International Labour Law

Introduction

International Labour Law - Research Guide International Law

The purpose of international labour law is to regulate the relation of employers and employees, to make provision for settlement of Industrial disputes and to provide for certain other purposes. Employment law, sometimes referred to as labour law, encompasses the massive compilation of statutory laws, administrative rulings, and legal precedents which cover all facets of the employer/employee relationship. To address the problems caused by the industrialization of Europe in the 19th century, Robert Owen of Wales, and Jerome Blanqui and Daniel Legrand of France, among others, brought the need for international cooperation in setting labour standards to international prominence. The reasons articulated for the necessity of cooperation were both benevolent and economic. Cooperation was necessary to eradicate poverty and injustice, not just to protect workers, but also to prevent the social unrest these conditions could engender. Furthermore, international cooperation was necessary because each nation would be at a competitive disadvantage if it imposed higher standards unilaterally. Ultimately, these concerns led to the formation of The International Labour Organization on April 11, 1919 as an affiliated agency of the League of Nations.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Labour Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 156. International Labour Law; International Labour Organization (ILO) and subject heading (keyword) International Labour Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles

Explanation icons:

Book.
Chapter.
Article.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.


1. The delicts & criminal laws of international economic relations
The delicts & criminal laws of international economic relations / Christopher E.S. Warburton. - Boston, MA [etc.] : McGraw-Hill/Learning Solutions, cop. 2012. - XIV, 525 p. : ill. ; 28 cm Met lit. opg. - 2012
Keywords: International economic relations, International trade, International labour law, International financial law, Competition, Sustainable development, Economic crimes,

2. Arbeitnehmerentsendung und Kollektivvertragssystem
Arbeitnehmerentsendung und Kollektivvertragssystem : zwischen Mindestschutz und Günstigkeitsvergleich / Silvia Velikova. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2012. - 283 p. ; 23 cm. - (Studien zum ausländischen, vergleichenden und internationalen Arbeitsrecht ; Bd. 29) Oorspr. proefschrift Halle-Wittenberg, 2009. - Bibliogr.: p. 271-283. - Met lit. opg. - 2012
Keywords: European Union, Working conditions, Labor rights, Collective bargaining, Labor contracts, Labour law, International labour law,

3. "Decent Work for Domestic Workers" - das Übereinkommen 189 der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation
"Decent Work for Domestic Workers" - das Übereinkommen 189 der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation / Kirsten Scheiwe und Verena Schwach In: Zeitschrift fur Auslandisches und Internationales Arbeits und Sozialrecht = ISSN 0930-861X: vol. 26, issue 4, page 317-349. - 2012
Keywords: Home work, Decent work, International Labour Organization, International labour law,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Kang, S., Human Rights and Labor Solidarity: Trade Unions in the Global Economy, Philadelphia, PA, University of Pennsylvania Press, 2012.

    Kang, S., Human Rights and Labor Solidarity: Trade Unions in the Global Economy, Philadelphia, PA, University of Pennsylvania Press, 2012.

    Human Rights and Labor Solidarity analyzes trade unions’ campaigns to link local labor rights disputes to international human rights frameworks, thereby creating external scrutiny of governments. As a result of these campaigns, states engage in what political scientist Susan L. Kang terms a normative negotiation process, in which governments, trade unions, and international organizations construct and challenge a broader understanding of international labor rights norms to determine whether the conditions underlying these disputes constitute human rights violations. In three empirically rich case studies covering South Korea, the United Kingdom, and Canada, Kang demonstrates that this normative negotiation process was more successful in creating stronger protections for trade unions’ rights when such changes complemented a government’s other political interests. She finds that states tend not to respect stronger economically oriented human rights obligations due to the normative power of such rights alone. Instead, trade union transnational activism, coupled with sufficient political motivations, such as direct economic costs or strong rule of law obligations, contributed to changes in favor of workers’ rights.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Barnard, C., EU Employment Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    Barnard, C., EU Employment Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.

    This new edition of EU Employment Law provides a complete revision and update of the leading English language text in the field. The coverage in the new edition has been expanded with material on all the latest developments, incorporating the changes made by the Lisbon Treaty; the EU2020 strategy; the Charter of Fundamental Rights; the ‘Article 19 Directives’; the Temporary Agency Work Directive; the revisions to the existing including the Directives on Parental Leave and European Works Council; and the new Social Security Regulations 883/2004. It also analyses the ever-expanding body of employment case law, including the momentous decisions in Viking, Laval, Rueffert, and Commission v Luxembourg. The book begins with an examination of the development of EU employment law focusing on the shift from employment law to employment policy. The text then studies rule-making in the field of employment law, considering both the traditional routes to legislation and governance techniques such as the Open Method of Coordination. The final chapters look closely at the substantive area of employment law, examining the free movement of persons, equal treatment, health and safety and working conditions, the restructuring of enterprises, worker participation, and collective action. Throughout, the book addresses the fundamental question as to the purpose of EU employment law: is it primarily economic, or social, or both?

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Jacobs, A., Labour and the Law in Europe: a Satellite View on Labour Law and Social Security Law in Europe, Nijmegen, Wolf Legal Publishers, 2011.

    Jacobs, A., Labour and the Law in Europe: a Satellite View on Labour Law and Social Security Law in Europe, Nijmegen, Wolf Legal Publishers, 2011.

    The aim of this book is to present a satellite view on labour law and social security law in the Member States of the European Union (EU). For centuries, Europe consisted of numerous sovereign nations each with its own legal system. However, in recent decades Europe has slowly emerged as a single power alongside other superpowers, such as the US, Russia, China, Japan and India. Rather than studying the separate legal systems of the European nation states, an ever-growing number of people show an interest in studying the common features of the legal systems of the countries that make up the EU. In the field of labour law and social security law, one purpose of this approach may be to see whether there is such a thing as a distinctively European social model as opposed to the social models of other powers. This is what this book sets out to do, but it is not an easy ambition to fulfil, as full harmonisation of the labour law and social security law of the Member States is a distant prospect.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Davies, A.C.L., EU Labour Law, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    Davies, A.C.L., EU Labour Law, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2012.

    EU Labour Law is a concise, readable and thought-provoking introduction to the labour and employment law of the European Union. The book explores the subject’s major policy themes, examines the various procedures by which EU labour law is made, and analyses key topics such as worker migration, equality, working time and procedures for workers’ participation in employers’ decision-making. It sets the legal materials in their policy context and identifies the important issues which have shaped the development of EU labour law and are likely to determine its future, including the economic crisis and the debate about fundamental rights in the EU.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • International labour law : selected issues

    International labour law : selected issues

    This book presents a selection of key issues in the field of international labour law, and deals with some of the most pressing problems facing governments, employers and workers. Extensive consideration is given to developments with regard to : the right to freedom of association the problems of forced labour equality of treatment and working conditions in generalthe position of young persons, migrant workers and women.

    Betten, L., 2003
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Blanpain, R., The global workplace : international and comparative employment law, cases and materials, New York, Wolters Kluwer, 2012.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • International labour standards: a global approach : 75th anniversary of the Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations

    This book describes the main content of all ILO Conventions and Recommendations which respond to the needs. This book also makes reference to those instruments which are to be revised. Identifies the most frequent problems encountered in the application of these standards in various countries. Includes papers on ILO standards policy and the ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work and its Follow-up.

    Humblet, M., 2002
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • International labour law

    International labour law

    This book provides in-depth interpretation of the crucial International Labour Organisation (ILO) instruments’ Constitution, conventions, declarations, resolutions, and recommendations as well as such other sources of law as the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and various model and actual corporate codes of conduct. Among the substantive areas of labour law covered in this book are the following: standards on industrial relations; the relationship between international labour law and economic competition; protection of trade unions; prohibitions on enforced and child labour; promotion of equal opportunity and treatment; wage determination and protection; occupational health and safety provisions; foreign and migrant workers; and social security provisions. This book by Jean-Michel Servais of the ILO is a continuation of the earlier standard work of the same title by Nicolas Valticos, as revised by G.W. von Potobski in 1995.

    Servais, J., 2009
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, International Labour Organization (ILO), by Heiko Sauer
  • The ILO Library page offers information about the ILO Library in Geneva as well as centralized access to the ILO’s online resources. Available resources include more than thirty databases, the ILO Thesaurus, research and topical guides, and news services.
  • ILOLEX  is the database which contains the ILO’s own publications. In addition to the text of ILO conventions and recommendations, ILOLEX offers ratification information, the ILO Constitution, the Digest of Decisions of the Committee on Freedom of Association, committee reports, declarations, surveys, the ILO handbook of procedure, a comprehensive list of terms defined in ILO standards, and detailed information about each publication. ILOLEX is aso accessible in French and Spanish.
  • Labordoc is the ILO’s database of work-related journal articles. Labordoc provides all ILO publications, as well as comprehensive coverage of work-related material from more than 500 journals. Although Labordoc’s coverage is comprehensive, it is not exhaustive, as articles are selected for inclusion. Further, Labordoc focuses its collection on material related to developing nations with an emphasis on empirical literature. The site’s interface is available in English, French, and Spanish.
  • LABORSTA offers statistical data for 200 countries and territories arranged by topic, country, or publication. The site also provides thorough definitions and explanations of relevant terminology and methodology. The user can retrieve data for several countries simultaneously or over a selected time period.
  • EPLex summarizes national employment protection law for more than seventy countries, focusing on seven primary topics: the source and scope of regulation, employment contracts, substantive requirements for dismissals, procedural requirements for individual dismissals, collective dismissals for economic reasons, severance pay, and avenues for redress. Within these primary categories, EPLex monitors more than fifty variables. The information is presented in a uniform questionnaire format with references to the relevant legislation. One can browse EPLex by country or by topic.
  • The NATLEX database contains information on the national labour, social security, and human rights legislation of 196 countries. NATLEX presents sources arranged by country or area of law and offers an advanced search feature. Although NATLEX itself is accessible in the ILO’s three official languages (English, French, and Spanish), each source is presented in only one of the three. NATLEX is maintained by the ILO International Labour Statistics Department.
  • The TRAVAIL legal database compiles information on employment and working condition laws. The site also provides helpful infosheets and illustrative maps. The scope of TRAVAIL is limited to laws related to working time, minimum wage, and maternity protection. Unlike NATLEX, TRAVAIL summarizes the information rather than retrieving the text of the legislation. One can browse by subject or by country and can select multiple countries and subjects for quick comparisons.
  • Triblex is the case law database of the ILO Administrative Tribunal. Triblex allows users to browse Tribunal case law by session, organization or keyword. The site also features an advanced search function which allows users to search by term, date, organization, session, keyword, or judgment number. Triblex also offers the enabling statute and rules of the Administrative Tribunal.
  • The ILO’s SafeWork Bookshelf site contains four important resources. First, the ILO Encyclopedia of Occupational Health an Safety offers in-depth articles on occupational hazards and conditions. The Encyclopedia is arranged by topic in 18 parts over four volumes. The fourth volume contains helpful guides which explain how to use the encyclopedia. Second, the collection of International Chemical Safety Cards presents medical and safety information on a large number of chemicals, arranged alphabetically. Third, SafeWork Bookshelf compiles ILO Conventions and Recommendations related to occupational Health and Safety. Last, ILO Codes of Practice are guides which offer recommended practices on several occupational topics. Codes are prepared by experts and approved by the Governing Body. SafeWork Bookshelf is clearly organized and easy to navigate.
  • CISDoc is a database of bibliographic information on occupational health and safety materials including regulations, ILO conventions, books, and journal articles. Because CISDoc offers only bibliographic material, the results are citations and not full text documents.

Blogs

  • Dutch Parliamentary elections 2012: a more flexible Dutch dismissal system!

    Europe, Euro financial crisis, pension age, healthcare: a few hot topics during the Dutch Parliamentary elections 2012. Another main issue during the several political campaigns was reform of the Dutch dismissal law. This blog will briefly give a broad outline of the dismissal system in the Netherlands and the plans of reform.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law (Special Topics)

Comments are closed.