Treaties

Introduction

Treaties | Research Guide International Law

Considering the fundamental role of treaties in international relations and recognizing the importance of treaties as a  source of  international law, the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties was adopted in 1969. The Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties regulates the conclusion and entry into force of treaties, the application and interpretation of treaties as well as the amendment, invalidity and termination of treaties. According to Article 2 of this multilateral agreement, a ‘treaty’ means ‘an international agreement concluded between States in written form and governed by international law, whether embodied in a single instrument or in two or more related instruments and whatever its particular designation.’ A treaty concluded between one or more States and one or more international organizations, or between international organizations, can also be referred to as a treaty. According to Article 38 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, ‘international conventions, whether general or particular, establishing rules expressly recognized by the contesting states’ must be applied by the Court, when deciding disputes that are submitted to it. From this one can conclude that treaties are one of the principal sources of public international law.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on the Law of Treaties. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 131. Law of Treaties and subject heading (keyword) Treaties are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. The Law of Treaties Through the Interplay of Its Different Sources
The Law of Treaties Through the Interplay of Its Different Sources / Enzo Cannizzaro. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 16-38 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 16-38. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Law of treaties, Legal principles, Customary international law, Development of international law,

2. Theorizing Treaties: the Consequences of the Contractual Analogy
Theorizing Treaties: the Consequences of the Contractual Analogy / Akbar Rasulov. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 74-122 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 74-122. - 2014
Keywords: Treaties, Contracts, Comparative law, Philosophy of law,

3. The Effects of Treaties in Domestic Law
The Effects of Treaties in Domestic Law / André Nollkaemper. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 123-150 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 123-150. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International law and domestic law,

4. The Temporal Dimension: Non-Retroactivity and Its Discontents
The Temporal Dimension: Non-Retroactivity and Its Discontents / Markus Kotzur. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 153-185 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 153-185. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Retroactivity, Law of treaties,

5. The Spatial Dimension: Treaties and Territory
The Spatial Dimension: Treaties and Territory / Marko Milanovic. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 186-221 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 186-221. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Territoriality, Extraterritorial jurisdiction,

6. The Personal Dimension: Challenges to the "Pacta Tertiis" Rule
The Personal Dimension: Challenges to the "Pacta Tertiis" Rule / Alexander Proelss. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 222-253 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 222-253. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Third parties,

7. Formalism versus Flexibility in the Law of Treaties
Formalism versus Flexibility in the Law of Treaties / Jean d' Aspremont. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 257-284 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 257-284. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), Competence, Law of treaties, Philosophy of law,

8. Integrity versus Flexibility in the Application of Treaties
Integrity versus Flexibility in the Application of Treaties / Katherine Del Mar. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 285-311 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 285-311. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), International Law Commission, Treaties, Reservations,

9. "Pacta Sunt Servanda" versus Flexibility in the Suspension and Termination of Treaties
"Pacta Sunt Servanda" versus Flexibility in the Suspension and Termination of Treaties / Sotirios-Ioannis Lekkas and Antonios Tzanakopoulos. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 312-340 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 312-340. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Pacta sunt servanda, State responsibility, Denunciation,

10. Uniformity versus Specialization (1): the Quest for a Uniform Law of Inter-State Treaties
Uniformity versus Specialization (1): the Quest for a Uniform Law of Inter-State Treaties / Malgosia Fitzmaurice and Panos Merkouris. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 341-374 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 341-374. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Law of treaties, Fragmentation of international law,

11. Uniformity versus Specialization (2): a Uniform Regime of Treaty Interpretation?
Uniformity versus Specialization (2): a Uniform Regime of Treaty Interpretation? / Michael Waibel. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 375-412 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 375-412. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Law of treaties, Interpretation, Fragmentation of international law,

12. Regime-Collisions: Tensions between Treaties (and How to Solve Them)
Regime-Collisions: Tensions between Treaties (and How to Solve Them) / Jasper Finke. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 415-446 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 415-446. - 2014
Keywords: Law of treaties, Treaties, International obligations, Compliance,

13. Responding to Deliberately Created Treaty Conflicts
Responding to Deliberately Created Treaty Conflicts / Surabhi Ranganathan. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 447-475 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 447-475. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International obligations,

14. Treaty Breaches and Responses
Treaty Breaches and Responses / Christian J. Tams. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 476-504 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 476-504. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International obligations, Infraction, Legal remedies, State responsibility,

15. Succession to Treaties and the Inherent Limits of International Law
Succession to Treaties and the Inherent Limits of International Law / Andreas Zimmermann and James G. Devaney. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 505-540 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 505-540. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on Succession of States in respect of Treaties (Vienna, 23 August 1978), State succession, Treaties,

16. Treaties and Armed Conflict
Treaties and Armed Conflict / Yaël Ronen. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 541-564 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 541-564. - 2014
Keywords: Law of treaties, Treaties, Armed conflicts, International humanitarian law,

17. Treaties and International Organizations: Uneasy Analogies
Treaties and International Organizations: Uneasy Analogies / Philippa Webb. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 567-596 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 567-596. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), International organizations, Treaties,

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Leading articles

Periodicals, serial publications, special issues

New titles


1. The Law of Treaties Through the Interplay of Its Different Sources
The Law of Treaties Through the Interplay of Its Different Sources / Enzo Cannizzaro. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 16-38 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 16-38. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Law of treaties, Legal principles, Customary international law, Development of international law,

2. Theorizing Treaties: the Consequences of the Contractual Analogy
Theorizing Treaties: the Consequences of the Contractual Analogy / Akbar Rasulov. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 74-122 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 74-122. - 2014
Keywords: Treaties, Contracts, Comparative law, Philosophy of law,

3. The Effects of Treaties in Domestic Law
The Effects of Treaties in Domestic Law / André Nollkaemper. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 123-150 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 123-150. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International law and domestic law,

4. The Temporal Dimension: Non-Retroactivity and Its Discontents
The Temporal Dimension: Non-Retroactivity and Its Discontents / Markus Kotzur. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 153-185 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 153-185. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Retroactivity, Law of treaties,

5. The Spatial Dimension: Treaties and Territory
The Spatial Dimension: Treaties and Territory / Marko Milanovic. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 186-221 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 186-221. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Territoriality, Extraterritorial jurisdiction,

6. The Personal Dimension: Challenges to the "Pacta Tertiis" Rule
The Personal Dimension: Challenges to the "Pacta Tertiis" Rule / Alexander Proelss. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 222-253 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 222-253. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Third parties,

7. Formalism versus Flexibility in the Law of Treaties
Formalism versus Flexibility in the Law of Treaties / Jean d' Aspremont. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 257-284 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 257-284. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), Competence, Law of treaties, Philosophy of law,

8. Integrity versus Flexibility in the Application of Treaties
Integrity versus Flexibility in the Application of Treaties / Katherine Del Mar. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 285-311 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 285-311. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), International Law Commission, Treaties, Reservations,

9. "Pacta Sunt Servanda" versus Flexibility in the Suspension and Termination of Treaties
"Pacta Sunt Servanda" versus Flexibility in the Suspension and Termination of Treaties / Sotirios-Ioannis Lekkas and Antonios Tzanakopoulos. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 312-340 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 312-340. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Pacta sunt servanda, State responsibility, Denunciation,

10. Uniformity versus Specialization (1): the Quest for a Uniform Law of Inter-State Treaties
Uniformity versus Specialization (1): the Quest for a Uniform Law of Inter-State Treaties / Malgosia Fitzmaurice and Panos Merkouris. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 341-374 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 341-374. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Law of treaties, Fragmentation of international law,

11. Uniformity versus Specialization (2): a Uniform Regime of Treaty Interpretation?
Uniformity versus Specialization (2): a Uniform Regime of Treaty Interpretation? / Michael Waibel. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 375-412 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 375-412. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, Law of treaties, Interpretation, Fragmentation of international law,

12. Regime-Collisions: Tensions between Treaties (and How to Solve Them)
Regime-Collisions: Tensions between Treaties (and How to Solve Them) / Jasper Finke. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 415-446 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 415-446. - 2014
Keywords: Law of treaties, Treaties, International obligations, Compliance,

13. Responding to Deliberately Created Treaty Conflicts
Responding to Deliberately Created Treaty Conflicts / Surabhi Ranganathan. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 447-475 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 447-475. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International obligations,

14. Treaty Breaches and Responses
Treaty Breaches and Responses / Christian J. Tams. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 476-504 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 476-504. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Treaties, International obligations, Infraction, Legal remedies, State responsibility,

15. Succession to Treaties and the Inherent Limits of International Law
Succession to Treaties and the Inherent Limits of International Law / Andreas Zimmermann and James G. Devaney. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 505-540 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 505-540. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on Succession of States in respect of Treaties (Vienna, 23 August 1978), State succession, Treaties,

16. Treaties and Armed Conflict
Treaties and Armed Conflict / Yaël Ronen. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 541-564 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 541-564. - 2014
Keywords: Law of treaties, Treaties, Armed conflicts, International humanitarian law,

17. Treaties and International Organizations: Uneasy Analogies
Treaties and International Organizations: Uneasy Analogies / Philippa Webb. - Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar. - Page 567-596 In: Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties / edited by Christian J. Tams, Antonios Tzanakopoulos, Andreas Zimmermann ; assistant editor Athene E. Richford, ISBN 9780857934772: (2014), Page 567-596. - 2014
Keywords: Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties (Vienna, 23 May 1969), Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties between States and International Organizations or between International Organizations (Vienna, 21 March 1986), International organizations, Treaties,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Tams, C.J., A. Tzanakopoulos, A. Zimmerman (Eds.), Research Handbook on the Law of Treaties, Cheltenham, UK, Northampton, MA, USA, Edward Elgar, 2014.

    9780857934772

    Offering a unique conceptual approach to the Law of Treaties this insightful Research Handbook not only sets out the foundational issues, but identifies tensions within the field, including formalism vs flexibility, integrity vs flexibility, and uniformity vs specialisation, to name a few. It seeks to define and re-define the dimensions in which Treaty law operates, tracing its fault-lines and the challenges it faces, such as breaches, regime-collisions, state succession and armed conflict. Representing a broad range of jurisdictional and ideological perspectives, the Research Handbook provides a diverse and stimulating approach to international treaties.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • McInerney, T.F., Strategic Treaty Management: Practice and Implications, Cambridge, United Kingdom, Cambridge University Press, 2015.

    497 D 32

    While little recognized in international law scholarship, multilateral treaties in diverse fields have begun to apply strategic management techniques to make them more effective and responsive. This examination of those practices and their interplay with associated international organizations considers the application of strategic management across treaties’ planning, financing, implementation, and evaluation activities. The study leads to a new appreciation of the intricacies of multilateral treaty activities and a better understanding of their operations within complex webs of networked international institutions. In considering different approaches to steering treaties through this dispersed global governance landscape, Thomas F. McInerney draws on current strategic management literature to explore the utility of nonlinear, emergent models of strategy and gain insights from strategy as practice research. While recognizing strategic management’s potential value in facilitating more flexible applications of multilateral agreements, he also emphasizes the need to maintain their normativity as international legal obligations.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Gaebler, R.F., and A.A. Shea, Sources of State Practice in International Law, (2nd ed.) Leiden, Boston, Brill Nijhoff, 2014.

    381061213

    Sources of State Practice in International Law is a descriptive bibliography of both electronic and printed sources of information  containing the text of treaties and the record of diplomatic activity ofimportant jurisdictions around the world.  As such, it includes an up-to-date description of national treaty portals and other valuable Internet-based sources. At the same time, it also includes descriptions of printed sources providing access to treaties and official diplomatic
    documentation difficult to locate in standard compilations. In addition, this work includes a narrative section for each jurisdiction summarizing issues related to treaty succession and treaty implementation in municipal law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Bjorge, E., The Evolutionary Interpretation of Treaties, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Bjorge, E., The Evolutionary Interpretation of Treaties, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    If an old treaty regulating ‘commerce’ or forbidding ‘degrading treatment of persons’ is to be interpreted decades after its conclusion, does ‘commerce’ or ‘degrading treatment of persons’ have the same meaning at the time of interpretation as they had when the treaty was concluded? The evolutionary interpretation of treaties has proven one of the most controversial topics in the practice of international law. Indeed, it has been seen as going against the very grain of the law of treaties, and has been argued to be contrary to the intention of the parties, breaching the principle of consent. This book asks what the place of evolutionary interpretation is within the understanding of treaties, at a time when many important international legal instruments are over five decades old. It sets out to place the evolutionary interpretation of treaties on a firm footing within the Vienna rules of interpretation, as codified in Articles 3133 of the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties. The book demonstrates that the evolutionary interpretation of treatiesin common with all other types of interpretationis in fact based upon an objective understanding of the intention of the parties. In order to marry intention and evolution, the book argues that, on the one hand, evolutionary interpretation is the product of the correct application of Articles 3133 and, on the other, that Articles 3133 are geared towards the objective establishment of the intention of the parties. The evolutionary interpretation of treaties is therefore shown to represent an intended evolution.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Aust, A., Modern Treaty Law and Practice, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    Aust, A., Modern Treaty Law and Practice, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    This new edition of a textbook first published in 2000 provides a comprehensive account of the law of treaties from the viewpoint of an experienced practitioner. As such, it is the first, and only, book of its kind. Aust provides a wealth of examples of the problems experienced with treaties on a daily basis, not just when they are the subject of a court case. He explores numerous precedents from treaties and other related documents, such as memorandums of understanding (MOUs), in detail. Using clear, accessible language, the author covers the full extent of treaty law, drawing examples from both treaties and MOUs. Modern Treaty Law and Practice is essential reading for teachers and students of law, political science, international relations and diplomacy, who have an interest in treaties.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Nolte, G. (ed.), Treaties and Subsequent Practice, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2013.

    Nolte, G. (ed.), treaties and subsequent practice, oxford, oxford university press, 2013

    Under the relevant rules of international law, treaties are interpreted in accordance with the ordinary meaning of the language they use, their object and purpose, and the intention of the drafters, but also in light of the subsequent practice of its parties. This subsequent practice can shed light on articles whose meaning is ambiguous and subsequent agreement can even alter the meaning of treaty provisions. At a time when many of the most important international treaties are more than fifty years old, subsequent practice plays an increasingly important role in their interpretation.

    Treaties and Subsequent Practice discusses the role and relevance of this subsequent practice in the process of dynamic treaty interpretation. The book provides a comprehensive treatment of this topic by eminent commentators, combining contributions which focus on practical cases with chapters examining the theoretical underpinnings of treaty interpretation. The concept of subsequent practice is situated in the more general context of treaty law and international law, looking at different cases and doctrinal questions to assess its policy dimensions. The book addresses the question of whether subsequent practice plays a more or less significant role in different areas of international law, and whether it can be employed as a partial substitute for formal treaty amendments. It also includes two previously unpublished reports issued by the International Law Commission’s Study Group on this topic.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • The Peace of Christmas Eve

    Peace is an elusive thing. For many, the attraction of the Christmas season is the momentary fulfillment of that dream, the wonderful moment of ‘Peace on Earth’. For one night, it seems possible. As Christmas approaches, we experience a sense of ‘Peace on Earth’. A few times in history, this sense of peace at Christmas had real impact on human affairs. A little known example is the the signing of the Treaty of Ghent on Christmas Eve, December 24, 1814, ending a war, the War of 1812, between the United States and the British Empire and their allies.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Public International Law

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.