Transnational Crime

Introduction

Transnational Crime - Research Guide International Law

The concept of 'transnational crime', from a criminological perspective, originates from the mid-1970s when the United Nations used the term in order to identify certain criminal activities which transcend national jurisdictions. In 1995, the United Nations identified eighteen categories of transnational - and mostly organized - criminality. Transnational crime was then defined as ‘offences whose inception, prevention and/or direct or indirect effects involved more than one country.’ (UN Doc. A.CONF. 169/15/Add.1 (1995)). The crimes listed included, among others, money laundering, terrorist activities, theft of art and cultural objects, theft of intellectual property, illicit arms trafficking, aircraft hijacking, sea piracy, insurance fraud, computer crime, environmental crime, trafficking in persons, trade in human body parts, illicit drug trafficking, fraudulent bankruptcy, infiltration of legal business, corruption and bribery of public or party officials. Transnational crime has spread exponentially with the development of globalization and it is only relatively recent that some progress has been made by states and international organizations in developing measures to combat this type of criminality.

This Guide is intended as a starting point for research in the field on Transnational Crime. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted.  The Library's systematic classification → Transnational crime and keyword Transnational Crime are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

Tagged with:

Bibliography

Reference works

Books

Articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

 Bibliographies

Systematic classification → International Criminal Law

New titles

Updated every Friday morning.

The Peace Palace Library has a collection of over a million publications. Each week, about six hundred new titles are added to our collection: books, articles, documents, online publications, etc. On this page, access is provided to this week’s new titles on Transnational crime.


1. Historical perspectives on organized crime and terrorism
Historical perspectives on organized crime and terrorism / edited by James Windle, John F. Morrison, Aaron Winter and Andrew Silke. - Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018. - X, 208 pages. ; 24 cm. - (Routledge SOLON explorations in crime and criminal justice histories ; 11) Includes index. - 2018
Keywords: Terrorism, Organized crime, Transnational crime, History,

2. Assesssing Militarised Responses to Transnational Organised Crime
Assesssing Militarised Responses to Transnational Organised Crime / Sasha Jesperson. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 1-9 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 1-9. - 2018
Keywords: Organized crime, Transnational crime, Militaries,

3. Soldiers in a Storm: Why and How Do Responses to Illicit Economies Get Militarised?
Soldiers in a Storm: Why and How Do Responses to Illicit Economies Get Militarised? / Mark Shaw. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 1-9 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 1-9. - 2018
Keywords: Organized crime, Transnational crime, Militaries,

4. Militarised Responses to the Illegal Wildlife Trade
Militarised Responses to the Illegal Wildlife Trade / Jasper Humphreys and M.L.R. Smith. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 25-42 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 25-42. - 2018
Keywords: Wildlife, Smuggle, Transnational crime, Militaries,

5. Replicating Success?
Replicating Success? : a Military Response to Maritime Piracy, the Somalia Experience / Glen Forbes. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 107-125 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 107-125. - 2018
Keywords: Somalia, Piracy, Transnational crime, Militaries,

6. Approaches to Piracy, Armed Robbery at Sea, and Other Maritime Crime in West and Central Africa
Approaches to Piracy, Armed Robbery at Sea, and Other Maritime Crime in West and Central Africa / Ian Ralby. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 127-149 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 127-149. - 2018
Keywords: West Africa, Central Africa, Piracy, Transnational crime, Militaries, Military co-operation,

7. South East Asia Piracy: Have We Learnt from Somali Counter-piracy Operations?
South East Asia Piracy: Have We Learnt from Somali Counter-piracy Operations? / Karsten von Hoesslin and Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez De Lugo. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 151-167 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 151-167. - 2018
Keywords: Southeast Asia, Piracy, Transnational crime, Prevention,

8. Dangers of Success: the Economics of Somali Piracy
Dangers of Success: the Economics of Somali Piracy / Anja Shortland. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 169-183 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 169-183. - 2018
Keywords: Somalia, Piracy, Transnational crime, Militaries, Public-private partnership, Economic development,

9. Smugglers Inc.: the Illicit Industry in Human Migration
Smugglers Inc.: the Illicit Industry in Human Migration / Tuesday Reitano. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 203-215 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 203-215. - 2018
Keywords: Illegal immigrants, Human trafficking, Organized crime, Transnational crime,

10. Militarisation of the Drug War in Latin America: a Policy Cycle Set to Continue?
Militarisation of the Drug War in Latin America: a Policy Cycle Set to Continue? / Jeremy McDermott. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 259-277 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 259-277. - 2018
Keywords: Latin America, Drugs, Organized crime, Transnational crime, Militaries,

11. Beyond UNGASS 2016: Drug Control Multilateralism and the End to the War on Drugs
Beyond UNGASS 2016: Drug Control Multilateralism and the End to the War on Drugs / John Collins. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 279-297 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 279-297. - 2018
Keywords: United Nations, Drugs, Transnational crime, Prevention, Multilateralism,

12. The Development Impacts of the War on Drugs
The Development Impacts of the War on Drugs / Health Poverty Action. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 299-322 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 299-322. - 2018
Keywords: Drugs, Transnational crime, Prevention, Militaries, Economic development,

13. Responding to Drug Trafficking: a Question of Motives
Responding to Drug Trafficking: a Question of Motives / Sasha Jesperson. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 323-337 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 323-337. - 2018
Keywords: West Africa, Drugs, Organized crime, Transnational crime, Law enforcement,

14. Situating Militarisation as Part of an Integrated Response to Organised Crime
Situating Militarisation as Part of an Integrated Response to Organised Crime / Tuesday Reitano. - Cham, Schwitzerland : Palgrave Macmillan. - Pages 339-349 In: Militarised Responses to Transnational Organized Crime / edited by Tuesday Reitano, Lucia Bird Ruiz-Benitez de Lugo, Sasha Jesperson, ISBN 9783319575643: (2018), Pages 339-349. - 2018
Keywords: Organized crime, Transnational crime, Prevention, Militaries,

Database

Blogs

  • Faking it to the Next Level: Are Deep Fakes Threatening Our Democratic Society?

    On 31st July 2018, Facebook has posted an article in its Newsroom explaining how the platform is being used to manipulate the Facebook-community. 32 pages have been removed by Facebook and Instagram because they were found to be “involved in coordinated inauthentic behavior.” The manipulation of digital video and audio files, has become increasingly sophisticated and accessible. While the world is more or less accustomed to the idea of image manipulation through ‘photoshopping’, video or audio files that present people saying of doing things they never did nor said, pose a new kind of challenge to democracies and national security. Audio and video manipulation then enter a realm that is generally described as ‘deep fake’.

    Read more
  • Hide & Seek in the Art World

    When we look at a piece of art, we enter the secret world of art. When we buy a piece of art, we enter the secret world of the art market. When anonymity in the art market is about protecting privacy, it’s a legitimate ground for secrecy. When secrecy paints a picture of a thinly regulated art trade where anonymity is used as playground to shield all kinds of doubtful behaviour and ownership, it is questionable. Law firms play a crucial role in this questionable secrecy in art market. Those law firms service their clients by incorporating and operating shell companies in ‘friendly’ jurisdictions and perform money laundering services as their core business. Law firms boost their client’s assets and inject them into the legal economy, through different money laundering schemes.

    Read more
  • Save Wildlife: Act Now or Game Over!

    From 1-3 March 2016, 300 Representatives from Countries, Intergovernmental organisations, non-governmental organisations, business representatives and the broader civil society were gathered in The Hague, the Netherlands for the international wildlife conference: Save Wildlife: Act now or Game over. The conference was organized by the Ministry of Economic Affairs of the Netherlands, the Hague Institute for Global Justice and the Prince of Wales’s International Sustainability Unit. The conference has build on the London and Kasane Conferences on the illegal wildlife trade, and has set the stage for the Hanoi Conference, due to take place later in 2016.

    Read more
  • Mexico and the Drug Cartels: A History of Fascination

    On January 9th, 2016, Rolling Stone published an interview between Sean Penn and Joaquin “El Chapo” Guzman, head of the Mexican Sinaloa Cartel. The fascination that Hollywood, and thus a large part of the western world, has for the Mexican drug cartels and the drug war they are engaging in is anything but recent. Mexico’s drug cartels, as well as widespread violence, money laundering and corruption, are elements which are as closely linked to Mexico’s image as its ancient civilizations. This article will explore the history of Mexico’s drug cartels and the close relationship between drugs and Mexico’s development.

    Read more
  • South-Africa and the Future of (Il)legal Trade in Rhino Horn

    On Sunday 22 November, zookeepers of the San Diego Zoo Safari Park put a 41-year old northern white rhinoceros named Nola to sleep. With the death of Nola, there are only three northern white rhinos left on the planet – which are unlikely to reproduce. Widespread poaching, as well as armed conflict, caused the extinction of northern white rhinos in the wild. Last Thursday, the High Court of Pretoria, South Africa, overturned the government’s ban on the domestic trade in rhino horn which was put in place in 2009.

    Read more
  • Honduras: A New Cocaine Trafficking Hub

    Last week Honduras adopted a law allowing the government to shoot down planes suspected of trafficking illegal drugs through the country. International drug trafficking is probably the most well known transnational organized crime. How bad is the current situation in Honduras; is it a new cocaine trafficking hub?

    Read more
  • Protecting Children from Cybercrime: Online Child Grooming

    In the Netherlands a massive case of internet child abuse has been reveiled this week. A 48 year old man has been arrested and is suspected of online child grooming and sexually abusing hundreds of girls. At least 11 girls stated they have had a meeting with the man and were sexually abused by him. The Dutch police has found 26.000 videos and 144.000 photographs during a raid on his house. The man has been active for eight years. What is online child grooming and what is the International and European policy on combating this form of cyber crime and internet abuse?

    Read more
  • Pirates, Buccaneers and Privateers : Concepts of International Law

    Establishing an authoritative definition of “piracy” in international law has always been rather problematic. The definition is relevant, because any confusion in terminology invariably leads to debates between State sovereignty and universal jurisdiction over crimes at sea. The various international law meanings of piracy are derived from, among others, international treaties, and various municipal law meanings are defined by statutes and State practice.

    Read more
  • Victor Bout, arms dealer, extradited to USA

    Victor Bout, an interpreter and a former Russian military airforce officer suspected of arms trafficking, has been extradited to the United States of America by Thailand. Bout, also called the ‘merchant of death’, is alleged of supplying illegal weapons to various groups and regimes, such as the Taliban, the Sierra leonean Revolutionary United Front, Charles Taylor and al-Qaida.

    Read more
  • Call for an UN Piracy Tribunal

    Five Somalis are currently on trial in the Netherlands after they failed to hijack a freighter sailing under the Dutch Antilles flag in January. The pirates have expressed their satisfaction with their prison cells, and at least one of them has said he wants to stay in the Netherlands after he is released and hopes […]

    Read more
  • Remembrance Slave Trade and its Abolition

    Saturday 23 August marks the UN nineth annual International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition.

    Read more
  • Piracy

    The history of piracy goes back in the library collection till 1816. Still the oceans are unsafe, especially the Somali coast is crowded with modern pirates with guns and grenades. As in the old days kidnapping and piracy are lucrative businesses, if a ransom is paid.

    Read more

International Organisations

Research Guides

Research and Academia

Blogs

Delicious links

    See also

    More Research guides on International Criminal Law

    PPL keywords

    Other suggestions

    Systematic classification → International Criminal Law