The European Union is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. It has an area of 4,475,757 km2 (1,728,099 sq mi), and an estimated population of over 510 million. The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital within the internal market, enact legislation in justice and home affairs, and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries, and regional development. Within the Schengen Area, passport controls have been abolished. A monetary union was established in 1999 and came into full force in 2002, and is composed of 19 EU member states which use the euro currency.
The EU operates through a hybrid system of supranational and intergovernmental decision-making. The seven principal decision-making bodies—known as the institutions of the European Union—are the European Council, the Council of the European Union, the European Parliament, the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Central Bank, and the European Court of Auditors.
The EU traces its origins from the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and the European Economic Community (EEC), formed by the Inner Six countries in 1951 and 1958, respectively. The community and its successors have grown in size by the accession of new member states and in power by the addition of policy areas to its remit. The Maastricht Treaty established the European Union in 1993 and introduced European citizenship. The latest major amendment to the constitutional basis of the EU, the Treaty of Lisbon, came into force in 2009.
The EU as a whole is the largest economy in the world. Covering 7.3% of the world population, the EU in 2016 generated a nominal gross domestic product (GDP) of 16.477 trillion US dollars, constituting approximately 22.2% of global nominal GDP and 16.9% when measured in terms of purchasing power parity. Additionally, 27 out of 28 EU countries have a very high Human Development Index, according to the United Nations Development Programme. In 2012, the EU was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. Through the Common Foreign and Security Policy, the EU has developed a role in external relations and defence. The union maintains permanent diplomatic missions throughout the world and represents itself at the United Nations, the World Trade Organization, the G7, and the G20. Because of its global influence, the European Union has been described as an emerging superpower.
This Research Guide is intended as a starting point for research on the European Union. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Links to the PPL Catalogue are inserted. The Library's subject heading (keyword) European Union is instrumental for searching through the Catalogue. Special attention is given to our subscriptions on databases, e-journals, e-books and other electronic resources. Finally, this Research Guide features links to relevant websites and other online resources of particular interest.
Treaties
- European Union: Treaty Texts
- Treaty establishing the European Community [Rome, 25 March 1957]
- Single European Act [17 February 1986]
- Treaty on European Union [Maastricht, 7 February 1992]
- Treaty of Nice amending the Treaty on European Union, the Treaties establishing the European Communities and certain related Acts [Nice, 26 February 2001]
- Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community [Lisbon, 13 December 2007]
Collections and compilations of treaties and other documents of European Union law
- Bieber, R. und H.-J. Glaesner, Europarecht: Textausgabe, 27. Auflage, Baden Baden, Nomos, 2022.
- Blanke, H-J., Mangiameli, S. (eds.), The Treaty on European Union (TEU): a Commentary, Berlin, Springer, 2013.
- Chalmers, D., Davies, G. and Monti, G., European Union Law: Text and Materials, 4th edition, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2019.
- Foster, N., Blackstone's EU Treaties & Legislation 2019-2020, 30th edition, Oxford, OUP, 2019.
- Graig, P., & G.De Búrca, EU law: Text, Cases, and Materials, 6th edition, Oxford, United Kingdom, OUP, 2015.
- Jarass, H.D., Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union: unter Einbeziehung der sonstigen Grundrechtsregelungen des Primärrechts und der EMRK: Kommentar, 4. Auflage, München, C.H. Beck, 2021.
- Kaddous, C. et Picod, F., Traité sur l'Union européenne, Traité sur le fonctionnement de l'Union européenne, Charte des droits fondamentaux, Traités MES et SCG,9e édition, Berne, Stämpfli Editions, 2018.
- Kellerbauer, M., Klamert, M. and Tomkin, J. (eds.), The EU Treaties and the Charter of Fundamental Rights: a Commentary, Oxford, OUP, 2019.
- Maiani, Francesco, et al., Droit Constitutionnel De L’union Européenne. 7e édition ed., Helbing Lichtenhahn, 2022.
- Meyer, J. and Hölscheidt, S. (eds.), Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union, Baden-Baden, Nomos, Stämpfli, 2019.
- Schwarze, J., Becker, U., Hatje, A., Schoo, J., Augsberg, S., Bär-Bouyssière, B. (eds.), EU-Kommentar, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2019.
- Schütze, R. (ed.), EU Treaties and Legislation, Second Edition, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2018.
- Streinz, R. und W. Michl, EUV/AEUV: Vertrag über die Europäische Union, Vertrag über die Arbeitsweise der Europäischen Union, Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union, 3. Auflage, München, C.H. Beck, 2018.
Case-law
- Gaudin, H., et al. Les Grands Arrêts De La Cour De Justice De L’union Européenne. 2e édition ed., vol. 1, Droit Constitutionnel Et Institutionnel De L'union Européenne /, Dalloz, 2023.
- Hummer, W., Vedder, C. und Lorenzmeier, S., Europarecht in Fällen: die Rechtsprechung des EuGH, des EuG und deutscher und österreichischer Gerichte, 7. neu bearbeitete und aktualisierte Auflage, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2020.
Reference works
- Amtenbrink, Fabian, and H. H. B Vedder. Recht Van De Europese Unie. Zevende druk ed., Boom Juridisch, 2022.
- Barnard, C. and Peers, S. (eds.), European Union Law, Fourth Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2023.
- Barnard, C., The Substantive Law of the EU : the Four Freedoms, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Bauer, M.W. & J. Trondal (eds.), The Palgrave Handbook of the European Administrative System, Basingstoke, Hampshire, Palgrave Macmillan, 2015.
- Blanquet, M., Droit général de l'Union européenne, 11e édition, Paris, Sirey, 2018.
- Blumann, Claude. Droit Institutionnel De L’union Européenne. 8e édition ed., LexisNexis, 2023.
- Blumann, C. et Dubouis, L., Droit matériel de l'Union européenne, 8e édition, Paris, LGDJ, 2019.
- Craig, P. and G. de Burca (eds), The Evolution of EU Law, Third Edition, Oxford; New York, Oxford University Press, 2021.
- Geimer, R. und Schütze, R.A. (eds.), Europäisches Zivilverfahrensrecht: Kommentar, 4. Auflage, München, C.H. Beck, 2020.
- Herrnfeld, H.-H., Brodowski, D. and Burchard, C., European Public Prosecutor's Office: Regulation (EU) 2017/1939 implementing enhanced cooperation on the establishment of the European Public Prosecutors's Office ('the EPPO'): Article-by-Article Commentary, Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2021.
- Heselhaus, F.S.M. und Nowak, C., Handbuch der Europäischen Grundrechte, 2. Auflage, München, C.H. Beck, 2020.
- Jacqué, J.P., Droit institutionnel de l'Union européenne, Paris, Dalloz, 2018.
- Kuijper, P.J., Amtenbrink, F., Curtin, D., Witte, B. de, McDonnell, A. and Van den Bogaert, S. (eds.), The law of the European Union, Alphen aan den Rijn, Wolters Kluwer, 2018.
- Muir, E., An Introduction to the EU Legal Order, Cambridge; New York, Cambridge University Press, 2023.
- Schütze, R., European Union Law, 2nd edition, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2018.
- Solanke, I., EU Law, Second Edition, Cambridge; New York, Cambridge University Press, 2023.
Selected books and articles
- Antoniolli, L., Bonatti, L. and Ruzza, C. (eds.), Highs and lows of European integration: sixty years after the Treaty of Rome, Cham, Springer, 2019.
- Bakardjieva-Engelbrekt, A. and Groussot, X. (eds.), The Future of Europe: Political and Legal Integration beyond Brexit, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2019.
- Breitenmoser, S., und Weyeneth, R., Europarecht: unter Einbezug des Verhältnisses Schweiz - EU, 3. Auflage, Zürich, St. Gallen, Dike, 2017.
- Chamon, M., and Govaere, I. (eds.), EU External Relations post-Lisbon: the Law and Practice of Facultative Mixity, Leiden, Boston, Brill Nijhoff, 2020.
- Cremona, M. and Scott, J. (eds.), EU law beyond EU borders: the extraterritorial reach of EU law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2019.
- Cremona, M. (ed.), Structural principles in EU external relations law, Oxford, Hart Publishing, 2018.
- Eijsbouts, W.T., Jans, J.H., Prechal, A., Schrauwen, A.A.M. en Senden, L.A.J. (eds.), Europees recht - algemeen deel, 6de druk, Zutphen, Europa Law Publishing, 2020.
- Engelbrekt, A.B., Bremberg, N., Michalski, A. and Oxelheim, L. (eds.), The European Union in a Changing World Order: Interdisciplinary European Studies, Cham, Palgrave Macmillan, 2020.
- Foster, N.G., Foster on EU law, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2019.
- Foster, N.G., EU Law: Directions, Eighth Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2023.
- Gehring, M.W., Europe's Second Constitution: Crisis, Courts and Community, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2020.
- Hakenberg, W., und Seyr, S., Verfahren vor dem Gerichtshof der EU: Handbuch, 4. Auflage, Wien, Verlag Österreich, 2020.
- Haratsch, A., C. Koenig, M. Pechstein, Europarecht, 11. Auflage, Tübingen, Mohr Siebeck, 2018.
- Heusel, W., Rageade, J.-P. (eds.), The Authority of EU law: do we still believe in it? Berlin, Springer, 2019.
- Horsley, Th., The Court of Justice of the European Union as an institutional actor: a study in judicial lawmaking and its limits, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2018.
- Koutrakos, P., "Institutional balance and sincere cooperation in treaty-making under EU law", International and comparative law quarterly, 68 (2019), No. 1, pp. 1-33.
- Łazowski, A. & S.Blockmans, Research handbook on EU institutional law, Cheltenham, Edward Elgar, 2016.
- Poopuu, B., The European Union's Brand of Peacebuilding: Acting is Everything, Cham, Switzerland, Palgrave Macmillan, 2020. [e-book]
- Ramiro Troitiño, D., Kerikmäe, T., De la Guardia, R.M., and Pérez Sánchez, G.Á. (eds.), The EU in the 21st Century: Challenges and Opportunities for the European Integration Process, Cham, Springer, 2020.
- Sarmiento, D., El Derecho de la Union Europea, 2a edición, Madrid, Marcial Pons, 2018.
- Tauschinsky, R.E., A Fiduciary Approach to Delegated and Implementing Rule-Making in the EU: How to Trust the Commission, Cham, Springer, 2020.
- Weatherill, S., Law and Values in the European Union, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- Wildemeersch, J., Contentieux de la légalité des actes de l'Union européenne: le mythe du droit à un recours effectif, Bruxelles, Bruylant, 2019.
For all peer-reviewed articles in the PPL Catalogue, click here.
Periodicals, serial publications
- Cahier de droit européen
- Common Market Law Review
- Croatian Yearbook of European Law and Policy
- European constitutional law review
- European Law Review
- JCMS Annual Review of the European Union
- Revue d'intégration européenne = Journal of European integration
- Revue de l'Union européenne
- Revue trimestrielle de droit européen
- ZEuS: Zeitschrift für Europarechtliche Studien
Bibliographies
- Asser institute: Bibliography of European Union law.
- Croci, O., The European Union: A Bibliography, Department of Political Science, Laurentian University, 1997.
- Schmitz, Th., Bibliography (general bibliography on European integration), 2010.
Dictionaries
EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. The collection include treaties, international agreements, legislation in force, preparatory acts, case-law and parliamentary questions.
The European e-Justice Portal implemented by the Commission in very close cooperation with EU countries, provides a wealth of information and links on laws and practices in all EU countries. The resources range from information on legal aid, judicial training, European small claims and videoconferencing to links to legal databases, online insolvency and land registers. It also includes user-friendly forms for various judicial proceedings, such as the European order for payment. The portal benefits citizens, businesses, lawyers and judges with cross-border legal questions and boosts mutual understanding of different legal systems by contributing to the creation of a single European area of justice.
- Max Planck research profile Law of the European Union
- OPIL Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, Lisbon Treaty, by Christian Tomuschat
- Répertoire de droit européen: Accords de Schengen – Fabienne GAZIN – Janvier 2020 (actualisation: Décembre 2020)
- Répertoire de droit européen: Traités communautaires: sources et révision – Jacques SCHWOB – Décembre 1992 (actualisation: Février 2020)
- European Union Legal Research, University of Minnesota Law School
- European Union in International legal research tutorial
- European Union's portal
- European Union: Treaty Texts
- Jean Monnet (working) Papers
- Research Guide: European Union Legal Materials by Duncan E. Alford, maintained by Jennifer Wertkin, Dana Neacsu (Last Updated August 2016)