Human Rights

Introduction

Human Rights - Research Guide International Law

Human Rights are basic rights and freedoms that every human being is entitled to, irrespective of his or her nationality, sex, religion, national or ethnic origin, language, sexual orientation, place of residence or any other status. Each person is equally entitled to human rights without discrimination. Human Rights are therefore considered to be universal rights. These include the right to life and liberty, freedom of thought and expression, the right to education, the right to food as well as economic, social and cultural rights. Human Rights are often expressed and ensured by law in the form of national legislation, international treaties, customary international law, general principles and other sources of international law. Human Rights entail both rights and obligations. States assume obligations and duties under international law to respect, to protect and to fulfill human rights. The obligation to protect requires States to protect individuals and groups against human rights abuses. At the individual level, each person should also respect the human rights of others.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field of Human Rights. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject heading (keyword) Human rights is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Library Special Women's rights and gender equality

New titles


1. Jueces y derechos humanos
Jueces y derechos humanos : hacia un sistema judicial transnacional / Mara Gómez. - México : Editorial Porrúa, 2014. - L, 489 pages. ; 21 cm. - (Biblioteca Porrúa de derecho procesal constitucional ; 86) On title page: Programa Universitario de Derechos Humanos, PUDH. Instituto Mexicano de Derecho Procesal Constitucional, IMDPC. - Author's name mentioned on cover and spine as Mara Gómez Pérez. - Originally thesis Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), 2012. - Bibliography: pages 457-489. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2014
Keywords: Mexico, Judicial organisation, Administration of justice, Transitional justice, Human rights, International law and national law, Universal Declaration of Human Rights (New York, 10 December 1948),

2. Going to Strasbourg
Going to Strasbourg : an oral history of sexual orientation discrimination and the European Convention on Human Rights / Paul Johnson. - New York : Oxford University Press, 2016. - XVIII, 216 pages. ; 24 cm Includes bibliographical references and an index. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), European Court of Human Rights, Sexual orientation, Discrimination, Human rights,

3. Ḥuqūq al-insān bayna siyādat al-dawla wa-al-ḥimāya al-duwaliyya
Ḥuqūq al-insān bayna siyādat al-dawla wa-al-ḥimāya al-duwaliyya / al-Duktūr Yaḥyá Yāsīn Saʻūd. - al-Qāhira : al-Markaz al-Qawmī li-al-Iṣdārāt al-Qānūniyya, 2016. - 355 pages. ; 25 cm With abstract in English. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 329-346). - 2016
Keywords: Human rights, Sovereignty, Minorities, Humanitarian intervention, Constitutional law, Comparative law,

4. Iʻlān ḥālat al-ṭawāriʼ wa-āṯāruhu ʻalá ḥuqūq al-insān
Iʻlān ḥālat al-ṭawāriʼ wa-āṯāruhu ʻalá ḥuqūq al-insān / al-Duktūr ʻAbbās ʻAbd al-Amīr Ibrāhīm al-ʻĀmirī. - Bayrūt : Manšūrāt al-Ḥalabī al-Ḥuqūqiyya, 2016. - 320 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references. - 2016
Keywords: Iraq, State of emergency, Legitimacy, Human rights, United Nations Human Rights Council, Constitutional law, Comparative law,

5. Dawr al-munaẓẓamāt ġayr al-ḥukūmiyya fī ḍamān ḥuqūq al-insān
Dawr al-munaẓẓamāt ġayr al-ḥukūmiyya fī ḍamān ḥuqūq al-insān : (dirāsa taṭbīqiyya) / al-Ustāḏ Dah Šitī Ṣadīq Muḥammad. - al-Qāhira : al-Markaz al-Qawmī li-al-Iṣdārāt al-Qānūniyya, 2016. - 188 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references (pages 171-181). - 2016
Keywords: Islamic countries, Human rights, International humanitarian law, Non-governmental organizations, International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, Islam, Legal history,

6. The freedom of peaceful assembly in Europe
The freedom of peaceful assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley (eds.). - 1. edition. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2016. - 342 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Beiträge zum ausländischen und vergleichenden öffentlichen Recht ; Band 35) Co-published with Hart Publishing. - Freedom of assembly : the politics of presence / Anne Peters and Isabelle Ley -- United Kingdom (particularly England and Wales) / Jannika John -- France / Melina Garcin -- United States of America / Steven Less -- Belgium / Melina Garcin -- Germany / Rainer Grate -- Turkey / ElifAskin -- Russian Federation / Evgeniya Yushkova -- Ukraine / Halyna Perepelyuk -- Poland / Maria Stozek -- Hungary / Orsolya Salat -- Tunisia / Melina Garcin -- Freedom of assembly in Europe : comparison / Isabelle Ley and Anne Peters. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 333-338). - 2016
Keywords: Europe, United States of America, Tunesia, Turkey, Freedom of assembly, Human rights,

7. Human rights and private international law
Human rights and private international law / James J. Fawcett, Máire Ní Shúilleabháin, Sangeeta Shah. - First edition. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2016. - LXXI, 900 pages. ; 26 cm. - (Oxford private international law series) Includes bibliographical references and index. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Union, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Human rights, Private international law, Fair trial proceedings, Jurisdiction, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments,

8. Violence, Indigeneities and Human Rights
Violence, Indigeneities and Human Rights / Arturo Arias. - Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge. - Page 326-332 In: The Routledge Companion to Literature and Human Rights / edited by Sophia A. McClennen and Alexandra Schultheis Moore, ISBN 9780415736411: (2016), Page 326-332. - 2016
Keywords: Guatemala, Indigenous peoples, Human rights, Violence,

9. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : análisis y acción en contextos cambiantes / Rutgerd Boelens, Edgar Isch y Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 9-20 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 9-20. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

10. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : una sistematización conceptual introductoria / Edgar Isch López. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 21-43 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 21-43. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

11. Las industrias extractivas y los paisajes hídricos en transición en los países andinos
Las industrias extractivas y los paisajes hídricos en transición en los países andinos : análisis de la gobernanza de recursos y formación de territorios en Perú / Jessica Budds y Leonith Hinojosa. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 45-61 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 45-61. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

12. La influencia de la gran minería en Cajamarca y Apurímac, Perú
La influencia de la gran minería en Cajamarca y Apurímac, Perú : acumulación por despojo y conflictos por el agua / Milagros Sosa Landeo. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 63-79 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 63-79. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Mining,

13. Riego campesino con aguas residuales urbanas
Riego campesino con aguas residuales urbanas : contaminación, equidad y derechos de agua en México / Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 81-93 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 81-93. - 2012
Keywords: Mexico, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water pollution, Sewage, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

14. Las demandas campesinas frente a las demandas de la ciudad y de la industria
Las demandas campesinas frente a las demandas de la ciudad y de la industria : luchas por el agua en el páramo de Cayambe en el Ecuador / Rossana Manosalvas. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 95-106 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 95-106. - 2012
Keywords: Ecuador, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

15. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : el caso de las acequias en la cuenca del río Culebra, Colorado, Estados Unidos / Gregory A. Hicks y Devon G. Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 107-134 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 107-134. - 2012
Keywords: United States of America, Colorado, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

16. Mercados de agua y tecnologías de extracción
Mercados de agua y tecnologías de extracción : dos casos de estudio en Nepal / Yván Marcos López Gonzáles. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 135-148 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 135-148. - 2012
Keywords: Nepal, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

17. La "guerra" por el agua en Ica, Perú
La "guerra" por el agua en Ica, Perú : el colapso del agua subterránea / María Teresa Oré, David Bayer, Javier Chiong y Eric Rendón. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 149-166 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 149-166. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Groundwater, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

18. Desarrollo en la cadena de valor del arroz y cambio en el control de los recursos de tierra y agua en Chókwè, Mozambique
Desarrollo en la cadena de valor del arroz y cambio en el control de los recursos de tierra y agua en Chókwè, Mozambique / Gert Jan Veldwisch. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 167-187 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 167-187. - 2012
Keywords: Mozambique, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

19. Injusticia hídrica y pagos por servicios ambientales
Injusticia hídrica y pagos por servicios ambientales : mirando detrás del telón en Pimampiro, Ecuador / Jean Carlo Rodríguez-de-Francisco y Rutgerd Boelens. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 205-221 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 205-221. - 2012
Keywords: Ecuador, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

20. A la orilla del río, la cultura anfibia del Bajo Sinú en Colombia
A la orilla del río, la cultura anfibia del Bajo Sinú en Colombia : transformación, explotación y conflicto / Tatiana Roa Avendaño. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 223-235 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 223-235. - 2012
Keywords: Colombia, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

21. Las tribus y los bosques, la gente pescadora y el río
Las tribus y los bosques, la gente pescadora y el río : un repensar de la justicia hídrica en Kerala, India / Jyothi Krishnan y Abey George. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 237-248 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 237-248. - 2012
Keywords: India, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

22. Afectación del acceso al agua y reacciones mesuradas de los afectados
Afectación del acceso al agua y reacciones mesuradas de los afectados : ilustraciones de Bolivia / Vladimir Cossio. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 249-261 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 249-261. - 2012
Keywords: Bolivia, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

23. Avanzamos en la lucha por la justicia hídrica
Avanzamos en la lucha por la justicia hídrica / Antonio Gaybor Secaira. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 263-272 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 263-272. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

24. Agua, acumulación y acción local
Agua, acumulación y acción local : a modo de conclusiones / Edgar Isch López, Rutgerd Boelens y Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 273-283 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 273-283. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

25. Structuring Evaluations of Parliamentary Processes by the European Court of Human Rights
Structuring Evaluations of Parliamentary Processes by the European Court of Human Rights / Matthew Saul In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1077-1096. - 2016
Keywords: European Court of Human Rights, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Parliaments, Estimation, Proportionality, Margin of appreciation, Cases,

26. Subsidiarity, Exhaustion of Domestic Remedies, and the Margin of Appreciation in the Human Rights Jurisprudence of African Sub-Regional Courts
Subsidiarity, Exhaustion of Domestic Remedies, and the Margin of Appreciation in the Human Rights Jurisprudence of African Sub-Regional Courts / Andreas von Staden In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1113-1131. - 2016
Keywords: Africa, Regional courts, Exhaustion of domestic remedies, Margin of appreciation, Subsidiarity, Human rights,

27. The Challenges of Girls' Right to Education: let's talk about Human Rights-Based Sex Education
The Challenges of Girls' Right to Education: let's talk about Human Rights-Based Sex Education / Meghan Campbell In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1219-1243. - 2016
Keywords: United Nations, Girls, Women, Gender, Education, Equality, Religion, Human rights,

28. A Critical Reflection on the Conceptual and Legal Foundations of the Duty to prevent Torture
A Critical Reflection on the Conceptual and Legal Foundations of the Duty to prevent Torture / Isobel Renzulli In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1244-1263. - 2016
Keywords: Torture, European Convention for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (Strasbourg, 26 November 1987), Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (New York, 10 December 1984), Obligations of the state, Deprivation of liberty, Prevention, Human rights,

29. Defending the CRPD: Dignity, Flourishing, and the Universal Right to Mental Health
Defending the CRPD: Dignity, Flourishing, and the Universal Right to Mental Health / Andrew Molas In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1264-1276. - 2016
Keywords: United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (New York, 13 December 2006), Health, Invalidity, Mental illness, Human dignity, Human rights,

30. The Convention of Human Rights and Biomedicine revisited: Critical Assessment
The Convention of Human Rights and Biomedicine revisited: Critical Assessment / Vera Lúcia Raposo In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1277-1294. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, Convention for the protection of Human Rights and dignity of the human being with regard to the application of biology and medicine (Oviedo, 4 April 1997), European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Human dignity, Bioethics,

31. Politicising Human Rights in Europe: Challenges to Legal Constitutionalism from the Left and the Right
Politicising Human Rights in Europe: Challenges to Legal Constitutionalism from the Left and the Right / Kate Nash In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1295-1308. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, Constitutionalism, Human rights, Politics,

32. The Protection of Vulnerable Groups and Individuals by the European Court of Human Rights
The Protection of Vulnerable Groups and Individuals by the European Court of Human Rights / Yussef Al Tamini In: Journal européen des droits de l'homme = European Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 2294-9313: (2016), issue 5, page 561-583. - 2016
Keywords: European Court of Human Rights, Protection, Victims, Detainees, Children, Margin of appreciation, Human rights, Cases,

33. Reform des Dubliner Systems
Reform des Dubliner Systems : kritische Auseinandersetzung mit den Plänen der Europäischen Kommission / Dr. Reinhard Marx In: Zeitschrift für Ausländerrecht und Ausländerpolitik = ISSN 0721-5746: vol. 36, issue 11-12, page 366-375. - 2016
Keywords: European Union, Third states, Refugees, Emigration and immigration, Statelessness, Asylum, Convention Determining the State Responsible for Examining Applications for Asylum Lodged in one of the Member States of the European Communities (Dublin, 15 June 1990),

34. Organized Chaos: Informal Institution Building among Palestinian Refugees in the Maashouk Gathering in South Libanon
Organized Chaos: Informal Institution Building among Palestinian Refugees in the Maashouk Gathering in South Libanon / Nasser Yassin, Nora Stel, Rima Rassi In: Journal of Refugee Studies = ISSN 0951-6328: vol. 29, issue 3, page 341-362. - 2016
Keywords: Israel, Lebanon, United Nations, Arab-Israeli conflict, Palestinians, Refugees, Human rights, United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East,

35. Internal Displacement, the Camp and the Construction of Citizenship: Perspectives from Northern Uganda
Internal Displacement, the Camp and the Construction of Citizenship: Perspectives from Northern Uganda / Marjoke A. Oosterom In: Journal of Refugee Studies = ISSN 0951-6328: vol. 29, issue 3, page 363-387. - 2016
Keywords: Uganda, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Refugees, Internally displaced persons, Citizenship, Human rights,

36. Nu ook nog een Brexit uit de Europese Conventie?
Nu ook nog een Brexit uit de Europese Conventie? / Carla Zoethout In: Nederlands juristenblad = ISSN 0165-0483: vol. 91, issue 36, page 2678-2681. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Union, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Brexit, Withdrawal, Community law,

37. Freedom of Assembly
Freedom of Assembly : The Politics of Presence / by Anne Peters and Isabelle Ley. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Pages 9-20 In: The Freedom of Peaceful Assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley, ISBN 9783848724499: (2016), Pages 9-20. - 2016
Keywords: Freedom of assembly, Human rights,

38. Freedom of Assembly in Europe
Freedom of Assembly in Europe : Comparison / by Isabelle Ley and Anne Peters. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Pages 277-328 In: The Freedom of Peaceful Assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley, ISBN 9783848724499: (2016), Pages 277-328. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, United States of America, Tunesia, Turkey, Freedom of assembly, Human rights, Comparative law,

39. Can Digital Speech Loosen the Gordian Knot of Reputation Law
Can Digital Speech Loosen the Gordian Knot of Reputation Law / Elizabeth A. Kirley In: Santa Clara computer and high technology law journal = ISSN 0882-3383: vol. 32, issue 2, page 171-220. - 2016
Keywords: United States of America, European Union, Freedom of expression, Electronic publications, Public persons, Human rights,
Tagged with:

Bibliography

Reference works

 (in the catalogue: Reference works can best be found using the advanced search option. Select keyword and type human rights and in the next line select keyword and type manuals)

Books and reference works on selected issues

Documents / Instruments

There are nine core international human rights instruments, often supplemented by optional protocols dealing with specific concerns. Each of these  instruments has established a committee of experts to monitor implementation of the treaty provisions by its State parties. These instruments and committees are: International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination) ; The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (Human Rights Committee); International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights); Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women); Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (Committee against Torture); Convention on the Rights of the Child (Committee on the Rights of the Child); International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families (committee on Migrant Workers); International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance (Committee on Enforced Disappearances) and the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities).

Regional Instruments

There are regional human right instruments in Europe, the Americas and Africa:

Africa

 

Americas

 

Europe:

 

A selection of books containing a compilation of human rights instruments:

Online: U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights, Universal Human Rights Instruments.

(In the catalogue: Documents can best be found using the advanced search option. Select keyword and type human rights and in the next line select keyword and type documents)

Periodicals, serial publications

see this link for other human rights related journals http://lawlib.wlu.edu/LJ/index2014.aspx?country=All%20Countries&subject=Human+Rights

Bibliographies

New titles


1. Jueces y derechos humanos
Jueces y derechos humanos : hacia un sistema judicial transnacional / Mara Gómez. - México : Editorial Porrúa, 2014. - L, 489 pages. ; 21 cm. - (Biblioteca Porrúa de derecho procesal constitucional ; 86) On title page: Programa Universitario de Derechos Humanos, PUDH. Instituto Mexicano de Derecho Procesal Constitucional, IMDPC. - Author's name mentioned on cover and spine as Mara Gómez Pérez. - Originally thesis Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), 2012. - Bibliography: pages 457-489. - Includes bibliographical references. - 2014
Keywords: Mexico, Judicial organisation, Administration of justice, Transitional justice, Human rights, International law and national law, Universal Declaration of Human Rights (New York, 10 December 1948),

2. Going to Strasbourg
Going to Strasbourg : an oral history of sexual orientation discrimination and the European Convention on Human Rights / Paul Johnson. - New York : Oxford University Press, 2016. - XVIII, 216 pages. ; 24 cm Includes bibliographical references and an index. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), European Court of Human Rights, Sexual orientation, Discrimination, Human rights,

3. Ḥuqūq al-insān bayna siyādat al-dawla wa-al-ḥimāya al-duwaliyya
Ḥuqūq al-insān bayna siyādat al-dawla wa-al-ḥimāya al-duwaliyya / al-Duktūr Yaḥyá Yāsīn Saʻūd. - al-Qāhira : al-Markaz al-Qawmī li-al-Iṣdārāt al-Qānūniyya, 2016. - 355 pages. ; 25 cm With abstract in English. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 329-346). - 2016
Keywords: Human rights, Sovereignty, Minorities, Humanitarian intervention, Constitutional law, Comparative law,

4. Iʻlān ḥālat al-ṭawāriʼ wa-āṯāruhu ʻalá ḥuqūq al-insān
Iʻlān ḥālat al-ṭawāriʼ wa-āṯāruhu ʻalá ḥuqūq al-insān / al-Duktūr ʻAbbās ʻAbd al-Amīr Ibrāhīm al-ʻĀmirī. - Bayrūt : Manšūrāt al-Ḥalabī al-Ḥuqūqiyya, 2016. - 320 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references. - 2016
Keywords: Iraq, State of emergency, Legitimacy, Human rights, United Nations Human Rights Council, Constitutional law, Comparative law,

5. Dawr al-munaẓẓamāt ġayr al-ḥukūmiyya fī ḍamān ḥuqūq al-insān
Dawr al-munaẓẓamāt ġayr al-ḥukūmiyya fī ḍamān ḥuqūq al-insān : (dirāsa taṭbīqiyya) / al-Ustāḏ Dah Šitī Ṣadīq Muḥammad. - al-Qāhira : al-Markaz al-Qawmī li-al-Iṣdārāt al-Qānūniyya, 2016. - 188 pages. ; 25 cm Includes bibliographical references (pages 171-181). - 2016
Keywords: Islamic countries, Human rights, International humanitarian law, Non-governmental organizations, International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, Islam, Legal history,

6. The freedom of peaceful assembly in Europe
The freedom of peaceful assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley (eds.). - 1. edition. - Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2016. - 342 pages. ; 23 cm. - (Beiträge zum ausländischen und vergleichenden öffentlichen Recht ; Band 35) Co-published with Hart Publishing. - Freedom of assembly : the politics of presence / Anne Peters and Isabelle Ley -- United Kingdom (particularly England and Wales) / Jannika John -- France / Melina Garcin -- United States of America / Steven Less -- Belgium / Melina Garcin -- Germany / Rainer Grate -- Turkey / ElifAskin -- Russian Federation / Evgeniya Yushkova -- Ukraine / Halyna Perepelyuk -- Poland / Maria Stozek -- Hungary / Orsolya Salat -- Tunisia / Melina Garcin -- Freedom of assembly in Europe : comparison / Isabelle Ley and Anne Peters. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 333-338). - 2016
Keywords: Europe, United States of America, Tunesia, Turkey, Freedom of assembly, Human rights,

7. Human rights and private international law
Human rights and private international law / James J. Fawcett, Máire Ní Shúilleabháin, Sangeeta Shah. - First edition. - Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2016. - LXXI, 900 pages. ; 26 cm. - (Oxford private international law series) Includes bibliographical references and index. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Union, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Human rights, Private international law, Fair trial proceedings, Jurisdiction, Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments,

8. Violence, Indigeneities and Human Rights
Violence, Indigeneities and Human Rights / Arturo Arias. - Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge. - Page 326-332 In: The Routledge Companion to Literature and Human Rights / edited by Sophia A. McClennen and Alexandra Schultheis Moore, ISBN 9780415736411: (2016), Page 326-332. - 2016
Keywords: Guatemala, Indigenous peoples, Human rights, Violence,

9. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : análisis y acción en contextos cambiantes / Rutgerd Boelens, Edgar Isch y Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 9-20 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 9-20. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

10. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : una sistematización conceptual introductoria / Edgar Isch López. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 21-43 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 21-43. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

11. Las industrias extractivas y los paisajes hídricos en transición en los países andinos
Las industrias extractivas y los paisajes hídricos en transición en los países andinos : análisis de la gobernanza de recursos y formación de territorios en Perú / Jessica Budds y Leonith Hinojosa. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 45-61 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 45-61. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

12. La influencia de la gran minería en Cajamarca y Apurímac, Perú
La influencia de la gran minería en Cajamarca y Apurímac, Perú : acumulación por despojo y conflictos por el agua / Milagros Sosa Landeo. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 63-79 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 63-79. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Mining,

13. Riego campesino con aguas residuales urbanas
Riego campesino con aguas residuales urbanas : contaminación, equidad y derechos de agua en México / Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 81-93 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 81-93. - 2012
Keywords: Mexico, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water pollution, Sewage, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

14. Las demandas campesinas frente a las demandas de la ciudad y de la industria
Las demandas campesinas frente a las demandas de la ciudad y de la industria : luchas por el agua en el páramo de Cayambe en el Ecuador / Rossana Manosalvas. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 95-106 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 95-106. - 2012
Keywords: Ecuador, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

15. Justicia hídrica
Justicia hídrica : el caso de las acequias en la cuenca del río Culebra, Colorado, Estados Unidos / Gregory A. Hicks y Devon G. Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 107-134 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 107-134. - 2012
Keywords: United States of America, Colorado, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

16. Mercados de agua y tecnologías de extracción
Mercados de agua y tecnologías de extracción : dos casos de estudio en Nepal / Yván Marcos López Gonzáles. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 135-148 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 135-148. - 2012
Keywords: Nepal, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

17. La "guerra" por el agua en Ica, Perú
La "guerra" por el agua en Ica, Perú : el colapso del agua subterránea / María Teresa Oré, David Bayer, Javier Chiong y Eric Rendón. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 149-166 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 149-166. - 2012
Keywords: Peru, Groundwater, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

18. Desarrollo en la cadena de valor del arroz y cambio en el control de los recursos de tierra y agua en Chókwè, Mozambique
Desarrollo en la cadena de valor del arroz y cambio en el control de los recursos de tierra y agua en Chókwè, Mozambique / Gert Jan Veldwisch. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 167-187 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 167-187. - 2012
Keywords: Mozambique, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice, Privatization,

19. Injusticia hídrica y pagos por servicios ambientales
Injusticia hídrica y pagos por servicios ambientales : mirando detrás del telón en Pimampiro, Ecuador / Jean Carlo Rodríguez-de-Francisco y Rutgerd Boelens. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 205-221 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 205-221. - 2012
Keywords: Ecuador, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

20. A la orilla del río, la cultura anfibia del Bajo Sinú en Colombia
A la orilla del río, la cultura anfibia del Bajo Sinú en Colombia : transformación, explotación y conflicto / Tatiana Roa Avendaño. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 223-235 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 223-235. - 2012
Keywords: Colombia, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

21. Las tribus y los bosques, la gente pescadora y el río
Las tribus y los bosques, la gente pescadora y el río : un repensar de la justicia hídrica en Kerala, India / Jyothi Krishnan y Abey George. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 237-248 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 237-248. - 2012
Keywords: India, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

22. Afectación del acceso al agua y reacciones mesuradas de los afectados
Afectación del acceso al agua y reacciones mesuradas de los afectados : ilustraciones de Bolivia / Vladimir Cossio. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 249-261 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 249-261. - 2012
Keywords: Bolivia, Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

23. Avanzamos en la lucha por la justicia hídrica
Avanzamos en la lucha por la justicia hídrica / Antonio Gaybor Secaira. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 263-272 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 263-272. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

24. Agua, acumulación y acción local
Agua, acumulación y acción local : a modo de conclusiones / Edgar Isch López, Rutgerd Boelens y Francisco Peña. - Wageningen : Justicia Hídrica ; Cusco : CBC, Centro Bartolomé de Las Casas ; Lima : Fondo Editorial, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú ; Lima : IEP, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos. - Page 273-283 In: Agua, injusticia y conflictos / Edgar Isch L., Rutgerd Boelens, Francisco Peña, editores, ISBN 9786124121050: (2012), Page 273-283. - 2012
Keywords: Water rights, Water use, Water management, Water, Natural resources, Conflicts, Human rights, Social justice,

25. Structuring Evaluations of Parliamentary Processes by the European Court of Human Rights
Structuring Evaluations of Parliamentary Processes by the European Court of Human Rights / Matthew Saul In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1077-1096. - 2016
Keywords: European Court of Human Rights, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Parliaments, Estimation, Proportionality, Margin of appreciation, Cases,

26. Subsidiarity, Exhaustion of Domestic Remedies, and the Margin of Appreciation in the Human Rights Jurisprudence of African Sub-Regional Courts
Subsidiarity, Exhaustion of Domestic Remedies, and the Margin of Appreciation in the Human Rights Jurisprudence of African Sub-Regional Courts / Andreas von Staden In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1113-1131. - 2016
Keywords: Africa, Regional courts, Exhaustion of domestic remedies, Margin of appreciation, Subsidiarity, Human rights,

27. The Challenges of Girls' Right to Education: let's talk about Human Rights-Based Sex Education
The Challenges of Girls' Right to Education: let's talk about Human Rights-Based Sex Education / Meghan Campbell In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1219-1243. - 2016
Keywords: United Nations, Girls, Women, Gender, Education, Equality, Religion, Human rights,

28. A Critical Reflection on the Conceptual and Legal Foundations of the Duty to prevent Torture
A Critical Reflection on the Conceptual and Legal Foundations of the Duty to prevent Torture / Isobel Renzulli In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1244-1263. - 2016
Keywords: Torture, European Convention for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (Strasbourg, 26 November 1987), Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (New York, 10 December 1984), Obligations of the state, Deprivation of liberty, Prevention, Human rights,

29. Defending the CRPD: Dignity, Flourishing, and the Universal Right to Mental Health
Defending the CRPD: Dignity, Flourishing, and the Universal Right to Mental Health / Andrew Molas In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1264-1276. - 2016
Keywords: United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (New York, 13 December 2006), Health, Invalidity, Mental illness, Human dignity, Human rights,

30. The Convention of Human Rights and Biomedicine revisited: Critical Assessment
The Convention of Human Rights and Biomedicine revisited: Critical Assessment / Vera Lúcia Raposo In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1277-1294. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, Convention for the protection of Human Rights and dignity of the human being with regard to the application of biology and medicine (Oviedo, 4 April 1997), European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Human dignity, Bioethics,

31. Politicising Human Rights in Europe: Challenges to Legal Constitutionalism from the Left and the Right
Politicising Human Rights in Europe: Challenges to Legal Constitutionalism from the Left and the Right / Kate Nash In: The International Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 1364-2987: vol. 20, issue 8, page 1295-1308. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, Constitutionalism, Human rights, Politics,

32. The Protection of Vulnerable Groups and Individuals by the European Court of Human Rights
The Protection of Vulnerable Groups and Individuals by the European Court of Human Rights / Yussef Al Tamini In: Journal européen des droits de l'homme = European Journal of Human Rights = ISSN 2294-9313: (2016), issue 5, page 561-583. - 2016
Keywords: European Court of Human Rights, Protection, Victims, Detainees, Children, Margin of appreciation, Human rights, Cases,

33. Reform des Dubliner Systems
Reform des Dubliner Systems : kritische Auseinandersetzung mit den Plänen der Europäischen Kommission / Dr. Reinhard Marx In: Zeitschrift für Ausländerrecht und Ausländerpolitik = ISSN 0721-5746: vol. 36, issue 11-12, page 366-375. - 2016
Keywords: European Union, Third states, Refugees, Emigration and immigration, Statelessness, Asylum, Convention Determining the State Responsible for Examining Applications for Asylum Lodged in one of the Member States of the European Communities (Dublin, 15 June 1990),

34. Organized Chaos: Informal Institution Building among Palestinian Refugees in the Maashouk Gathering in South Libanon
Organized Chaos: Informal Institution Building among Palestinian Refugees in the Maashouk Gathering in South Libanon / Nasser Yassin, Nora Stel, Rima Rassi In: Journal of Refugee Studies = ISSN 0951-6328: vol. 29, issue 3, page 341-362. - 2016
Keywords: Israel, Lebanon, United Nations, Arab-Israeli conflict, Palestinians, Refugees, Human rights, United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East,

35. Internal Displacement, the Camp and the Construction of Citizenship: Perspectives from Northern Uganda
Internal Displacement, the Camp and the Construction of Citizenship: Perspectives from Northern Uganda / Marjoke A. Oosterom In: Journal of Refugee Studies = ISSN 0951-6328: vol. 29, issue 3, page 363-387. - 2016
Keywords: Uganda, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Refugees, Internally displaced persons, Citizenship, Human rights,

36. Nu ook nog een Brexit uit de Europese Conventie?
Nu ook nog een Brexit uit de Europese Conventie? / Carla Zoethout In: Nederlands juristenblad = ISSN 0165-0483: vol. 91, issue 36, page 2678-2681. - 2016
Keywords: Great Britain, European Union, European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Rome, 4 November 1950), Brexit, Withdrawal, Community law,

37. Freedom of Assembly
Freedom of Assembly : The Politics of Presence / by Anne Peters and Isabelle Ley. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Pages 9-20 In: The Freedom of Peaceful Assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley, ISBN 9783848724499: (2016), Pages 9-20. - 2016
Keywords: Freedom of assembly, Human rights,

38. Freedom of Assembly in Europe
Freedom of Assembly in Europe : Comparison / by Isabelle Ley and Anne Peters. - Baden-Baden : Nomos. - Pages 277-328 In: The Freedom of Peaceful Assembly in Europe / Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, Dr. Isabelle Ley, ISBN 9783848724499: (2016), Pages 277-328. - 2016
Keywords: Europe, United States of America, Tunesia, Turkey, Freedom of assembly, Human rights, Comparative law,

39. Can Digital Speech Loosen the Gordian Knot of Reputation Law
Can Digital Speech Loosen the Gordian Knot of Reputation Law / Elizabeth A. Kirley In: Santa Clara computer and high technology law journal = ISSN 0882-3383: vol. 32, issue 2, page 171-220. - 2016
Keywords: United States of America, European Union, Freedom of expression, Electronic publications, Public persons, Human rights,

Librarian's choice

  • Zeegers, K., International Criminal Tribunals and Human Rights Law: Adherence and Contextualization, The Hague, Asser Press, 2016.

    This book addresses the interpretation and application of human rights norms by International Criminal Tribunals (ICTs). Such Tribunals are widely heralded as humanrights defenders. At the same time, however, they employ activities that necessarilyentail the risk of human rights violations: they conduct criminal investigations, arrest and detain individuals, and put them on trial. This book investigates this flip-side of the ICTs’ relationship with international human rights law, and focuses on the ICTs’own interpretation and application of human rights norms.
    Firstly, the book addresses whether and how ICTs are bound by human rights law, since unlike states they do not sign or ratify human rights conventions. Secondly, the book provides an in-depth analysis of the way in which ICTs interpret and apply human rights norms, compared to the way in which these norms are interpreted in a traditional state-context. Relying on the unique circumstances in which they operate, ICTs have often deviated from generally accepted interpretations of human rights. The author critically examines this so-called contextual approach and seeks to recommend ways in which ICTs can improve their interpretative practice by giving due regard to the context in which they operate, while still providing adequate human rights protection.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Gibney, M., International Human Rights Law: Returning to Universal Principles, Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

    This clear and compelling book challenges the reader to rethink the entire basis for human rights, providing a vastly different vision of a way forward out of our current quagmire. Mark Gibney persuasively advocates for a much broader reading of the law on state responsibility, arguing that current law misses most of the ways in which states fail to protect human rights and police violations. Calling for other measures to provide victims the 'effective remedy' that international human rights law promises, Gibney sets forth a series of practical steps that would profoundly change the nature of human rights protection.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Renouard, J., Human Rights in American Foreign Policy: From the 1960s to the Soviet Collapse, Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press, PENN, 2016

    International human rights issues perpetually highlight the tension between political interest and idealism. Over the last fifty years, the United States has labored to find an appropriate response to each new human rights crisis, balancing national and global interests as well as political and humanitarian impulses.

    Human Rights in American Foreign Policy explores America's international human rights policies from the Vietnam War era to the end of the Cold War. Global in scope and ambitious in scale, this book examines American responses to a broad array of human rights violations: torture and political imprisonment in South America; apartheid in South Africa; state violence in China; civil wars in Central America; persecution of Jews in the Soviet Union; movements for democracy and civil liberties in East Asia and Eastern Europe; and revolutionary political transitions in Iran, Nicaragua, and the collapsing USSR.

    Joe Renouard challenges the characterization of American human rights policymaking as one of inaction, hypocrisy, and double standards. Arguing that a consistent standard is impractical, he explores how policymakers and citizens have weighed the narrow pursuit of traditional national interests with the desire to promote human rights. Human Rights in American Foreign Policy renders coherent a series of disparate foreign policy decisions during a tumultuous time in world history. Ultimately the United States emerges as neither exceptionally compassionate nor unusually wicked. Rather, it is a nation that manages by turns to be cautiously pragmatic, boldly benevolent, and coldly self-interested.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Saul, B., Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights: International and Regional Jurisprudence, Oxford, UK, Hart Publishing, 2016.

    Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights explores how general human rights standards have enabled, empowered and constrained indigenous peoples in claiming and defending their essential economic, social, cultural, civil and political interests. The book examines the jurisprudence of United Nations treaty committees and regional human rights bodies (in Africa, the Americas and Europe) that have interpreted and applied human rights standards to the special circumstances and experiences of indigenous peoples. It focuses particularly on how human rights laws since the 1960s have been drawn upon by indigenous activists and victims to protect their interests in ancestral lands, natural resources, culture and language. It further explores the right to indigenous self-determination; civil and political rights; economic, social and cultural rights (including labour rights); family and children's rights; violence and discrimination against indigenous peoples; and access to justice and remedies for violations. The book also discusses international and regional efforts to define who is 'indigenous' and who is a 'minority', and the legal relationship between indigenous individuals and their communities. The jurisprudence considered in this book significantly shaped the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples 2007, which particularises and adapts general human rights standards for indigenous peoples. The book concludes by exploring future normative and implementation challenges in the light of the standard setting and consolidation, and political momentum, surrounding the UN Declaration and associated UN human rights mechanisms.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Wei, H.H., A Dialogical Concept of Minority Rights, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2016.

    In A Dialogical Concept of Minority Rights, Hanna H. Wei demonstrates that a more plausible and realistic concept of minority rights should consist of not only rights against the state but also rights against the group. She formulates and defends three separate but related rights to dialogue, and thoroughly analyses how they may operate not only to maintain a healthy balance between the minorities’ need to be culturally distinct and their need to relate to and belong in the larger society, but also that they address the generalisations and presuppositions on which the debate of multiculturalism has been based, and constitute the first step of a possible solution to many of the theoretical and practical difficulties of minority protection.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Paulussen, C. (et al)(eds.), Fundamental rights in international and European law: public and private law perspectives, The Hague, Asser Press, 2016.

    In this book various perspectives on fundamental rights in the fields of public and private international law are innovatively covered. Published on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague, the collection reflects the breadth and scope of the Institute’s research activities in the fields of public international law, EU law, private international law and international and European sports law. It does so by shedding more light on topical issues – such as drone warfare, the fight against terrorism, the international trade environment nexus and forced arbitration – that can be related to the theme of fundamental rights, which runs through all these four areas of research.

    Points of divergence and areas of common ground are uncovered in contributions from both staff members and distinguished external authors, having long-standing academic relations with the Institute.

    The Editors of this book are all staff members of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut, each of them representing one of the areas of research the Institute covers.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Costello, C., The Human Rights of Migrants in European Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.

    Focussing on access to territory and authorization of presence and residence for third-country nationals, this book examines the EU law on immigration and asylum, addressing related questions of security of residence. Concentrating on the key measures concerning both the rights of third-country nationals to enter and stay in the EU, and the EU's construction of illegal immigration, it provides a detailed and critical discussion of EU and ECHR migration and refugee law.

    Rights of admission include three categories of entrants: labour migrants, family migrants, and asylum seekers and refugees. Legal entry raises further questions, and recent key measures, including the EU Blue Card Directive, the Family Reunification Directive, and the Dublin Regulation and related instruments are examined. As most of these EU measures deal with those border crossings where human rights norms have already established some constraints on state discretion, the interaction between the EU norms and the case law of the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) is a key concern. The uniting theme is the interaction between established human rights norms, in particular the ECHR, and EU law. Does the EU fulfil its post-national promise to create forms of membership beyond the state, or in its treatment of non-Europeans, does it undermine human rights and existing legal protections?

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Temperman, J., Religious Hatred and International Law: The Prohibition of Incitement to Violence or Discrimination, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2016.

    The UN International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights obliges state parties to prohibit any advocacy of religious hatred that constitutes incitement to discrimination or violence. This book traces the origins of this provision and proposes an actus reus for this offence. The question of whether hateful incitement is a prohibition per se or also encapsulates a fundamental 'right to be protected against incitement' is extensively debated. Also addressed is the question of how to judge incitement. Is mens rea required to convict someone of advocating hatred, and if so, for what degree of intent? This analysis also includes the paramount question if and to what extent content and/or context factors ought to be decisive. The author extensively engages with comparative domestic law and compares the workings of the UN Human Rights Committee with those of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and the European Court of Human Rights.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

  • Nijhoff, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law - Ebooks.  Fulltext searchable collections of book titles (monographs, edited volumes, and handbooks) as published annually by Martinus Nijhoff Publishers. Subject that are covered include public international law, law of the sea, international trade law, international labour law, environmental law, European law, Islamic law, international relations, international organizations, terrorism and legal history.
  • Oxford Reports, International Human Rights Law. The Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law covers international decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts. The Human Rights Law Centre at Nottingham University has selected those cases which are most important for gaining an understanding of the rights and freedoms guaranteed under the European Convention on Human Rights. IHRL will provide a comprehensive coverage of the key issues determined by the European Commission and Court to date. Cases selected include all plenary and grand chamber judgments at the admissibility and merits stage of proceedings, as well as other decisions and judgments of significance for their contribution to the development of the case law of the European Convention. This module will include approximately 500 decisions from year 1961 to 2007, and thereafter 150 per year (out of 900-1000 decisions per year).
  • United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law, Human Rights Lecture Series. The Lecture Series contains a permanent collection of lectures of enduring value on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different regions, legal systems, cultures and sectors of the legal profession. The lectures are organized by subject matter, under the headings on the left of the page. Additional information about the lecturer and, when available, a brief description of the lecture, as well as related materials (lecture outline, presentation slides, references, recommended readings, etc.) can be accessed by clicking the “read more” link underneath the lecture titles.

 

Blogs

  • Symposium and Book launch: "Women's Human Rights and the Elimination of Discrimination".

    On the occasion of International Women’s Day, a Symposium including a book launch of the latest publication of the Academy, “Women’s Human Rights and the Elimination of Discrimination,” took place in the Auditorium of the Academy building of the Peace Palace on Wednesday 8 March 2017. The symposium was opened by a word of welcome of professor Jean-Marc Thouvenin, Secretary-General of The Hague Academy of International Law. After the welcome address Ms. Saskia Bruines, the Deputy-Mayor of The Hague held a speech about gender equality, women in leadership positions. Unfortunately, the glass ceiling for women in career related matters has not yet been shattered.

    Read more
  • International Women's Day: 8 March 2017

    International Women’s Day is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. International Women’s Day is celebrated in many countries around the world. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity. On this day the Hague Academy of International Law will organize a symposium and the booklaunch of the Centre’s 2014 research programme “Women’s Human Rights and the Elimination of Discrimination= Les droits des femmes et l’élimination de la discrimination”.

    Read more
  • Interview Sigrid Kaag

    This month, we have the honor of interviewing Ms. Sigrid Kaag, a top Dutch diplomat who currently serves as a United Nations Special Coordinator for Lebanon (UNSCOL). Last month, the Dutch Carnegie Foundation awarded Sigrid Kaag the Carnegie Wateler Peace Prize. Before the ceremony took place, we took the opportunity to interview Ms. Kaag to discuss her work at the UN, in particular, the succesful UN-OPCW joint mission Ms. Kaag led to eliminate the chemical weapons programme in Syria. We also discussed the role of international law in her daily work at the UN. Here’s what she had to say.

    Read more
  • 'The World Forgetting, by the World Forgot'

    At present there are many complex legal cases on cultural heritage waiting to be settled. These cases are a judicial challenge for all stakeholders. What makes it even more of a challenge is that most don’t realise the fact that cultural heritage is a component of a human rights issue. Cultural heritage could be described as a record of the genius of human beings. The legacy of artefacts, antiquities, traditions and living expressions could be seen as unintelligible foot print left behind for the next generations to mark our path through this world. It’s unimaginable to separate a people’s cultural heritage from the people itself and their rights.

    Read more
  • Towards a Toolbox for Nationality Legislation

    From 13 to 14 October Prof. Dr. Gerard–René de Groot will host his farewell seminar on the ”Future of nationality law” at Maastricht University. In this seminar specialists in the field of nationality law will discuss how academia and civil society can best collaborate in the fight to eradicate statelessness. With whole populations adrift, nationality and citizenship today are critically important to gain admittance in a state. Nationality is in fact commonly regarded as an inalienable right of every human being. Thus, the UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights (1948) states that “everyone has the right to a nationality” and that “no one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality.”

    Read more
  • A 100-year (Hi)Story of Statelessness

    This blog looks at the 100-year (hi)story of the international community’s response to the phenomenon of statelessness. It explores four key chapters: the early international agreements which set the first limits on states’ freedom to regulate nationality; the post-WWII response by the United Nations to the scourge of statelessness; the emergence of the right to a nationality as a fundamental – and justiciable – human right; and finally the launch of a bold and ambitious campaign to eradicate statelessness once and for all.

    Read more
  • Sports and Russian Doping: Fairness vs. the Human Right to Sport

    Devastating Wada reports documented systematic, state-sponsored doping in Russian athletics. It found widespread state action to hide cheating among Russian athletes in the run up to the London 2012 Olympics, as well as a comprehensive cover up of doping during the World Championships in Moscow and the Winter Olympics in Sochi a year later. The IOC decided not to impose a blanket ban on the Russian team competing in the Rio Olympic Games. What’s fair play? Which human rights are in play? What is the credibility of the Olympic Games?

    Read more
  • Ending Violence against Women

    Violence against women occurs throughout the world. Despite great strides made by the international women’s rights movement over many years, women and girls around the world are still married as children or trafficked into forced labor and sex slavery. They are refused access to education and political participation, and some are trapped in conflicts where rape is perpetrated as a weapon of war. Not to mention sexual violence against women and girls, massive rape and sexual assaults in India, Germany and Brazil. In this blog I will address the UNiTE campaign, goals and the most prominent global norms and standards concerning the ending of violence against women.

    Read more
  • Roma in Europe

    Cor de Vos, former mayor of Nieuwegein, representative of the Netherlands in CAHROM, the Comittee of the Council of Europe for ROMA issues talks about the policies which are needed in Europe to address the living conditions of Roma. A very big effort of all authorities on European, national and local level is needed and should be directed at lifting the miserable conditions of the Roma people at the grassroots, first of all in Central and Eastern Europe, in order to prevent an even worse scenario of riot and violence.

    Read more
  • The Gerritsen Collection

    The Gerritsen Collection is a comprehensive collection of works pertaining to women’s history, but it also contains a plentitude of books, articles and essays relevant to peace history and the development of international law. The collection honors the legacy of famous peace heroes and feminists. To help educate the public about the 19th century peace movement, the Library – with the assistance from the Bertha von Suttner Project – has subscribed to this database for 2015.

    Read more
  • Human Trafficking: Prevention, Prosecution and Protection under International Law

    Despite restrictions and obligations under international law, it is estimated that $31.6 billion is illegally profiteered each year from human trafficking and forced labour of over 27 million people. Human trafficking or trafficking in persons is defined in the 2000 Palermo Protocol as “the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring, or receipt of persons, by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion of abduction, of fraud, of deception, of the abuse of power of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, for the purpose of exploitation.”

    Read more
  • Delfi AS v. Estonia: ECHR's decision on liability of websites for offensive online comments of its readers!

    On 16 June 2015 the Grand Chamber of the European Court of Human Rights has delivered the long awaited final judgment in the case of Delfi AS v. Estonia. The Court ruled in favor of Estonia, embracing the idea that websites should be held liable for certain types of anonymous comments posted by users. The Court concluded that there was no violation of Article 10 of the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms. In this blog I will briefly discuss the background of this case on freedom of expression and the liability of user-generated content on websites and I will also quote the opinions of a few experts on the Delfi case.

    Read more
  • Mixed Migration Flows Across the Mediterranean: The EU Agenda on Migration

    Wars, conflict and persecution have forced more people than at any other time in history to flee their homes and seek refuge and safety elsewhere, according to UNHCR’s annual Global Trends Report: World at War, released on June 18, two days before world refugee day. One of the most recent and highly visible consequences of the world’s conflicts and the terrible suffering they cause has been the dramatic growth in the numbers of refugees seeking safety through dangerous sea journeys, including on the Mediterranean, in the Gulf of Aden and Red Sea, and in Southeast Asia.

    Read more
  • More Legal Protection for Journalists?

    On May first people around the world celebrate International Workers’ Day. Less known to the public are the festivities which take place Sunday, May third, in honor of World Press Freedom Day. On this date the international community celebrates the fundamental principles of press freedom; to evaluate press freedom around the world, to defend the media from attacks on their independence and to pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in the exercise of their profession.

    Read more
  • Border Controls and Human Rights: Migration in the Central Mediterranean

    The Central Mediterranean has, in the last years, turned into the epicentre of human (migrant) disasters. The Central Mediterranean route refers to the migratory flow coming from Northern Africa towards Italy and Malta through the Mediterranean Sea. Here, Libya often acts as nexus point where migrants from the Horn of Africa and Western African routes meet before embarking on their journey towards the EU.

    Read more
  • Should Police Officers Wear Body Cameras? The Mike Brown Law

    On 9 August the unarmed, afro-american 18-year-old boy, Michael Brown, was shot and killed by a 28-year-old caucasian police officer, Darren Wilson, in a working-class neighborhood in Ferguson, Mo. The shooting happened after police officer Wilson stopped Brown because he was jaywalking. Unfortunately both the police and the eyewitnesses tell a different story about what happened that evening. Eyewitnesses saw that Brown was shot while he trying to surrender but police officer Darren Wilson stated that Brown assaulted him just before the shooting.

    Read more
  • The Rights of Women and Elimination of Discrimination

    On Monday the 18th of August 2014 the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations will start. The Centre is a programme of The Hague Academy for International Law. Each year the Academy proposes a different research programme. This year’s programme is the Rights of Women and Elimination of Discrimination and the main focus will be on the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), the key international agreement on women’s human rights.

    Read more
  • Nelson Mandela (1918-2013)

    Former South African President Nelson Mandela (Madiba) passed away on Thursday December 5, 2013, at age of 95, after a long illness at his home in Johannesburg. “I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons will live together in harmony with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for, and to see realised. But my Lord, if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

    Read more
  • International Refugee Law blog series I: Exclusion of Refugee Status: The Criminal Refugee

    In the western world it is possible you live next to a war criminal, or your child might be playing with the daughter of a war criminal at school. It is also possible to live there without a real prospect of obtaining a form of legal status and without being held criminally responsible for the alleged crime. Who are these people living in legal limbo? why are they still here? The exclusion of refugee status (1F Refugee Convention) and its consequences will be dealt with in this blog.

    Read more
  • Women’s Rights and the Emergence of a New Wave of Feminism in Ukraine: The FEMEN Movement

    In recent years, the actions of FEMEN have been featured in many international media outlets. Originating as a Ukrainian feminist movement in 2008, FEMEN has since acquired an international position, establishing their European headquarters in Paris and expanding their focus on women’s rights violations worldwide. Nowadays the movement’s voice is heard all over the world. The FEMEN movement describes itself as “a founder of a new wave of feminism of the third millennium”. Their goal, like many other feminist activist groups in the past, is undermining the foundations of the male dominated world.

    Read more
  • Open Season for Whistleblowers? Snowden and the right to privacy

    One of the best known whistleblowers at the moment is Edward Snowden. Snowden gave certain selected NSA documents to the Guardian and the Washington Post because “I can’t in good conscience allow the U.S. government to destroy privacy, internet freedom and basic liberties for people around the world with this massive surveillance machine they’re secretly building”.

    Read more
  • Google Glasses and Privacy Rights in the Age of Wearable Computing

    The Google glass, reality enhancing, wearable computing that allows you to be connected to the net hands free while on the move, is not yet available for consumers. But already privacy right watchdogs ask themselves whether the Google Glass infringes the privacy rights of citizens. Will this gadget entail the end of privacy? Should we be afraid of the lurking abuse and the possibility of a surveillance state?

    Read more
  • A Worldwide Felt Need to End Violence against Women and Girls for Once and for All

    Several violent and cruel gang rapes in India and South Africa, and the death of Reeva Steenkamp, who was shot and killed inside the house of her Olympic athlete boyfriend, have brought the issue of violence against women to the public conscience. The tsunami of violence against women has shocked and dismayed people all over the globe and led to public outrage, protests and public debates. How should the Indian criminal justice system be improved? What will it take to end violence against women?

    Read more
  • Homeland, Zero Dark Thirty and Jack Bauer: Rendition, Torture and the Demise of American Values

    The latest in a series of Hollywood productions which reopened a debate about torture and extraordinary rendition is Zero Dark Thirty. Real life variations of Hollywood-scenarios have been unfolding as the US government has engaged in a program of extraordinary rendition since the Clinton Administration and which became widespread under the Bush Administration following the September 11 terrorist attacks.This blog examines Obama’s policy towards torture and (extraordinary) rendition.

    Read more
  • State Reform and Multilingualism: The Use of Papiamentu on Bonaire

    In 2010, an important State reform took place in the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Three little islands, Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba, too small to become a state in this federal Kingdom, are from October 10, 2010, governed by the Dutch Parliament in The Hague. The legislation introduced for these islands contained some paragraphs on language. The islands have their own home-languages, on Bonaire most of the inhabitants speak Papiamentu, on the other islands English is the common language. In the case of Bonaire a language regulation had to be made, to codify rules on the use of written Papiamentu in government documents.

    Read more
  • The International Criminal Prosecution Of Gender Crimes

    When we first think about wars and armed conflicts, we very often think about battlefields, burned villages, wounded soldiers, air-bombs and tanks. We tend to forget that civilians, women and children in particular, are at the centre of warfare and frequently fall victim to sexual violence in staggering numbers. The international community and the UN Security Council have established that gender crimes are part of the most serious of international crimes and should therefore be of great concern to the international community as a whole. In spite of this, international crimes involving sexual violence continue to be one of the most difficult crimes to prosecute.

    This blog will briefly discuss the international criminal prosecution of gender crimes by various international legal institutions.

    Read more
  • The Fight for the Chagos Islands

    In the middle of the Indian Ocean, about halfway between India and Indonesia, some 500 km from the Maldives, lies a remote group of coralline islands called the Chagos Archipelago. This chain of islands consists of seven atolls comprising a total of sixty individual tropical islands. In 1814, the Chagos Islands officially became British territory and were administratively attached to Mauritius.

    Read more
  • George Clooney, the Nuba, and SSP

    Searching for the political situation in Sudan and the plight of the Nuba people in particular, Mr Clooney’s name popped up together with SSP. SSP, “a game-changing collaboration, combining commercial satellite imagery, academic analysis, and advocacy to promote human rights in Sudan and South Sudan and serve as an early warning system for impending crisis’ was founded in 2010 on the initiative of George Clooney and John Prendergast.

    Read more
  • Suriname, Amnesty laws & the December Murder Trials

    On Friday April 13th 2012, a Surinamese military court was expected to comment on a recently adopted controversial Amnesty bill in the case regarding the December Murders of 1982 in which Desiré Delano (Desi) Bouterse, the current President of the Republic of Suriname, is the prime suspect.

    Read more
  • Picture this! The margins of media coverage of celebrities private lives, a balance between privacy and public interest

    If you are a public figure and a celebrity, how much privacy can you expect? How far can a journalist probe into a celebrity’s private life to get news in order to fulfill ‘the right to know’ factor for the public interest?
    In recent years the balance between the media’s right to expression and an individual’s right to privacy has always been tricky and has therefore given rise to much debate. This blog will discuss two judgments of the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) on Februari 7th 2012,….

    Read more
  • “People must be able to look one another in the eye”. Plans of the Dutch Government to ban face-covering clothing.

    The Dutch Government chose to ignore the advice of the Council of State concerning the ban on face-covering clothing. The Council of State, the advisory organ of the Government, heavily criticised the legislative proposal. First, the Council of State does not consider the complete ban as necessary and useful. Second, the Council of State is of the opinion that a ban on face covering clothing is an infringement of the freedom of religion.

    Read more
  • Dutch MP acquitted : freedom of expression prevails

    The Amsterdam Court has cleared Dutch Member of Parliament Geert Wilders of hate charges.

    According to the Dutch court his anti-islamic statements always fell within the bounds of legitimate political debate even if they were offensive to many Muslims. The Amsterdam Court found his rhetoric was “on the edge of what is legally permissible.” The statements were directed “against a religion as such and not against individual persons or a group of people.”

    Read more
  • A Licence to Kill? The assassination of Osama Bin Laden: Has the USA gone too far in acting as a policeman or was the raid justified?

    Osama Bin Laden (OBL) is dead. He was killed by a special ops team from the United States of America (USA), “after a firefight.” After OBL had been assassinated, the special team of SEALS took the deceased body of the dangerous mastermind terrorist and several hard drives from the compound in Abbottabad. Bin laden had been hiding there with his family for several years without being noticed. When the Pentagon researched the hard drives, it appeared that OBL had been planning new attacks, at least on several US cities and also on European locations. Upon hearing this news so many have sighed with relief that the secret services of the USA found out about these planned attacks before they could actually take place. Obama, President of the USA stated that “justice had been done” by executing OBL. But “what kind of justice” The assassination also led to a lot of questions and criticism: Was the raid justified?

    Read more
  • Is the right to self-determination of the entire population of Libya currently being violated by the Government of Gadhafi?

    Is the right to self-determination of peoples applicable to the present revolution – or civil war – in Libya? Can one claim that a State with a dictatorial regime is violating the right to self-determination of its own population?

    Read more
  • Egypt and its Constitution

    The 1971 Constitution of the Arab Republic of Egypt as amended to 2007 contains many articles relevant for the present situation.

    Read more
  • Latin American Amnesty Laws Annulled; the Struggle Against Impunity Continues

    Over the last two decades national courts all throughout Latin-America began to vigorously ‘attack’ Amnesty laws in order for investigations on human rights violations from the past to go forward. This Blog will briefly outline the causes that led to to these recent changes in Latin – American legal culture.

    Read more
  • The Nobel Peace Prize 2010: Liu Xiaobo

    Foto scanpize reuters handout The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2010 to Liu Xiaobo for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China. The Norwegian Nobel Committee has long held the view that human rights and peace are closely linked. Human rights are essential for […]

    Read more
  • Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide

    If a patient suffers unbearably and when there is no prospect of improvement, some regard the termination of life of the patient as the only option to end the unendurable suffering as quickly as possible.In most countries the practice of euthanasia is illegal. Only in Washington (USA), Oregon (USA), Monatana (USA), The Netherlands, Belgium and Luxemburg, there are laws which permit the practice of euthanasia and assisted suicide under certain circumstances and when specific guidelines are followed. The Netherlands is the first country to legalise the practice of euthanasia. Since 2002 the Dutch Criminal Code of The Netherlands includes grounds for immunity from criminal liability. However, there are strict boundaries.

    Read more
  • Religion and Constitutional Rights

    Lately constitutional rights law cases are very much at the centre of public attention in the Netherlands. The cases have a common denominator: religion.

    Read more
  • Roma Rights in the European Union.

    In July 2010, The French government decided to begin to expel Roma’s, mainly from Romania and Bulgaria, as many of them were living in France illegally. This decision caused much controversy within the Institutions of the EU. This blog will briefly discuss in what way EU institutions have responded to recent Roma issues and what can be done to improve the position of this marginalized community in Europe.

    Read more
  • US court rules that US government funding for stem cell research breaks law protecting human embryos

    The Obama Administration is in favor of human embryonic stem cell research. Further research alongside other kinds of stem cell experimentation is vital to science and further medical study. It could help us understand the process of cell transformation and how diseases such as diabetes and blindness could be treated. James Sherley, an MIT scientist, and several other scientists however oppose to human embryonic stem cell research. They filed a case against the decision of the Obama administration to federally fund embryonic stem cell use research. The Federal District Court for the District of Columbia ruled that the federal funding of stem cell research breaks law protecting human embryos.

    Read more
  • The Islamic veil, secularism and freedom of religion

    “The burqa is a massive attack on the rights of women. It is a mobile prison”, Silvana Koch-Merin stated. Silvana, a German representative of the European Parliament, called for a ban on face-covering veils throughout Europe [1].There are many kinds of islamic veils, such as the niqab, burqa, chador, and khimar (see picture below). The […]

    Read more
  • Can journalists publish whatever they like?

    The route of Afriqiyah Airways Flight 771. Source: http://www.wikipedia.org/ In the early morning of Wednesday May 12 2010 Afriqiyah Airways Flight 771, crashed at about 06:10 local time in Tripoli, Libya, near the runway of the airport. The aircraft was shattered to pieces. The airbus (EAD.PA) A330-200 was flying from Johannesburg to Tripoli. Of the […]

    Read more
  • Equality in the Line of Succession

    Gender equality legislation is sweeping the world. Constitutions and laws have been recognized by women’s rights activists as important instruments through which decision-making, influence and power are organized and exercised. In a few western countries these changes even touched a very ancient and traditional institution of government which over the centuries has preferably been reserved for males, that is, the institution of monarchy.

    Read more
  • European Court of Human Rights Reform

    On Friday, 19 February, at the Ministerial Conference on the future of the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) in Interlaken, Switzerland, the 47 Member States of the Council of Europe issued a joint declaration (Interlaken Declaration [PDF]) on future reforms that should, among others, ease the growing caseload of the Court.

    Read more
  • The Highs and Lows of the Freedom of Expression and Religion (Part II)

    After finding no legal basis for the prosecution of Geert Wilders, leader of the PVV (Party for Freedom), prosecutors were forced to change course in January 2009 after the Amsterdam Appeals Court decreed that charges may (or “should”?) be brought against the politician for inciting hatred, discrimination and the insult of a group.

    Read more
  • Human Rights Institutions in Indonesia

    Addressing past human rights violations in Indonesia has proven to be a complicated and often challenging task. Massive atrocities and large scale human rights violations mostly took place during the 32 year rule of President Suharto and were never properly investigated or prosecuted. This blog will briefly discuss the legal steps that have been undertaken to adress these human rights violations.

    Read more
  • Cultural Diversity

    On Monday the 17th of August 2009 the Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law started. The Centre takes place annually at the Academy and Library building of the Peace Palace. The purpose of the Centre is to bring together advanced young scholars of […]

    Read more
  • The Irish abortion ban case

    The European Court of Human Rights ‘Irish abortion ban case’ The European Court of Human Rights has agreed to hear the challenge by three women in Ireland to the Irish government’s ban on abortion in a full hearing before its grand chamber of 17 judges. The three Irish women, represented by the Irish Family Planning […]

    Read more
  • Shell Settles Nigerian Claims of Human Rights Violations

    On Monday, 8 June Royal Dutch Shell, Europe’s largest oil producer, reached a 15.5 million dollar settlement in a lawsuit brought against it by the families of the nine Nigerian activists who were killed in 1995. The lawsuit, which was brought to a New York court under the US Alien Tort Claims Act (ATCA), accused Shell’s Nigerian subsidiary of complicity in the hanging and the killings or persecution of the environmental activists.

    Read more
  • The Highs and Lows of the Freedom of Expression and Religion

    Combating discrimination and all forms of intolerance, as embodied in Article 1 [1] Dutch Constitution and criminally enforced through Article 137c – 137g of the Criminal Code, is a policy spearhead for the Dutch government.

    Read more
  • Faith in Human Rights

    On 10 December, International Human Rights Day is celebrated around the world. This year marks the sixtieth anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted in 1948 by the General Assembly of the United Nations and representing the first step in establishing a comprehensive international framework for the protection of human rights.

    Read more
  • Remembrance Slave Trade and its Abolition

    Saturday 23 August marks the UN nineth annual International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition.

    Read more
  • EU Declaration on Medellín Execution

    On Monday, 11 August, the Council of the European Union (EU) issued a declaration on the execution of Mexican national José Medellín in Texas last week.

    Read more
  • Texas Executes Mexican National in Defiance of ICJ Rulings

    Late Tuesday night, 5 August, the State of Texas executed José Ernesto Medellín, despite a call from the UN Secretary-General urging the United States (US) not to go ahead with the execution and to respect the judgements of the International Court of Justice (ICJ).

    Read more
  • New UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

    On Thursday, 24 June, the United Nations (UN) Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon announced the appointment of South African Judge Navanethem Pillay as the new UN high commissioner for human rights. The appointment is subject to approval by the General Assembly which will meet on Monday.

    Read more
  • Food Crisis

    The global increase in food prices will plunge millions of people into hunger worldwide. Starvation and food shortage already caused food riots and are threatening to destabilize regimes.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Individuals and Groups

PPL keywords

Other suggestions