EU leadership

European Council President Herman Van Rompuy  or Jose-Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission or Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament? Together they will fly to Oslo on December 10 to represent the main institutions of the EU at the acceptance ceremony for the Nobel Peace Prize 2012. The EU decided to send all three men, but who will deliver the acceptance speech, and in what language? Perhaps the choice has not been made yet and internal struggles may have yet prevented a definitive choice. And why not send Catherine Ashton, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy or the President Christofias of Cyprus, holder of the current six month presidency.

Or Angela Merkel, the German Chancellor, the most powerful woman in the world, according to Forbes Magazine (2011), or Neelie Kroes, a European Commissioner from the Netherlands and firm believer in the European Union. Or a European citizen, randomly chosen by lottery, as Mr van Rompuy dedicated the award also to the European Citizens.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *