Diplomacy

Introduction

Peace Palace Library Research Guide Diplomacy

Peace Palace Library Research Guide Diplomacy Kofi Annan and Ban Ki Moon

Diplomacy can be regarded as an application of intelligence and tact to the conduct of official relations between the governments of independent States. Whereas the terms diplomacy and foreign policy are often used interchangeably, diplomacy is an instrument of foreign policy. Foreign policy is orientated towards settling goals, occasionally with mention to the strategies and tactics to be used. Diplomacy is used to its accomplishment. The purpose of diplomacy is to strengthen the State and to serve in its relations with others. One of the functions of diplomacy is to minimize frictions and conflicts with other states through negotiations.

Three kinds of diplomacy can be discerned : bilateral diplomacy or diplomacy between two states (i.e. diplomatic representation of the sending state in a receiving state), multilateral diplomacy which involves diplomacy regarding regional or global issues and is used with a plurality of States through an international organization or at international conferences, and ad hoc diplomacy which involves other forms of diplomacy than the two aforementioned types of diplomacy. For example one can think of special missions to which States resort in order to entrust a diplomatic officer with the task to carry out one or many diplomatic assignments in a foreign State even though this officer does not belong to a permanent mission accredited to a country. In Academia, diplomatic studies is regarded as a new discipline, a sub-area of international relations.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Diplomacy. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 455. Diplomacy and Diplomatic History of the Various States and subject heading (keyword) Diplomacy are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue.
Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Recent Acquistions

Sorry no recent acquisitions this week.

    Bibliographies

    Periodicals and Serial Publications

    Books and Articles

    BOOKS

    Articles

    Documents

    Librarian's choice

    These publications are selected for you by .

    • The Protection Of Diplomatic Personnel

      The recent emergence of many new states and the creation of a large number of international institutions have resulted in considerable growth in the number of persons having diplomatic status. However, an unfortunate side-effect of this growth has been a corresponding increase in the number of attacks on diplomatic personnel for, as symbolic figures, diplomats are targets for all types of political violence. This book provides an in-depth examination of the legal and non-legal regimes directed towards the protection of diplomatic personnel around the world. It examines the theoretical and practical justifications for the granting of special protection to such personnel and also particular recent developments in international law relating to the prevention of terrorism and the development of international criminal law, including the International Criminal Court.
      J. Craig Barker , 2006
      View this title in our OPAC
    • International Law and Diplomacy

      In this work the author explores the subjects of sovereignty, diplomacy and the function of diplomats, diplomatic missions, protocol, ethics in diplomacy, the role of Ministries of Foreign Affairs, intergovernmental conferences and the United Nations. It: includes a useful glossary of over sixty essential terms (such as Calvo Doctrine, Extradition, Rapporteur and “Uti Possidetis Juris”); and, clearly relates the conduct of diplomacy to the principles of international law. This volume will appeal to graduate and undergraduate students studying diplomacy, public administration and international relations courses as well as practising diplomats, international organization and foreign ministry officials and those who have regular dealings with them.
      Charles Chatterjee, 2007
      View this title in our OPAC
    • Diplomacy

      Moving from a sweeping overview of history to blow-by-blow accounts of his negotiations with world leaders, Henry Kissinger describes how the art of diplomacy has created the world in which we live, and how America’s approach to foreign affairs has always differed vastly from that of other nations. Brilliant, controversial, and profoundly incisive, Diplomacy stands as the culmination of a lifetime of diplomatic service and scholarship. It is vital reading for anyone concerned with the forces that have shaped our world today and will impact upon it tomorrow.

      Henry Kissinger , 1994
      View this title in our OPAC

    Database

    Library Blogs

    • Texas Executes Mexican National in Defiance of ICJ Rulings

      Late Tuesday night, 5 August, the State of Texas executed José Ernesto Medellín, despite a call from the UN Secretary-General urging the United States (US) not to go ahead with the execution and to respect the judgements of the International Court of Justice (ICJ).

      Read more
    • Tsvangirai seeks diplomatic protection

      Morgan Tsvangirai, Zimbabwe’s opposition leader, fearing for his safety, has taken refuge in the Dutch embassy in the capital Harare. Zimbabwean authorities said to respect the Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations of 1961 [PDF]
      The embassy has diplomatic immunity and cannot be entered without permission of the ambassador.
      Famous cases involving embassies are ; the Iran-US Hostage crisis in 1979, the Hungarian Cardinal József Mindszenty lived for 15 years in the American embassy in Budapest.
      Keywords for more literature on diplomatic protection : Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations, Hostages, Iran, Diplomatic and consular protection

      Read more

    See also

    More Research guides on Other Subjects

    PPL keywords

    Comments are closed.

    Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides