Private International Law

Introduction

Private International Law - Research Guide International Law

Private International Law or International Private Law governs the choice of law to apply when there are conflicts in the domestic law of different countries related to private transactions. This means that there is a dispute or transaction that involves one of the following:

  • what jurisdiction applies – choice of court, forum selection, renvoi (transfer of proceedings)
  • choice of applicable law
  • recognition or enforcement of a foreign judgment

In the United States, Canada, and Great Britain it is also known as conflict of laws.

National laws are the primary sources of Private International Law. Private International Law is also embodied in treaties and conventions, model laws, legal guides, and other instruments that regulate transactions. Private International Law deals with a variety of topics, such as (international) contracts, torts (lex loci delicti), family matters, recognition of judgments, child adoption and abduction, real property (lex rei sitae), intellectual property.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of Private International Law in General. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index codes 261. Private International Law : General Works; Various Essays, 262. Private International Law of the Various States and subject heading (keyword) Private International Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Das Kuckuckskind im IPR - Kollisionsrechtliche Betrachtungen zum scheidungsakzessorischen Statuswechsel bzw. zur qualifizierten (konsensualen) Vaterschaftsanerkennung
Das Kuckuckskind im IPR - Kollisionsrechtliche Betrachtungen zum scheidungsakzessorischen Statuswechsel bzw. zur qualifizierten (konsensualen) Vaterschaftsanerkennung / Robert Freitag In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 66, issue 11, page 333-339. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, Illegitimate children, Filiation, Children and parents, Law of persons, Family law, Private international law,

2. Ein Name in ganz Europa - Entwurf einer Europäischen Verordnung über das Internationale Namensrecht
Ein Name in ganz Europa - Entwurf einer Europäischen Verordnung über das Internationale Namensrecht / Anatol Dutta, Rainer Frank, Robert Freitag, Tobias Helms, Karl Krömer, Walter Pintens In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 67, issue 2, page 33-44. - 2014
Keywords: Europe, Noms de famille, Habitual residence, Law of persons, Family law, Private international law,

3. Eheschließungen auf See
Eheschließungen auf See / Anatol Dutta In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 67, issue 2, page 44-48. - 2014
Keywords: Germany, Marriage, Sea, High seas, Maritime zones, Maritime labour, Ships and their crews, Private international law,

4. Contratos internacionales de distribución comercial en el derecho internacional privado de la Unión Europea
Contratos internacionales de distribución comercial en el derecho internacional privado de la Unión Europea / Juliana Rodríguez Rodrigo. - Granada : Editorial Comares, 2013. - XVIII, 275 pages. ; 22 cm. - (Derecho transnacional ; 9) Bibliography: page 259-269. - With notes. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, International contracts, Law of contracts, International commercial law, Private international law,

5. Milletlerarası Usul Hukukunda Ihtiyati Tedbirler (Brüksel I Tüzüğü, UNIDROIT Ilkeleri ve Türk Yargılama Hukuku Çerçevesinde)
Milletlerarası Usul Hukukunda Ihtiyati Tedbirler (Brüksel I Tüzüğü, UNIDROIT Ilkeleri ve Türk Yargılama Hukuku Çerçevesinde) / Dr. Deniz Defne Kırlı Aydemir. - Istanbul : On Iki Levha Yayıncılık, 2013. - XXXIII, 431 pages. ; 23 cm Bibliography: page 413-429. - With notes. - 2013
Keywords: Turkey, Law of international civil procedure, Provisional measures, Precautionary measures, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments, Private international law, Convention on Jurisdiction and the Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters (Brussels, 27 September 1968), Principles of transnational civil procedure (ALI-Unidroit),

6. Uluslararası Ticaret ve Yatırım Uyuşmazlıklarında Dostane Çözüm - Kurumlar Kurallar Süreçler -
Uluslararası Ticaret ve Yatırım Uyuşmazlıklarında Dostane Çözüm - Kurumlar Kurallar Süreçler - / Dikran M. Zenginkuzucu. - Istanbul : Legal Yayıncılık, 2013. - XVI, 213 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Hukuk Kitapları Serisi ; 223) Bibliography: page 201-213. - With notes. - 2013
Keywords: Turkey, Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 10 June 1958), United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, Permanent Court of Arbitration, International Chamber of Commerce, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, World Intellectual Property Organization, International trade, Private international law, Pacific settlement of disputes,

7. Milletlerarası Mal Satımına İlişkin Sözleşmeler Hakkında Birleşmiş Milletler Antlaşması Uyarınca Sözleşmenin Kurulması (CISG m. 14-24)
Milletlerarası Mal Satımına İlişkin Sözleşmeler Hakkında Birleşmiş Milletler Antlaşması Uyarınca Sözleşmenin Kurulması (CISG m. 14-24) / İpek Sağlam. - Istanbul : On İki Levha Yayıncılık, 2013. - XXV, 370 pages. ; 25 cm Bibliography: page 355-370. - With notes. - 2013
Keywords: Turkey, United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (Vienna, 11 April 1980), International contracts, Sale, International commercial law, Private international law, Commentaries,

8. Ausländerrechtliche Folgen der Eheschließung mit einem Drittstaatsangehörigen
Ausländerrechtliche Folgen der Eheschließung mit einem Drittstaatsangehörigen / von Rechtsanwalt Wolfgang Tiede, Rechtsanwalt Jakob Schirmer und Maximilian Yang In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 67, issue 5, page 129-135. - 2014
Keywords: Europe, European Union, Marriage, Family reunion, Habitual residence, Immigration law, Private international law,

9. Ausländische Leihmutterschaft: Elternschaft durch verfahrensrechtliche Anerkennung
Ausländische Leihmutterschaft: Elternschaft durch verfahrensrechtliche Anerkennung / von Konrad Duden In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 67, issue 6, page 164-170. - 2014
Keywords: Surrogate mother, Children and parents, Paternal authorithy, Filiation, Law of persons, Family law, Private international law,

10. Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle
Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassari ; [avec la collab. de: M. Ben Lamine ... et al.]. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff, 2013. - XXXV, 985 p. - (Les livres de droit de l'Académie = The law books of the Academy) Met bijdragen in het Frans of Engels. - Bibliogr.: p 681-925. - Met lit. opg., index. - 2013
Keywords: Multicultural society, Cultural diversity, Private international law, Private law, Public international law, International law and domestic law, Legal anthropology,

11. Cultural Diversity in the Legal Framework
Cultural Diversity in the Legal Framework : Modes of Operation / Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassari. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Multicultural society, Cultural diversity, Private international law, Private law, Public international law, International law and domestic law, Legal anthropology,

12. La diversité culturelle vue à travers le prisme du droit international privé de la famille tunisien et marocain
La diversité culturelle vue à travers le prisme du droit international privé de la famille tunisien et marocain : le Maghreb aux deux visages / Meriem Ben Lamine. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Maghreb, Tunesia, Morocco, Cultural diversity, Private international law, Family law, Comparative law, Human rights, Islamic law,

13. Repudiated by Hushband and Europe?
Repudiated by Hushband and Europe? : a critical Re-assessment of the Politics of Recognition of Islamic Repudiations in Western Legal Systems / Pauline Kruiniger. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: West, Europe, Family law, Divorce and judicial separation, Repudiation, Legal systems, Islamic law, Private international law, Muslims,

14. Lost in Nationality
Lost in Nationality : Private International Law and Cultural Diversity / Jinske Verhellen. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: West, Europe, Family law, Private international law, Nationality, Marriage, Polygamy, Same sex marriage, Cultural diversity,

15. Inconvenient Loves
Inconvenient Loves : the Mismanagement of Interfaith Marriages in Lebanon and Egypt / Imen Gallala-Arndt. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Lebanon, Egypt, Family law, Private international law, Marriage, Religious minorities, Pluralism, Religion, Secularisation, Freedom of thought, conscience and religion,

16. Bibliographie sur les approches juridiques de la diversité
Bibliographie sur les approches juridiques de la diversité = Selected Bibliography on the Legal Approaches to Cultural Diversity / E.N. van Trigt. - Leiden [etc.] : Nijhoff In: Approches juridiques de la diversité culturelle / Académie de Droit International de la Haye = Legal approaches to cultural diversity / Hague Academy of International Law ; publ. sous la dir. de Marie-Claire Foblets, Nadjma Yassar, ISBN 9789004250154: (2013) - 2013
Keywords: Cultural diversity, Multicultural society, Public international law, Private international law, Private law, International law and domestic law, Bibliographies,

17. Transnational Commercial Law and Conflict of Laws: Institutional Co-operation and Substantive Complementarity; Inaugural Lecture, Private International Law Session, 2013
Transnational Commercial Law and Conflict of Laws: Institutional Co-operation and Substantive Complementarity; Inaugural Lecture, Private International Law Session, 2013 / Herbert Kronke. - Page 9-42. : Portrait In: Recueil des cours: vol. 369. - 2013
Keywords: International commercial law, Conflict of laws, Private international law, Unification of law,

18. Efficiency in Private International Law
Efficiency in Private International Law / Toshiyuki Kono. - Page 361-511. : Portrait In: Recueil des cours: vol. 369. - 2013
Keywords: Private international law, Conflict of laws, Choice of law, Law and economics, Unification of law, Effectiveness, Intellectual property, International insolvency law,

19. Transnational Commercial Law and Conflict of Laws: Institutional Co-operation and Substantive Complementarity; Inaugural Lecture, Private International Law Session, 2013
Transnational Commercial Law and Conflict of Laws: Institutional Co-operation and Substantive Complementarity; Inaugural Lecture, Private International Law Session, 2013 / Herbert Kronke. - Page 9-42. : Portrait In: Recueil des cours: vol. 369. - 2013
Keywords: International commercial law, Conflict of laws, Private international law, Unification of law,

20. Bestimmung der effektiven Staatsangehörigkeit für die Nahmensführung im deutsch-polnischen Verhältnis bei Maßgeblichkeit des bis 1. September 1986 geltenden internationalen Privatrechts
Bestimmung der effektiven Staatsangehörigkeit für die Nahmensführung im deutsch-polnischen Verhältnis bei Maßgeblichkeit des bis 1. September 1986 geltenden internationalen Privatrechts / Isabell Maria Genz In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 66, issue 11, page 340-346. - 2013
Keywords: Germany, Poland, Noms de famille, Law of persons, Family law, Private international law,

21. Milletlerarası Özel Hukukta Aynı Cinsiyetten Kişilerin Birliktelikleri
Milletlerarası Özel Hukukta Aynı Cinsiyetten Kişilerin Birliktelikleri / Candan Yasan. - Istanbul : On İki Levha Yayıncılık, 2013. - XIX, 296 pages. ; 24 cm Bibliography: page 275-296. - With notes. - 2013
Keywords: Turkey, Private international law, Same sex marriage,

22. Milletlerarası Özel Hukukta
Milletlerarası Özel Hukukta : Mutad Mesken Kavramı / İlyas Arslan. - Istanbul : On İki Levha Yayıncılık, 2014. - XV, 225 pages. ; 23 cm Bibliography: page 183-197. - With notes. - 2014
Keywords: Turkey, Habitual residence, Private international law, Conflict of laws,

23. Rückgriff auf nationales Anerkennungsrecht bei Verstoß gegen das Haager Adoptions-übereinkommen
Rückgriff auf nationales Anerkennungsrecht bei Verstoß gegen das Haager Adoptions-übereinkommen / Andreas Botthof In: Standesamt = ISSN 0341-3977: vol. 67, issue 3, page 74-79. - 2014
Keywords: Germany, Adoption, Convention on Protection of Children and Cooperation in respect of Intercountry Adoption (The Hague, 29 May 1993), Family law, Private international law,

24. Efficiency in Private International Law
Efficiency in Private International Law / Toshiyuki Kono. - Page 361-511. : Portrait In: Recueil des cours: vol. 369. - 2013
Keywords: Private international law, Conflict of laws, Choice of law, Law and economics, Unification of law, Effectiveness, Intellectual property, International insolvency law,

25. Array
Kukche kŏraepŏp / Ch'oe Chun-sŏn chŏ. - Che 9-p'an. - Sŏul T'ŭkpyŏlsi : Samyŏngsa, 2014. - 560 pages. : illustrations. ; 26 cm Added title page: The law of international business transaction, 9th edition / by Junesun Choi. - In Korean; documents in "purok" in Korean and/or English. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - 2014
Keywords: South Korea, Exportation and importation, Sale, International contracts, Private international law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Symeonides, S.C., Codifying Choice of Law around the World: An International Comparative Analysis, New York, Oxford University Press, 2014. Showcase item

    Symeonides, S.C., Codifying Choice of Law around the World: An International Comparative Analysis, New York, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    This book chronicles, documents, and celebrates an extraordinary development in the history of Private International Law (PIL) or Conflict of Laws—a massive codification movement around the globe in the last 50 years (1962–2012). During this period, we have witnessed the adoption of more PIL codifications, Regulations, international conventions, protocols, and similar instruments (nearly 200) than in all previous years since the inception of PIL. The book provides a horizontal comparison and discussion of these codifications and conventions. After comparing the way they resolve tort and contract conflicts, the discussion compares the answers of these codifications to some of the fundamental philosophical and methodological dilemmas of PIL. In the process, the book re-examines certain widely held assumptions about choice of law and the art and science of codification in general.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • A Commitment to Private International Law: Essays in Honour of Hans van Loon, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2013.

    A Commitment to Private International Law: Essays in Honour of Hans van Loon, Cambridge, Intersentia, 2013.

    Hans van Loon has been at the forefront of private international law for well over a quarter of a century. Since joining the Hague Conference on Private International Law in 1978, he has presided over remarkable growth of the Organisation and significant changes to how it operates. He has been involved in the development of nine Hague Conventions, two of which are fast approaching 100 Contracting States, as well as the revision of the Statute of the Hague Conference. In his time as Secretary General, he has seen the Organisation’s membership grow from 44 to 72 Members (with more than 60 non-Member States now party to at least one Hague Convention), which has turned the Hague Conference into a veritable world organisation. The continued relevance of the Hague Conference in the 21st century owes much to the commitment of Hans van Loon to private international law and his awareness of its role in a broader social context. This Liber Amicorum is a collection of contributions from friends and colleagues who have shared the negotiating table with Hans van Loon at various diplomatic sessions, collaborated with him on seminars and academic pursuits around the globe, and worked alongside him at the Permanent Bureau.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Kroll-Ludwigs, K., Die Rolle der Parteiautonomie im europäischen Kollisionsrecht, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2013.

    Kroll-Ludwigs, K., Die Rolle der Parteiautonomie im europäischen Kollisionsrecht, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2013.

    Die Parteiautonomie ist als Grundprinzip im Recht der vertraglichen und außervertraglichen Schuldverhältnisse anerkannt. In jüngster Zeit ist sie auch im Bereich des nicht-wirtschaftlichen Personenverkehrs auf dem Vormarsch. Paradigmatisch hierfür stehen die im Zuge der Vereinheitlichung des Kollisionsrechts in Europa geschaffenen Rechtswahltatbestände in den verabschiedeten bzw. geplanten Rechtsakten zum Unterhalts-, Scheidungs- und Güterrecht sowie zum Erbrecht. Trotz dieser Entwicklung existieren im Ausgangspunkt Unterschiede zwischen einer weiten Rechtswahlfreiheit im Vertragsrecht einerseits und einem nur beschränkten Ansatz im Familien- und Erbrecht andererseits. Kathrin Kroll-Ludwigs zeigt, dass die bislang angeführten Gründe für eine derartige Beschränkung nicht überzeugen können. Sie plädiert für eine einheitliche Ausgestaltung der Parteiautonomie im europäischen Kollisionsrecht in Form einer freien Rechtswahl der Parteien.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Vogeler, A., Die freie Rechtswahl im Kollisionsrecht der außervertraglichen Schuldverhältnisse, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2013.

    Vogeler, A., Die freie Rechtswahl im Kollisionsrecht der außervertraglichen Schuldverhältnisse, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2013.

    With the codification of Art. 14 of the Rome II Regulation, European lawmakers harmonized the exercise of party autonomy for non-contractual obligations in European law. Andreas Vogeler does a systematic study of party autonomy in the framework of international private law, at the same time providing recommendations for politics and practical use.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Garcimartín Alférez, F.J., Derecho internacional privado, Madrid, Civitas/Thomson Reuters, 2012.

    Garcimartín Alférez, F.J., Derecho internacional privado, Madrid, Civitas/Thomson Reuters, 2012.

    El objeto de esta obra es un sector muy particular dentro del ordenamiento jurídico: el Derecho internacional privado. Las normas que regulan las relaciones privadas internacionales. La importancia práctica del Derecho internacional privado ha crecido mucho durante los últimos años de la mano de la internacionalización de la sociedad y de los mercados españoles. Las relaciones privadas entre personas o empresas de diferentes países han pasado de lo anecdótico a lo habitual.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Beaumont, P. and P. McEleavy (eds.), Anton's Private International Law, Edinburgh, Green, 2012.

    Beaumont, P. and P. McEleavy (eds.), Anton's Private International Law, Edinburgh, Green, 2012.

    Recently, the 3rd edition of Professor Anton’s standard text on the Scottish rules of private international law has been published. The book has been completely revised by Professor Paul Beaumont (University of Aberdeen) and Professor Peter McEleavy (University of Dundee) paying regard to the fact that the subject area has been comprehensively restructured in recent years due to the process of Europeanisation. The Brussels I, Brussels IIa, Rome I, Rome II and Maintenance Regulations, as well as associated case law, are considered in detail with regard paid to their particular impact on Scots law. Further, the recent work of the Hague Conference on Private International Law is included, in particular the Conventions on Maintenance, Choice of Court, Protection of Adults, Protection of Children and Inter-country Adoption. In analysing European and global instruments the authors have drawn on their experience in participating in the negotiation processes in Brussels as well as from their work for the Hague Conference.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Borras, A. (ed.), Legislación básica de derecho internacional privado, Madrid, Technos, 2012.

    Borras, A. (ed.), Legislación básica de derecho internacional privado, Madrid, Technos, 2012.

    Esta obra constituye una sistematización, con abundantes notas y concordancias, además de referencias a las direcciones de Internet útiles para completar y poner al día determinados datos, de los textos básicos de Derecho internacional privado vigentes en el ordenamiento español, precedidos de una introducción. Partiendo de la Constitución española y los textos básicos de la Unión Europea, profundamente modificados tras la entrada en vigor del Tratado de Lisboa el 1º de diciembre de 2009, las normas más relevantes en esta materia se han agrupado en tres grandes rúbricas: la consagrada a las “Normas de Derecho procesal y de cooperación internacional de autoridades”, al “Arbitraje” y a las “Normas de conflicto de leyes: dimensión internacional y dimensión interna”. En cada uno de estos sectores se incluyen las normas internas, las del Derecho convencional internacional en vigor en el ordenamiento español y las de Derecho de la Unión Europea con incidencia en el ámbito del Derecho internacional privado, qua han aumentado notablemente en los últimos tiempos. Este amplio conjunto de textos, actualizados hasta mayo de 2011, está destinado a facilitar tanto la docencia universitaria como la labor de los profesionales del Derecho.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Dicey, A.V. and Morris, J.H.C. (et al.), Dicey, Morris and Collins on the Conflict of Laws, London, Sweet and Maxwell Thomson Reuters, 2012.

    Dicey, A.V. and Morris, J.H.C. (et al.), Dicey, Morris and Collins on the Conflict of Laws, London, Sweet and Maxwell Thomson Reuters, 2012.

    Dicey, Morris & Collins on the Conflict of Laws is renowned worldwide as the foremost authority on private international law. It explains the rules, principles and practice which determine how the law of England and Wales relates to other legal systems. Explanation of each rule is followed by comment, and illustration by detailed reference to case law, ensuring it remains an in-depth but accessible research tool.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • The Hague Academy of International Law: Celebrating 90 Years of Academic Excellence

    On July 24, 1923, ten years after the opening of the Peace Palace, the Hague Academy of International Law was solemnly inaugurated in the Peace Palace ‘to teach subjects which are most important from the point of view of theory, practice, legislation and international jurisprudence, in particular from deliberations of conferences and arbitral awards’ (Art. 3 of its statute adopted in 1914).

    Read more
  • Shell and Ogoni People : (s)oil pollution in the Niger Delta

    On January 30, 2013, the court (Rechtbank) in the Hague, The Netherlands, ruled that Royal Dutch Shell can be held partially responsible for pollution in Nigeria’s Niger Delta region and ordered it to pay damages to one farmer. The Dutch court dismissed four out of five allegations of the Ogoni people against the oil company. Although Shell blames the oil pollution to sabotage, activists say the case could set a precedent for damage claims related to the foreign activities of multinational companies.

    Read more
  • Immunities in Public and Private International Law - 9th Session of the Seminar for Advanced Studies, 13-19 January 2013

    Each year the Hague Academy of International law, one of the most renowned academic institutions in Europe, holds a seminar devoted to various aspects of public and private international law. The theme of this year’s seminar will be: ”Les immunités en droit international public et privé” (Immunities in public and private international law). This Programme of Advanced Studies will take place from 13 to 19 January 2013 at the Academy building in The Hague.

    Read more
  • Inspiration and innovation in international law and politics, 100 years Nobel peace prize Tobias Asser

    The conference in honor of the late Tobias Asser, a hundred years after receiving the Nobel peace prize, featured a day long program with various speakers, presentations and panel discussions. The following is a selection of the opinions delivered by some of the most prominent speakers on the subjects of public international law and private international law. For a more detailed account of the life and legacy of Tobias Asser, please see ‘The learned guide of our nation …’.

    Read more
  • The Special Commission on the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law

    From 10 to 17 November a Special Commission of the Conference on Private International Law (hereafter HCCH) on the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law will meet at the Peace Palace in The Hague. The Special Commission of the HCCH will discuss the implementation of the 2007 Child Support Convention and of the Protocol on Applicable Law. The new Convention aims to resolve the problems of unpaid or uncollectible child support and the problems of costly, complicated, slow and under-utilized international procedures. It will provide for a simplified procedure to recover child support internationally.

    Read more
  • Cultural Diversity

    On Monday the 17th of August 2009 the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law started. The Centre takes place annually at the Academy and Library building of the Peace Palace. The purpose of the Centre is to bring together advanced young scholars of [...]

    Read more
  • Shell Settles Nigerian Claims of Human Rights Violations

    On Monday, 8 June Royal Dutch Shell, Europe’s largest oil producer, reached a 15.5 million dollar settlement in a lawsuit brought against it by the families of the nine Nigerian activists who were killed in 1995. The lawsuit, which was brought to a New York court under the US Alien Tort Claims Act (ATCA), accused Shell’s Nigerian subsidiary of complicity in the hanging and the killings or persecution of the environmental activists.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Private International Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.