International Environmental Law

Introduction

iel

Environmental Law is a complex body of law made up of global, international, national, state and local statutes, treaties, conventions, regulations and policies which seek to protect the environment and natural resources affected, impacted or endangered by human activities.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of International Environmental Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 160p. Environmental Questions and subject heading (keyword) International Environmental Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Recent Acquisitions

Sorry no recent acquisitions this week.

    Bibliography

    Reference works

    Bibliographies

    Periodicals and Serial Publications

    Books

    [[Image:000fc841_medium.jpg|thumb|150px|412 C 9]]

    Articles

    Documents

    Librarian's choice

    These publications are selected for you by .

    Database

    Library Blogs

    • From Stockholm to Rio de Janeiro; the road to a sustainable world!

      Forty years after the Stockholm Conference on the Human Environment and twenty years after the first “Earth Summit” held in Rio de Janeiro in June 1992, the world community will meet again. This time at the 2012 UN Conference on Sustainable Development (UNCSD), in short Rio+20: “the future we want”.

      Read more
    • Fighting the Architecture of Death

      Nowadays nature is threatened by all kinds of dangers which usually have one common denominator: they are caused by humans. Everyday human activity is affecting wildlife in many ways, such as habitat destruction, the use of pesticides, monoculture, genetically manipulated organisms and pollution, which is driving many species towards extinction. For birds, habitat loss is the most important factor closely followed by threats posed by materials used to build in the construction industry. The trend among architects is to use plate glass in building, purely for aesthetic reasons.

      Read more
    • Keeping Your Head Above Water: The Pacific Islands & The Rising Tide Of International Climate Litigation

      On February 3rd, Johnson Toribiong, the President of the Pacific Island Nation Palau, announced that his country will seek an Advisory Opinion from the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague regarding the issue of climate change. This blog will briefly discuss the measures that states in these circumstances can invoke during a court procedure.

      Read more
    • Plastic Soup – What Legal Response to Marine Debris Pollution ?

      Solving the problem of marine debris and plastic pollution in the World’s oceans is a very complex and challenging enterprise. In particular, its legal framework. Various international and regional instruments, domestic and local laws and regulations apply directly or indirectly to marine debris pollution. The conspicuously global nature of this problem indicates that a potential role of significance is reserved for international environmental law. However, not all international and regional instruments are legally binding, and not all have a strong focus on marine debris and plastic pollution.

      Read more
    • Bees under Bombardment : Time for Plan Bee

      Current scientific evidence demonstrates that a sixth major extinction of biological diversity event is underway. The Earth is losing between one and ten percent of biodiversity per decade, mostly due to habitat loss, pest invasion, pollution, climate change, over-harvesting and disease. Certain natural ecosystem services, which are vital for human societies, are under stress.

      Read more
    • The International Politics of Whaling : Recent Developments

      Whales – large, mysterious, intelligent, and endangered. Has any mammal inspired such romantic images of the sea and love for nature as much as the whale, yet aroused such controversy in global environmental conservation ? King of the Seas, symbol of the environmental movement, meat and oil for commercial whaling. Over the years, large-scale commercial [...]

      Read more
    • Casualties of Climate Change

      The most general definition of climate change is a change in the statistical properties of the climate system when considered over periods of decades or longer, regardless of cause.The term is sometimes used to refer specifically to climate change caused by human activity.

      Read more
    • Copenhagen Climate Change Conference

      Today, Monday 7 December 2009, governmental representatives from 192 countries are starting two weeks of negotiations in Copenhagen which should eventually result in a new global treaty on climate change. Two years ago, at the UN climate conference held in Bali, governments agreed, with the adoption of the Bali Road Map, to start work on a new global agreement attempting to forge a global framework on carbon emissions to replace the Kyoto Protocol, which will expire in 2012.

      In Italy in July 2009, the G8 and a number of

      Read more
    • GMO Moratorium : The Way Forward for Europe (or the Battle for What Is on Your Plate)

      For over a decade the cultivation of crops of genetically modified organisms (GMOs) has been a highly controversial issue in Europe. GMOs can be defined as organisms in which the genetic material (DNA) has been altered in a way that does not occur naturally by mating or natural recombination.This controversial development asks for legal action

      Read more
    • Arctic Council ratifies the Tromsø Declaration

      April 29, 2009

      Guidelines for the next two years work in the Arctic Council

      Wednesday, the eight Arctic Council Ministers ratified the Tromsø Declaration. The declaration is the guideline for the work in the Arctic Council the next two years. It is seen as an important leap to reduce the global warming.

      The Arctic [...]

      Read more
    • Holiday on Ice?

      Environmental problems caused by tourism in Antarctica

      Read more
    • 32nd Telders International Law Moot Court Competition (16-18 April 2009)

      The Mare Liberum Case Case concerning sovereignty over Abundantia Ridge and other matters. Rosmarus v Urusus. 

      From 16 – 18 April 2009 the 32nd Telders International Law Moot Court Competition will be held at the Peace Palace in The Hague. The Telders Moot Court Competition could be considered the most prestigious and important [...]

      Read more
    • Implementation of environmental law

      A bibliography on the ‘Implementation of environmental law” is now available on the Peace Palace Library website. The bibliography has been compiled exclusively from materials available in the Peace Palace Library for the use of the researchers of the 2008 programme of the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International relations of the Hague Academy of International Law

      Read more

    See also

    More Research guides on Public International Law (Special Topics)

    PPL keywords

    Other suggestions

    Pollution

    Comments are closed.

    Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides