Hugo Grotius (1583-1645)

Introduction

Hugo Grotius, Portrait by Michiel Jansz. van Mierevelt, 1631

Hugo Grotius, Portrait by Michiel Jansz. van Mierevelt, 1631

The Peace Palace Library in The Hague holds one of the greatest collections  in the world of the works of Hugo Grotius [1583-1645], founder of a systematic modern doctrine of international law and universally called the “Father of International Law”. His works  also include theological, poetical, historical and philosophical themes.

At the early age of eleven years, he left his hometown Delft to study at the faculty of Letters at the University of Leiden, where  he defended his doctoral thesis in 1597.

After earning a law degree at the University of Orleans in 1598, his star as advocate rose  within the Dutch Republic. His involvement in the dispute between the Republic and England over the freedom of the seas led to his views published in “Mare liberum” (1609), still studied by modern researchers of  the law of the sea. In 1618 he was caught up in the religious fight between orthodox Calvinists and reformers. He was  accused of treason, imprisoned and sent to the castle of Loevestein. His escape in a bookchest  and flight to Paris marked the beginning of a new period.

In Paris he published his masterpiece “De iure belli ac pacis”(1625).  In this work, based on natural law, he investigated and explained his theory of “just war” (when war is justified, what are the causes of war and what are the rules of war). It is widely regarded as the “Foundation of Modern International Law”. This book  would bring him fame as the “Father of International Law”. After it became clear to him that the Dutch authorities would not tolerate his return to Holland, he embarked on a diplomatic career as Swedish Ambassador to France in 1634.

In 1645 returning from a visit to Queen Christina in Stockholm, he died in Rostock, exhausted by the stress of the voyage.  His last words being: “By attempting many things, I have accomplished nothing”

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on the works of Hugo Grotius. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s subject heading (keyword) Hugo Grotius (1583-1645) is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Bibliographies

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Books

Articles

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • The life of Hugo Grotius : with brief minutes of the civil, ecclesiastical and literary history of the Netherlands

    With Brief Minutes of the Civil, Ecclesiastical, and Literary History of the Netherlands

    Butler, C., 2007
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Property, piracy and punishment

    In 1604-1605 Hugo Grotius wrote De iure praedae, a commentary on the law of booty and prize and a first step towards the Law of War and Peace of twenty years later. Not published in his own times, rediscovered in 1864, and subsequently published, it has been over-interpreted and under-studied.

    Hans Blom, 2009
    View this title in our OPAC
  • The rights of war and peace

    Grotius’s magnum opus on international law and the laws of war and peace. He wrote this volume while the Thirty Years’ War raged around him in the hope that rational human beings might be able to agree to legal limits on war’s destruction.

    A.C. Campbell, 2011
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Hugo de Groot : een leven in strijd om de vrede, 1583-1645

    With his inseparable bookcase, a symbol of a spectacular escape from Loevestein, Hugo Grotius was recently included in the canon of national history. This choice was justified because De Groot, or Grotius, as he called himself in his Latin books, the famous Dutch scholar of our Golden Age. He wrote influential works on the right, the national history and religious unity. His study on the open sea offered the United East India Company a justification for the establishment of a trading empire in the East. He distinguished himself as a poet of Latin poetry, worked on an extensive Bible wrote comment and also between the acts upon thousands of letters.

    Nellen, H., 2007
    View this title in our OPAC

Library Blogs

  • Conference on "The True Faith?", Potsdam, 10-12 February 2012

    The true faith? A cosmopolitan project in the early Enlightenment 10 February-11 February 2012, University of Potsdam and HBPG, Potsdam

    Hugo Grotius (1583-1645) still is a subject of study, thought, research and discussion!

    Read more
  • Grotius in Slovenia

    Grotius’ theory on the Freedom of the Sea might help Slovenia in the dispute with Croatia over a small bay in the Adriatic. Since their independence from Yuogoslavia in 1991 they quarrel over the territorial sea delimitation in the Bay of Piran. Croatia claims that the border should be drawn in the middle of the bay, which would deny Slovenian ships direct access to the high sea…

    Read more
  • Announcement lecture 'The law of the sea'

    On monday, June 21 2010, prof. mr. A.H.A. Soons (Utrecht university) will give a lecture on the ‘Law of the Sea‘. The topics will be international maritime law in general and specific issues like piracy, overfishing and Japanese whaling. Professor Soons will also speak on disputes that states had to claim marine areas. The lecture [...]

    Read more
  • Mare Liberum 1609-2009

    Celebration of the 400th anniversary of Grotius’ famous book “Mare Liberum”.
    Highlight was the presentation of the first copy of a new English translation of Mare Liberum “ Hugo Grotius Mare liberum 1609-2009. Original Latin and English Translation”. Edited and annotated by Robert Feenstra, General Introduction by Jeroen Vervliet. Leiden : Brill 2009. ISBN 9789004177017.

    Read more
  • Hugo Grotius’ Mare Liberum 1609-2009

    The Hague celebrates the 400th anniversary of the publication of Hugo Grotius’ Mare Liberum (Leiden, Publishing House of Elsevier) with an extensive program of activities. It commemmorates the fact that Grotius wrote his book in The Hague with exhibitions, theater/musical plays, films, publications and lectures in museums and libraries.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Other Subjects

PPL keywords

Other suggestions

Other relevant research guides:

Comments are closed.

Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides