Space Law

Introduction

outerspace

Space law is a relatively new branch of law, roughly starting in 1957 with the launch of the Sputnik I, the first satellite in space. Space law consists of international space law, governing the activities of States and international intergovernmental organizations, and national space law, governing the activities of individual countries and their nationals. Advancing technology and scientific progress extend human activities in space more and more. These developments will require new regulations of business activities, space tourism, traffic rules, the problem of dangerous space debris, rescue missions, contracts for mining expeditions, property rights on celestial bodies and encounters with alien entities.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Space Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 148a. Outer Space and subject heading (keyword) Space Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue.
Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Tagged with:

Bibliography

Reference works

Bibliographies

Periodicals and Serial Publications

Books

Articles

Documents

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

Database

Library Blogs

  • The Moon Agreement of 1979 : What Relevance to Space Activities ?

    Years of negotiations in the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space and vigorous drafting and re-drafting of an international treaty to govern the activities of States on the Moon, culminated in an unanimous acceptance of the Moon Agreement (or Moon Treaty) by the UN General Assembly in 1979.

    The Agreement [...]

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law (Special Topics)

PPL keywords

Other suggestions

Air law

Comments are closed.

Explore the Peace Palace Library collection through our Research Guides