An die Freude

Concert 28 August | The Hague, Dr Anton Philipszaal

The Hague will celebrate the hundredth birthday of its Peace Palace in style. What composition could be more appropriate than Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony? Its world-famous ‘Alle Menschen werden Brüder’ expresses the universal message of peace and harmony in Schiller’s poem ‘Ode to Joy’. The composer and committed pacifist Benjamin Britten, born a hundred years ago, will be remembered in a moving work by Arvo Pärt.

The Residentie Orkest

Since its first concert in 1904, the Residentie Orkest / The Hague Philharmonic has grown into one of the Netherlands’ major symphony orchestras. The orchestra was founded by Dr. Henri Viotta, who was also its first principal conductor. It quickly became a port of call for composers like Richard Strauss, Igor Stravinsky, Max Reger, Maurice Ravel, Paul Hindemith and Vincent d’Indy, as well as guest conductors including Arturo Toscanini, Bruno Walter, Leonard Bernstein and Hans Knappertsbusch.

After the Second World War, Willem van Otterloo became chief conductor of the Residentie Orkest from 1949 to 1973. He built up the orchestra’s exceptional reputation by combining its excellent playing with adventurous programming. After Van Otterloo, the chief conductors were (in order) Jean Martinon, Ferdinand Leitner, Hans Vonk, Evgenii Svetlanov, Jaap van Zweden and Neeme Järvi.

Residentie Orkest in the 21st Century

The Residentie Orkest is proving that even in the 21st century, symphonic music still has the power and beauty to move a large audience. Its reputation as one of the finest orchestras in Europe makes it an appropriate figurehead for The Hague as a cosmopolitan city of justice, peace and culture. The orchestra performs in concert series ‘at home’ in the Dr. Anton Philipszaal, and in other major concert halls in the Netherlands and abroad. The orchestra also gives regular concerts elsewhere in The Hague, such as the New Year’s concert and open-air concerts in the Zuiderpark. Annual highlights include a concert on a floating stage during The Hague’s Festival Classique, and accompanying productions by De Nederlandse Opera. In 2008 the Residentie Orkest received great critical acclaim for Messiaen’s rarely performed opera ‘Saint François d’Assise’. In September 2009 the Residentie Orkest received enthusiastic response during the China-tour, where concerts were given in Xiamen, Shanghai and Beijing.

Lawrence Renes, conductor

  • Emma Vetter, soprano
  • Kai Rüütel, alto
  • Frank van Aken, tenor
  • Juha Uusitalo, bass
  • Nederlands Concert Choir

Pärt, Cantus In Memoriam Benjamin Britten

Beethoven,  Symphony no. 9

Start 20:30h
Doors open 19:30h
Tickets starting from € 35.00
Click here for tickets

pages: 1 2

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *