Air Law

Introduction

airlawfoto

The spectacular fast developments in aircraft technology in the beginning of the 20th century, made law-making necessary in this new field of transportation, in peace and in war. In 1910 the first conference on an international air law code took place in Paris. (See P.Fauchille, Le régime juridique des aérostats (1911). International air law now deals with many topics, such transport responsibility, safety of passengers, airplanes and luggage, airport-regulations, hijacking, air pollution, and aerial warfare.

The Collection of International Air Law in the Peace Palace Library covers all the aspects of this (public and private)international law subject, including the historical part, the sources of international air law, the international organizations involved ICAO, IATA) and the numerous international conventions (Chicago Convention 1944, Warsaw Convention 1929, Montreal Convention 1999).

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Air Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 148. Air Law; International Organization of Aviation and subject heading (keyword) Air Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Tagged with: ,

Bibliography

Reference works

Recent Acquisitions

Bibliographies

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Books

Abstract: Time and again, through seven previous editions, Introduction to Air Law has proven itself a comprehensive and up-to-date view of all the main components making up this interesting and topical branch of international law. Coverage includes such aspects as liability of the carrier, insurance, product liability, sovereignty in airspace, aviation personnel, organisations and conventions, automation, liability for damage, search and rescue operations, and criminal offenses such as hijacking. In addition to the books well-known detailed analysis of the Warsaw System and the Chicago Convention on Civil Aviation still the two main pillars of present-day aviation legislation this thoroughly revised and updated edition incorporates material on some new emerging issues. The Eighth Edition adds a completely new chapter on European law in the field of air transport, and the presentation throughout brings the books coverage of aviation jurisprudence up to date, with relevant new cases from the US, the UK, and elsewhere. An index by subject and an extensive bibliography complete the volume.

Articles

Documents

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • ICAO : a history of the International Civil Aviation Organization

    A United Nations specialized agency, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) oversees and encourages the development of international civil aviation. ICAO is the largest and most important organization involved with aviation safety, and its technical standards, legal regulations, and operating procedures have been essential in the development of international commercial aviation.

    In the first history of this important UN body, David MacKenzie touches on issues ranging from the Cold War to economic regulation and development assistance. With the rise of aviation terrorism, MacKenzie demonstrates that ICAO has assumed a leading role in the struggle to secure civil aviation against sabotage and hijacking, while providing a forum for international concerns and disputes. A broad political-diplomatic history of the organization and the role that it played in the evolution of international civil aviation, this work offers a unique perspective on modern transportation and international cooperation.

     

    MacKenzie, D., 2010
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Kölner Kompendium des Luftrechts

    Dieses neue luftrechtliche Werk hat zum Ziel, die Vorteile eines Handbuchs mit denen eines Kommentars zu verbinden. Das Kompendium soll zum Standardwerk für alle im Luftrecht aktiven Praktiker werden. Daher stehen unter Berücksichtigung der wissenschaftlichen Diskussion die Darstellung der einschlägigen Rechtsprechung und die Lösung spezifischer Probleme der Anwendungspraxis im Vordergrund.

     

    Hobe, S., 2010
    View this title in our OPAC
  • Introduction to Air Law

    Time and again, through seven previous editions, Introduction to Air Law has proven itself a comprehensive and up-to-date view of all the main components making up this interesting and topical branch of international law. Coverage includes such aspects as liability of the carrier, insurance, product liability, sovereignty in airspace, aviation personnel, organisations and conventions, automation, liability for damage, search and rescue operations, and criminal offenses such as hijacking. In addition To The books well-known detailed analysis of the Warsaw System and the Chicago Convention on Civil Aviation still the two main pillars of present-day aviation legislation this thoroughly revised and updated edition incorporates material on such crucial new and emerging issues as the following: the enormous change in basic assumptions and perceptions regarding aviation security that have come about as a result of the increase in international terrorism; the effect of the coming into force of the Montreal Convention 1999 on liability of air carriers And The Cape Town Convention 2001 on security interests in mobile equipment; the advent of the European Aviation Safety Agency; the growth of the European ‘single sky initiative; and new rules in such areas as insurance, The right to fly, and liability for maintenance of aircraft. The Eighth Edition adds a completely new chapter on European law in the field of air transport, And The presentation throughout brings the books coverage of aviation jurisprudence up to date, with relevant new cases from the US, the UK, and elsewhere. An index by subject and an extensive bibliography complete the volume. The many practitioners, officials, business people, and academics with a professional interest in aviation law will appreciate this new edition of one of the fundamental works in the field, and newcomers will discover an incomparable resource.
    Diederiks-Verschoor, I.H.Ph., 2006
    View this title in our OPAC

Database

Library Blogs

  • FABEC

    A feasibility study on a Central European FAB (FABEC) carried out in 2008 in which it showed that improved air traffic management in the area could handle a 50 per cent increase in air traffic volume by 2018 at the same high level of safety and considerable CO2 emission reductions, with a potential benefit for airspace users of € 7,000 million by 2025, several Central European countries have taken matters in their own hands. In the same year the six States of Belgium, Germany, France, Luxembourg, Switzerland and the Netherlands (FABEC States) signed a Declaration of Intent with Annex to commit themselves to build a functional airspace block. A treaty containing the main institutional framework for the construction and implementation of FABEC was drawn up and scheduled to be in force by 2012. Owing to its size and central position in Europe, the FABEC will form a cornerstone of the SES programme.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law (Special Topics)

Comments are closed.

Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides