Hague Conference on Private International Law

Introduction

hagueconference

Dutch Professor Tobias Asser, Nobel Peace Prize in 1911, was the initiator of the first session of the Hague Conference on Private International Law in 1893. He saw the need for international conferences to develop instruments, treaties conventions, protocols etc., to regulate relationships between individuals in an international context. At the moment the Hague Conference is a permanent intergovernmental organization, with regular plenary sessions, focused on many aspects of Private International Law (family law, contracts, recognition and execution of foreign judgments and many other subjects).

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on The Hague Conference on Private International Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 259. Private International Law : Congresses and Conferences and subject heading (keyword) Hague Conference on Private International Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Bibliographies

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Books

Articles

Documents

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • T. M. C. Asser (1838-1913), founder of The Hague tradition : dreaming the ideal, living the attainable

    EYFFINGER, A., 2011
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Comparative conflict of laws: conventions, regulations and codes

    HAY, P., WEINTRAUB, R.J. and BORCHERS, P.J., 2009
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Unifying and harmonizing substantive law and the role of conflict of laws

    BOELE-WOELKI, K., 2010
    View this title in our OPAC
  • E pluribus unum : liber amicorum Georges A.L. Droz : on the progressive unification of private international law = sur l'unification progressive du droit international privé

    BORRAS, A. [et al.], 1996
    View this title in our OPAC

Database

Library Blogs

  • The Special Commission on the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law

    From 10 to 17 November a Special Commission of the Conference on Private International Law (hereafter HCCH) on the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law will meet at the Peace Palace in The Hague. The Special Commission of the HCCH will discuss the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law. The new Convention aims to resolve the problems of unpaid or uncollectible child support and the problems of costly, complicated, slow and under-utilized international procedures. It will provide for a simplified procedure to recover child support internationally.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Private International Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.

Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides