- Research Guides
- Library services
- Library News
- About us
Space law is a relatively new branch of law, roughly starting in 1957 with the launch of the Sputnik I, the first satellite in space. Space law consists of international space law, governing the activities of States and international intergovernmental organizations, and national space law, governing the activities of individual countries and their nationals. Advancing technology and scientific progress extend human activities in space more and more. These developments will require new regulations of business activities, space tourism, traffic rules, the problem of dangerous space debris, rescue missions, contracts for mining expeditions, property rights on celestial bodies and encounters with alien entities.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Space Law. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library’s classification index code 148a. Outer Space and subject heading (keyword) Space Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
Tagged with: Space law
- Diederiks-Verschoor, I.H.P. and V. Kopal, An Introduction to Space Law, Alphen aan den Rĳn, Kluwer Law International, 2008.
- Hobe, S., B. Schmidt-Tedd and K.-U.Schrogl (eds.), Cologne Commentary on Space Law, Köln, Heymann, 2009.
- Benkö, M. and K.-U.Schrogl (eds.), Space Law: Current Problems and Perspectives for Future Regulation, Utrecht, Eleven International Publishing, 2005.
- Abeyratne, R., Space Security Law, Heidelberg, Springer, 2011.
- Catalano Sgrosso, G., International Space Law, Florence, LoGisma, 2011.
- Gangale, T., The Development of Outer Space: Sovereignty and Property Rights in International Space Law, Santa Barbara, CA, Praeger, 2009.
- Jasentuliyana, N., International Space Law and the United Nations, The Hague, Kluwer Law International, 1999.
- Christol, C.Q., Space Law: Past, Present and Future, Deventer, Kluwer Law and Taxation Publishers, 1991.
- Jakhu, R.S., T. Sgobba, P.S. Dempsey (eds.), The need for an integrated regulatory regime for aviation and space : ICAO for Space?, Vienna: New York: SpringerWienNewYork, 2012.
- Kim, D.H., Essays for the Study of the International Air and Space Law, Paju, Korean Studies Information Company, 2008.
- Lyall, F. and P.B. Larsen (eds.), Space Law, Aldershot, Ashgate, 2007.
- Marboe, I. (ed.), Soft Law in Outer Space, Wien etc., Böhlau, 2012.
- Oduntan, G., Sovereignty and Jurisdiction in the Airspace and Outer Space: Legal Criteria for Spatial Delimination, London, Routledge, 2012.
- Welck, S. von and R. Platzöder, Law of Outer Space, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 1987.
- Bohlmann, U., S.Freeland, “The Regulation of Space Activities and the Space Environment”, in: Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law, London: Routledge, 2013, pp. 375-391.
- Caselli, L.P., “Space Demilitarization Treaties in a New Era of Manned Nuclear Spaceflights”, Journal of Air Law and Commerce, 77 (2012), No. 4, pp. 641-669.
- Crockett, J.W., “Space Warfare in the here and now: the Rules of Engagement for U.S. Weaponized Satellites in the Current Legal Space Regime”, Journal of Air Law and Commerce, 77 (2012), No. 4, pp. 671-700.
- David, B., “A Tragedy of the Anticommons : the Economic Inefficiencies of Space Law”, Brooklyn Journal of International Law, 38 (2013), No. 2, pp. 524-578.
- Dunk, F. von der, “Outer Space Law Principles and Privacy”, in: Evidence from Earth Observation Satellites : Emerging Legal Issues, Leiden: Nijhoff, 2013, pp. 243-258.
- Forteau, M., “Space Law”, in The law of International Responsibility, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2010, pp. 903-914.
- Friedberg, J., “Bracing for the Impending Rocket Revolution : how to regulate International Environmental Space Flight”, Colorado Journal of International Environmental Law and Policy, 24 (2013), No. 1, pp. 197-229.
- Halstead, C.B., “Prometheus Unbound?: Proposal for a New Legal Paradigm for Air Law and Space Law: Orbit Law”, Journal of Space Law, 36 (2010), No. 1, pp. 143-205.
- Hobe, S., “The ILA Model Law for National Space Legislation”, Zeitschrift fur Luft und Weltraumrecht, 62 (2013), No. 1, pp. 1-8.
- Hobe, S., “The Impact of New Developments on International Space Law: New Actors, Commercialisation, Privatisation, Increase in the Number of ‘Space-Faring Nations’”, Uniform Law Review, 15 (2010), Nos. 3-4, pp. 869-881.
- Kim, D.H., “Proposal for Establishing an International Court of Air and Space Law”, Zeitschrift für Luft- und Weltraumrecht, 59 (2010), No. 3, pp. 362-371.
- Lyall, F., “Climate Change and Space Law”, in: Climate Change and Space Law, Cheltenham: Elgar, 2012, pp. 175-189.
- Modinger, J.H., “Keeping a Lid on Space Weaponization : the Prospects for an Arms Control Regime in Space”, in; Arms Control : History, Theory, and Policy, Santa Barbara, CA : Praeger, 2012, pp. 199-218.
- Pocar, F., “ An Introduction to the PCA’s Optional Rules for Arbitration of Disputes relating to Outer Space Activities”, Journal of Space Law, 38 (2012), No. 1, pp. 171-210.
- Yun, Z., “A Legal Regime for Space Tourism: Creating Legal Certainty in Outer Space”, Journal of Air Law and Commerce, 74 (2009), pp. 959-982.
- Böckstiegel, K.-H., M. Benkö and S. Hobe (eds.), Space Law: Basic Legal Documents, Dordrecht, Martinus Nijhoff, 1990 – …
Periodicals, serial publications
- Air and Space Law
- Air and Space Law (Online)
- Annals of Air and Space Law
- Cologne Commentary on Space Law
- ECSL News: Bulletin of the European Centre for Space Law
- Essential Air and Space Law
- Forum for Air and Space Law
- Journal of Space Law
- Korean Journal of Air and Space Law
- Proceedings of the … Colloquium on the Law of Outer Space
- Schriften zum Luft- und Weltraumrecht
- Studies in Space Law
- Utrecht Studies in Air and Space Law
- Yearbook of Air and Space Law
- Zeitschrift für Luft- und Weltraumrecht
- Li, K.L., World Wide Space Law Bibliography, Toronto, Carswell, 1978-1987.
- Space Law: A Bibliography: Cumulative Index of the Proceedings of Colloquiums of the International Institute of Space Law 1958-1994, New York, United Nations, 1996.
- White, I.L., C.E. Wilson and J.A. Vosburgh, Law and Politics in Outer Space: A Bibliography, Tucson, AZ, University of Arizona Press, 1972.
Seems like there are no recent acquisitions right now.
Electronic article available in library.
Electronic book available in library.
These publications are selected for you by Ingrid Kost.
Diederiks-Verschoor, I.H.P. and V. Kopal, An Introduction to Space Law, Alphen aan den Rĳn, Kluwer Law International, 2008.
The enormous growth during the last decade of outer space operations like direct broadcasting by satellite and the exploration of natural resources by remote sensing satellites have brought space law into dramatic prominence among the fields of international law. International, because the fundamental principle of space law since the cornerstone Outer Space Law of 1967 clearly requires that outer space and celestial bodies are free for exploration and use by all states in conformity with international law and are not subject to national appropriation. It is in light of the many new considerations now falling under the scope of international law because of their connection with space that this new edition of the best-known handbook in the field now appears. The latest developments in the field are closely monitored to provide the most updated information. Lawyers, students, and various businesses (especially in the telecommunications and aerospace industries) will find all the concise but comprehensive orientation and guidance needed to understand and deal with the legal problems and practical consequences arising from the main space treaties.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Weeks, E.E., Outer Space Development, International Relations and Space Law: A Method for Elucidating Seeds, Newcastle upon Tyne, Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2012.
This book is a call to educators to factor equality and diversity into the process of outer space development by creating a widespread movement to teach outer space development studies to all students, especially those who study social and behavioral sciences. In calling for this, the author is also putting out a call to visionary thinkers to increase public awareness that outer space is already in the process of being developed.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Fabre, H., L'usage de la force dans l'espace: réglementation et prévention d'une guerre en orbite, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2012.
Après avoir analysé l’objet et l’étendue de la réglementation internationale des armes spatiales dans le cadre des relations internationales et stratégiques, l’auteur présente des initiatives pour consolider la sécurité des activités spatiales et les principales orientations d’un régime de réduction du risque ASAT (armements antisatellites).View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Chatzipanagiotis, M., The Legal Status of Space Tourists in the Framework of Commercial Suborbital Flights, Köln, Heymann, 2011.
This study concerns the rights and duties of space tourists in suborbital flights. The author analyses issues relating to the applicable legal regime to such flights, air law or space law, the legal classification of space tourists as astronauts, problems of international criminal law, questions of jurisdiction and choice-of-laws, as well as issues of contractual and extra-contractual claims in case of an accident. The analysis is made de lege lata and de lege ferenda by examining the pertinent international conventions of air and space law, instruments of EU law, and domestic legislation in the US, Europe and the Russian Federation. A concise book for everyone interested in the legal challenges of suborbital space tourism.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Abeyratne, R., Space Security Law, Heidelberg, Springer, 2011.Against the variegated background of bewilderment and cautious optimism that space transportation offers, this book begins with an exposé on international politics, the principles of which, bear upon space transportation, as well as the closeness of air space and outer space, and activities that straddle both frontiers at the same time. It discusses current issues and possibilities of communications and transportation in outer space, as well as the liabilities and accountability of the key players of space exploration.
Hobe, S., B. Schmidt-Tedd and K.-U.Schrogl (eds.), Cologne Commentary on Space Law, Köln, Heymann, 2009.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Benkö, M. and K.-U.Schrogl (eds.), Space Law: Current Problems and Perspectives for Future Regulation, Utrecht, Eleven International Publishing, 2005.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, European Space Agency, by M. Pedrazzi.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Outer Space, by V. S. Vereshchetin.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Outer Space, Liability for Damage, by M. Pedrazzi.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Spacecraft, Satellites and Space Objects, by S. Hobe.
Asteroid(s) coming in at Collision Course
How to handle an incoming asteroid? What does Don Quijote have to do with it? Movies like “Deep Impact” and “Armageddon” make it seem so easy. But in reality there are many technological, legal and political obstacles to cope with. From 15-19 April, 2013, the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) will hold its third Planetary Defence Conference “Gathering for Impact!” in Flagstaff, Arizona, USA.Read more
The Moon Agreement of 1979 : What Relevance to Space Activities ?
Years of negotiations in the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space and vigorous drafting and re-drafting of an international treaty to govern the activities of States on the Moon, culminated in an unanimous acceptance of the Moon Agreement (or Moon Treaty) by the UN General Assembly in 1979.
The Agreement [...]Read more
- Adelta Legal Space Law
- European Centre for Space Law
- Forum on Air and Space Law, American Bar Association
- Institut für Luft- und Weltraumrecht, Universität zu Köln
- Institute of Air and Space Law, McGill University
- International Institute of Air and Space Law, Leiden University
- International Institute of Space Law
- International law Association, Space law Committee
- International Space Law, The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
- Jaxa legal database
- Space Law and Policy Library
- Space Law and Space Resources, by Philip Harris
- United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
More Research guides on Special Topics
- Air Law
- Cultural Heritage
- International Environmental Law
- International Labour Law
- International Watercourses
- Law of the Sea