Participants Telders International Law Moot Court Competition 2013

25 University Teams from Europe participated in this competition, arguing a fictive case before a selection of eminent Judges. The Award Ceremony on April 27 took place in the Auditorium of The Hague Academy of International in the Peace Palace, after the hearing of the Final Arguments of the Winning Team Applicant (Leiden) vs. Winning Team respondent (Finland) and was the highlight of this 36th edition of Telders International Moot Court Competition. Master of Ceremony was Prof. Nico Schrijver, Member of the Supervisory board of the Telders International Moot Court Competition.

The teams could win several awards: 

The team of Leiden University – consisting of Emmy Heijmans, Triona Jacob, Amain Benaissa, Ross Galvin, coached by Erik Kopp and Andrea Varga, all Master students in Leiden University’s Public International Law Program, won the final round of this prestigious event.

Finalist was the University of Helsinki, consisting of Anne Hyatt, Tero Kivinen, Vesa Kyyrönen, Paavo Teittinen, coached by Ukri Soirila and Eliška Pírková.

The Leiden team also won the following team and individual awards:

-The Max Huber Award for Best Overall Team with the highest overall score for both applicant and respondent

-The Award for best Oralist (Ross Galvin)

-The Carnegie Foundation Award for the best Memorial for the Applicant was won by the team of the University of Utrecht, consisting of consisting of Simona Onicel, Elise Fresen, Svenja Kraaij en Violette Moons, coached by Otto Spijkers, won the Award for the best Memorial.

-The Carnegie Foundation Award for the Best Memorial for the Respondent was won by the team of Finland.

Carnegie Foundation Award. Fiinish TeamCarnegie Foundation Award 







Telders Wining Team 2013 Leiden University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *