Philosophy of Law
Philosophy of law is concerned with questions about the nature of law and concepts that structure law. It also deals with questions regarding the authority of the law and the role of law in society. Philosophy of law can be divided in several categories, such as analytical jurisprudence, normative jurisprudence, critical theories of law, sociological jurisprudence, theories of justice, natural law, legal positivism, and legal realism. The notions legal theory and jurisprudence are often used as a synonym for philosophy of law or its sub-disciplines.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Philosophy of Law. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's classification index code 18. Philosophy of Law and Natural Law and subject heading (keyword) Philosophy of Law are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
- Abboud, G., Introdução à Teoria e à Filosofia do Direito, São Paulo, Editora Revista dos Tribunais, 2013.
- Arthur, J. and W.H. Shaw, Readings in the Philosophy of Law, Upper Saddle River, NJ, Prentice Hall, 2010.
- Bachand, R. (ed.), Théories Critiques et Droit International, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2013.
- Bix, B.H., A Dictionary ofLegal Theory, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2004.
- Bix, B. H., Jurisprudence: Theory and Context, London, Sweet & Maxwell, 2015.
- Buchanan, R., S. Motha and S. Pahuja (eds.), Reading Modern Law: Critical Methodologies and Sovereign Formations, Abingdon, Routledge, 2012.
- Bulygin, E., Essays in Legal Philosophy, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015.
- Carty, A., Philosophy of International Law, Edinburgh, Edinburgh University Press, 2007.
- Coyle, S., Modern jurisprudence : a Philosophical Guide, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2014.
- Del Mar, M., New Waves in Philosophy of Law, Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
- Feinberg, J. and J. Coleman (eds.), Philosophy of Law, Belmont, CA, Thomson/Wadsworth, 2008.
- Finnis, J., Collected Essays ; Vol. IV: Philosophy of law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2011.
- Fløistad, G, Contemporary philosophy: a New Survey = La Philosophie Contemporaine: Chroniques Nouvelles; Volume 12: Philosophy of Justice = *Tome 12*@Philosophie de la Justice, Dordrecht, Springer, 2015.
- Freeman, M.D.A., Lloyd's introduction to jurisprudence, London, Sweet & Maxwell, 2014.
- Green, L., and B. Leiter, Oxford Studies in Philosophy of Law ; Volume 2, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2013.
- Kolb, R.,Théorie du Droit International, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2013.
- Kunz, K.L., and M. Mona, Rechtsphilosophie, Rechtstheorie, Rechtssoziologie: eine Einführung in die theoretischen Grundlagen der Rechtswissenschaft, Bern, Haupt Verlag, 2015.
- Marmor, A., The Routledge companion to Philosophy of Law, London, Routledge, 2012.
- Murphy, L.B., What Makes Law : an Introduction to the Philosophy of Law, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2014.
- Orford, A., and C. Hoffmann (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of the Theory of International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Postema, G.J., Legal Philosophy in the Twentieth Century: the Common Law World ; A Treatise of Legal Philosophy and General Jurisprudence, Dordrecht, Springer, 2011.
- Simmonds, N.E., Central Issues in Jurisprudence: Justice, Laws, and Rights, London, Sweet & Maxwell, 2013.
- Tzitzis, S., Introduction à la Philosophie du Droit, Paris, Vuibert, 2011.
- Vöneky, S. (et al.) (eds.), Ethik und Recht - die Ethisierung des Rechts = Ethics and law - the Ethicalization of Law, Heidelberg, Springer, 2013.
- Wacks, R., Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015.
- Werkmeister, A., Straftheorien im Völkerstrafrecht, Baden-Baden : Nomos, 2015.
Books about miscellaneous legal philosophical topics
- Baxi, U., Law's Ethical, Global, and Theoretical Contexts: Essays in Honour of William Twining, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2015.
- Besson, S. and J. Tasioulas (eds.), The Philosophy of International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2010.
- Besters, M., A Politics of (In)security : a Philosophical Analysis of Collective Security, The Netherlands, publisher not identified, 2016.
- Bossert, L.,Wildtierethik: Verpflichtungen Gegenüber Wildlebenden Tieren, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2015.
- Burns, T., Aristotle and Natural Law, London, Continuum, 2011
- Carty, A., Philosophy of International Law, Edinburgh, Edinburgh University Press, 2007.
- Cryer, R., The Philosophy of International Criminal Law, In: Alexander Orakhelashvili (ed.), Research Handbook on the Theory and History of International Law, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2011
- Dyzenhaus, D., Philosophical Foundations of Constitutional Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Emon, A.M. (et al.), Natural law : a Jewish, Christian, and Islamic Trialogue, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.
- Fichtelberg, A., Law at the Vanishing Point: a Philosophical Analysis of International Law, Aldershot, Ashgate, 2008.
- Frändberg, Å., From Rechtsstaat to Universal Law-State : an Essay in Philosophical Jurisprudence, Cham, Springer, 2014.
- Freeman, M.D.A., Lloyd's Introduction to Jurisprudence, London, Stevens, 2008.
- García-Salmones Rovira, M., The Project of Positivism in International Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2013.
- Giudice, M, Understanding the Nature of Law: a Case for Constructive Conceptual Explanation, Giudice, Edward Elgar Publishing, 2015.
- Husak, D., Ignorance of law: a Philosophical Inquiry, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Kammerhöfer, J. , International Legal Positivism in a Post-Modern World, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2014.
- Laing, J.A., and R. Wilcox (eds.), The Natural Law Reader, Chichester, Wiley Blackwell, 2014.
- MacDonald, R.S.J. and D.M. Johnston (eds.), The Structure and Process of International Law: Essays in Legal Philosophy, Doctrine, and Theory, The Hague, Martinus Nijhoff, 1983.
- May, L. and J. Brown (eds.), Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings, Chichester, Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
- Martin, M., Judging Positivism, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2014.
- Midgley, E.B.F. ,The Natural Law Tradition and the Theory of International Relations, London, Elek, 1975.
- Miller, F.D., A History of the Philosophy of Law from the Ancient Greeks to the Scholastics ; A Treatise of Legal Philosophy and General Jurisprudence, Dordrecht, Springer, 2015.
- Murphy, J.B., The Philosophy of Customary Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2014.
- Patterson, D. (ed.), An Anthology: Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory, Malden, MA, Blackwell, 2003.
- Pino, G., Filosofia del Diritto: Introduzione Critica al Pensiero Giuridico e al Diritto Positivo, Torino, Giappichelli, 2013.
- Ramos, A. de Carvalho, Teoria Geral dos Direitos Humanos na Ordem Internacional, Rio de Janeiro, Ed. Saraiva, 2013.
- Riley, P., The Philosophers' Philosophy of Law from the Seventeenth Century to Our Days, Dordrecht, Springer, 2009.
- Rothhaar, M., Die Menschenwürde als Prinzip des Rechts : eine Rechtsphilosophische Rekonstruktion, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2015.
- Teson, F.R., A Philosophy of International Law, Boulder, CO, Westview Press, 1998.
- Bongiovanni, G. (et al.), "Philosophy of Law and International Criminal Law: between Peace and Morality", In: International Criminal Law Review; vol. 14, No. 4-5, 2014, pp. 738-767.
- Buchanan, A. and D. Golove, "The Philosophy of International Law", in The Oxford Handbook of Jurisprudence and Philosophy of Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2002, pp. 868-934.
- Finnis, J., "What is the Philosophy of Law?", In: American Journal of Jurisprudence; vol. 59, afl. 2, 2014, pp. 133-142.
- Junwu, P., "Chinese Philosophy and International Law", In: The Asian Journal of International Law; vol. 1, No. 2, 2011 pag. 233-248.
- Shuster, M., "Philosophy and Genocide", In: D. Bloxham and A. Dirk Moses (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2010.
- Sreejith, S.G., "Vedanta and the Philosophy of International Law: From Human Sociality to Ahuman Reality",
In: Indian Journal of International Law; vol. 55, afl. 1 (maa), 2015, pp. 3-38.
- Teson, F.R., "Philosophy of International Law", in Philosophy of Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings, Chichester, Wiley-Blackwell, 2010, pp. 187-199.
- Tuck, R., "The Modern Theory of Natural Law", In: International law, Vol. 6, London, Routledge, 2011, P. 251-268.
- Walker, N., "The Philosophy of European Union Law", In: Arnull, A. and D. Chalmers (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of European Union Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2015.
Periodicals, serial publications
- Acta Universitatis Danubius Juridica
- Archives de Philosophie du Droit
- Australian Journal of Legal Philosophy
- Droit et Société
- International Annual for Legal Philosophy and Legislation
- International Legal Theory
- Journal of Christian Jurisprudence
- Journal Jurisprudence
- Law and Critique
- Law and Philosophy
- Law & Social Inquiry
- Legal Ethics
- Natural Law Forum
- Netherlands Journal for Legal Philosophy and Jurisprudence
- Nomos : Yearbook of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
- Notre Dame Journal of Law Ethics & Public Policy
- Rechtsphilosophie en Rechtstheorie
- Res Publica
- The American Journal of Jurisprudence
- The Canadian Journal of Law and Jurisprudence
- The Journal of Philosophy, Science & Law
- The Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics
- Theoretical Inquiries in Law
- Yale Journal of Law & the Humanities
- Philosophy of Law - Bibliographies at EpistemeLinks
- Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory : a Basic Bibliography, by Patrick O'Donnell
- Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory Bibliography from the Ratio Juris Blog
- Natural Law : a Select Bibliography from the Online Library of Liberty
- Natural Law Bibliography 1990-2010, by Mario Šilar
Seems like there are no recent acquisitions right now''.
Laing, J. A. , and R. Wilcox, The Natural Law Reader, Chichester, Wiley Blackwell, 2014.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
The Natural Law Reader features a selection of readings in metaphysics, jurisprudence, politics, and ethics that are all related to the classical Natural Law tradition in the modern world. Features a concise presentation of the natural law position that offers the reader a focal point for discussion of ancient and contemporary ideas in the natural law tradition Draws upon the metaphysical and ethical categories put forth and developed by Aristotle and Aquinas Points to the historical significance and contemporary relevance of the Natural Law tradition Reflects on a revival of interest in the tradition of virtue ethics and human rights
Lloyd, S.A. (ed.), Hobbes Today: Insights for the 21st Century, New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 2013.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
Hobbes Today: Insights for the 21st Century brings together an impressive group of political philosophers, legal theorists, and political scientists to investigate the many ways in which the work of Thomas Hobbes, the famed seventeenth century English philosopher, can illuminate the political and social problems we face today. Its essays demonstrate the contemporary relevance of Hobbes's political thought on such issues as justice, human rights, public reason, international warfare, punishment, fiscal policy, and the design of positive law, among others. The volume's contributors include both Hobbes specialists and philosophers bringing their expertise to consideration of Hobbes's texts for the first time. This volume will stimulate renewed interest in Hobbes studies among a new generation of thinkers.
Roff, H.M., Global Justice, Kant and the Responsibility to Protect: a Provisional Duty, London, Routledge, 2013.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
This book provides an innovative contribution to the study of the Responsibility to Protect and Kantian political theory. The Responsibility to Protect (R2P) doctrine has been heralded as the new international security norm to ensure the protection of peoples against genocide, ethnic cleansing, war crimes and crimes against humanity. Yet, for all of the discussion, endorsements and reaffirmations of this new norm, R2P continues to come under fire for its failures, particularly, and most recently, in the case of Syria. This book argues that a duty to protect is best considered a Kantian provisional duty of justice. The international system ought to be considered a state of nature, where legal institutions are either weak or absent, and so duties of justice in such a condition cannot be considered peremptory. This book suggests that by understanding the duty’s provisional status, we understand the necessity of creating the requisite executive, legislative and judicial authorities. Furthermore, the book provides three innovative contributions to the literature, study and practice of R2P and Kantian political theory: it provides detailed theoretical analysis of R2P; it addresses the research gap that exists with Kant’s account of justice in states of nature; and it presents a more comprehensive understanding of the metaphysics of justice as well as R2P. This book will be of much interest to students of the Responsibility to Protect, humanitarian intervention, global ethics, international law, security studies and international relations (IR) in general.
Kolb, R., Théorie du Droit International, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2013.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
L’ouvrage traite des problèmes fondamentaux du droit international dans une perspective à la fois juridique et plus générale ; une réflexion touchant à des aspects fondamentaux de ce droit vu sous l'angle de son évolution historique et de son état actuel. Cette seconde édition de l’ouvrage Réflexions de philosophie du droit international rassemble une série de réflexions personnelles sur les points de droit international qui m’ont paru importants au fil des années d’étude de cette matière. Si ces points ne s’ordonnent pas en un système, ils ne sont néanmoins pas jetés sur le papier au hasard. Ces réflexions ont ceci en commun qu’elles tentent de serrer de plus près les aspects ordonnateurs et structurants du droit international, en un mot, ses chevilles ouvrières ou ses voûtes névralgiques.
Buchanan, R., S. Motha and S. Pahuja (eds.), Reading Modern Law: Critical Methodologies and Sovereign Formations, Abingdon, Routledge, 2012.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
This book identifies and elaborates upon key critical methodologies for reading and writing about law in modernity. The force of law rests on determinate and localizable authorizations, as well as an expansive capacity to encompass what has not been pre-figured by an order of rules. The key question this dynamic of law raises is how legal forms might be deployed to confront and disrupt injustice. The urgency of this question must not eclipse the care its complexity demands. This book offers a critical methodology for addressing the many challenges thrown up by that question, whilst testifying to its complexity. The essays in this volume - engagements direct or oblique, with the work of Peter Fitzpatrick - chart a mode of resisting the proliferation of social scientific methods, as much as geo-political empire. The authors elaborate a critical and interdisciplinary treatment of law and modernity, and outline the pivotal role of sovereignty in contemporary formations of power, both national and international. From various overlapping vantage points, therefore, Reading Modern Law interrogates law's relationship to power, as well as its relationship to the critical work of reading and writing about law in modernity.
Wacks, R., Understanding Jurisprudence: An Introduction to Legal Theory, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2012.View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
With a clear, engaging, and informal writing style, Understanding Jurisprudence is the perfect guide for students new to legal theory and looking for a convenient and interesting starting point for this sometimes daunting subject. Key theories and theorists are introduced in a compact and manageable format, offering an accessible account of the central ideas without oversimplification. Further reading suggestions are included throughout, helping students to structure their research and navigate the many texts and articles available in this subject area. Critical questions are also included in each chapter, to encourage students to think analytically about the law and the key ideas and debates which surround it. Professor Wacks is an experienced teacher of jurisprudence and excels in providing a concise, student-friendly introduction to the subject, without avoiding the subtleties of this fascinating discipline.
US court rules that US government funding for stem cell research breaks law protecting human embryos
The Obama Administration is in favor of human embryonic stem cell research. Further research alongside other kinds of stem cell experimentation is vital to science and further medical study. It could help us understand the process of cell transformation and how diseases such as diabetes and blindness could be treated. James Sherley, an MIT scientist, and several other scientists however oppose to human embryonic stem cell research. They filed a case against the decision of the Obama administration to federally fund embryonic stem cell use research. The Federal District Court for the District of Columbia ruled that the federal funding of stem cell research breaks law protecting human embryos.Read more
Should animals have their own lawyers in court to protect their rights and dignity?
Dan Piraro – Bizarro Animals are treated in an ambivalent way. On the one hand we look at them as adorable animals, which we keep as pets, or which we love and admire from a distance, in a wildlife reserve or behind glass in the zoo. Most pets are loved by their owners – they […]Read more
- Brian Leiter's Legal Philosophy Blog
- Cambridge Forum for Legal and Political Philosophy
- International Association for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy
- Legal Theory Blog, by Lawrence B. Solum
- Oxford Centre for Ethics and Philosophy of Law
- Philosophy of Law, by Beverley Brown and Neil MacCormick
- Philosophy of Law, by Kenneth Einar Himma
- Philosophy of Law, The Paideia Archive
- Yale Center for Law and Philosophy
- Philosophy: An Online Resource Guide