International Contracts

Introduction

International Contracts - Research Guide International Law

International business transactions are described in the form of an international contract, containing the objective(s) and commitments of each of the parties involved and the terms which govern the transaction. When parties from different countries enter into a contract, they are governed by international contract law unless they agree to abide by the laws of one of the countries. International contract law is a branch of private international law. This type of law is frequently applied to as international sales law. International sales contracts are governed by the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) from 1980. The purpose of the CISG is to provide a regime for contracts for the international sale of goods. The Convention is developed to promote commercial exchanges between private parties. In history, merchants developed their own sort of international contract law. Traders wanted to deal despite differences in languages, culture and laws developed their own code for international transactions. These rules have evolved into the contract laws of today.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Contracts. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 291. Contracts: General Works; Law governing Contracts; Vienna Rules 1926 and subject heading (keyword) International Contracts are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. Economic Impediment as Grounds for Exemption from Liability in the Scope of CISG Article 79
Economic Impediment as Grounds for Exemption from Liability in the Scope of CISG Article 79 / Bukar Kolo Lawan In: The Vindobona Journal of International Commercial Law and Arbitration = ISSN 1439-9741: vol. 18, issue 2, page 227-248. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 11 April 1980), Breach of contract, Escape clause, Accountability, Fulfilment of obligation, Sale, International contracts,

2. Do Recent Overhauls of Arbitration Rules respond to the Need for Multi-Party Arbitration in the Construction Industry?
Do Recent Overhauls of Arbitration Rules respond to the Need for Multi-Party Arbitration in the Construction Industry? / Dimitar Hristoforov Kondev In: International Construction Law Review = ISSN 0265-1416: vol. 32, issue 1 (jan), page 63-94. - 2015
Keywords: Construction, International contracts, Multi-party arbitration, International commercial arbitration, International Federation of Consulting Engineers,

3. A Corporate Monitor's Guide to International Regulatory Compliance
A Corporate Monitor's Guide to International Regulatory Compliance / Scott L. Fredericksen In: International Trade Law and Regulation = ISSN 1357-3136: vol. 21, issue 3, page 74-78. - 2015
Keywords: United States of America, Multinational enterprises, International contracts, International trade, International commercial law, Compliance,

4. "Force Majeure", Hardship and Other Excuses
"Force Majeure", Hardship and Other Excuses / Alejandro M. Garro In: Revue de droit international et de droit comparé = ISSN 0775-4663: vol. 92, issue 2, page 217-231. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 11 April 1980), International contracts, Unification of law, Force majeure, International Chamber of Commerce, Hardship clause,

5. L"obligation de renégociation du contrat
L"obligation de renégociation du contrat / Pascale Accaoui Lorfing In: Revue de droit international et de droit comparé = ISSN 0775-4663: vol. 92, issue 2, page 233-277. - 2015
Keywords: Revision, International contracts, Hardship clause, Rebus sic stantibus, Private international law, Comparative law,

6. Die Haager Principles on Choice of Law in International Commercial Contracts
Die Haager Principles on Choice of Law in International Commercial Contracts : eine weitere Verankerung der Parteiautonomie / von Dieter Martiny, Frankfurt (Oder) In: Rabels Zeitschrift fur Auslandisches und Internationales Privatrecht = The Rabel Journal of Comparative and International Private Law = ISSN 0033-7250: vol. 79, issue 3, page 624-653. - 2015
Keywords: Unidroit Principles of International Commercial Contracts, International contracts, Party autonomy, Choice of law, Private international law,

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Economic Impediment as Grounds for Exemption from Liability in the Scope of CISG Article 79
Economic Impediment as Grounds for Exemption from Liability in the Scope of CISG Article 79 / Bukar Kolo Lawan In: The Vindobona Journal of International Commercial Law and Arbitration = ISSN 1439-9741: vol. 18, issue 2, page 227-248. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 11 April 1980), Breach of contract, Escape clause, Accountability, Fulfilment of obligation, Sale, International contracts,

2. Do Recent Overhauls of Arbitration Rules respond to the Need for Multi-Party Arbitration in the Construction Industry?
Do Recent Overhauls of Arbitration Rules respond to the Need for Multi-Party Arbitration in the Construction Industry? / Dimitar Hristoforov Kondev In: International Construction Law Review = ISSN 0265-1416: vol. 32, issue 1 (jan), page 63-94. - 2015
Keywords: Construction, International contracts, Multi-party arbitration, International commercial arbitration, International Federation of Consulting Engineers,

3. A Corporate Monitor's Guide to International Regulatory Compliance
A Corporate Monitor's Guide to International Regulatory Compliance / Scott L. Fredericksen In: International Trade Law and Regulation = ISSN 1357-3136: vol. 21, issue 3, page 74-78. - 2015
Keywords: United States of America, Multinational enterprises, International contracts, International trade, International commercial law, Compliance,

4. "Force Majeure", Hardship and Other Excuses
"Force Majeure", Hardship and Other Excuses / Alejandro M. Garro In: Revue de droit international et de droit comparé = ISSN 0775-4663: vol. 92, issue 2, page 217-231. - 2015
Keywords: United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 11 April 1980), International contracts, Unification of law, Force majeure, International Chamber of Commerce, Hardship clause,

5. L"obligation de renégociation du contrat
L"obligation de renégociation du contrat / Pascale Accaoui Lorfing In: Revue de droit international et de droit comparé = ISSN 0775-4663: vol. 92, issue 2, page 233-277. - 2015
Keywords: Revision, International contracts, Hardship clause, Rebus sic stantibus, Private international law, Comparative law,

6. Die Haager Principles on Choice of Law in International Commercial Contracts
Die Haager Principles on Choice of Law in International Commercial Contracts : eine weitere Verankerung der Parteiautonomie / von Dieter Martiny, Frankfurt (Oder) In: Rabels Zeitschrift fur Auslandisches und Internationales Privatrecht = The Rabel Journal of Comparative and International Private Law = ISSN 0033-7250: vol. 79, issue 3, page 624-653. - 2015
Keywords: Unidroit Principles of International Commercial Contracts, International contracts, Party autonomy, Choice of law, Private international law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • McParland, M., The Rome I Regulation on the Law applicable to Contractual Obligations, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015. Showcase item

    McParland, M., The Rome I Regulation on the Law applicable to Contractual Obligations, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015.

    The Rome I Regulation applies to all EU Member States (except Denmark) in relation to ‘contractual obligations in civil and commercial matters’ in ‘situations involving a conflict of laws’ that arise out of contracts concluded from 17 December 2009. The Rome I Regulation has been described by the European Commission as ‘a central element of the Community acquis in the area of civil justice’. This book is the most comprehensive work on the development of the Rome I Regulation that studies in detail the historical background, the legislative development and the teleological purpose of the Regulation.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Vogenauer, S. (ed.), Commentary on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts (PICC), Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015. Showcase item

    Vogenauer, S. (ed.), Commentary on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts (PICC), Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015.

    The leading commentary on the PICC and a standard reference for all involved with international commerce;
    Clearly structured and easy to navigate article-by-article commentary provides quick access to all the case-law and legal literature needed to address a specific problem;
    In-depth scholarly analysis is combined with guidance on practical application;
    Comparative approach facilitates access for readers from different jurisdictions;
    International team of contributors comprising academics and practitioners from 13 jurisdictions gives a fresh and unbiased analysis of the subject;
    Includes a comparative synopsis to the provisions of international uniform law Conventions including the CISG, the Agency Convention, the Assignment Convention, and the Limitation Convention, in addition to PECL and the PICC

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • DiMatteo, L.A., International Sales Law: A Global Challenge, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    DiMatteo, International Sales Law: A Global Challenge, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    This title provides an introduction to international sales law. It provides a comprehensive review and analysis of the jurisprudence surrounding the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG). As of 1st January 2004, 62 countries have adopted the CISG as their countries’ international sales law. Since the introduction of the CISG, a critical mass of interpretive jurisprudence has developed, and, given its importance now as the world’s preeminent sales law, the authors believed that a fresh analysis of the evolving case and arbitral law was now needed. The analysis in the book is undertaken at two levels – the practical interpretation of the CISG and the theoretical limits of interpretation of supranational conventions.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Cordero-Moss, G., International Commercial Contracts: Applicable Sources And Enforceability, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Cordero-Moss, G., International Commercial Contracts: Applicable Sources And Enforceability, 2014.

    Any practising lawyer and student working with international commercial contracts faces standardised contracts and international arbitration as mechanisms for dispute settlement. Transnational rules may be applicable, but national law is still important. Based on extensive practical experience, this book analyses international contract practice and its interaction with the various applicable sources: which role is played by the contractual regulation, which by national law, which by transnational sources, what is the interaction among these factors, and how does this all apply to contracts that refer disputes to international arbitration?

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Spark, G., Vitiation of Contracts: International Contractual Principles and English Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    Spark, G., Vitiation of Contracts: International Contractual Principles and English Law, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2013.
    Vitiation of Contracts proposes a new theory to explain the rationale of general vitiating factors in English contract law. It provides a clear link to voluntariness as the foundation of contractual liability and compares the English position, in light of this theory, with the Principles of International Commercial Contracts (PICC), the Principles of European Contract Law (PECL), the Draft Common Frame of Reference (DCFR) and the US Restatement (Second) of Contracts.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Penadés Fons, M.A., Elección tácita de ley en los contratos internacionales, Cizur Menor, Aranzadi, 2012.

    Penadés Fons, M.A., Elección tácita de ley en los contratos internacionales, Cizur Menor, Aranzadi, 2012

    La libertad que actualmente se concede a las partes para que escojan la ley aplicable a su contrato comercial internacional no siempre se manifiesta mediante una cláusula expresa en el acuerdo. Este silencio deriva frecuentemente en litigación relativa a determinar si las partes efectivamente ejercieron dicha libertad, a pesar de que no quedara reflejado en el contrato. Aunque la normativa de la Unión Europea establece una solución armonizada para esta materia, la práctica demuestra que la respuesta dada por los tribunales de los Estados Miembros es sustancialmente heterogénea. Esto la convierte en una cuestión controvertida e incierta en cualquier litigio relacionado con un contrato comercial internacional. La presente obra analiza en profundidad los criterios empleados tanto por la jurisprudencia española como europea y ofrece una valiosa guía práctica profesional para enfrentarse a la cuestión de elección tácita de ley aplicable ante tribunales nacionales y arbitrales.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Bortolotti, F., Il contratto internazionale: manuale teorico-pratico, Padova, Cedam, 2012.

    Bortolotti, F., Il contratto internazionale: manuale teorico-pratico, Padova, Cedam, 2012.

    Il presente volume intende affrontare il tema dei contratti internazionali in modo originale, da un lato concentrando l’attenzione sui temi essenziali, la cui comprensione è indispensabile per orientarsi in questa materia, e dall’altro utilizzando un metodo di esposizione, integrato con esempi e casi concreti, che faciliti la comprensione delle problematiche, non prive di complessità, relative alla cosiddetta contrattualistica internazionale. Per quanto riguarda il primo aspetto, l’autore ha cercato di approfondire gli aspetti realmente importanti per capire la materia dei contratti internazionali, tralasciando aspetti più marginali e talvolta anche questioni importanti sotto il profilo teorico, ma di fatto prive di rilevanza concreta. Infatti, lo scopo primario del volume è di mettere il lettore in grado di comprendere a fondo le problematiche dei contratti internazionali e quindi di potersi orientare nella materia, il che non esclude la possibilità di ulteriori approfondimenti su aspetti specifici. Quanto al secondo aspetto, quello del metodo espositivo, ricorrendo ad un linguaggio semplice e il meno «tecnico» possibile, illustrando le questioni critiche con esempi concreti e, infine, utilizzando accorgimenti grafici che facilitino la lettura, è stato realizzato un prodotto editoriale che sia nella massima misura user-friendly, mettendo in primo piano le esigenze del lettore.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • UNCITRAL Rotterdam Rules

    Following the adoption of the UNCITRAL Model Law on Electronic Commerce at its twenty-ninth session in 1996, the United Nations Commission on Trade Law (UNCITRAL) considered, as part of the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) project, a proposal to include in its work programme a review of current practices and laws in the area of the international carriage of goods by sea, with a view to establishing the need for uniform rules where no such rules existed and with a view to achieving greater uniformity of laws.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Private International Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.