Food

Introduction

Food - Research Guide International Law

In the 20th century science and technology changed the agricultural sector enormously in many industrialized countries. The implications for both developed and developing countries in the agricultural sector, rural development, food security, food safety, the Codex Alimentarius, the environment, the green revolution, Genetically Modified Food (GM Food or biotech foods), trade, etc., are the subject of this research guide.

This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on Food. It provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's classification index code 9j. Agriculture, Agrarian Policy, etc. and subject heading (keyword) Food are instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.

New titles


1. Ebola, Experimental Medicine, Economics, and Ethics: an Evaluation of International Disease Outbreak Law
Ebola, Experimental Medicine, Economics, and Ethics: an Evaluation of International Disease Outbreak Law / Sara Louise Dominey In: Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law = ISSN 0046-578X: vol. 44, issue 1, page 133-164. - 2015
Keywords: West Africa, Developing countries, World Health Organization, Diseases, Pharmaceuticals, Health, Ethics,

2. Human Rights, Euthanasia, Mercy Killing
Human Rights, Euthanasia, Mercy Killing / Dr. Nishikant Jha, Ms. A. Aditi Koli, Ms. Mamta Poojari. - Mumbai : Himalaya Publishing House. - Pages 98-106 In: Challenges and Prospects of the Human Rights in 21st Century / editors, Dr. Mrs. Suhasini V. Sant, Dr. N.B. Acharya, Dr. A.A. Gadre, Mr. P.K. Mishra, Mrs. Ajeeta Bhatia, ISBN 9789350976333: (2013), Pages 98-106. - 2013
Keywords: Developing countries, Euthanasia, Human rights, Constitutions, Human life, Individual autonomy, Bioethics,

3. Food Safety in the Aftermath of Fukushima
Food Safety in the Aftermath of Fukushima : who can Consumers trust? / Zina Teoh In: Zeitschrift für japanisches Recht = ISSN 1431-5726: vol. 21, issue 42, page 111-136. - 2016
Keywords: Japan, Nuclear accidents, Food safety, Consumers,

Bibliography

Reference works

Books & Articles

Documents

Periodicals, serial publications

Bibliographies

 

New titles


1. Ebola, Experimental Medicine, Economics, and Ethics: an Evaluation of International Disease Outbreak Law
Ebola, Experimental Medicine, Economics, and Ethics: an Evaluation of International Disease Outbreak Law / Sara Louise Dominey In: Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law = ISSN 0046-578X: vol. 44, issue 1, page 133-164. - 2015
Keywords: West Africa, Developing countries, World Health Organization, Diseases, Pharmaceuticals, Health, Ethics,

2. Human Rights, Euthanasia, Mercy Killing
Human Rights, Euthanasia, Mercy Killing / Dr. Nishikant Jha, Ms. A. Aditi Koli, Ms. Mamta Poojari. - Mumbai : Himalaya Publishing House. - Pages 98-106 In: Challenges and Prospects of the Human Rights in 21st Century / editors, Dr. Mrs. Suhasini V. Sant, Dr. N.B. Acharya, Dr. A.A. Gadre, Mr. P.K. Mishra, Mrs. Ajeeta Bhatia, ISBN 9789350976333: (2013), Pages 98-106. - 2013
Keywords: Developing countries, Euthanasia, Human rights, Constitutions, Human life, Individual autonomy, Bioethics,

3. Food Safety in the Aftermath of Fukushima
Food Safety in the Aftermath of Fukushima : who can Consumers trust? / Zina Teoh In: Zeitschrift für japanisches Recht = ISSN 1431-5726: vol. 21, issue 42, page 111-136. - 2016
Keywords: Japan, Nuclear accidents, Food safety, Consumers,

Librarian's choice

  • Maidana-Eletti, M. and P. Lang, Global Food Governance : Implications of Food Safety and Quality Standards in International Trade Law, Bern, Peter Lang, 2016.

    Maidana-Eletti, M. and P. Lang, Global Food Governance : Implications of Food Safety and Quality Standards in International Trade Law, Bern, Peter Lang, 2016.

    With increasingly globalised markets, changing consumer preferences and the steady development of technologies influencing food trade flows, safety and quality concerns have triggered the development of new forms of global (food) governance. Since its creation in 1995, the World Trade Organization (WTO) has succeeded in providing a multilateral legal framework for the development of regulatory practices through its multiple agreements. Similarly, the continuing importance of regional and bilateral trade agreements, such as in the European Union and in Switzerland, has enhanced WTO's accomplishments through a comprehensive and dynamic set of international rules and standards for trade. However, the changing trends in the production and distribution of food products have questioned the effectiveness of the regulatory status quo. This book addresses the legal aspects of the current global architecture for food governance, particularly with regard to the role of international standards. In doing so, this work attempts at mapping the implications of domestic food measures in international trade law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Norer, R., Genetic Technology and Food Safety, Cham, Springer, 2016.

    Norer, R., Genetic Technology and Food Safety, Cham, Springer, 2016.

    The volume gives an overview on how legislators all over the world have come up with different legal solutions for governing genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and food security and provides a compact summary of the existing regulations in this field. In a comparative legal approach, a general report analyses and compares these various national and supranational legal systems. It closely follows the newest developments at the interface between genetic engineering law and food law. The emergence of a new technology usually leads to fundamental questions as to how the law should respond to it. The regulation of genetically modified organisms is a prime example, they have been discussed controversially ever since they were subject of legislation and regulation. In particular, this applies to the use of GMOs in food production. There is a variety of interesting legislations and a differentiated width of legal frameworks on international, supranational (EU) and national level to be found. The different regulations that thereby came to light are evidence of the various opinions and policies the societies and states have developed on this matter. It is this variety of regulations the volume examines, primarily on the basis of national reports that were handed in concerning the topic of genetic technology and food security at the occasion of the XIX International Congress of Comparative Law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Lang, T., Food Wars : the Global Battle for Mouths, Minds and Markets, London, New York, Routledge, 2015.

    Lang, T., Food Wars : the Global Battle for Mouths, Minds and Markets, London, New York, Routledge, 2015.

    In the years since publication of the first edition of Food Wars much has happened in the world of food policy. This new edition brings these developments fully up to date within the original analytical framework of competing paradigms or worldviews shaping the direction and decision-making within food politics and policy.
    The key theme of the importance of integrating human and environmental health has become even more pressing. In the first edition the authors set out and brought together the different strands of emerging agendas and competing narratives. The second edition retains the same core structure and includes updated examples, case studies and the new issues which show how these conflicting tendencies have played out in practice over recent years and what this tells us about the way the global food system is heading. Examples of key issues given increased attention include: nutrition, including the global rise in obesity, as well as chronic conditions, hunger and under-nutrition; the environment, particularly the challenges of climate change, biodiversity loss, water stress and food security; food industry concentration and market power; volatility and uncertainty over food prices and policy responses
    - tensions over food, democracy and citizenship and social and cultural aspects impacting food and nutrition policies.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • Kanalan, I., Die universelle Durchsetzung des Rechts auf Nahrung gegen transnationale Unternehmen, Tubingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2015.

    Kanalan, I., Die universelle Durchsetzung des Rechts auf Nahrung gegen transnationale Unternehmen, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2015.

    English summary: Is the right to food universally enforceable? Can it be enforced on transnational corporations? Ibrahim Kanalan critically discusses the justiciability of enforcing the right to food, as well as the accountability of such companies in terms of human rights, and shows ways to implement the right.
    German description: Ibrahim Kanalan widmet sich der Bekampfung von Hunger. Er geht der Frage nach, ob das Recht auf Nahrung universell einklagbar ist und gegen transnationale Unternehmen durchgesetzt werden kann. Er setzt sich grundlegend mit den Einwanden auseinander, die gegen die universelle Justiziabilitat sozialer Menschenrechte eingebracht werden. Mit einer ausfuhrlichen Analyse der verschiedenen globalen Normen sowie der Rechtsprechung auf internationaler, regionaler und nationaler Ebene zeigt der Autor, dass das Recht auf Nahrung universell einklagbar ist. Sodann systematisiert er die verschiedenen Rechtsanspruche in Auseinandersetzung mit der fragmentierten Spruchpraxis zahlreicher Gerichte und quasi-gerichtlicher Organe. Ibrahim Kanalan entwickelt ein neues und unkonventionelles Konzept, mit dem er die unmittelbare Bindung von Unternehmen an die Menschenrechte begrundet. Von einem rechtspluralistischen Verstandnis ausgehend analysiert er abschliessend verschiedene Moglichkeiten der transnationalen Durchsetzung des Rechts auf Nahrung.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet
  • MacMaolain, C., Food Law : European, Domestic and International Frameworks, Oxford, Portland, Oregon, Hart Publishing, 2015.

    MacMaolain, C., Food Law : European, Domestic and International Frameworks, Oxford, Portland, Oregon, Hart Publishing, 2015.

    This book provides a broad conspectus on the application of EU and international regulation of the food sector on English law. It is aimed at practitioners and students of this vital and emerging branch of law, and also all those involved or interested in the food industry who wish to familiarise themselves with how the law is applied in practice.The book commences with a short conceptual framework for the study of food law. It then provides a comprehensive and up-to-date account of current English law, explaining how both international and national law and EU decision-making have impacted upon the production, sale and consumption of food in England. It describes in detail the roles of government, the Food Standards Agency and local enforcement authorities.The book contains full outlines of the developments in the most significant areas of food law. It concentrates specifically on topics such as food labelling and advertising, quality and compositional requirements, geographical food names, genetic modification, organic production, animal welfare and also the role of law in tackling poor health and obesity.The book sets out to explain and describe the impact of successive food crises on food safety and transparency requirements. It considers how the existing rules on the chemical and biological safety of food impact on our law and concludes with a review of the developing legal issues concerning the environmental impacts of current and proposed food law.

    View this title in our link resolver Plinklet

Database

Blogs

  • Codex Alimentarius 50 years and Beyond!

    This blog was written in honor of the farewell of Mr. Van Hoogstraten, General-Director of the Carnegie Foundation and Treasurer of The Hague Academy of International Law. Mr. Steven van Hoogstraten held the position of Director for Food Policy and Product Safety at the Netherlands Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sports (1990-2000). Additionally Steven van Hoogstraten represented the Netherlands in the Codex Alimentarius Commission. He stood at the cradle of the creation of Codex Alimentarius and its implementation in the Netherlands. Furthermore Steven van Hoogstraten was appointed as the Vice-president of the Codex for a few years and has comprehenisive understanding of the workings of the Commission.

    Read more
  • Wine and... European Law?!

    At first glance wine and European Law don’t have to do much with each other. However, when one analyzes the relationship in depth, the legal aspects of wine have been (and still are) significantly important for the legal integration of the European Union and the creation of the common market. This blog focuses on these legal aspects in four judgments of the European Court of Justice and its predecessors.

    Read more
  • Bees under Bombardment : Time for Plan Bee

    Current scientific evidence demonstrates that a sixth major extinction of biological diversity event is underway. The Earth is losing between one and ten percent of biodiversity per decade, mostly due to habitat loss, pest invasion, pollution, climate change, over-harvesting and disease. Certain natural ecosystem services, which are vital for human societies, are under stress.

    Read more

See also

More Research guides on Special Topics

PPL keywords