RSS

Databases

  • Database JUSTIS

    March 31, 2016

    Database Justis is an innovative legal database and information service containing case law from the United Kingdom and Ireland. In addition, it also holds EU as well as international case law. One can find case coverage going back to 1163 and legislation from 1235, which makes this database stand out amongst its competitors. Aside from Legislation, this full-text online legal library also features statutory instruments, articles, primary and specialist case law and human rights acts. Finding what you’re looking for is an effortless process and data can be searched quickly and intuitively by any number of variables, such as parties, full text references, citations, courts, years or subjects. This database is continuously updated and expanded, almost on a daily basis.

    Read more
  • The Gerritsen Collection

    The Gerritsen Collection

    October 2, 2015

    The Gerritsen Collection is a comprehensive collection of works pertaining to women’s history, but it also contains a plentitude of books, articles and essays relevant to peace history and the development of international law. The collection honors the legacy of famous peace heroes and feminists. To help educate the public about the 19th century peace movement, the Library – with the assistance from the Bertha von Suttner Project – has subscribed to this database for 2015.

    Read more
  • HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database

    HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources Database

    August 28, 2015

    HeinOnline has been diligently working on updating its interface for the past several months. The enhanced interface uses responsive web design, which means HeinOnline will be mobile-device friendly and will adjust to the size of your tablet, smartphone or computer monitor. The search bar will remain stationary and available on all pages of HeinOnline. The appearance of HeinOnline has been streamlined and simplified.

    Read more
  • Database: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

    Database: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

    May 29, 2015

    The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1600 peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. It has been re-designed to improve the look and feel of the site, and the search functionality. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, and updated throughout the year. All included articles are peer-reviewed and treat international law from a global/regional perspective. This major reference work is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law.

    Read more
  • Accessing the Wealth of Information through Databases

    March 31, 2015

    The Peace Palace Library is known as one of the leading legal libraries in the world and one of the services it provides for its users is access to a growing number of databases, invaluable tools for legal research. The efforts to introduce access to these databases in the Library started several years ago and they have been growing. These databases, around 85 of them now in 2015, are an incredibly rich resource and by investing some time and a little bit of effort, the user can maximize their value. This month, Iva Vukusic, a PhD student and journalist writes a review on our collection of databases with a special focus on our most popular database ‘Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals.

    Read more
  • Legal Database: Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction

    February 27, 2015

    Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction is a reference source providing comprehensive coverage of decisions from the most important and general international courts, including coverage of all contentious and advisory cases from the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice. Eventually, it will include cases from other courts, such as the Permanent Court of Arbitration and International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea. ICGJ cases “are published with a short headnote detailing key information about the decision, rather than a full report. This headnote contains basic information about the case including dates, parties and judges, but also provides indicators as to the subjects and keywords applied to the case, the core issue(s) and any previous or subsequent stages.

    Read more
  • Legal Database: Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals

    January 30, 2015

    Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals provides you with the full text of the most important decisions, including concurring, separate and dissenting opinions. Distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law have commented the most important decisions of the ICTY, ICTR, The Special Court for Sierra Leone, The International Criminal Tribunal for Timor-Leste and the ICC.

    Read more
  • Jura Be - Legal World - Belgium

    Database: Jura.Be (LegalWorld)

    September 30, 2014

    Jura.be is an online Library from Kluwer Belgium. The database is multi-disciplinary and for each discipline, an extensive range of legislation, case law and jurisprudence is available. Jura.be contains summaries of published judgments with a reference to the journal in which they are published; the full texts of the decisions of the Court of Cassation and of the Court of Arbitration are also available.

    Read more
  • dawsonera

    dawsonera: new E-book platform

    August 8, 2014

    We are happy to announce the launch of a new e-book platform called dawsonera. dawsonera provides a comprehensive collection of electronic books about foreign, international and comparative law from a wide range of well-known publishers.
    dawsonera: new E-book platform

    Read more
  • Legal Database: CAIRN

    Legal Database: CAIRN

    May 21, 2014

    CAIRN provides a multi-disciplinary collection of French as well as Belgian language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. The collection is currently comprised of over 150 titles from more than 40 publishers, teaching institutions and learned societies. The primary subject areas covered by the collection are law, history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology.

    Read more