Food and Health
In the 20th century science and technology changed the agricultural sector enormously in many industrialized countries. The implications for both developed and developing countries in the agricultural sector, rural development, food security, food safety, the Codex Alimentarius, the environment, the green revolution, Genetically Modified Food (GM Food or biotech foods), trade, etc., are the subject of this research guide.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Food. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's systematic classification → Public international law and subject heading (keyword) Food are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
New titlesAs we are right in the middle of moving to a new library system, it is not yet possible to automatically collect new titles for this Research Guide. As we are right in the middle of moving to a new library system, it is not yet possible to automatically collect new titles for this Research Guide.
- Adam, É., Droit International de l'Agriculture: Sécuriser le Commerce des Produits Agricoles, Paris, L.G.D.J., 2012.
- Bodiguel, L. and M. Cardwell, The Regulation of Genetically Modified Organisms: Comparative Approaches, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2010.
- Costato, L. (ed.), European Food Law, Padova, Cedam, 2012.
- Karapinar, B. and Ch. Häberli, Food Crises and the WTO: World Trade Forum, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2010.
- Masson-Matthee, M.D., The Codex Alimentarius Commission and its Standards, The Hague, T.M.C. Asser Press, 2007.
- Santilli, J. , Agrobiodiversity and the Law: Regulating Genetic Resources, Food Security and Cultural Diversity, Abingdon, Earthscan, 2012.
- Shiva, V., The Violence of the Green Revolution: Third World Agriculture, Ecology and Politics, London, Zed Books, 1991.
Books & Articles
- Anderson, K., The WTO and Agriculture, Cheltenham, Elgar, 2005.
- Akram-Lodhi, A.H., Hungry For Change: Farmers, Food Justice and the Agrarian Question, Halifax, Fernwood, 2013.
- Jack, B., Agriculture and EU Environmental Law, Farnham, Ashgate, 2009.
- Cotula, L., Gender and Law: Women's Rights in Agriculture, Rome, FAO, 2006.
- Fantu, C. and R. Modi, Agricultural Development and Food Security in Africa: the Impact of Chinese, Indian and Brazilian Investments, London, Zed Books, 2013.
- Grossman, M.R. (ed.), Agriculture and the Polluter Pays Principle, London, British Institute of International and Comparative Law, 2009.
- Guneratne, C., Genetic Resources, Equity and International Law, Chelthenham, Elgar, 2012.
- Kugelman, M. and S.L. Levenstein (eds.), The Global Farms Race: Land Grabs, Agricultural Investment, and the Scramble for Food Security, Washington, DC, Island Press, 2013.
- Lambek, N., Rethinking Food Systems : Structural Challenges, New Strategies and the Law, Dordrecht, Heidelberg, New York, London, Springer, 2014.
- McMahon, J.A., EU Agricultural Law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2007.
- Meléndez-Ortiz, R., Agricultural Subsidies in the WTO Green Box: Ensuring Coherence with Sustainable Development Goals, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2009.
- Mogele, R., and F. Erlbacher (eds.), Single Common Market Organisation: Article-by-Article Commentary of the Legal Framework for Agricultural Markets in the European Union, München/Oxford, Beck/Hart, 2011.
- Moscatelli, S., Il diritto all'alimentazione nel sistema dei diritti umani, Roma, Aracne, 2014.
- Orden, D., D. Blandford and T. Josling (eds.), WTO Disciplines on Agricultural Support: Seeking a Fair Basis for Trade, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2011.
- Özerdem, A. and R. Roberts, Challenging Post-Conflict Environments: Sustainable Agriculture, Farnham, Ashgate, 2012.
- Paarlberg, R.L., Starved for Science: How Biotechnology is Being Kept out of Africa, Cambridge, MA, Harvard University Press, 2008.
- Riches, G., Silvasti, T. (eds.), First World Hunger Revisited : Food Charity or the Right to Food? New York, NY, Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
- Shaw, D.J., Global Food and Agricultural Institutions, London, Routledge, 2009.
- Tofan, C. (ed.), Human Rights and the Right to Food, The Hague, International Courts Association, Separate Volumes, 2013.
- Verbruggen, P., Enforcing Transnational Private Regulation : a Comparative Analysis of Case Studies in Advertising and Food Safety, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2014.
- Walters, R., Eco Crime and Genetically Modified Food, Abingdon, Routledge, 2011.
- Winders, B., The Politics of Food Supply: U.S. Agricultural Policy in the World Economy, New Haven, CT, Yale University Press, 2009.
- Andersen, R, "The Plant Treaty: Crop Genetic Diversity and Food Security", in International Environmental Agreements: An Introduction, London, Routledge, 2012, pp. 134-150.
- Cunha, A. and A. Swinbank, "Exploring the Determinants of CAP Reform: A Delphi Survey of Key Decision-Makers", 47 Journal of Common Market Studies (2009), pp. 235-261.
- Grant, W.P. and T. Stocker, "Politics of Food: Agro-Industry Lobbying in Brussels", in Lobbying the European Union: Institutions, Actors, and Issues, New York, NY, Nova Science Publishers, 2009, pp. 233-255.
- Holzhauser, U., "Agriculture Trade Liberalization: Prospects and Consequences for European Policies", in The European Union and the WTO Doha Round, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2007, pp. 63-78.
- Mechlem, K., "Agricultural Biotechnologies, Transgenic Crops and the Poor: Opportunities and Challenges", Human Rights Law Review (2010), pp. 749-764.
- O'Connor, B., "The Food Crisis and the Role of the EC's Common Agricultural Policy", in Food Crises and the WTO: World Trade Forum, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2010, pp. 187-219.
- Varsney, A., "Poverty and Famines", in Arguments for a Better World: Essays in Honor of Amartya Sen, New York, NY, Oxford University Press, 2009, pp. 139-153.
- Young, L.M. and K.C. Hansen, "Disconnections in US and EU Agricultural Policy and Trade Negotiations: A Transaction Cost Politics Approach", 12 Estey Centre Journal of International Law and Trade Policy (2011), pp. 12-28.
- "Agreement on Agriculture", in Agriculture in WTO Law, London, Cameron May, 2005, pp. 433-469.
- "Completing the Task: Cairns Group vision for the WTO Agriculture Negotiations: Cairns Group Ministerial Meeting, Sydney, Australia, 3 April 1998", in Reason versus Emotion, Seattle, WA, RIRDC, 1999, pp. 131-134.
Periodicals, serial publications
- Collection FAO: Questions d'éthique
- FAO Ethics Series
- Food and Agricultural Legislation
- San Joaquin Agricultural Law Review
- Hamel, H.H.R., R. Steenhard and H. Thyssen, "Selected Bibliography", in Food Security and Food Safety, Leiden, Nĳhoff, 2006, pp. 753-868.
- Palmer, R., Select Bibliography of Reports on Biofuels, Land Rights in Africa & Global land Grabbing, Oxfam, 2010.
Cohen, I.G., (et al.) (eds.), Big Data, Health Law, and Bioethics, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2018.View this title in our discovery service
When data from all aspects of our lives can be relevant to our health - from our habits at the grocery store and our Google searches to our FitBit data and our medical records - can we really differentiate between big data and health big data? Will health big data be used for good, such as to improve drug safety, or ill, as in insurance discrimination? Will it disrupt health care (and the health care system) as we know it? Will it be possible to protect our health privacy? What barriers will there be to collecting and utilizing health big data? What role should law play, and what ethical concerns may arise? This timely, groundbreaking volume explores these questions and more from a variety of perspectives, examining how law promotes or discourages the use of big data in the health care sphere, and also what we can learn from other sectors.
Ferguson, R., The Right to Food and the World Trade Organization's Rules on Agriculture : Conflicting, Compatible, or Complementary?, Leiden, Brill Nijhoff, 2018.View this title in our discovery service
In The Right to Food and the World Trade Organization’s Rules on Agriculture: Conflicting, Compatible, or Complementary?, Rhonda Ferguson explores the relationship between the human right to food and agricultural trade rules. She questions whether States can adhere to their obligations under both regimes simultaneously. These two regimes are frequently portrayed to be in tension with one another. The content and contours of the right to food under international human rights law and WTO rules on domestic supports, export subsidies, and market access are considered through the lens of norm conflict theories. The analysis is situated within the context of the debate surrounding the fragmentation of international law.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, by K. Mechlem.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Food, Right to, International Protection, by K. Mechlem.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, World Food Programme (WFP), by K. Mechlem.
Codex Alimentarius 50 years and Beyond!
This blog was written in honor of the farewell of Mr. Van Hoogstraten, General-Director of the Carnegie Foundation and Treasurer of The Hague Academy of International Law. Mr. Steven van Hoogstraten held the position of Director for Food Policy and Product Safety at the Netherlands Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sports (1990-2000). Additionally Steven van Hoogstraten represented the Netherlands in the Codex Alimentarius Commission. He stood at the cradle of the creation of Codex Alimentarius and its implementation in the Netherlands. Furthermore Steven van Hoogstraten was appointed as the Vice-president of the Codex for a few years and has comprehenisive understanding of the workings of the Commission.Read more
Wine and... European Law?!
At first glance wine and European Law don’t have to do much with each other. However, when one analyzes the relationship in depth, the legal aspects of wine have been (and still are) significantly important for the legal integration of the European Union and the creation of the common market. This blog focuses on these legal aspects in four judgments of the European Court of Justice and its predecessors.Read more
Bees under Bombardment : Time for Plan Bee
Current scientific evidence demonstrates that a sixth major extinction of biological diversity event is underway. The Earth is losing between one and ten percent of biodiversity per decade, mostly due to habitat loss, pest invasion, pollution, climate change, over-harvesting and disease. Certain natural ecosystem services, which are vital for human societies, are under stress.Read more
- World Food Programme
- Right to Food
- FAO on the Right to Food
- FAO - The Right to Food and Global Strategic Frameworks: a Window of Opportunity.
- FAO - Right to Food – Making it Happen. Progress and Lessons Learned through Implementation.
- UN on Food Security
- WHO on Food Security
- FAO: The State of Food Insecurity in the World
- FAO: A Special Programme for Food Security
- WFP on Food Security
- Global Food Security Index
- Food Security Portal - International Food Policy Research Institute
- GMO Compass
- EU and Genetically Modified Food and Feed
- WHO - Biotechnology (GM foods) and Nanotechnology
More Research guides on Special Topics
- Air and Space Law
- Cultural Heritage
- Law of the Sea
- Polar Regions