International Law of Procedure

Introduction

International Law of Procedure - Research Guide International Law

International (Civil) Procedural Law is part of Private International Law and covers the following main subjects. Firstly, the jurisdiction of national courts in international civil and commercial disputes, and jurisdictional immunities. Secondly, the recognition and enforcement of decisions of foreign courts. The 1968 Brussels Convention on Jurisdiction and Enforcement represents the beginning of a harmonization programme of procedural law within the European Union which has been one of the most striking developments in this field. Harmonization attempts at the international level by the International Institute for the Unification of Private Law (UNIDROIT) and the American Law Institute (ALI) resulted in the ALI/UNIDROIT Principles and Rules of Transnational Civil Procedure in 2004.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Law of Procedure. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 314. International Law of Procedure: General Works and subject heading (keyword) Law of International Civil Procedure are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

 Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Aspectos filosóficos del derecho del arbitraje internacional
Aspectos filosóficos del derecho del arbitraje internacional / Emmanuel Gaillard ; presentación Fernando Mantilla-Serrano ; prologo de Diego Fernández-Arroyo ; traducción Ximena Herrera-Bernal ; revisión de la traducción Lorenzo Villegas-Carrasquilla y Mariana Bernal-Fandiño. - Bogotá : Pontificia Universidad Javeriana : Grupo Bancolombia : Grupo Editorial Ibáñez, 2012. - 207 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Colección cátedra bancolombia de derecho económico, financiero y del mercado de valores. Serie Arbitraje Internacional ; no. 1) Bibliography: page 191-207. - 2012
Keywords: International arbitration, Philosophy of law, Private international law,

2. L'ordre public et l'arbitrage
L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux. - Paris : Lexis Nexis, 2014. - XII, 258 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Travaux du Centre de Recherche sur le Droit des Marchés et des Investissements Internationaux ; volume 42) Actes du Colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon. - At the head of the titlepage: Université de Bourgogne. CREDIMI - CNRS UMR 6295. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2014
Keywords: International commercial arbitration, Law of public order,

3. L'arbitre et le juge étatique
L'arbitre et le juge étatique : études de droit comparé à la mémoire de Giuseppe Tarzia / sous la direction d'Achille Saletti, Jacques van Compernolle et Jean-François van Drooghenbroeck. - Bruxelles : Bruylant, 2014. - 480 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references. - 2014
Keywords: Belgium, France, Italy, Germany, International commercial arbitration, Comparative law,

4. Advocacy in International Arbitration
Advocacy in International Arbitration : an Art, a Science, or a Technique? / Antonio Crivellaro In: Rivista dell'arbitrato = ISSN 1122-0147: vol. 22, issue 1, page 39-60. - 2012
Keywords: International arbitration, Testimony, Evidence, Arbitral competence, Lawyers,

5. / Hugo Perezcano Díaz
/ Hugo Perezcano Díaz. - México : Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores, Consultoría Jurídica, Dirección General del Acervo Histórico Diplomático. - Page 135-143 In: Nuevos diálogos sobre la justicia internacional : ciclo de conferencias / Bernardo Sepúlveda Amor, coordinador, ISBN 9786074460476: (2012), Page 135-143. - 2012
Keywords: Mexico, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards,

6. Cross-Border Enforcement of Gambling Contracts
Cross-Border Enforcement of Gambling Contracts : a Comparative Study / Zheng Sophia Tang In: International Journal of Private Law = ISSN 1753-6235: vol. 7, issue 1, page 1-19. - 2014
Keywords: Gambling, Contracts, Debts, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments, Private international law, Comparative law,

7. L'ordre public international et l'arbitrage d'investissement
L'ordre public international et l'arbitrage d'investissement / par Sébastien Manciaux. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 37-55 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 37-55. - 2014
Keywords: Investment arbitration, Transnational public policy,

8. Que reste-il du concept d'inarbitrabilité?
Que reste-il du concept d'inarbitrabilité? / par Laurence Ravillon. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 57-77 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 57-77. - 2014
Keywords: International commercial arbitration, Subject matter, Law of public order,

9. Les arbitres confrontés à la violation de l'ordre public
Les arbitres confrontés à la violation de l'ordre public / par Anne-Sylvie Courdier-Cuisinier et Stéphanie Grayot-Dirx. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 79-97 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 79-97. - 2014
Keywords: International commercial arbitration, Judges, Law of public order,

10. L'effet des sanctions économiques internationales sur l'arbitrage international
L'effet des sanctions économiques internationales sur l'arbitrage international / par Mathias Audit. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 143-157 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 143-157. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, Economic sanctions, International commercial arbitration, Subject matter, Investment arbitration,

11. L'intensité du contrôle de l'ordre public
L'intensité du contrôle de l'ordre public / par Charles Jarrosson. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 161-176 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 161-176. - 2014
Keywords: France, Commercial arbitration, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, Law of public order,

12. Le point de vue du juge judiciaire
Le point de vue du juge judiciaire / par Jean-Pierre Ancel. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 197-204 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 197-204. - 2014
Keywords: France, Judicial organisation, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, Transnational public policy, Law of civil procedure,

13. Le point de vue du juge administratif
Le point de vue du juge administratif / par Rodolphe Féral. - Paris : LexisNexis. - Page 205-220 In: L'ordre public et l'arbitrage : actes du colloque des 15 et 16 mars 2013, Dijon / sous la direction de Éric Loquin et de Sébastien Manciaux, ISBN 9782711020782: (2014), Page 205-220. - 2014
Keywords: France, Administrative Tribunal, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, Law of public order,

14. Wiedergänger der Haager Konferenz für IPR
Wiedergänger der Haager Konferenz für IPR : neue Perspektiven eines weltweiten Anerkennungs-und Vollstreckungsübereinkommem? / Haimo Schack In: Zeitschrift für europäisches Privatrecht = ISSN 0943-3929: vol. 22, issue 3, page 825-842. - 2014
Keywords: Hague Conference on Private International Law, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments, Private international law,

15. International Enforcement of Punitive Damage Awards
International Enforcement of Punitive Damage Awards / Inae Yang In: The Journal of Comparative Law: an Organ of the Association of Comparative Legal Studies = ISSN 1477-0814: vol. 9, issue 1, page 353-365. - 2014
Keywords: Punitive damages, Enforcement, International arbitration,

16. Remedies at the Seat and Enforcement of International Arbitral Awards: Res Judicata, Issue Estoppel and Abuse of Process in English Law
Remedies at the Seat and Enforcement of International Arbitral Awards: Res Judicata, Issue Estoppel and Abuse of Process in English Law / Renato Nazzini In: Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal = ISSN 1999-9747: vol. 7, issue 1, page 139-164. - 2014
Keywords: Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 10 June 1958), Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, International commercial arbitration, Res iudicata, Estoppel, Abuse, Great Britain,

17. Enforcing Mediated Settlement Agreements under the New York Convention: From Controversies to Creativities (Special Issue on Cross Border Enforcement of Mediated Settlement Agreement - Global Enforcement of Cross-border Mediated Settlement Agreements)
Enforcing Mediated Settlement Agreements under the New York Convention: From Controversies to Creativities (Special Issue on Cross Border Enforcement of Mediated Settlement Agreement - Global Enforcement of Cross-border Mediated Settlement Agreements) / Winnie Jo-Mei Ma In: Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal = ISSN 1999-9747: vol. 7, issue 1, page 69-86. - 2014
Keywords: UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Conciliation [New York, 24 June 2002], Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 10 June 1958), International mediation, International dispute settlement,

18. Is CIETAC Breaking Apart: An Analysis of the Split in the Cietac System (Student Note)
Is CIETAC Breaking Apart: An Analysis of the Split in the Cietac System (Student Note) / Chen Meng In: Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal = ISSN 1999-9747: vol. 6, issue 1, page 107-132. - 2013
Keywords: China, International commercial arbitration, Conflicts,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Bareiss, A., Pflichtenkollisionen im transnationalen Beweisverkehr : Offenbarungspflichten im Zivilprozessrecht der USA und Offenbarungsverbote nach deutschem und europäischem Recht, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2014.

    Bareiss, A., Pflichtenkollisionen im transnatinalen beweisverkehr

    Die Anzahl deutscher Unternehmen, die in den USA verklagt werden, hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stetig zugenommen. Häufig befinden sich die Unternehmen in einem Dilemma: Das US-amerikanische Zivilprozessrecht verpflichtet sie, während einer pre-trial discovery Informationen zu offenbaren, die nach deutschem und europäischem Recht Offenbarungsverboten unterliegen.
    Andreas Bareiß stellt die Rechtslage nach deutschem, europäischem und US-amerikanischem Recht dar. Dabei konzentriert er sich auf Offenbarungspflichten, die sich aus den US Federal Rules of Civil Procedure ergeben und Offenbarungsverbote, die aus dem allgemeinen Datenschutz, dem Fernmeldegeheimnis und dem Bankgeheimnis resultieren. Er untersucht Abwehrstrategien und Schutzmaßnahmen, die betroffene Unternehmen in Deutschland und den USA ergreifen können. Schließlich erarbeitet der Autor einen eigenen Ansatz zur grundlegenden Lösung des rechtlichen Dilemmas.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Borchers, P.J., Jurisdiction and Private International Law, Cheltenham / Northampton, Edward Elgar, 2014

    Borchers, P.J., Jurisdiction and Private International Law, Cheltenham  Northampton, Edward Elgar, 2014

    In an increasingly globalized and digitized world, transactions, communications and data flow freely across national borders. When lawsuits arise as a result of those trans-border events, the question of which court or courts have jurisdiction and can provide the appropriate forum becomes critical. This two-volume collection provides a survey of personal jurisdiction across both time and legal systems. It includes articles ranging from the early 20th century to present day and to the problems created by jurisdiction in cyberspace. It also examines the jurisdictional premises of major common law countries and those in the civilian tradition. With an original introduction by the editor, these comprehensive volumes will appeal to scholars and practitioners alike.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Vorburger, S., International Arbitration and Cross-Border Insolvency: Comparative Perspectives, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, 2014.

    Vorburger, S., International Arbitration and Cross-Border Insolvency Comparative Perspectives, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, 2014

    This book provides an in-depth analysis of applicable rules and policies under the current legal framework and case law of national courts and arbitral tribunals, emphasizing developments in five countries where high levels of international arbitration occur: England, the United States, France, Germany and Switzerland. Among the complex issues that arise when an insolvency disrupts an arbitration, the author examines the following:      recognition of insolvencies by arbitral tribunals;      determination of the law applicable to the effects of an insolvency on arbitration;      effects of an insolvency on validity and scope of an arbitration agreement;      effects of an insolvency on capacity of the parties to an international arbitration;      suspension of arbitral proceedings due to an insolvency; and      effects of an insolvency on the recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards.  In addition to providing a comparative legal analysis of issues that arise in connection with the collision of international arbitration and cross-border insolvency, the author sets out proposals to clarify policy and procedure. Dealing with cross-border insolvency law issues in international arbitration presents an enormous challenge for arbitration practitioners, arbitral tribunals and national courts. This book will serve as a source of inspiration as well as a reference and provide a clearly marked path to an effective synthesis in this complex field.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Huang, J., Interregional Recognition and Enforcement of Civil and Commercial Judgments: Lessons For China From US and EU Law, Oxford/Portland, Hart Publishing, 2014.

    Huang, J., Interregional Recognition and Enforcement of Civil and Commercial Judgments Lessons For China From US and EU Law, Oxford Portland, Hart Publishing, 2014

    Judgment recognition and enforcement (JRE) between the US states, between EU Member States, and between mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao, are all forms of ‘interregional JRE’. This extensive comparative study of the three most important JRE regimes focuses on what lessons China can draw from the US and the EU in developing a multilateral JRE arrangement for mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao.Mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao share economic, geographical, cultural, and historical proximity to one another. The policy of ‘One Country, Two Systems’ also provides a quasi-constitutional regime for the three regions. However, there is no multilateral JRE scheme among them, as there is in the US and the EU; and it is harder to recognise and enforce sister-region judgments in China than in the US and the EU. The book analyses the status quo of JRE in China and explores its insufficiencies; it proposes a multilateral JRE arrangement for Chinese regions to alleviate current JRE difficulties; and it also provides solutions for the macro and micro challenges of establishing a multilateral arrangement, drawing upon the rich literature on JRE regimes found in the US and the EU.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Nuyts, A. and N.E. Hatzimihail (eds.), Cross-border Class Actions : The European Way, Munich, Sellier European Law Publisher, 2014

    Nuyts, A. and N.E. Hatzimihail (eds.), Cross-border Class Actions The European Way, Munich, Sellier European Law Publisher, 2014

    Whether with regard to mass torts, civil-rights claims or as a means of private enforcement of antitrust and other regulatory policies: Collective redress of civil claims has been gaining in importance in Europe and worldwide. Long associated with the American model of class actions, an increasing number of EU Member States have made their own attempts at collective redress institutions. At the same time, the amendment of the Brussels I Regulation has shied away from dealing with the cross-border aspects of collective redress. In this book, a worldwide group of distinguished experts in private international law, civil procedure and regulatory law evaluate the problems of cross-border collective redress and provide proposals for a “European way” appropriate for the twenty-first century. This very topical work is, thus, indispensable for practitioners, academics, lobbyists and institutional agents.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Tang, Z.S., Jurisdiction and Arbitration Agreements in International Commercial Law, London; New York, Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group, 2014.

    zhang, jurisdiction and arbitration agreements in international commercial law

    Arbitration and jurisdiction agreements are frequently used in transnational commercial contracts to reduce risk, gain efficacy and acquire certainty and predictability. Because of the similarities between these two types of procedural autonomy agreements, they are often treated in a similar way by courts and practitioners.

    This book offers a comprehensive study of the prerequisites, effectiveness, and enforcement of exclusive jurisdiction and arbitration agreements in international dispute resolution. It examines whether jurisdiction and arbitration clauses have identical effects in private international law and whether they have been or should be given the same treatment by most countries in the world. By comparing the treatment of these clauses in the US, China, UK and EU, Zheng Sophia Tang demonstrates how, in practice, exclusive jurisdiction and arbitration agreements are enforced. The book considers whether the Hague Convention on Choice of Court Agreements could be treated as a litigating counterpart to the New York Convention, and whether it could work successfully to facilitate judicial cooperation and party autonomy in international commerce.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

See also

More Research guides on Private International Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.