On Wednesday, the Four Freedoms Awards were presented in Middelburg, The Netherlands. At the ceremony HM King Willem-Alexander, HM Queen Maxima and HRH Princess Beatrix were present at the Nieuwe Kerk in Middelburg. The International Four Freedoms Award, the overarching awards for the four freedoms, has been presented to Christiana Figueres Olsen from Costa Rica. Together with her colleagues she spent years in achieving the Paris climate agreement in 2015. She received the award from Deputy Prime Minister Hugo de Jonge.

Laureates Four Freedoms Awards 2018

Christiana Figueres - Paris Climate Agreement, International Four Freedoms Award 2018

Emmanuel de Merode - Virunga Alliance, Freedom from Want Award 2018

Erol Önderoğlu, Freedom of Speech Award 2018

Paride Taban, Freedom of Worship Award 2018

Urmila Chaudhary, Freedom from Fear Award 2018

The Four Freedoms Awards are presented each year to men and women whose achievements have demonstrated a commitment to those principles which President Roosevelt proclaimed in his historic speech to Congress on January 6, 1941, as essential to democracy: freedom of speech and expression, freedom of worship, freedom from want, freedom from fear.

The Roosevelt Institute has awarded the Freedoms Medals to some of the most distinguished Americans and world citizens of our time, including Harry S. Truman, H.R.H. Princess Juliana of the Netherlands, John F. Kennedy, Nelson Mandela, J. William Fulbright, Arthur Miller, Desmond Tutu, Terry Waite, and Jimmy Carter.

The international award of the Four Freedoms Medals, which is made in Middelburg, the Netherlands, in even-numbered years, began in 1982, the centennial of President Roosevelt’s birth and bicentennial of diplomatic relations between the United States and the Netherlands. In odd-numbered years the awards are presented to Americans in Hyde Park, New York.

[number of readers: 338]

Librarian's choice

Relevant PPL-keywords for further research

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *