On the 18th of June 2008, the three countries of the Benelux Economic Union signed a new treaty, which replaces the 1958 Treaty. With the new Benelux-Treaty, Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxembourg created a new incentive for their cross-border cooperation. A more integrated Common Market and Economic Union, and extended cooperation into new areas, such as sustainable development, justice and home affairs. The Benelux Economic Union will be renamed Benelux Union. With this new Treaty the three countries also intend to maintain their pioneering role for further European integration.

For the Dutch version of the new Treaty, click here. For the French version, click here.
Peace Palace Library keyword : Benelux

Librarian's choice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *