Public International Law

Introduction

introRGIPUR

Public International Law is perhaps best described as an authoritative language, used by States, international organizations, individuals and other participants in the international legal order to interact with each other. International law is a value-oriented jurisprudence used by policymakers and other members of the international community (governments, diplomats, international judges and arbitrators, elements of the “UN family,” etc.) to make difficult choices based on shared values.

The traditional definition of international law has broadened in scope to include additional topics or branches of international law. For detailed research guidance on individual topics of public international law, see other research guides on special topics Air (and space) law, Cultural heritage, Environment, Food, Health, Labour, Law of the Sea, Sport, Territory and Water.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Public International Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 38a. Public International Law : General Principles; Various Essays and subject heading (keyword) Public International Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. Elisa Pérez Vera
Elisa Pérez Vera : opera selecta : estudios de derecho internacional / Juan A. Carrillo Salcedo, José Ma. Espinar Vicente, coordinadores. - Primera edición. - Madrid : Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, 2012. - 712 pages. ; 25 cm Bibliography of Elisa Pérez Vera: page 707-712. - With notes. - 2012
Keywords: Public international law, Private international law,

2. Internationaal publiekrecht als wereldrecht
Internationaal publiekrecht als wereldrecht : een inleiding / N.J. Schrijver. - Tweede druk. - Den Haag : Boom Juridische uitgevers, 2014. - 186 pagina's. ; 22 cm 1e druk: 2011. - Met literatuuropgave, register. - 2014
Keywords: Public international law, Development of international law,

3. Materielle Konstitutionalisierung im Völkerrecht
Materielle Konstitutionalisierung im Völkerrecht : zum Entstehen einer internationalen Verfassungsordnung / Daniela Kühne. - Zürich ; Basel ; Genf : Schulthess Juristische Medien, 2014. - LIII, 366 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Zürcher Studien zum öffentlichen Recht ; 218) Bibliography: page XXV-LIII. - With notes. - 2014
Keywords: Constitutionalism, Public international law, Theses,

4. Hasard, ordre et changement
Hasard, ordre et changement : le cours du droit international / James Crawford. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2015. - 439 pages. ; 24 cm : Translation of: "Chance, order, change : the course of international law" in: Recueil des cours = Collected courses of The Hague Academy of International Law / L'Académie de Droit International de la Haye. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2013, Tome 365 de la collection ; page 9-389 (zie ppn 369837096). - Also on titlepage and copyright: Academie de Droit International de La Haye/Hague Academy of International Law. - Bibliography: page 409-422. - With notes and index. - 2015
Keywords: Public international law, Development of international law, International law,

5. Duo yuan shi jiao de dang dai Zhongguo fa xue yan jiu
Duo yuan shi jiao de dang dai Zhongguo fa xue yan jiu : yi guo ji fa wei shi jiao / Jiaxiang Hu. - Di 1 ban. - Beijing Shi : Fa lü chu ban she ; 北京市 : 法律出版社, 2012. - 3, 4, 5, 378 pages. ; 21 cm. - (Kai yuan fa xue lun cong. Shi zhou nian yuan qing xi lie) (凯原法学论丛・十周年院庆系列) Includes bibliographical references. - 2012
Keywords: International law, International economic law, Pluralism,

6. The Participation of NGOs in the Dynamics of International Law-Making
The Participation of NGOs in the Dynamics of International Law-Making / Enzamaria Tramontana. - Napoli : Editoriale Scientifica. - Page 123-137 In: Diversification des acteurs et dynamique normative en droit international = Diversity of Actors and Dynamics of International Law-Making / Maurizio Arcari, Louis Balmond (dirigé par - edited by), ISBN 9788863425192: (2013), Page 123-137. - 2013
Keywords: Non-governmental organizations, Legislative power, International law,

7. Aplicación directa y preeminente del Derecho Comunitario
Aplicación directa y preeminente del Derecho Comunitario : una visión comparada a partir de esquemas que presentan diversos niveles de integración / Paula Bianchi Pérez. - Caracas : Academia de Ciencias Políticas y Sociales ; Universidad de Los Andes ; Universidad Católica Andrés Bello. - Page 121-150 In: Venezuela ante el MERCOSUR / compiladoras Astrid Uzcátegui, María Inés De Jesús, ISBN 9789806396982: (2013), Page 121-150. - 2013
Keywords: Andean Community, European Union, Southern Common Market, International law and domestic law, Primacy, Direct effect,

8. Delineating the Common Interest in International Law
Delineating the Common Interest in International Law / Christina Voigt. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 9-27 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 9-27. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, International law, Legal principles, Sustainable development, Philosophy of law,

9. To What Extent does International Law Obstruct the Protection of Common Interests?
To What Extent does International Law Obstruct the Protection of Common Interests? / Sten Schaumburg-Müller. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 29-50 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 29-50. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, International law, International community, States, Philosophy of law,

10. Differentiation between Developing and Developed Countries in International Law
Differentiation between Developing and Developed Countries in International Law / Koen De Feyter. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 51-73 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 51-73. - 2014
Keywords: Developing countries, Developed countries, Obligations of the state, Differential treatment, Public interest, Treaties,

11. The Common Interest in International Litigation
The Common Interest in International Litigation / Claire Buggenhoudt. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 75-92 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 75-92. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, Judicial settlement of international disputes, Public international law, Case-law,

12. Protecting the Community Interest in a State Centric Legal System
Protecting the Community Interest in a State Centric Legal System : the UN Charter and Certain Norms of 'Special Standing' / Jure Vidmar. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 109-126 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 109-126. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International peace and security, International community, Public interest, Obligations erga omnes,

13. The Italian Legal System and International Law
The Italian Legal System and International Law / Annalisa Ciampi. - Milano : Giuffrè Editore. - Page 41-60 In: Fundamentals of Italian Law / edited by Alessandra De Luca and Alessandro Simoni, ISBN 9788814184147: (2014), Page 41-60. - 2014
Keywords: Italy, Legal systems, International law and domestic law, Monism and dualism,

14. The Neglected Virtues of Brights Lines
The Neglected Virtues of Brights Lines : International Law in the 2014 Ukraine Crisis / Brad R. Roth In: ILSA Journal of International and Comparative Law = ISSN 1082-944X: vol. 21, issue 2, page 317-323. - 2015
Keywords: Ukraine, Russian Federation, Crimea, Use of force, Public international law, Secession,

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Elisa Pérez Vera
Elisa Pérez Vera : opera selecta : estudios de derecho internacional / Juan A. Carrillo Salcedo, José Ma. Espinar Vicente, coordinadores. - Primera edición. - Madrid : Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, 2012. - 712 pages. ; 25 cm Bibliography of Elisa Pérez Vera: page 707-712. - With notes. - 2012
Keywords: Public international law, Private international law,

2. Internationaal publiekrecht als wereldrecht
Internationaal publiekrecht als wereldrecht : een inleiding / N.J. Schrijver. - Tweede druk. - Den Haag : Boom Juridische uitgevers, 2014. - 186 pagina's. ; 22 cm 1e druk: 2011. - Met literatuuropgave, register. - 2014
Keywords: Public international law, Development of international law,

3. Materielle Konstitutionalisierung im Völkerrecht
Materielle Konstitutionalisierung im Völkerrecht : zum Entstehen einer internationalen Verfassungsordnung / Daniela Kühne. - Zürich ; Basel ; Genf : Schulthess Juristische Medien, 2014. - LIII, 366 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Zürcher Studien zum öffentlichen Recht ; 218) Bibliography: page XXV-LIII. - With notes. - 2014
Keywords: Constitutionalism, Public international law, Theses,

4. Hasard, ordre et changement
Hasard, ordre et changement : le cours du droit international / James Crawford. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2015. - 439 pages. ; 24 cm : Translation of: "Chance, order, change : the course of international law" in: Recueil des cours = Collected courses of The Hague Academy of International Law / L'Académie de Droit International de la Haye. - Leiden ; Boston : Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2013, Tome 365 de la collection ; page 9-389 (zie ppn 369837096). - Also on titlepage and copyright: Academie de Droit International de La Haye/Hague Academy of International Law. - Bibliography: page 409-422. - With notes and index. - 2015
Keywords: Public international law, Development of international law, International law,

5. Duo yuan shi jiao de dang dai Zhongguo fa xue yan jiu
Duo yuan shi jiao de dang dai Zhongguo fa xue yan jiu : yi guo ji fa wei shi jiao / Jiaxiang Hu. - Di 1 ban. - Beijing Shi : Fa lü chu ban she ; 北京市 : 法律出版社, 2012. - 3, 4, 5, 378 pages. ; 21 cm. - (Kai yuan fa xue lun cong. Shi zhou nian yuan qing xi lie) (凯原法学论丛・十周年院庆系列) Includes bibliographical references. - 2012
Keywords: International law, International economic law, Pluralism,

6. The Participation of NGOs in the Dynamics of International Law-Making
The Participation of NGOs in the Dynamics of International Law-Making / Enzamaria Tramontana. - Napoli : Editoriale Scientifica. - Page 123-137 In: Diversification des acteurs et dynamique normative en droit international = Diversity of Actors and Dynamics of International Law-Making / Maurizio Arcari, Louis Balmond (dirigé par - edited by), ISBN 9788863425192: (2013), Page 123-137. - 2013
Keywords: Non-governmental organizations, Legislative power, International law,

7. Aplicación directa y preeminente del Derecho Comunitario
Aplicación directa y preeminente del Derecho Comunitario : una visión comparada a partir de esquemas que presentan diversos niveles de integración / Paula Bianchi Pérez. - Caracas : Academia de Ciencias Políticas y Sociales ; Universidad de Los Andes ; Universidad Católica Andrés Bello. - Page 121-150 In: Venezuela ante el MERCOSUR / compiladoras Astrid Uzcátegui, María Inés De Jesús, ISBN 9789806396982: (2013), Page 121-150. - 2013
Keywords: Andean Community, European Union, Southern Common Market, International law and domestic law, Primacy, Direct effect,

8. Delineating the Common Interest in International Law
Delineating the Common Interest in International Law / Christina Voigt. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 9-27 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 9-27. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, International law, Legal principles, Sustainable development, Philosophy of law,

9. To What Extent does International Law Obstruct the Protection of Common Interests?
To What Extent does International Law Obstruct the Protection of Common Interests? / Sten Schaumburg-Müller. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 29-50 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 29-50. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, International law, International community, States, Philosophy of law,

10. Differentiation between Developing and Developed Countries in International Law
Differentiation between Developing and Developed Countries in International Law / Koen De Feyter. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 51-73 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 51-73. - 2014
Keywords: Developing countries, Developed countries, Obligations of the state, Differential treatment, Public interest, Treaties,

11. The Common Interest in International Litigation
The Common Interest in International Litigation / Claire Buggenhoudt. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 75-92 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 75-92. - 2014
Keywords: Public interest, Judicial settlement of international disputes, Public international law, Case-law,

12. Protecting the Community Interest in a State Centric Legal System
Protecting the Community Interest in a State Centric Legal System : the UN Charter and Certain Norms of 'Special Standing' / Jure Vidmar. - Cambridge : Intersentia. - Page 109-126 In: The Common Interest in International Law / edited by Wolfgang Benedek, Koen De Feyter, Matthias C. Kettemann, Christina Voigt, ISBN 9781780682716: (2014), Page 109-126. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations, Security Council, International peace and security, International community, Public interest, Obligations erga omnes,

13. The Italian Legal System and International Law
The Italian Legal System and International Law / Annalisa Ciampi. - Milano : Giuffrè Editore. - Page 41-60 In: Fundamentals of Italian Law / edited by Alessandra De Luca and Alessandro Simoni, ISBN 9788814184147: (2014), Page 41-60. - 2014
Keywords: Italy, Legal systems, International law and domestic law, Monism and dualism,

14. The Neglected Virtues of Brights Lines
The Neglected Virtues of Brights Lines : International Law in the 2014 Ukraine Crisis / Brad R. Roth In: ILSA Journal of International and Comparative Law = ISSN 1082-944X: vol. 21, issue 2, page 317-323. - 2015
Keywords: Ukraine, Russian Federation, Crimea, Use of force, Public international law, Secession,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Crawford, J., Hasard, Ordre et Changement: Le Cours du Droit International, Leiden, Boston, Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2015.

    39335394X

    Comprendre le droit international, c’est en comprendre l’évolution dans le temps. L’ambition de ce cours est de promouvoir cette forme de connaissance, qui implique de se départir des présentations habituellement rencontrées dans les manuels, axées sur des thématiques comme les sources, les sujets, les compétences. Etudier le cours du droit international, c’est étudier ses problèmes irrésolus, qui, de ce fait même, mettent en cause son autonomie en tant que discipline. Or ces problèmes sont, sinon résolus, du moins atténués par une lecture novatrice de nos pratiques juridiques communes et de notre histoire partagée. L’accent est ainsi mis sur le processus, qui forme en vérité le droit international. En effet, les institutions internationales – au premier rang desquelles les Etats – se trouvent dans un rapport dialectique avec le droit : elles le façonnent tout en étant façonnées par lui, elles l’élaborent tout en étant élaborées par lui. Mais, pour illustrer ce rapport dialectique, le cours fait abondamment référence à la pratique. Partant, il est également un cours classique de droit international.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Lung-chu, C., An Introduction to Contemporary International Law: A Policy-Oriented Perspective, 3rd ed., New York, Oxford University Press, 2015.

    498 A 13

    An Introduction to Contemporary International Law: A Policy-Oriented Perspective introduces the reader to all major aspects of contemporary international law. It applies the highly acclaimed approach developed by the New Haven School of International Law, viewing international law as an ongoing process of decision-making through which the members of the world community identify, clarify, and secure their common interests. Unlike conventional works in international law, this work is organized and structured in terms of the process of decision making in the international arena, and references both classic historical examples and contemporary events to illustrate international legal processes and principles. Using contemporary examples, this Third Edition builds on previous editions by contextualizing and dramatizing these changes with reference to seven features that characterize the New Haven School approach to international law: participants, perspectives, arenas of decision, bases of power, strategies, outcomes, and effects. This new edition highlights the major developments in international law since 2000, including the right to self-determination, the expanding scope of international concern and the duty of states to protect human rights, the trend towards greater accountability for states and individual decision-makers under international law, and the vital role individual responsibility plays in the emerging field of international criminal law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Thirlway, H., The Sources of International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Thirlway, H., The Sources of International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014

    The question of what is, and what is not, part of international law is of course fundamental. Traditionally, treaties between states and custom (state practice) have been seen as the primary means by which international law is created. These two sources, along with the ‘general principles of law’, are specified in the Statute of the International Court of Justice (Article 38), and this text has long been treated as generally authoritative. However, whether this is still an adequate definition of the sources of international law, and how they may operate in modern international society, has been questioned in significant ways. Taking Article 38 ICJ Statute as starting-point, this book provides a careful assessment of all the recognized, or asserted, sources of international law.

    • Provides a clear and accessible guide to the sources of international law
    • Comprehensively analyses the classic sources of international law as well as more controversial modern bases for international obligations, such as decisions by international organizations
    • Offers an invaluable resource for students of international law, as well as for practitioners and scholars needing to revisit the key principles underlying the sources of international law
    • Written by one of the key authorities in the field, with more than 40 years’ experience
    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Currie, J.H, C. Forcese, V. Oosterveld and J. Harrington (eds.), International law : doctrine, practice, and theory, Toronto, Irwin Law, 2014.

    Currie, J.H, C. Forcese, V. Oosterveld and J. Harrington (eds.), International law : doctrine, practice, and theory, Toronto, Irwin Law, 2014.

    International Law: Doctrine, Practice, and Theory is an innovative and unique volume which crosses the traditional boundaries between textbook, casebook, and scholarly monograph. The book is designed primarily as an introduction to the system and substance of international law. It is also a convenient and comprehensive reference work on the most important aspects of this burgeoning field.

    The book includes introductory materials on the nature, history, and theory of international law from an international relations, as well as a legal, perspective. Carefully selected and edited primary materials — including treaties, UN documents, and cases — take readers to the very sources of the rules and principles that comprise modern international law. Extensive and critical commentary on, and analysis of, these primary materials guide the reader to an understanding of the rules, their strengths and weaknesses, and their place in the international legal system. Descriptions of contemporary real-world situations provide concrete context to the discussion.

    Remarkable for both its depth and breadth, International Law: Doctrine, Practice, and Theory sets a new standard for the study of international law in Canada. It will make an invaluable addition to the reference collection of practitioners, judges, and scholars working in this ever-increasingly important area of modern law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Rafiqul Islam, M., International Law : Current Concepts and Future Directions, Chatswood, NSW, LexisNexis Butterworths, 2013.

    Rafiqul Islam, M., International Law : Current Concepts and Future Directions, Chatswood, NSW, LexisNexis Butterworths, 2013.

    International Law: Current Concepts and Future Directions is a scholarly, comprehensive and coherent study of contemporary international law. It identifies and describes existing international legal principles, norms, and standards and applies them to certain recent world events in order to test their operation, adequacy, consistency, and effectiveness in providing a stable and just world order.

    The book presents international law through the prism of the plural world composed of diverse stakeholders and argues that modern international law can no longer be contained within a single value-laden identity if the asymmetric rights and opportunities of the most and the least powerful states and people are to be addressed.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Boschiero, N., Scovazzi, T., Pitea, C. and Ragni, C. (eds.), International Courts and the Development of International Law : Essays in Honour of Tullio Treves, Heidelberg, Springer, 2013.

    Boschiero, N., Scovazzi, T., Pitea, C. and Ragni, C. (eds.), International Courts and the Development of International Law : Essays in Honour of Tullio Treves, Heidelberg, Springer, 2013.

    This book contains a collection of essays by leading experts linked to the outstanding characteristics of the scholar in honour of whom it is published, Tullio Treves, who combines his academic background with his practical experiences of a negotiator of international treaties and a judge of an international tribunal. It covers international public and private law related to international courts and the development of international law.

    Under Article 38 of its Statute, the International Court of Justice can apply judicial decisions only as a “subsidiary means for the determination of rules of law”. However, there are many reasons to believe that international courts and tribunals do play quite an important role in the progressive development of international law. There are a number of decisions which are inevitably recalled as the first step, or a decisive step, in the process of the formation of a new rule of customary international law. In these cases, can the judge be considered as a subsidiary of others? Are these cases compatible with the common belief that a judge cannot create law? Is this a peculiarity of international law, which is characterized by the existence of several courts but the lack of a legislator? Do decisions by different courts lead to the consequence of a fragmented international law? This volume provides the reader with an elaboration of various questions linked to the legislative role of courts.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • Bibliotheek van het Vredespaleis viert 200 jaar Nederlandse Grondwet

    On Saturday 29 March, the Netherlands will celebrate the 200-year anniversary of the 1814 Constitution. During the so-called Grondwetfestival (Constitution Festival) government buildings normally off limits to the public, like the Catshuis and Trêveszaal, will open especially for this occasion. The Peace Palace Library will also participate in this event with an interactive tour – in Dutch – explaining the relationship between the Dutch Constitution and international law. [Further information in Dutch]

    Read more
  • The Hague Academy of International Law: Celebrating 90 Years of Academic Excellence

    On July 24, 1923, ten years after the opening of the Peace Palace, the Hague Academy of International Law was solemnly inaugurated in the Peace Palace ‘to teach subjects which are most important from the point of view of theory, practice, legislation and international jurisprudence, in particular from deliberations of conferences and arbitral awards’ (Art. 3 of its statute adopted in 1914).

    Read more
  • Immunities in Public and Private International Law - 9th Session of the Seminar for Advanced Studies, 13-19 January 2013

    Each year the Hague Academy of International law, one of the most renowned academic institutions in Europe, holds a seminar devoted to various aspects of public and private international law. The theme of this year’s seminar will be: ”Les immunités en droit international public et privé” (Immunities in public and private international law). This Programme of Advanced Studies will take place from 13 to 19 January 2013 at the Academy building in The Hague.

    Read more
  • When Röling Waves Advanced Towards the Shores of International Law

    Invitation to lecture about the influence of Röling’s work on international law practice and scholarship by Prof. Nico Schrijver, organized by the Peace Palace Library. The lecture takes place on Wednesday 22 June, 2011, at 17.30-19.30 (lecture starts at 18.00). The location is the Historic Reading Room of the Peace Palace Library. Entrance is free.

    Read more
  • The Influence of NGOs on International Law

    From a traditional point of view, International Public Law has been understood as a set of rules produced by states in order to regulate relations between them. Since the end of the Cold War, the role of NGOs in international law is growing in importance and their activities are reaching the remotest parts of the world. In this blog, I will briefly discuss how NGOs have transformed international law as well as how they continue to contribute to the development of international law.

    Read more
  • In memoriam: Sir Ian Brownlie CBE QC (1932-2010)

    Sir Ian Brownlie, the second from the right on the photo, taken at the International Court of Justice when he was arguing the Nicaragua-Honduras case for Nicaragua.

    The great British international lawyer, Sir Ian Brownlie, died on January 3th 2010, in a car­-accident while on holiday with his family in Egypt. [...]

    Read more
  • First Lady of International Law

    Tuesday last week the First Lady of International Law, Rosalyn Higgins, President of the International Court of Justice bade farewell to her colleagues at the Court in The Hague, after serving nearly fourteen years as judge and as its President.
    This event coincided with the presentation of her latest book “Themes and Theories. Selected speeches and writings in International Law” (OUP 2009). An impressive collection of her thoughts over the last forty years. Ten chapters on various aspects of international law, reflected in articles, speeches, lectures and in her work as a member of the International Court of Justice.
    Oxford University Press kindly donated this two volume set to the Peace Palace Library, completing the collection of Higgins’ publications.

    The Library hopes that Dame Higgins, having spent so many years in The Hague, the Legal Capital of the World, will continue to be inspired by its excellent possibilities for research in international law.

    Read more
  • UN Audiovisual Library of International Law

    The United Nations Office of Legal Affairs launched the Audiovisual Library of International Law. The Audiovisual Library aims to provide free, scholarly resources to students and practictioners around the world, particularly in regions where there are few resources for the study of international law.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law

PPL keywords

Other suggestions

Comments are closed.