Health

Introduction

Health - Research Guide International Law

Health is vitally important for every human being in the world. Global health matters to everyone, not just to those living in developing countries. The World Health Organization (WHO) defines health as “the state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity. The enjoyment of the hihgest attainable standard of health is one of the fundamental rights of every human being without distinction of race, religion, political belief, economic or social condition”. Since 15 June 2007, the world has been implementing the International Health Regulations (IHR). The International Health Regulations are a legally-binding international agreement that govern the roles of the World Health Organization and its Member States around the globe in identifying, sharing information about, and responding to public health events that may have international consequences. Since then trade and travel have increased significantly. Under the revised Regulations, countries that have accepted the IHR have broader responsibility to take preventive measures against, as well as to detect and respond to, any event that may constitute a public health emergency of international concern. The International Health Regulations also give the WHO clearer authority to recommend to its Member States measures that will help contain the international spread of disease, including public health actions to be taken. The IHR cover all hazards, not just infectious diseases.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Health. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 157. Sanitary Law (Opium, etc.); World Health Organization and subject heading (keyword) Health are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles

The Peace Palace Library has a collection of over a million publications. Each week, about six hundred new titles are added to our collection: books, articles, documents, online publications, etc. On this page, access is provided to this week’s new titles on the topic health. Health and public health concerns a variety of topics and aspects of health; the right to health, infectious diseases, access to medicines, healthcare, sanitary law, food and drug law, from the ethics of embryonic stem cell research to the role and responsibility of the government, safety regulations and medical malpractice.


1. Violences sur le corps de la femme
Violences sur le corps de la femme : aspects juridiques, culturels et éthiques / sous la direction de Christian Hervé, Michèle Stanton-Jean et Claire Ribau-Bajon ; avec les contributions de Jean-Claude Alvarez, Bernard Andrieu, Martine Brasseur, Philippe Charlier, Sylvie Cromer, Michel Doucin, Jean-Pierre Escarfail, Irène François Purssell, Christian Hervé, Gérard Lopez, Geoffrey Lorin de la Grandmaison, Allane Madanamoothoo, Jéhanne Marchaut, Michela Marzano, Jean-François Mattei, Rachid Mendjeli, Véronique Nahoum-Grappe, Marie Pezé, Simonne Plourde, Edwige Rude-Antoine, Sara Skandrani, Michèle Stanton-Jean, Édouard de Vienne. - Paris : Dalloz, 2012. - X, 197 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Thèmes et commentaires. actes, ISSN 1255-1155) Issu des actes de la 11e Journée de la Société française et francophone d'éthique médicale, SFFEM tenue à Paris en décembre 2011 et du 12e Séminaire d'experts de l'Institut international de recherche en éthique biomédicale, IIREB, Paris, mars 2012. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2012
Keywords: Women, Violence, Health, Human rights, Ethics,

2. Medical law and medical ethics
Medical law and medical ethics / Nils Hoppe and Jose Miola. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2014. - XX, 306 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references, notes and index. - 2014
Keywords: Great Britain, Medical ethics, Bioethics, Health, Regulation,

3. The Protection of the Right to Health and the Procedures for Voluntary Termination of Pregnancy between European Court of Human Rights and European Committee of Social Rights
The Protection of the Right to Health and the Procedures for Voluntary Termination of Pregnancy between European Court of Human Rights and European Committee of Social Rights / Lisa Lanzoni, Benedetta Liberali. - Napoli : Edizioni Scientifiche Italiane. - Page 219-230 In: European Social Charter and the Challenges of the XXI Century / edited by Marilisa D'Amico and Giovanni Guiglia, ISBN 9788849528763: (2014), Page 219-230. - 2014
Keywords: Italy, European Court of Human Rights, European Committee of Social Rights, Abortion, Health, Human rights, Cases,

4. Synthetic Biology: Solving the Pharmaceutical Industry's Innovation Problems?
Synthetic Biology: Solving the Pharmaceutical Industry's Innovation Problems? / Joachim Henkel and Robert Lüttke. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 11-18 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 11-18. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, World Health Organization, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Innovation, Patents, Biotechnology, Genetics, Intellectual property,

5. Synthetic Biology and Global Health in the Age of Intellectual Property
Synthetic Biology and Global Health in the Age of Intellectual Property / Henk van den Belt. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 19-43 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 19-43. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Health, Pharmaceuticals, Innovation, Patents, Biotechnology, Genetics, Intellectual property,

6. Synthetic Biology and IP: How Do Definitions of "Products of Nature" Affect Their Implications for Health?
Synthetic Biology and IP: How Do Definitions of "Products of Nature" Affect Their Implications for Health? / David Koepsell. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 45-53 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 45-53. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Biological and genetic resources, Innovation, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Patents, Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Intellectual property,

7. Synthetic Biology, Biotechnology Patents and the Protection of Human Health
Synthetic Biology, Biotechnology Patents and the Protection of Human Health : a Consideration of the Principals at Stake / Anna Falcone. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 55-76 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 55-76. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Health, Innovation, Pharmaceuticals, DNA, Patents, Genetics, Biotechnology, Intellectual property,

8. Patents and Living Matter: the Construction of a Patent System Attractive to Biotechnology
Patents and Living Matter: the Construction of a Patent System Attractive to Biotechnology / Ana Paula Myszczuk and Jussara Maria Leal De Meirelles. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 77-86 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 77-86. - 2014
Keywords: Health, Pharmaceuticals, Biological and genetic resources, DNA, Patents, Biotechnology, Human dignity, Genetics, Intellectual property, Cases,

9. Patents Originating in Human Tissue and Data: Questions on Benefit Creating and Benefit Sharing, on Morality and Property
Patents Originating in Human Tissue and Data: Questions on Benefit Creating and Benefit Sharing, on Morality and Property / David Townend. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 87-99 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 87-99. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Biological and genetic resources, Health, Patents, Biotechnology, Privacy, Bioethics, Human rights, Intellectual property,

10. Patenting SynBio in Anglo-America and Europe: Chaos or Opportunity
Patenting SynBio in Anglo-America and Europe: Chaos or Opportunity / Amina Agovic. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 101-121 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 101-121. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Australia, Europe, Health, Biological and genetic resources, Patents, Stem cells, Bioethics, Biotechnology, Intellectual property,

11. Synthetic Biology: Challenges and Legal Questions
Synthetic Biology: Challenges and Legal Questions / Jürgen Robienski and Jürgen Simon. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 123-143 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 123-143. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Germany, Europe, Health, Scientific research, Biotechnology, Biosafety, Intellectual property,

12. Exclusions and Exceptions to Patent Eligibility Revisited: Examining the Political Functions of the "Discovery" and "Ordre Public" Clauses in the European Patent Convention and the Arenas of Negotiation
Exclusions and Exceptions to Patent Eligibility Revisited: Examining the Political Functions of the "Discovery" and "Ordre Public" Clauses in the European Patent Convention and the Arenas of Negotiation / Ingrid Schneider. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 145-173 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 145-173. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Patents, Biotechnology, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Public policy, Community law, Intellectual property,

13. Synthetic Biology and IP Rights: in Defence of the Patent System
Synthetic Biology and IP Rights: in Defence of the Patent System / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 201-209 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 201-209. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, European Patent Office, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Health, Pharmaceuticals, Patents, DNA, Biotechnology, Intellectual property, Community law,

14. The Right to Health and International Humanitarian Law
The Right to Health and International Humanitarian Law : Parallel Application for Building Peaceful Societies and the Prevention of Armed Conflict / Amrei Müller In: Wisconsin International Law Journal = ISSN 0743-7951: vol. 32, issue 3, page 415-456. - 2014
Keywords: World Health Organization, Health, Armed conflicts, International peace and security, International humanitarian law, Peacebuilding, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (New York, 16 December 1966), Human rights,

15. Treasuring What We Measure and Measuring What We Treasure: Post-2015 Monitoring for the Promotion of Equality in the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Sector
Treasuring What We Measure and Measuring What We Treasure: Post-2015 Monitoring for the Promotion of Equality in the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Sector / Inga T. Winkler, Margaret L. Satterthwaite, Catarina de Albuquerque In: Wisconsin International Law Journal = ISSN 0743-7951: vol. 32, issue 3, page 547-594. - 2014
Keywords: World Health Organization, UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund, Health, Development, Water, Sanitation, Hygiene, Equality, Discrimination, Human rights,

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

New titles

The Peace Palace Library has a collection of over a million publications. Each week, about six hundred new titles are added to our collection: books, articles, documents, online publications, etc. On this page, access is provided to this week’s new titles on the topic health. Health and public health concerns a variety of topics and aspects of health; the right to health, infectious diseases, access to medicines, healthcare, sanitary law, food and drug law, from the ethics of embryonic stem cell research to the role and responsibility of the government, safety regulations and medical malpractice.


1. Violences sur le corps de la femme
Violences sur le corps de la femme : aspects juridiques, culturels et éthiques / sous la direction de Christian Hervé, Michèle Stanton-Jean et Claire Ribau-Bajon ; avec les contributions de Jean-Claude Alvarez, Bernard Andrieu, Martine Brasseur, Philippe Charlier, Sylvie Cromer, Michel Doucin, Jean-Pierre Escarfail, Irène François Purssell, Christian Hervé, Gérard Lopez, Geoffrey Lorin de la Grandmaison, Allane Madanamoothoo, Jéhanne Marchaut, Michela Marzano, Jean-François Mattei, Rachid Mendjeli, Véronique Nahoum-Grappe, Marie Pezé, Simonne Plourde, Edwige Rude-Antoine, Sara Skandrani, Michèle Stanton-Jean, Édouard de Vienne. - Paris : Dalloz, 2012. - X, 197 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Thèmes et commentaires. actes, ISSN 1255-1155) Issu des actes de la 11e Journée de la Société française et francophone d'éthique médicale, SFFEM tenue à Paris en décembre 2011 et du 12e Séminaire d'experts de l'Institut international de recherche en éthique biomédicale, IIREB, Paris, mars 2012. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2012
Keywords: Women, Violence, Health, Human rights, Ethics,

2. Medical law and medical ethics
Medical law and medical ethics / Nils Hoppe and Jose Miola. - Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2014. - XX, 306 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references, notes and index. - 2014
Keywords: Great Britain, Medical ethics, Bioethics, Health, Regulation,

3. The Protection of the Right to Health and the Procedures for Voluntary Termination of Pregnancy between European Court of Human Rights and European Committee of Social Rights
The Protection of the Right to Health and the Procedures for Voluntary Termination of Pregnancy between European Court of Human Rights and European Committee of Social Rights / Lisa Lanzoni, Benedetta Liberali. - Napoli : Edizioni Scientifiche Italiane. - Page 219-230 In: European Social Charter and the Challenges of the XXI Century / edited by Marilisa D'Amico and Giovanni Guiglia, ISBN 9788849528763: (2014), Page 219-230. - 2014
Keywords: Italy, European Court of Human Rights, European Committee of Social Rights, Abortion, Health, Human rights, Cases,

4. Synthetic Biology: Solving the Pharmaceutical Industry's Innovation Problems?
Synthetic Biology: Solving the Pharmaceutical Industry's Innovation Problems? / Joachim Henkel and Robert Lüttke. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 11-18 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 11-18. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, World Health Organization, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Innovation, Patents, Biotechnology, Genetics, Intellectual property,

5. Synthetic Biology and Global Health in the Age of Intellectual Property
Synthetic Biology and Global Health in the Age of Intellectual Property / Henk van den Belt. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 19-43 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 19-43. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, TRIPS Agreement (Marrakesh, 15 April 1994), Health, Pharmaceuticals, Innovation, Patents, Biotechnology, Genetics, Intellectual property,

6. Synthetic Biology and IP: How Do Definitions of "Products of Nature" Affect Their Implications for Health?
Synthetic Biology and IP: How Do Definitions of "Products of Nature" Affect Their Implications for Health? / David Koepsell. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 45-53 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 45-53. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Biological and genetic resources, Innovation, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Patents, Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Intellectual property,

7. Synthetic Biology, Biotechnology Patents and the Protection of Human Health
Synthetic Biology, Biotechnology Patents and the Protection of Human Health : a Consideration of the Principals at Stake / Anna Falcone. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 55-76 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 55-76. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Health, Innovation, Pharmaceuticals, DNA, Patents, Genetics, Biotechnology, Intellectual property,

8. Patents and Living Matter: the Construction of a Patent System Attractive to Biotechnology
Patents and Living Matter: the Construction of a Patent System Attractive to Biotechnology / Ana Paula Myszczuk and Jussara Maria Leal De Meirelles. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 77-86 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 77-86. - 2014
Keywords: Health, Pharmaceuticals, Biological and genetic resources, DNA, Patents, Biotechnology, Human dignity, Genetics, Intellectual property, Cases,

9. Patents Originating in Human Tissue and Data: Questions on Benefit Creating and Benefit Sharing, on Morality and Property
Patents Originating in Human Tissue and Data: Questions on Benefit Creating and Benefit Sharing, on Morality and Property / David Townend. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 87-99 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 87-99. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Biological and genetic resources, Health, Patents, Biotechnology, Privacy, Bioethics, Human rights, Intellectual property,

10. Patenting SynBio in Anglo-America and Europe: Chaos or Opportunity
Patenting SynBio in Anglo-America and Europe: Chaos or Opportunity / Amina Agovic. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 101-121 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 101-121. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Australia, Europe, Health, Biological and genetic resources, Patents, Stem cells, Bioethics, Biotechnology, Intellectual property,

11. Synthetic Biology: Challenges and Legal Questions
Synthetic Biology: Challenges and Legal Questions / Jürgen Robienski and Jürgen Simon. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 123-143 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 123-143. - 2014
Keywords: United States of America, Germany, Europe, Health, Scientific research, Biotechnology, Biosafety, Intellectual property,

12. Exclusions and Exceptions to Patent Eligibility Revisited: Examining the Political Functions of the "Discovery" and "Ordre Public" Clauses in the European Patent Convention and the Arenas of Negotiation
Exclusions and Exceptions to Patent Eligibility Revisited: Examining the Political Functions of the "Discovery" and "Ordre Public" Clauses in the European Patent Convention and the Arenas of Negotiation / Ingrid Schneider. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 145-173 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 145-173. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Patents, Biotechnology, Health, Pharmaceuticals, Public policy, Community law, Intellectual property,

13. Synthetic Biology and IP Rights: in Defence of the Patent System
Synthetic Biology and IP Rights: in Defence of the Patent System / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain. - Dordrecht ; Heidelberg ; New York ; London : Springer. - Page 201-209 In: Synbio and Human Health : a Challenge to the Current IP Framework? / Iñigo de Miguel Beriain, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, editors, ISBN 9789401791953: (2014), Page 201-209. - 2014
Keywords: European Union, European Patent Office, Convention on the Grant of European Patents (Munich, 5 October 1973), Health, Pharmaceuticals, Patents, DNA, Biotechnology, Intellectual property, Community law,

14. The Right to Health and International Humanitarian Law
The Right to Health and International Humanitarian Law : Parallel Application for Building Peaceful Societies and the Prevention of Armed Conflict / Amrei Müller In: Wisconsin International Law Journal = ISSN 0743-7951: vol. 32, issue 3, page 415-456. - 2014
Keywords: World Health Organization, Health, Armed conflicts, International peace and security, International humanitarian law, Peacebuilding, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (New York, 16 December 1966), Human rights,

15. Treasuring What We Measure and Measuring What We Treasure: Post-2015 Monitoring for the Promotion of Equality in the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Sector
Treasuring What We Measure and Measuring What We Treasure: Post-2015 Monitoring for the Promotion of Equality in the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Sector / Inga T. Winkler, Margaret L. Satterthwaite, Catarina de Albuquerque In: Wisconsin International Law Journal = ISSN 0743-7951: vol. 32, issue 3, page 547-594. - 2014
Keywords: World Health Organization, UNICEF - United Nations Children's Fund, Health, Development, Water, Sanitation, Hygiene, Equality, Discrimination, Human rights,

Librarian's choice

These publications are selected for you by .

  • Raptopoulou, K., EU law and Healthcare Services: Normative Approaches to Public Health Systems, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, Law & Business, 2015. Showcase item

    Raptopoulou, K., EU law and Healthcare Services : Normative Approaches to Public Health Systems, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, Law & Business, 2015.

    EU Law and Healthcare Services: Normative Approaches to Public Health Systems focuses on the EU legal mechanisms surrounding healthcare law in Europe. You will benefit from a detailed examination of the extent to which the market imperatives that have been introduced in recent decades can actually influence, remodel, alter, unify, or fragment the national provision of health care services across the EU. This book takes a giant step towards bringing the frequently invoked criteria of universality, access to good quality care, equity, and solidarity to the fore, and for this reason is sure to make its mark on healthcare law in Europe.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Freeman, M. (ed.), Law and Global Health, Oxford, New York, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Freeman, M. (ed.), Law and Global Health, Oxford, New York, Oxford University Press, 2014.

    Current Legal Issues, like its sister volume Current Legal Problems is based upon an annual colloquium held at University College London. Each year leading scholars from around the world gather to discuss the relationship between law and another discipline of thought. Each colloquium examines how the external discipline is conceived in legal thought and argument, how the law is pictured in that discipline, and analyses points of controversy in the use, and abuse, of extra-legal arguments within legal theory and practice. Law and Global Health, the sixteenth volume in the Current Legal Issues series, offers an insight into the scholarship examining the relationship between global health and the law. Covering a wide range of areas from all over the world, articles in the volume look at areas of human rights, vulnerable populations, ethical issues, legal responses and governance.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Toebes, B. (ed.), The Right to Health : a Multi-country Study of Law, Policy and Practice, The Hague, Asser Press, Berlin, Springer, 2014.

    Toebes, B. (eds.), The Right to Health : a Multi-country Study of Law, Policy and Practice, The Hague, Asser Press, Berlin, Springer, 2014.

    This interdisciplinary study analyses how the internationally guaranteed human ‘right to health’ is realized by States at a national level. It brings together scholars from more than ten different countries, each of them analyzing the right to health in his or her country or region. They all focus on particular themes that are important in their country, such as health inequalities, the Millennium Development Goals, or the privatization of healthcare. And despite the differences in context, lessons can be learned from the rich experiences of the others, to learn how different countries implement (or not) health-related rights. In this book scholars, practitioners and policy makers in the fields of human rights law, health law, public health and their intersections will find a rich source of information, giving a boost to the international debate on propagation and implementation of the universal Right to Health.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Lezotre, P., International Cooperation, Convergence and Harmonization of Pharmaceutical Regulations: A Global Perspective, Amsterdam, etc., Academic Press, 2014.

    Lezotre, P., International Cooperation, Convergence and Harmonization of Pharmaceutical Regulations: A Global Perspective, Amsterdam, etc., Academic Press, 2014.

    This book provides the current status of the complex and broad phenomenon of cooperation, convergence and harmonization in the pharmaceutical sector (Part I), thoroughly evaluates its added value and its critical parameters and influencing factors (Part II) in order to recommend actions and measures to support the next steps for cooperation, convergence and harmonization (Part III). All of these recommendations in the book support the establishment of a better coordinated global pharmaceutical system which represents the best realistic alternative to fulfill the objective to establish a global coalition of regulators and to respond to an increased demand to further cooperation in the pharmaceutical sector. This proposed framework, which leverages all of the ongoing positive cooperation initiatives and uses as foundations all of the numerous harmonization projects developed over the years, presents advantages for all stakeholders and would definitively have significant added value to the promotion and protection of global public health.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Flood, C.M., The Right to Health at the Public/Private Divide: A Global Comparative Study, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Flood, C.M., The Right to Health at the Public/Private Divide : a Global Comparative Study, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2014.

    Through a comparative global study of countries from all continents representing a diversity of health, legal, political, and economic systems, this book explores the role of health rights to advance greater equality through access to health care. Does health care promote equality, or does it in fact advance the opposite result? Does inserting the idea of “the right to health” into health systems allow the reinsertion of public values into systems that are undergoing privatization? Or does it allow for private claims to be rearticulated as “rights,” in a way that actually reinforces inequality? This volume includes studies from countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Brazil, Canada, The Netherlands, China, and Nigeria, among many others, as well as authors with expertise regarding both the legal and health systems of their countries, making this a seminal study that allows readers to see the differing role of rights in various health systems.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Li, P., Health Technologies and International Intellectual Property Law : a Precautionary Approach, London, New York, Routledge, 2014.

    Li, P., Health Technologies and International Intellectual Property Law : a Precautionary Approach, London, New York, Routledge, 2014.

    The global transmission of infectious diseases has fuelled the need for a more developed legal framework in international public health to provide prompt and specific guidance during a large-scale emergency. This book develops a means for States to take advantage of the flexibilities of compulsory licensing in the Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS), which promotes access to medicines in a public health emergency. It presents the precautionary approach (PA) and the structure of risk analysis as a means to build a workable reading of TRIPS and to help States embody the flexibilities of intellectual property (IP).  The work investigates the complementary roles of the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) in order to promote the harmonisation of the precautionary approach in relation to the patenting of crucial pharmaceutical products. By bringing together international trade law and intellectual property law Phoebe Li demonstrates how through the use of risk analysis and the precautionary approach, States can still comply with their legal obligations in international law, while exercising their sovereignty right in issuing a compulsory licence of a drug patent in an uncertain public health emergency. This book will be of great interest to students and academics of medical and healthcare law, intellectual property law, international trade law, and human rights law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • Ebola and the Questions It Raises

    On August 8, the World Health Organization (WHO) Director-General Margaret Chan declared the West Africa Ebola crisis a “public health emergency of international concern,” saying “our collective health security depends on urgent support for containment in the affected countries”, triggering powers under the 2005 International Health Regulations (IHR). The Ebola outbreak raises a number of questions. Has the WHO responded to Ebola as swiftly as it should have? Since 1976 more than 15 Ebola outbreaks have erupted in sub-Saharan Africa, so why hasn’t it been eradicated already? And what about ethical questions?

    Read more
  • This Time for Africa

    Even though the biggest economy of the African continent is working on a new future, the country is still facing a lot of social problems. Lately, the news showed us the mine strikes in the platinum industry. These strikes can have an impact on other sectors as well, which is not preferable in a country like South Africa. Furthermore, there is unemployment and poverty, but still one of South Africa’s biggest problems is the people infected and affected by HIV/AIDS.

    Read more
  • Food Crisis

    The global increase in food prices will plunge millions of people into hunger worldwide. Starvation and food shortage already caused food riots and are threatening to destabilize regimes.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Special Topics

PPL keywords

Comments are closed.