, and the Quest for Legitimacy
Civil Society, Global Governance, and the Quest for Legitimacy / Raffaele Marchetti. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 301-315 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 301-315. - 2013
Keywords: Civil society, Legitimacy, Global governance, Globalization,

23. Interregional Relations
Interregional Relations / Stephan Sberro. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 349-360 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 349-360. - 2013
Keywords: Regionalism, International relations, Foreign policy, Multilateralism,

24. Regional, Interregional and Global Arrangements and Multilateral Organisations
Regional, Interregional and Global Arrangements and Multilateral Organisations / Sebastian Santander. - Farnham ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate. - Page 389-421 In: Globalisation, Multilateralism, Europe : towards a Better Global Governance? / edited by Mario Telò, ISBN 9781409464488: (2013), Page 389-421. - 2013
Keywords: International institutions, Multilateralism, International relations, Regional organizations, International organizations, Regionalism, Globalization, International peace and security,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Heilmann, S. and D.H. Schmidt, China's Foreign Political and Economic Relations : An Unconventional Global Power, Lanham, Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.

    This balanced and thoughtful book presents a thorough analysis of the dynamics of China s foreign relations. Sebastian Heilmann and Dirk H. Schmidt provide a comprehensive and discriminating view of the complex, often competing factors (domestic influences, regional tensions, global uncertainties) that shape Chinese foreign policy. They portray the PRC as a land of multiple identities-a nation that is becoming more assertive in East Asia as it explores novel approaches to its foreign economic policies, while simultaneously displaying thin-skinned sensitivities when confronted with international criticism. The authors argue that unconventional approaches to foreign relations-in particular a unique combination of long-term strategies with multilevel policy experiments-are driving Chinese global expansion. The provocative and challenging final chapter, designed to spur discussion, considers China s imperial identity warring against the decentralized activities conducted in the shadow of the empire. Illicit transnational guerilla-like networks have thus become powerful driving forces behind the continued development of China s foreign policy as well as its foreign-trade relations. The authors contend that the activities of these niche nomads, with their largely invisible or chameleon-like presence, constitute the most alarming dimension of China s foreign relations as they gain ground and resources in many parts of the world with the potential to shake the very foundations of other societies.

    This balanced and thoughtful book presents a thorough analysis of the dynamics of China s foreign relations. Sebastian Heilmann and Dirk H. Schmidt provide a comprehensive and discriminating view of the complex, often competing factors (domestic influences, regional tensions, global uncertainties) that shape Chinese foreign policy. They portray the PRC as a land of multiple identities-a nation that is becoming more assertive in East Asia as it explores novel approaches to its foreign economic policies, while simultaneously displaying thin-skinned sensitivities when confronted with international criticism. The authors argue that unconventional approaches to foreign relations-in particular a unique combination of long-term strategies with multilevel policy experiments-are driving Chinese global expansion. The provocative and challenging final chapter, designed to spur discussion, considers China s imperial identity warring against the decentralized activities conducted in the shadow of the empire. Illicit transnational guerilla-like networks have thus become powerful driving forces behind the continued development of China s foreign policy as well as its foreign-trade relations. The authors contend that the activities of these niche nomads, with their largely invisible or chameleon-like presence, constitute the most alarming dimension of China s foreign relations as they gain ground and resources in many parts of the world with the potential to shake the very foundations of other societies.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Murithi, T., Handbook of Africa's International Relations, New York, Routledge, 2014.

    Africa’s international relations have often been defined and oriented by the dominant international and geopolitical agendas of the day. In the aftermath of colonialism the Cold War became a dominant paradigm that defined the nature of the continent’s relationship with the rest of the world. The contemporary forces of globalization are now exerting an undue influence and impact upon Africa’s international relations. Increasingly, the African continent is emerging as a vocal, and in some respects an influential, actor in international relations. There is a lack of analysis and research on this emerging trend. This timely book fills this analytical gap by engaging with a wide range of issues, with chapters written by experts on a variety of themes.

The emerging political prominence of the African continent on the world stage is predicated on an evolving internal process of continental integration. In particular, there are normative and policy efforts to revive the spirit of Pan-Africanism: the 21st century is witnessing the evolution of Pan-Africanism, notably through the constitution and establishment of the African Union (AU). Given the dearth of analysis on this phenomemon, this volume also examines the notion of Pan-Africanism through various lenses – notably peace and security, development, the environment and trade.

The volume will also engage with the emerging role of the AU as an international actor, e.g. with regard to its role in the reform of the United Nations Security Council, climate change, the International Criminal Court (ICC), the treaty establishing Africa as a nuclear-free zone, Internally Displaced Persons, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), international trade, the environment, public health issues, security, and development issues. This book will assess how the AU’s role as an international actor is complicated by the difficulty of promoting consensus among African states and then maintaining that consensus in the face of often divergent national interests. This book will in part assess the role of the AU in articulating collective and joint policies and in making interventions in international decision and policy-making circles.

The Handbook will also assess the role of African social movements and their relationship with global actors. The role of African citizens in improving their own conditions is often underplayed in the international relations discourse, and this volume will seek to redress this oversight. Throughout the book the various chapters will also assess the role that these citizen linkages have contributed towards continental integration and in confronting the challenges of globalization.

    Africa’s international relations have often been defined and oriented by the dominant international and geopolitical agendas of the day. In the aftermath of colonialism the Cold War became a dominant paradigm that defined the nature of the continent’s relationship with the rest of the world. The contemporary forces of globalization are now exerting an undue influence and impact upon Africa’s international relations. Increasingly, the African continent is emerging as a vocal, and in some respects an influential, actor in international relations. There is a lack of analysis and research on this emerging trend. This timely book fills this analytical gap by engaging with a wide range of issues, with chapters written by experts on a variety of themes.

    The emerging political prominence of the African continent on the world stage is predicated on an evolving internal process of continental integration. In particular, there are normative and policy efforts to revive the spirit of Pan-Africanism: the 21st century is witnessing the evolution of Pan-Africanism, notably through the constitution and establishment of the African Union (AU). Given the dearth of analysis on this phenomemon, this volume also examines the notion of Pan-Africanism through various lenses – notably peace and security, development, the environment and trade.

    The volume will also engage with the emerging role of the AU as an international actor, e.g. with regard to its role in the reform of the United Nations Security Council, climate change, the International Criminal Court (ICC), the treaty establishing Africa as a nuclear-free zone, Internally Displaced Persons, the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), international trade, the environment, public health issues, security, and development issues. This book will assess how the AU’s role as an international actor is complicated by the difficulty of promoting consensus among African states and then maintaining that consensus in the face of often divergent national interests. This book will in part assess the role of the AU in articulating collective and joint policies and in making interventions in international decision and policy-making circles.

    The Handbook will also assess the role of African social movements and their relationship with global actors. The role of African citizens in improving their own conditions is often underplayed in the international relations discourse, and this volume will seek to redress this oversight. Throughout the book the various chapters will also assess the role that these citizen linkages have contributed towards continental integration and in confronting the challenges of globalization.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Ismael, T.Y. and G.E. Perry (eds.), The International Relations of the Contemporary Middle East : Subordination and Beyond, Ismael, London, Routledge, 2014 [2013].

    The International Relations of the Contemporary Middle East Subordination and Beyond

    The Middle East, a few decades ago, was seen to be an autonomous subsystem of the global international political system. More recently, the region has been subordinated to the hegemony of a singular superpower, the US, bolstered by an alliance with Israel and a network of Arab client states.

    The subordination of the contemporary Middle East has resulted in large part from the disappearance of countervailing forces, for example, global bipolarity, that for a while allowed the Arab world in particular to exercise a modicum of flexibility in shaping its international relations.The aspirations of the indigenous population of the Middle East have been stifled by the dynamics of the unequal global power relationships, and domestic politics of the countries of the region are regularly subordinated to the prerogatives of international markets and the strategic competition of the great powers.

    Employing the concept of imperialism, defined as a pattern of alliances between a center (rulers) in the Center (developed) country and a center (client regime) in the Periphery (underdeveloped country) – as an overall framework to analyse the subordination of the region, this book is essential reading for students and scholars of the Middle East, International Relations, and Politics in general.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Bueno de Mesquita, B., Principles of International Politics, Washington, DC, CQ Press, 2014.

    Bueno de Mesquita, B., Principles of International Politics, Washington, DC, CQ Press, 2014.

    Renowned scholar Bruce Bueno de Mesquita, who set the standard for the scientific approach to international relations and transformed the field, has returned with a reformulated fifth edition based on extensive reviewer feedback and guided by an emphasis on questions about the causes and consequences of war, peace, and world order. More than ever before, the strategic perspective in international relations is examined with complete clarity, precision, and accessibility. What hasn’t changed is Bueno de Mesquita’s commitment to covering the fundamentals of IR. The foundational topics and examination are all there: the major theories of war, the domestic sources of international politics, an exploration of the democratic peace, the problems of terrorism, the role of foreign aid, democratization, international political economy, globalization, international organizations, international law, and the global environment. No other introductory text delivers such an easily-understood contemporary explanation of international politics, while truly enabling students to learn how to mobilize the key concepts and models themselves-thus develop a new method for thinking about world affairs. More than ever before, Principles provides a comprehensive evaluation of all aspects of international affairs, systematically compares the accuracy of competing approaches to international relations, and walks students through the simple, intuitive models and games that capture the essence of the strategic, selectorate viewpoint.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Dunoff, J.L. and M.A. Pollack (eds.), Interdisciplinary Perspectives on International Law and International Relations: the State of the Art, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    Dunoff, J.L. and M.A. Pollack (eds.), Interdisciplinary Perspectives on International Law and International Relations: the State of the Art, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    International Law and International Relations: Synthesizing Insights from Interdisciplinary Scholarship brings together the most influential contemporary writers in the fields of international law and international relations to take stock of what we know about the making, interpretation, and enforcement of international law. The contributions to this volume critically explore what recent interdisciplinary work reveals about the design and workings of international institutions, the various roles played by international and domestic courts, and the factors that enhance compliance with international law. The volume also explores how interdisciplinary work has advanced theoretical understandings of the causes and consequences of the increased legalization of international affairs.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Viotti, P.R. and M.V. Kauppi, International Relations and World Politics, Boston, MA, Pearson, 2013.

    Viotti, P.R. and M.V. Kauppi, International Relations and World Politics, Boston, MA, Pearson, 2013.

    Updated in its 5th edition, International Relations and World Politics is a toolkit that offers an authoritative survey of the field and practical ways to analyze current and future world problems. Drawn from the authors’ experience as scholars and practitioners, this new edition was completely rewritten to focus on an enduring teaching and learning goal-how individuals can apply theory, history, geography, and more for a lifetime of understanding politics in a globalized world. Whether as actors themselves in world politics, participants in the global economy, or simply readers of world news, those reading International Relations and World Politics not only get more help to master the field’s concepts but also get more help to understand that these are real-world ideas with real-world implications.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Koivisto, M., Normative State Power in International Relations, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    Koivisto, M., Normative State Power in International Relations, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    While the relationship between norms and the state is an omnipresent research theme in International Relations, most international theory – from classical liberalism to recent constructivism – continues to treat ‘normative state power’ as an analytical impossibility. Scholarship within the fields of human rights, global civil society, and globalization remains primarily focused on moral evaluations and the mitigation of the geopolitical power of the state. Rarely are the normative institutional capacities of the state the focus of analysis. This book offers a new theory of normative state power in global politics. Marjo Koivisto argues that normative state power is distinct from the fiscal or military might of states. It is usually institutionalized and internalized within the state as a set of cultural norms relating to the role of statehood in local and global practice. By deploying both theoretical inquiry and substantive analysis of the Nordic model, the book offers a deep, institutionalist account of normative state power as exercised in relation to the welfare state. A case study of the internationalist networks of the Nordic states in times of economic crises (both the 1930s and 1990s) illustrates how, thanks to the persistence of normative state power, state forms tend to outlast political and economic transformations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Devetak, R. (et al.) (eds.), An Introduction to International Relations, Melbourne, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    Devetak, R. (et al.) (eds.), An Introduction to International Relations, Melbourne, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

    Invaluable to students and those approaching the subject for the first time, An Introduction to International Relations, Second Edition provides a comprehensive and stimulating introduction to international relations, its traditions and its changing nature in an era of globalisation. Thoroughly revised and updated, it features chapters written by a range of experts from around the world. It presents a global perspective on the theories, history, developments and debates that shape this dynamic discipline and contemporary world politics. Now in full-colour and accompanied by a password-protected companion website featuring additional chapters and case studies, this is the indispensable guide to the study of international relations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Ku, C., International law, International Relations, and Global Governance, London, Routledge, 2012.

    Ku, C., International law, International Relations, and Global Governance, London, Routledge, 2012.

    International Relations and International Law have developed in parallel but distinctly throughout the 20th Century. However in recent years there has been recognition that their shared concerns in areas as diverse as the environment, transnational crime and terrorism, human rights and conflict resolution outweigh their disciplinary and methodological divergences. This concise and accessible volume focuses on collaborative work within the disciplines of international law and international relations, and highlights the need to develop this collaboration further, describing the value for individuals, states, IGOs, and other non-state actors in being able to draw on the cross-pollination of international relations and international legal scholarship. Helping readers to examine and understand how accumulated actions over time have given rise to system-wide changes, this work is essential reading for all students of international law, international relations and global governance.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • The Youth Peace Initiative 2014 and the Roadmap to Israeli-Palestinian Permanent Peace!

    Between 11 and 18 October the Youth Peace Initiative 2014 took place in The Hague, international City of Peace and Justice. The Youth Peace Initiative 2014 (YPI 2014) has been set up to get Israeli and Palestinian youth involved with the current peace negotiations between their nations. The YPI 2014 participants discussed and deliberated a whole week to achieve consensus on ideas and solutions for the peace process.

    Read more
  • Interview: Dr. Christian Noack

    This month, our first time guest editor and colleague, Ms. Anna Duszczyk, invited Dr. Christian Noack from the University of Amsterdam, for an in-depth interview on the current crisis in Ukraine. Dr. Noack is an expert on Eastern European History, Media Studies and Slavonic Studies. In this interview, he will discuss his views on the current political situation in Ukraine and the role of Russia and the European Union in the crisis.

    Read more
  • Nuclear security: Dangers and Achievements

    Nuclear security is generally accepted to mean “the prevention of, detection of, and response to, criminal or intentional unauthorized acts involving or directed at nuclear material, other radioactive material, associated facilities, or associated activities”. In short it is about preventing terrorists from acquiring radioactive material or attacking nuclear facilities. Since the terrorist attacks of 11 September 2001, nuclear security concerns have been heightened, but how real is the danger and what are the legal instruments to combat nuclear terrorism?

    Read more
  • Themes of NSS 2014

    The Netherlands will be hosting the Nuclear Security Summit on 24 and 25 March 2014. Nuclear security involves implementing a series of pre-emptive measures to prevent internal and/or external threats directly or indirectly related to nuclear materials, radioactive sources, relevant facilities or other associated activities. Reducing the amount of dangerous nuclear material in the world, improving the security of all nuclear material and radioactive sources and improving international cooperation are the main themes of the 2014 Summit.

    Read more
  • A Justification for Russia’s Intervention?

    In the last week Russian military forces have occupied Crimea, the Ukrainian Black Sea peninsula where the majority of the population is ethnic Russian and the Russian Black Sea Fleet is deployed in the city of Sevastopol. In the Russian constitution a few articles describe circumstances where a primacy of Russian constitutional law above international law may occur. How does Russia legally justify its intervention? Guest Blog by Anna K. Duszczyk.

    Read more
  • Ukraine, Moving East or West?

    Although Yanukovych has claimed many times to seek good ties with Russia and the EU simultaneously, it seems that by refusing to sign the Association Agreement (AA) and Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement (DCFTA) with the EU last November, the power balance is tipping towards Russia. As an alternative to further EU integration, Russia has been actively promoting Ukraine to join the Russian-led Customs Union with Belarus and Kazakhstan, which in the future could progress towards a further integrated Eurasian Union.

    Read more
  • Unresolved Territorial Disputes: The Tunbs and Abu Musa in the Gulf

    Last week, the Foreign Minister of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed, renewed his country’s demand for the restoration of sovereignty over three islands in the Persian Gulf region. Responding to the statement by the UAE, Iran’s representative reiterated his country’s full sovereignty over the islands and categorically rejected any claims to the contrary. The legal dispute about ownership and sovereignty of the three islands is based on rival historical claims by both sides.

    Read more
  • ARGO and the Follow-Up: Iran and the United States

    33 Years after the event, Hollywood has turned its attention to an episode that traumatized the United States for months: the seizure of the American Embassy in Tehran. As the US Embassy falls to a group of Islamist students and militants in support of the Iranian revolution and in retaliation for the USA’s sheltering of the recently deposed Shah, six diplomats slip out and seek sanctuary in the Canadian’s ambassador’s residence. It is up to the CIA’s Tony Mendez (Ben Affleck) to extract them from the country before they are discovered by the Revolutionary Guards. The plan? Create a fake movie, called Argo, and pretend they’re the crew.

    Read more
  • South Sudan: Birth Of A Nation

    On 9th July 2011, South-Sudan finally gained independence from Sudan after 50 years of conflicts in Northeasteren Africa. This blog will briefly discuss the most important obstacles that will lie ahead for the people of South-Sudan.

    Read more
  • North Korea Confirms Nuclear Test

    North Korea has conducted its second nuclear test, the country’s state news agency KCNA announced today. The nuclear test was expected. Earlier this year North Korea conducted a failed intercontinental missile test.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on International Organizations and Relations

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.