Sports

Introduction

Sport - Research Guide International Law

Today sports have an increasing influence within society and commerce. Major sports events like the Olympic Games and the FIFA World Cup are watched by billions of people around the world, causing a social and economic impact globally. International sports federations (ISFs) govern and control international sport. They cannot be regulated by national courts or governments. In Sports Law a distinction has to be made between global sports law and international sports law and sports-related national law.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of Sports Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 167. Internationalism and International Life and subject heading (keyword) Sports are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Tagged with:

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles

Explanation icons:

Book.
Chapter.
Article.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.


1. International Student Athletes in the NCAA
International Student Athletes in the NCAA : Professionals or Exploited Children? / Patrick L. Stewart In: Houston Journal of International Law = ISSN 0194-1879: vol. 35, issue 1, page 219-254. - 2013
Keywords: United States of America, Athletes, Students, Aliens, Education, Immigration law, Sport,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Tognon, J. e Stelitano, A., Sport, Unione Europea e diritti umani: il fenomeno sportivo e le sue funzioni nelle normative comunitarie e internazionali, Padova, CLEUP, 2011.

    Tognon, J. e Stelitano, A., Sport, Unione Europea e diritti umani: il fenomeno sportivo e le sue funzioni nelle normative comunitarie e internazionali, Padova, CLEUP, 2011.
    Il fenomeno sportivo, nelle varie declinazioni che ha assunto negli ultimi cinquant’anni, è entrato prepotentemente in molteplici settori della società richiedendo che anche questa si adattasse alla nuova realtà. Ecco allora che dallo studio delle regole dello sport al suo utilizzo quale strumento privilegiato anche nel campo delle relazioni internazionali, lo sport si è affermato come componente non più trascurabile in molti contesti di interazione. Questo volume nasce con l’obiettivo di fornire una visione del fenomeno sportivo a partire dalle strutture principali di governo, alle implicazioni sulle normative comunitarie, al contributo che può portare nel campo della tutela e promozione dei diritti umani. Il Centro Diritti Umani ha da quattro anni riconosciuto l’importanza di dette tematiche attivando un insegnamento specifico di “Diritti Umani e Sport nel Diritto dell’UE”, cofinanziato nell’ambito del programma Jean Monnet della Commissione Europea.
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Hunt, Th.M., Drug Games: the International Olympic Committee and the Politics of Doping, 1960-2008, Austin, University of Texas Press, 2011.

    Hunt, Th.M., Drug Games: the International Olympic Committee and the Politics of Doping, 1960-2008, Austin, University of Texas Press, 2011.

    On August 26, 1960, twenty-three-year-old Danish cyclist Knud Jensen, competing in that year’s Rome Olympic Games, suddenly fell from his bike and fractured his skull. His death hours later led to rumors that performance-enhancing drugs were in his system. Though certainly not the first instance of doping in the Olympic Games, Jensen’s death serves as the starting point for Thomas M. Hunt’s thoroughly researched, chronological history of the modern relationship of doping to the Olympics. Utilizing concepts derived from international relations theory, diplomatic history, and administrative law, this work connects the issue to global political relations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Peter, H., H. Ross and G. McKenzie (eds.) ,The 33rd America's Cup: Judicial and Arbitral Decisions, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.

    Peter, H., H. Ross and G. McKenzie (eds.) ,The 33rd America's Cup: Judicial and Arbitral Decisions, Alphen aan den Rijn, Kluwer Law International, 2012.

    This book is to make more accessible for future reference the judgments of various Courts and other dispute resolution bodies delivered during the tumultuous 33rd America’s Cup. The structure of this book is a direct consequence of the controversies which arose on the occasion of the 33rd edition of the America’s Cup. Under the title “CNEV’s Challenge”, the first chapter of the book starts with a commentary followed by all documents pertaining to the initial challenge launched by the Spanish Yacht Club “Club Nautico Español de Vela” (CNEV). It contains in particular the Protocol initially agreed by Société Nautique de Genève (SNG), the then holder of the Cup, and CNEV.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Beloff, M.J. (et al.) (eds.), Sports Law, Oxford, Hart, 2012.

    Beloff, M.J. (et al.) (eds.), Sports Law, Oxford, Hart, 2012.

    Sports law has been growing with increasing rapidity over the years since the first edition of this book was published in 1999, regularly making headlines as well as leading to a developing body of law practised by specialist lawyers. This revised work, by leading practitioners in the field, with a foreword by Lord Coe, provides a coherent framework for understanding the principles of sports law in this area, as well as a deep analysis of its key features. The subject is split into various areas of practice: first, regulatory rules, which embrace the constitutional aspect of organised sport, including the disciplinary procedures of the various governing organisations; second, broadcasting and marketing resulting from the commercial exploitation, including sponsorship, of sports clubs, sporting events and players; and third,  player’s rights and obligations, which embraces a wide range of legal issues including club transfers and player contracts, and issues arising from employment (including discrimination law), personal injury and criminal law. Special attention is paid to the impact of EU and Human Rights law as well as to the influential jurisprudence of the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Maisonneuve, M. (dir.), Droit et coup du monde, Paris, Economica, 2011.

    Maisonneuve, M. (dir.), Droit et coup du monde, Paris, Economica, 2011.

    Les coupes du monde, en particulier celles de football, sont régulièrement sous les feux d’une rampe qui manquait d’un projecteur juridique. Pour y remédier, trente et un spécialistes (universitaires, avocats, anciens secrétaires généraux de la FIFA) ont mis en commun leur expertise en droit sportif, droit privé ou droit public. La nationalité, le dopage, les contrats, les arbitres, le service public, l’équipe de France, les médias, la publicité, les paris, les sélections, la mondialisation, les fédérations, la fiscalité, le financement, les stades, l’Afrique du Sud, l’État, l’Union européenne, les relations internationales ou même le Parlement sont autant de thèmes que le présent ouvrage aborde à travers le prisme des coupes du monde.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Siekmann, R.C.R. and Soek, J. (eds.), Lex Sportiva: What is Sports Law?, The Hague, Asser Press, 2012.

    Siekmann, R.C.R. and Soek, J. (eds.), Lex Sportiva: What is Sports Law?, The Hague, Asser Press, 2012.

    Also available as Fulltext e-book inside Peace Palace Library

     This book is the first to focus on the often raised and discussed question whether there is a separate discipline of international sports law and, if so, which criteria should be used to identify it. What belongs to it and what does it involve? So far, the debate has not run along any structured lines, meaning that different points of view and angles have never been systematically compared amongst experts in order to attempt to reach pertinent conclusions. In the present book highly relevant and critical English-language articles on the question “What is Sports Law?” are brought together with the extended papers and results of the 2010 Djakarta Conference “The Concept of Lex Sportiva Revisited”. The expertise and views of the contributors present an important step in the right direction and form a solid basis for further discussion amongst sports lawyers, academics and researchers on the fascinating Lex Sportiva phenomenon.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wild, A., CAS and Football: Landmark Cases, The Hague, Asser, 2012.

    Wild, A., CAS and Football: Landmark Cases, The Hague, Asser, 2012.

    Also available as Fulltext e-book inside Peace Palace Library

    This book deals with the most important decisions of CAS in football disputes. The awards are analyzed by experts, practicing all over the world. Most of the authors were directly involved in the proceedings before the CAS. The commentaries cover a broad spectrum of disputes, such as contractual stability, protection of young football players, doping, football hooliganism, match fixing, players release, multiple club ownership, player agents and the stays of execution.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Maisonneuve, M., L'arbitrage des litiges sportifs, Paris, L.G.D.J., 2011.

    Maisonneuve, M., L'arbitrage des litiges sportifs, Paris, L.G.D.J., 2011.

    L’arbitrage est un mode juridictionnel de règlement des litiges qui, depuis une quinzaine d’année, n’a eu de cesse de se développer en matière sportive. Si, pour les litiges sportifs nationaux, la situation reste contrastée, pour les litiges sportifs internationaux en revanche, elle est limpide : tous ou presque sont désormais résolus par cette véritable « Cour suprême du sport mondial » qu’est devenu le Tribunal arbitral du sport.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Niemann, A., B. Garcia and W. Grant, (eds.), The Transformation of European Football: Towards the Europeanisation of the National Game, Manchester, Manchester University Press, 2011.

    Niemann, A., B. Garcia and W. Grant, (eds.), The Transformation of European Football: Towards the Europeanisation of the National Game, Manchester, Manchester University Press, 2011.

    This work examines the transformation of European football in recent years by focusing on the impact of Europe and the EU on the way that the game has evolved in a broad cross section of European states. It brings together two significant research agendas: first, that on the governance of sport in Europe/the EU; second, that within European integration studies on Europeanisation (most commonly understood at the process of change in the domestic arena resulting from European integration). The concept of Europeanisation is used to shape the individual country case studies, but other transformational factors such as globalisation are also assessed.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Nafziger, J.A.R. S.F. and Ross (eds.), Handbook on International Sports Law, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2011.

    Nafziger, J.A.R. S.F. and Ross (eds.), Handbook on International Sports Law, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2011.

    This Handbook presents a comprehensive collection of essays by leading scholars and practitioners in the burgeoning field of international sports law. The authors address significant legal issues on two gradually converging tracks: the mainstream institutional framework of the law, primarily the International Olympic Committee, international sports federations, regional and national sports authority, and the Court of Arbitration for Sport; and the commercial sports industry.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Sanino, M. and F. Verde, Il diritto sportivo, Padova, CEDAM, 2011.

    Sanino, M. and F. Verde, Il diritto sportivo, Padova, CEDAM, 2011.

    Le tematiche che sono state oggetto della trattazione sono, ad esempio: le federazioni sportive, le attività (come lavoro subordinato sportivo e sponsorizzazione), la giustizia sportiva, lo sport come spettacolo. Non manca l’esame di argomenti di grande attualità ed interesse, non solo per il professionista, ma anche per chiunque abbia interesse e curiosità per la materia, quali il doping (analizzato anche alla luce della giurisprudenza comunitaria) e lo sport nel diritto amministrativo europeo.

     

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • Match Fixing: Cheating to Lose

    Just shortly after Lance Armstrong’s confession to Oprah Winfrey he used doping during his career as a professional cyclist, another negative event in the sports world is getting a lot of publicity today: match fixing. Maybe this is even a greater threat to the integrity of sport than doping? Last week, Europol announced that as a result of a major investigation an extensive criminal network involved in widespread football match fixing has been uncovered.

    Read more
  • Osaka Rule and Doping at Olympics

    Cheaters have caused a lot of harm to the Olympic movement over the past few decades and it is reasonable for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to wish for clean Olympic Games. In the fight against doping the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) set up a system of strict liability on doping offences

    Read more
  • Ambush Marketing: ‘Drinking Coca-Cola, wearing Adidas’

    Why is such attention being paid by the organizers of the London 2012 Games to the brand of footwear being worn by participants and to the drinks they will take? The answer lies in the fear of ambush marketing. This means that at the moment in London, the action on the roads, in the rings and on the courts is not the only competition. For every Olympics, and other major sporting events, ambush marketing, unfortunately, provides a sideshow.

    Read more
  • Olympic Games and the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS)

     This evening the XXX Olympic Games will start in London. London has organized the Olympic Games twice: in 1908 and 1948. How will the Court of Arbitration for Sports be involved in Olympic Games in general and in the London Olympics in particular?

    “Because the IOC and each IF seek to apply and enforce a set of uniform rules consistently [...]

    Read more
  • Football players do not make war, but big money!

    With the European Championships Football about halftime now, this is a blog about football, football players, football players’ contracts and the increasing influence of money in professional football.

    Read more
  • Athletes and whereabouts

    Whereabouts are information provided by a limited number of top elite athletes about their location to the International Sport Federation or National Anti-Doping Organization that included them in their respective registered testing pool as part of these top elite athletes’anti-doping responsibilities.

    What does that mean? Anti-Doping Organizations are required to have out-of-competition testing on top [...]

    Read more
  • Juan Antonio Samaranch (1920-2010)

    Former International Olympic Committee president Juan Antonio Samaranch has died in hospital after being taken ill at the weekend. The Spaniard was widely regarded as the most powerful man in sport when he headed the IOC from 1980 to 2001.
    His successor Jacques Rogge stated: “I cannot find the words to express the distress of the Olympic family (…) Thanks to his extraordinary vision and talent, Samaranch was the architect of a strong and unified Olympic Movement.

    Read more
  • EURO 2008 and Hooliganism

    The European Football Championship, Euro 2008, will start on 7 June and finish on 29 June. This football tournament will be hosted by Austria and Switzerland.
    Thousands of fans will support their teams, celebrate victory and mourn defeat. Often these huge and massive emotions of joy and grief will result in violent clashes with supporters of rival teams and even lead to fights with the local police.
    Literature on this dark side of football can be found in the Peace Palace Library collection under the keyword hooliganism

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law (Special Topics)

In depth research guides on Sports

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.