International Arbitration

Introduction

International Arbitration | Research Guide International Law

International Commercial Arbitration is a method of private dispute resolution whereby the parties to an international business contract agree to have their disputes resolved by one or more private individuals, i.e., the arbitrators rather than by a court of law.  It requires the agreement of the parties, which is usually given via an arbitration clause that is inserted into the contract or business agreement. The decision of the arbitrator(s) is final and binding on the parties on the basis of their initial agreement to arbitrate. In case the arbitral decision (award) is not carried out by the losing party, performance of it may be enforced through national court proceedings.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on International Commercial Arbitration. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 322. International Law of Procedure: Arbitration and subject heading (keyword) International Commercial Arbitration are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles


1. El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales
El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales : XXIV Jornadas de la Asociación Española de Profesores de Derecho Internacional y Relaciones Internacionales (AEPDIRI) : Córdoba, 20-22 de octubre de 2011 / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch, 2013. - 1068 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm. - (Homenajes y congresos) With notes. - 2013
Keywords: International Court of Justice, International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, European Union, Judicial settlement of international disputes, International dispute settlement, International commercial arbitration, Pacific settlement of disputes,

2. Independence and impartiality of arbitrators
Independence and impartiality of arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bĕlohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý. - Huntington, New York : Jurisnet LLC, 2014. - XIV, 429 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Czech (& Central European) yearbook of arbitration, ISSN 2157-9490 ; volume 4, 2014) With abstracts in English. - Bibliography: page 395-422. - With notes and index. - 2014
Keywords: Europe, Commercial arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Judges, Impartiality,

3. Arbitraje comercial internacional
Arbitraje comercial internacional / Miguel Gómez Jene. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch. - Page 675-692 In: El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto, ISBN 9788490335215: (2013), Page 675-692. - 2013
Keywords: Spain, European Union, Council Regulation (EC) No 44/2001 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters [Brussels, 22 December 2000], International commercial arbitration,

4. Liability of Arbitrators
Liability of Arbitrators / Alina Mioara Cobuz Bagnaru. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 25-45 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 25-45. - 2014
Keywords: Judges, Accountability, Commercial arbitration, International commercial arbitration,

5. Subjective and Objective Impartiality of Arbitrators and Appointing Authorities as a Part of Procedural Public Policy (Ordre Public) in Arbitration
Subjective and Objective Impartiality of Arbitrators and Appointing Authorities as a Part of Procedural Public Policy (Ordre Public) in Arbitration / Alexander J. Bělohlávek. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 47-73 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 47-73. - 2014
Keywords: Judges, Impartiality, Commercial arbitration, International commercial arbitration,

6. The Distinctive Features of Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators in Insurance Matters
The Distinctive Features of Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators in Insurance Matters / Petr Dobiáš. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 93-113 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 93-113. - 2014
Keywords: International commercial arbitration, Insurances, Judges, Impartiality,

7. The Partiality of Arbitrators
The Partiality of Arbitrators / Jan Havlíček. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 133-150 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 133-150. - 2014
Keywords: International commercial arbitration, Commercial arbitration, Judges, Impartiality, Independence,

8. Double Requirement or Double Standard?
Double Requirement or Double Standard? : a Comparison of Arbitrators' Independence and Impartiality with That of State Court Judges in Austria and Germany / Harald Sippel. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 207-227 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 207-227. - 2014
Keywords: Austria, Germany, International Bar Association, International commercial arbitration, Municipal courts, Judges, Impartiality, Law of civil procedure,

9. Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators and Mediators - the Castor and Pollux of the ADR World?
Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators and Mediators - the Castor and Pollux of the ADR World? / Martin Svatoš. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 229-247 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 229-247. - 2014
Keywords: Commercial arbitration, International commercial arbitration, International mediation, Alternative dispute resolution, Impartiality, Independence,

10. The Challenge of Arbitrators and the Impact on the Functioning of Arbitral Tribunals
The Challenge of Arbitrators and the Impact on the Functioning of Arbitral Tribunals / Evangelos Vassilakakis. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 249-265 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 249-265. - 2014
Keywords: UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York, 10 June 1958), Judges, Arbitration court, Impartiality, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards,

11. Challenge Procedure in Institutional and Ad Hoc Arbitration under the New Regulations in the Revised UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules
Challenge Procedure in Institutional and Ad Hoc Arbitration under the New Regulations in the Revised UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules / Radka Zahradníková. - Huntington, New York : JurisNet LLC. - Page 267-286 In: Independence and Impartiality of Arbitrators / editors Alexander J. Bělohlávek, Naděžda Rozehnalová, Filip Černý, ISBN 9781937518394: (2014), Page 267-286. - 2014
Keywords: United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, International commercial arbitration, Judges, Impartiality, Fair administration of justice,

12. The IBA Guidelines on Party Representation in International Arbitration
The IBA Guidelines on Party Representation in International Arbitration / Olivier Caprasse In: Revue de la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Liège = ISSN 0778-1695: (2013), issue 3-4, page 305-318. - 2013
Keywords: International Bar Association, International commercial arbitration, Guidelines, Lawyers,

13. The Legal Framework for Counterclaims in Investment Treaty Arbitration
The Legal Framework for Counterclaims in Investment Treaty Arbitration / Dafina Atanasova, Adrián Martínez Benoit, Josef Ostřanský In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 357-392. - 2014
Keywords: Foreign direct investment, Investment treaties, International arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Counter-claims,

14. ICC Hybrid Arbitrations Here to Stay
ICC Hybrid Arbitrations Here to Stay : Singapore Courts' Treatment of the ICC Rules Rivisions in Articles 1(2) and 6(2) / Anthony Cheah Nicholls, Christopher Bloch In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 393-412. - 2014
Keywords: Singapore, International Chamber of Commerce, International commercial arbitration, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, Party autonomy, Cases,

15. The UNCITRAL Model Law and Awards
The UNCITRAL Model Law and Awards : "infra petita" / Paul Tan, Christopher Bloch In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 413-424. - 2014
Keywords: Singapore, UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Recognition and execution of foreign arbitral awards, Cases,

16. Revision of the Dutch Arbitration Act
Revision of the Dutch Arbitration Act : making the Netherlands an even better Place for Arbitration / Jacomijn J. van Haersolte-van Hof In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 425-438. - 2014
Keywords: The Netherlands, Commercial arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Legislation, Reform,

1. The South China Sea arbitration
The South China Sea arbitration : a Chinese perspective / edited by Stefan Talmon and Bing Bing Jia. - Oxford ; Portland, Oregon : Hart Publishing, 2014. - XXIV, 249 pages. : illustrations. ; 24 cm Bibliography: page 233-240. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - 2014
Keywords: China, Philippines, China Sea, Spratly Islands, Exclusive economic zone, Maritime boundaries, International disputes, International arbitration, United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (Montego-Bay, 10 December 1982), Compulsory jurisdiction,

2. El arreglo arbitral de las controversias internacionales: aspectos recientes
El arreglo arbitral de las controversias internacionales: aspectos recientes / $4000. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch. - Page 79-98 In: El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto, ISBN 9788490335215: (2013), Page 79-98. - 2013
Keywords: International arbitration, Pacific settlement of disputes,

3. Sobre arbitrajes internacionales de inversiones, servicios públicos y derechos humanos
Sobre arbitrajes internacionales de inversiones, servicios públicos y derechos humanos / Attila Tanzi. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch. - Page 137-149 In: El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto, ISBN 9788490335215: (2013), Page 137-149. - 2013
Keywords: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, International arbitration, Foreign direct investment, Human rights, Public services,

4. Las restricciones al arbitraje de inversiones en Ecuador frente a su desarrollo en el marco de UNASUR
Las restricciones al arbitraje de inversiones en Ecuador frente a su desarrollo en el marco de UNASUR / José Ángel Rueda García. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch. - Page 193-204 In: El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto, ISBN 9788490335215: (2013), Page 193-204. - 2013
Keywords: Ecuador, Union of South American Nations, International arbitration, Foreign direct investment,

5. El rol de la Comisión Europea en el arbitraje de inversiones
El rol de la Comisión Europea en el arbitraje de inversiones / Manuel Alejandro Penadés Fons. - Valencia : Tirant lo Blanch. - Page 719-733 In: El arreglo pacífico de controversias internacionales / coordinadores Eva Ma. Vázquez Gómez, Ma. Dolores Adam Muñoz, Noé Cornago Prieto, ISBN 9788490335215: (2013), Page 719-733. - 2013
Keywords: European Union, European Commission, Foreign direct investment, International arbitration, Amicus curiae,

6. The South China Sea Arbitration: is there a Case to answer?
The South China Sea Arbitration: is there a Case to answer? / Stefan Talmon. - Oxford ; Portland, Oregon : Hart Publishing. - Page 15-79 In: The South China Sea Arbitration : a Chinese Perspective / edited by Stefan Talmon and Bing Bing Jia, ISBN 9781849465472: (2014), Page 15-79. - 2014
Keywords: China, Philippines, China Sea, Spratly Islands, Exclusive economic zone, Maritime boundaries, International disputes, International arbitration, United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (Montego-Bay, 10 December 1982), Compulsory jurisdiction,

7. The Issue of Admissibility in Inter-State Arbitration
The Issue of Admissibility in Inter-State Arbitration / Bing Bing Jia. - Oxford ; Portland, Oregon : Hart Publishing. - Page 107-135 In: The South China Sea Arbitration : a Chinese Perspective / edited by Stefan Talmon and Bing Bing Jia, ISBN 9781849465472: (2014), Page 107-135. - 2014
Keywords: China, Philippines, China Sea, Spratly Islands, Exclusive economic zone, Maritime boundaries, International disputes, Admissibility, United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (Montego-Bay, 10 December 1982), International arbitration,

8. Jurisprudential Tenability of the Philippines v China Arbitration on South China Sea Disputes?
Jurisprudential Tenability of the Philippines v China Arbitration on South China Sea Disputes? / Haiwen Zhang and Chenxi Mi. - Oxford ; Portland, Oregon : Hart Publishing. - Page 137-158 In: The South China Sea Arbitration : a Chinese Perspective / edited by Stefan Talmon and Bing Bing Jia, ISBN 9781849465472: (2014), Page 137-158. - 2014
Keywords: China, Philippines, China Sea, Spratly Islands, Exclusive economic zone, Maritime boundaries, International disputes, Maritime claims, United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (Montego-Bay, 10 December 1982), International arbitration,

9. Distilling Principles of Law from ICSID Cases against Ecuador
Distilling Principles of Law from ICSID Cases against Ecuador / Lucas Bento In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 329-356. - 2014
Keywords: Ecuador, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Foreign direct investment, International arbitration, Case-law,

10. The Legal Framework for Counterclaims in Investment Treaty Arbitration
The Legal Framework for Counterclaims in Investment Treaty Arbitration / Dafina Atanasova, Adrián Martínez Benoit, Josef Ostřanský In: Journal of International Arbitration = ISSN 0255-8106: vol. 31, issue 2, page 357-392. - 2014
Keywords: Foreign direct investment, Investment treaties, International arbitration, International commercial arbitration, Counter-claims,

11. From "World Duty Free" to "Metal-Tech"
From "World Duty Free" to "Metal-Tech" : a Review of International Investment Treaty Arbitration Cases involving Allegations of Corruption / Carolyn B. Lamm, Brody K. Greenwald, Kristen M. Young In: ICSID Review : Foreign Investment Law Journal = ISSN 0258-3690: vol. 29, issue 2, page 328-349. - 2014
Keywords: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Foreign direct investment, Bilateral investment treaties, Corruption, International arbitration, Case-law,

12. ICSID and the Right to Water
ICSID and the Right to Water : an Ingredient in the Stone Soup : 2013 ICSID Review Student Writing Competition / Heather L. Bray In: ICSID Review : Foreign Investment Law Journal = ISSN 0258-3690: vol. 29, issue 2, page 474-483. - 2014
Keywords: International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Foreign direct investment, Water, Drinking water, Privatization, Human rights, International arbitration, Cases,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Daly, B.W. (et al.), A Guide to the PCA Arbitration Rules, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Daly, B.W. (et al.), A Guide to the PCA Arbitration Rules, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    This is a guide to and commentary on the new procedural rules for arbitration adopted by the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) in December 2012. The PCA is a unique arbitral institution – an intergovernmental organization counting over one hundred member states – with a rapidly growing annual caseload of arbitrations involving various combinations of states, state entities, intergovernmental organizations, and private parties. The 2012 PCA Rules are the most recent set of arbitral rules from any institution, and constitute a consolidation of four sets of PCA Rules drafted in the 1990s, and updated in light of PCA experience and the revision of other procedural regimes. They include special provisions adapted to arbitrations involving public entities and a number of novel provisions drafted on the basis of the PCA’s experience administering arbitrations. In recent years, the PCA caseload has expanded to the extent that the total amount in dispute in PCA cases is estimated to be greater than that in any other arbitral institution, increasing the need for a comprehensive guide to arbitration under its auspices. This text benefits from the unparalleled insights of its three co-authors, all of whom are PCA lawyers, one of whom is the Deputy Secretary-General of the PCA, and a member of the drafting committee for the 2012 PCA Rules. An introductory chapter, describing the mandate for the revised rules from the PCA member states, as well as the drafting process itself, is followed by a rule-by-rule analysis following the familiar structure of the rules themselves. This analysis is split into four sections: the introductory rules; the composition of the arbitral tribunal; arbitral proceedings; and the award. The comprehensive appendices are intended to reduce the need for recourse to other materials and provide a stand-alone resource.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Tang, Z., Jurisdiction and Arbitration Agreements in International Commercial Law, London, New York, 2014.

    Tang, Z., Jurisdiction and Arbitration Agreements in International Commercial Law, London, New York, 2014.

    Arbitration and jurisdiction agreements are frequently used in transnational commercial contracts to reduce risk, gain efficacy and acquire certainty and predictability. Because of the similarities between these two types of procedural autonomy agreements, they are often treated in a similar way by courts and practitioners. This book offers a comprehensive study of the prerequisites, effectiveness, and enforcement of exclusive jurisdiction and arbitration agreements in international dispute resolution. It examines whether jurisdiction and arbitration clauses have identical effects in private international law and whether they have been or should be given the same treatment by most countries in the world. By comparing the treatment of these clauses in the US, China, UK and EU, Zheng Sophia Tang demonstrates how, in practice, exclusive jurisdiction and arbitration agreements are enforced. The book considers whether the Hague Convention on Choice of Court Agreements could be treated as a litigating counterpart to the New York Convention, and whether it could work successfully to facilitate judicial cooperation and party autonomy in international commerce. This book breaks new ground in combining updated materials in EU, US and UK law with unique resources on Chinese law and practice. It will be valuable for academics and practitioners working in the field of private international law and international arbitration.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Ostrove, M., Salomon, C., and B. Shifman (eds), Choice of Venue in International Arbitration, Oxford, Oxford Unversity Press, 2014.

    Ostrove, M., Salomon, C., and B. Shifman (eds), Choice of Venue in International Arbitration, Oxford, Oxford Unversity Press, 2014.

    The relative merits of different arbitral venues are conveyed accessibly and practically in this far-reaching survey, with contributions from prestigious practitioners from every major global seat. The book offers comparative analysis of the relative challenges arising at venues around the world. A reliable tool during the negotiation and drafting stages, it enables a newly tactical consideration of venue, whilst providing instant answers to those in unfamiliar jurisdictions. Offering detailed analysis of a range of key venues, it addresses not only the practical reality but also the history and development in these seats, making the book both an academic and a practical investment.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Webster, T. and M. Bühler, Handbook of ICC arbitration : Commentary, Precedents, Materials, London, Sweet & Maxwell/Thomson Reuters, 2014.

    Webster, T. and M. Bühler, Handbook of ICC arbitration : Commentary, Precedents, Materials, London, Sweet & Maxwell/Thomson Reuters, 2014.

    The Handbook of ICC Arbitration provides expert analysis of the whole process of using and adhering to the ICC Arbitration Rules. It examines close up the diverse issues that can occur during an arbitration and hosts essential information related to arbitration on an international level with reference to published and unpublished awards and procedural orders, as well as to many decisions of national courts. This text is a practical, rule-by-rule guide to the Rules of the International Chamber of Commerce, one of the world’s leading international arbitration institutions. It is for both the experienced practitioner and those approaching international arbitration for the first time, clearly explaining basic principles while at the same time providing the depth of analysis and references needed to solve the complex procedural issues that can arise during the arbitration process. The chapters follow the Rules of the ICC, each one setting out the relevant principles in plain English, before dealing with more complicated issues of interpretation, providing reference to discussions of the issues by other authors and to relevant case law and awards.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wöss, H. (et al), Damages in International Arbitration under Complex Long-term Contracts, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Wöss, H. (et al), Damages in International Arbitration under Complex Long-term Contracts, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Damages are a topic of central importance in international arbitration, being very often the principal concern of the parties, and an indication of the performance of their counsel. They are also one of the most complex topics. This book addresses the many competing factors that contribute to their nature and amount: while they are compensatory, they may be subject to counterclaims and set-offs, affected by failures to mitigate, or inflated by considerations such as interest and costs. Specialist evidence is relied on to complete composite calculations, taking into account such evasive factors as the destruction of market value, uncertainty of future revenues, projected interest rate changes, and lost dividends. The lack of understanding of the underlying considerations, methods such as “splitting the baby”, or dogmas such as the misinterpreted “efficient breach of contract”, combined with the already high level of burden of proof, can make successful damages claims or properly reasoned awards difficult to achieve. This book provides in-depth analysis of the legal, financial, and economic issues involved in the preparation of claims and arbitral awards for damages and loss of income, for the breach of complex long-term contracts in international arbitration. The authors address matters such as the but-for method and the reconstruction of the hypothetical course of events as well as the quantification of damages. It provides a detailed coverage of issues arising when structuring, arbitrating, or making an award on damages, making it a valuable reference for practitioners in the field. It includes a number of leading cases (including commercial and investment arbitrations), focusing on the damages analysis for breach of contract.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Jemielniak, J., Legal Interpretation in International Commercial Arbitration, Farnham, Ashgate, 2014.

    Jemielniak, J., Legal Interpretation in International Commercial Arbitration, Farnham, Ashgate, 2014.

    This book fills a gap in legal academic study and practice in International Commercial Arbitration (ICA) by offering an in-depth analysis on legal discourse and interpretation. Written by a specialist in international business law, arbitration and legal theory, it examines the discursive framework of arbitral proceedings, through an exploration of the unique status of arbitration as a legal and semiotic phenomenon. Historical and contemporary aspects of legal discourse and interpretation are considered, as well as developments in the field of discourse analysis in ICA. A section is devoted to institutional and structural determinants of legal discourse in ICA in which ad hoc and institutional forms are examined. The book also deals with functional aspects of legal interpretation in arbitral discourse, focusing on interpretative standards, methods and considerations in decision-making in ICA.The comparative examinations of existing legal framework and case law reflect the international nature of the subject and the book will be of value to both academic and professional readers.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Geisinger, E. and G. Tattevin, Advocacy in International Commercial Arbitration, Huntington, Juris, 2013.

    Geisinger, E. and G. Tattevin, Advocacy in International Commercial Arbitration, Huntington, Juris, 2013.

    Corporate counsel, arbitrators and lawyers discuss their experiences with advocates in international arbitration, their expectations of good advocacy in a critical analysis of The ASA Charter of Advocacy in International Commercial Arbitration. The issues discussed include, differences in culture and style, evolution of the role model over time, the relationship with the client and the tribunal, the relationship with witnesses and experts and the use of consultants and their management.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

  • Kluwer  Arbitration Online : A fully-searchable database of primary and secondary materials in the field of International Arbitration and International Commercial Arbitration, with access to full-text downloads of materialsFully. Searching and browsing is quick and simple, as the database has been organized into the following specific arbitration categories: Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs), Conventions, Countries, Model Clauses, Legislation, NY Convention Decisions, Organizations and Rules but also e-books, journals and loose-leafs.  Each main category is further grouped into the regions Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, South America and Oceania.
  • Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims : Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims offers headnotes and commentaries by practicioners and scholars. The content of the database, approximately 200 cases for the November 2008 launch, is peer-reviewed by an expert editorial board. It also provides translations of key passages for all non-English judgments. The database includes decisions and awards from London Court of International Arbitration, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, International Chamber of Commerce, Association of Southeast Asian Nations and Permanent Court of Arbitration.
  • WESTLAW International Arbitration Databases : covers a wide range of international arbitration materials, including those of international and national arbitration organizations and tribunals. For example, International Commercial Arbitration – All (database identifier ICA-ALL) combines many of the WESTLAW materials on international commercial arbitration in one database. Westlaw has also created an Arbitration tab that puts all its arbitration databases on one screen.  You can also see a list of all Westlaw international arbitration databases by searching the WESTLAW Database Directory.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Commercial Arbitration, International, by Richard H. Kreindler and Rita Heinemann.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Inter-American Commercial Arbitration Commission (IACAC), by Santiago Montt.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Commercial Arbitration and Mediation Center for the Americas (CAMCA), by Andrea Ernst.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Specific Cases and Decisions.
  • IA Reporter (Investment Arbitration Reporter): Investment Arbitration Reporter is an electronic news service tracking international arbitrations between foreign investors and their host governments.
  • TradeLawGuide provides full-text of official awards, decisions and other WTO documents and .notes up. WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system and also offers a treaty interpretation, terms & phrases and other tools. WTO law has been referred to frequently in investor-state arbitrations in various contexts. Tribunals have explicitly found that WTO law is relevant to investor-state arbitration. Therefore the database contains a special section on WTO Law in Investment Arbitration.
  • Worldtradelaw.net: legal research database for international trade law issues, providing key WTO/GATT texts and dispute decisions, summaries and analysis. You can search in the index of the World Trade Organization reports and arbitrations, articles on trade law and selected amicus submissions in WTO disputes.

Blogs

  • Abyei Arbitration

    From Saturday 18 until Thursday 23 April oral pleadings are being held at the Peace Palace in The Hague in the arbitration case between the Government of Sudan and the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) concerning the delimitation of the Abyei Area. The arbitration is based on an Arbitration Agreement between the Parties that was deposited with the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) on 11 July 2008.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Settlement of International Disputes

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.